*Spandana* thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: -Ara-

I honestly believe Padmavati like every other SLB film is overhyped. The last historical romance film I liked was Jodha Akbar and to my knowledge that was ages ago. Ram Leela was nice to an extent but not a cinematic wonder it is claimed to be -- the sets were obvious, story so and so and the ending hilarious. It took out whatever emotion there was in the film. I remember the climax getting to people until the last moment where it just ends up being a stupid ending slash laugh riot.

Ghoomar goes solely to Deepika Padukone, the heavy costumes, flame, dancing and the whole sync of the song with the 60 something apparent twirls she had to do with those fire urns. That is applause worthy. But then, I don't think I'm going to watch Padmavati. The film just doesn't sell to me. And all the obvious over promotion and the blatant PR that follows just makes it worse. But for all we know it might end up being a hit. Everyone loved Bajirao Mastaani and I skipped it (until I watched certain parts on tv and didn't like what was shown).

Deepika needs to pick better films, what is this? Her third of fourth SLB film? I miss her acting in films like Bachna Ae Haseeno, Om Shanti Om, Love Aaj Kal, Break Ke Baad and Ye Jawaani Hai Deewani. She was amazing in Piku too! All the best to her, though. Or even the Houseful film she did! It was fun.

Also, one thing I dislike about most SLB films is that the sets are so overdone that it's obvious that they're sets. It's ruins the whole film for me. Maybe it's a pet peeve, idk.

Ditto.
SLB elevates everything in his movies except for the story.
As for the song, yes overhyped.
ponymo thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4
It's a miss for me. Forgettable.
745671 thumbnail

Originally posted by: briahna

final thought, I watched the song couple of times, nah...boringgg...
just my thought. I could be wrong.

How did you watch it a couple times? I couldn't even finish it the first time.

I'm actually surprised that people like stuff like this. It's sooo boring and it's not even new anymore. Bhansali has done the same thing over and over. Even the sets look the same, the lighting looks the same, the clothing looks the same, the music is the same boring Bhansali type...
Edited by anonymous39 - 7 years ago
AraBearxo thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
Anyway, does this remind anyone of Deewani Mastaani? I'm talking of the camera panning to the lady (other queen) constantly (and Shahid's king character too) when Padmavati is dancing. It is so similar to Kashibai and Bajirao screen panning during Deewani Mastaani if I'm not wrong.
Also, pray for me guys, please, exam tomorrow. And I'm pretty scared.
Edited by -Ara- - 7 years ago
briahna thumbnail

Originally posted by: anonymous39

How did you watch it a couple times? I couldn't even finish it the first time.

I'm actually surprised that people like stuff like this. It's sooo boring and it's not even new anymore. Bhansali has done the same thing over and over. Even the sets look the same, the lighting looks the same, the clothing looks the same, the music is the same boring Bhansali type...

I always watch the trailers, teasers, songs promos, couple of times. no matter how bad they are. I have to make sure I didn't rush into anything. even if the movie is a floppy already, I watch it on big screen, to enjoy the flop show.

I was in awe of SLB's trailer Bawariyaa, I watched that trailer over and over again. but movie? kya kahoon...well I thought sonam was gorgeous, biru did fine, but ...

you know what...how about I am going to blame 5 foot and 1 inch King Ratan for ruining the song for me. isse nikaal karr bhahar karo.
imagine 5 songs like ghoomar and Ratan Singh starring in those songs.

btw...I think this time slb is going for red, burgundy movie ...lets see if this red collets gold for him at boxoffice.

TheRager thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 4
I really liked the song. First time I found SLB was really authentic. Otherwise he has spoils the impression about every culture by over dramatization.
briahna thumbnail
SLB should have gone taken Ajay Devgan instead of Shahid. ajay was awesome in HDDCS.
Peanutbolt thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
SLB isn't everyone's cup of tea..so people might feel all his movies are same but if you look into the details there's world of difference in them!!
And the knowledge on the culture and the traditions behind his movies are important, or else everything everyone will ever find is lehengas and sets.

And Padmavati has a world of difference if the details are looked into instead of sets and lehangas.

I really love Ghoomar, So authentic, so beautiful and really love SLB as a director and genuinely think he is one of the gifted directors in Indian industry however flawed he might be..
Novarieaa thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: briahna

you know what...how about I am going to blame 5 foot and 1 inch King Ratan for ruining the song for me. isse nikaal karr bhahar karo.
imagine 5 songs like ghoomar and Ratan Singh starring in those songs.

Absolutely this! Yeah yeah I know Shahid is one of the best actors and bla bla but the fact remains he's a complete miss in the trailers. What he's gonna do and how he's gonna hold up against RS is foreshadowing. But right now she's the weakest link.

I can't even tell he's a king. He doesn't have that authoritative persona and screen-presence. On top of that the OTT embellishments don't suit him. The crown on his face makes me chuckle. I am like no wonder he fell through in front of the mad invader.,.he's weak AF.

RS, on the other hand, despite looking like a caveman, holds my attention.

I will be shocked if Shahid gets rave reviews or even manages to take on RS in terms of acting.
zehreeli.kheer thumbnail
Visit Streak 750 Thumbnail 16th Anniversary Thumbnail + 7
Overhype tou nahi hai.. I mostly saw mixed response on Twitter with a lot of praise for DP.. which I think is fine