teenindia_usa thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 19 years ago

Originally posted by: guess_gallery

Hi guys,

I don't know this topic will survive or will be closed. There are many mods here, Channel as well as Global and normal ones too. There are many members here. Some may be happy with mods few may not.

So, few questions

1) Are mods always right?

Mods are humans, so they are bound to mistakes, as they say to"err is human"

2) What should we do if we are having problem with a mod?

My view, Pm them sort the situation out, afterall that is the way to correct a misunderstanding. (Since i m a peace maker and do not like public outbursts or arguments as many who know me). However, if there is no resolve than to follow the route that is (viewbie/mod/channelmod/global/administrator).

If overstep that may not benefit or be good(also remember mods and administration know one another and if u go straight to the administration, more likely mods word taken over urs) It happens in the real world too.

Lastly, if none of this works out than we should speak out as we are now, and I guess the point as come to this 4 some(I personally have no issue). Though have isssues on rules.

3) Should there be a complain box directly reaching to vijay bhai or vidya ji.(any other suggestion )

Yes, this is a good idea

4) When usually mods go wrong (is it partiality)

At times yes. Yet none of us knows what actually goes behind the scenes and we only hear what we are told. So we do not know the actual picture. Yet why would one want to know others warnings. Ithink when someone makes a public dispaly, the mods do as well, maybe they should not and just take the action. Since than some think that nothing was done.Yet those who get warnings outright all know.

Yet mods should give a pm and not take harsh action until needed(such as warning levels, etc..). Its best to resolve.

I was so engrossed, in views, now i too havedecided to answer the questions above.😊

Ahmed, so had time to make this topic😉

ok answered the questions and my replies are in Navy

Luv Pari😛

Edited by teenindia_usa - 19 years ago
A.S.P.I.R.E thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

1) Are mods always right? I dun think Mods are ALWAYS right ... They do tend to get biased, unknowingly/knowingly, at times, esp. if they know a person or group of people... This may be because they know those people personally. But most of the time Mods do take decision based on the feedback they get from the members...

2) What should we do if we are having problem with a mod? I know there are people above mods like the GMs and the Site admins ... The matter should be taken to them before we, members, jump to any conclusions...

3) Should there be a complain box directly reaching to vijay bhai or vidya ji.(any other suggestion ) I think there should be a complaint box because PMs might not be the best way to reach people... This way not just one person will be bombarded with questions and concerns but the first person going to the box can tackle one at a time and leave a note for the others as the problem being taken care of and they can work on the rest ... It is quite impossible for one person to take care of such a huge community ...

4) When usually mods go wrong (is it partiality) Ummn.. i wouldn't say partiality ... it is also what they believe and what they are asked to do as well .. every individual has his/her stand on a particular thing .. that one particular thing might not be imp. to them as it is to the other members ...

I also think, we (members), have equal responsibility to keep a good relationship with the Mods and not bash them for anything and everything as they work for us, round the clock, to keep it going smooth ...

Thank you Mods for everything. 😃

Guess_Gallery, thanks for bringing this topic out .. Something everyone needs to ponder their thought on, I think.

kirtib thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Engager Level 4 Thumbnail + 4
I personally think its not who is right or who is wrong.. if you have any differences wit the Mod jus try to sort it out.. If u think ur topic is closed I am sure there has to be a reason behind it.. before closing any topic mods discuss with each other mostly and then they decide collectively.. At time any member might feel that its wrong but the best thing is to sort out the differences.. I think we all hv different views so its not necessary that everyone think the same way..
I personally feel there should be no issue or debate saying whether Mods or right or wrong...
JinK thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: Andekhi

I personally think a explanation should be given to topics that are closed. For instance in the past few days on KYPH forum I saw a lot of posts on "whether dinky21 is sneha or not?" all those topics were closed.

Also, in KS forum I saw a lot of posts saying, "what is AF?" such topics were closed, yet ppl kept asking. It may be a good idea to answer all these questions and put it up as a sticky for a while or ppl volunteer to answer these questions.

My other concern is there are certain sections (I do not want to name them) which are held strictly by rules (i m not saying dont make rules) and all you see is rules on the front page. I dont see much discussion there, in general these sections are honestly quite boring. A few members choose not to obey the rules and the moderator takes even more strict action to handle the forum leading to more rules and it feels like a prison 😆.

P.S - I hope I did not offend anyone.

When I closed the dinky21 - is she sneha really? topics, i left a message that dinky21 is sneha.😳i think that's a good enough explanation😆
Celina7 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
sum modz r really friendly n sum r not... but they help keep everything stay in control so...not 2 bad 😊
Virgo_Stars thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3

1) Are mods always right? Ofcourse not. Do u think any man in the world is always right? Even a prime minister, voted by millions of people is not always right so how can one expect a mod to be always right and my question is that why is this pressure of being always right? I mean isn't a man allowed to make mistakes? Maybe thats why he is called a 'man' and not 'God' right? Then why this pressure on the dev. team members to be all perfect all the time. The trick for the dev. team is NOT to be always right but to keep a broad outlook at all times and always realize when you are wrong and then try to repair it. Mods caNOT just look things from one member's point of view, they have to consider ALL the views before taking a decision.

2) What should we do if we are having problem with a mod? I suggest talking to that mod/dev. member him/herself. If you still have problems than the second option always opition always open is to talk to a senior dev. team member like a CM or a GM or maybe the Admins.

3) When usually mods go wrong (is it partiality) Ofcourse not! I ask again, why is it that a mod is not allowed to make a small mistake? Why are huge mistakes by members forgotten easily and small mistakes by dev. team is made a big issue out of? Can't the issue be solved in a more mature way like talking or discussing? Is public bashing really necessary to solve that issue? Life is all about making mistakes, learning from them and not repeating them and moving on. A petty man keeps grudges while a great man learns and moves on. I am not saying the Mods are wrong often nor am i saying that members are wrong often, my opinion is that NO one should take that right from a mod or a member to make small mistakes unknowingly but move on, as at the end of the day, life moves on doesn't it? and after all it is your choice to remember the past and keep grudges or start afrest and look towards the new horizon.

The members have the notion that the mods always have to be right but i think that is asking too much from a man. The dev. team works really hard to make this forum more entertaing and intresting not for themselves but for the members then why is it that sometimes ALL the good deeds, all the help of a dev. team member is forgotten and just one small mistake leads to a big bashing and figting?

Edited by Virgo_Stars - 19 years ago
ajeebhotum thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

of course not...they r afterall humanz...an all humaz make mistakes....an i think some modz are parctically alwayz rite...becoz they think b4 they post...but not all have 2 b ALWAYZ rite!😊

...try sortin it out wid the person ur havin trobule wid...or contact the GM or the adim group😊

3) When usually mods go wrong (is it partiality)

im sayin again dat modz are also humanz...so u have 2 understand they can make mistakez....an most of the modz listen 2 u an correct thier mistakez...an they r HUMANZ for godness sake yaar!

ritzbitz thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: guess_gallery

Hi guys,

I don't know this topic will survive or will be closed. There are many mods here, Channel as well as Global and normal ones too. There are many members here. Some may be happy with mods few may not.

So, few questions

3) Should there be a complain box directly reaching to vijay bhai or vidya ji.(any other suggestion )

4) When usually mods go wrong (is it partiality)

I feel mods are not always correct, same as your boss who is not always correct. I have seen few members they have left this forum coz of this issue. Lekin, its there personal decision. I too agree this is not a se serious issue like politics to have a complain box lekin some things should need to be cleared out if any confusion. Regading mods going wrong.. after all human so might go wrong.

I want your opinions on mods and plz no negative talking abt any specific mods (wait till complain box).

I know every one enjoys there mods company and seek help from them no one will have any sort of problem lekin as I vist many threads I see people get depress if there topic is closed without being given any valid reason. So you can tell abt that or any other issue but be true to urself....

How much responsibility does a mod should have??

P.S: I don't have any thing against any mods.... I know few, all are helpful esp the great Bhaskar Bhai.

very well pointed out.. i take liberty to add few more questions like

1)how many times a thread is allowed to open and close?

2) if a thread is causing damage to the forum in a certain way like humiliating others members in cluding mods , ignoring or throwing attitude... but is abiding the forum rules ... should the thread be closed?

plz guys these questions may be irrelevant to the other questions but i need answers...from you.

i will be back with answers to the original questions...

once again hats off to bring up this topic... it was needed..👏

Virgo_Stars thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
I don't know if I am supposed to but I'll try to answer your questions😊 My answers are in Bold font

Originally posted by: ritzbitz

1)how many times a thread is allowed to open and close? That depends 100% on the thread. If the thread is going on on the wrong track like abusing/profanity etc then it is to be permanently closed. If the thread has some bashing going or some other little problems than the thread can be temperorarily closed until another solution is thought up of. As i said earlier, it all depends on the thread. It can be closed a several times and can be opened several times as the situation demands as some decisions are to be taken by the dev. team keeping the fine details in mind.

2) if a thread is causing damage to the forum in a certain way like humiliating others members in cluding mods , ignoring or throwing attitude... but is abiding the forum rules ... should the thread be closed?
If the forums rules are being abided by, that is no abusing, bashing, profanity etc is bein used then I don't see a reason for closing it but then if it is humiliating others like u mentioned then I don't thing closing is the solution. The solution is in talking and discussing it with the people of that thread. Closing is not the solution of every problem, sometimes simple taking can do wonders that closing several topics can't 😊

plz guys these questions may be irrelevant to the other questions but i need answers...from you.

i will be back with answers to the original questions...

once again hats off to bring up this topic... it was needed..👏

ritzbitz thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Virgo_Stars

I don't know if I am supposed to but I'll try to answer your questions😊 My answers are in Bold font

thanx for throwing the light😛