deepey thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: Da_BagarhBilla

Ya, there are better punjabi actors who could have been roped in for this role like Deep Dhillon and Kanwaljit, but i think Anupam was chosen for giving performance both in punjabi as well as english as movie caters to Uk Audience more.

Well I could care less who its catered for, all I know is Punjabi's have been stereotyped for way too long, and it needs to end. I'm really glad that Punjabi movie industry is picking up recently with the success of Dharti and Jinne Mera Dil Lutteya, but we have a long way to go. I know Akshay is trying to represent Punjabi's worldwide, but I've always felt that the Deols have used Punjabis to their advantage, and now Akshay is doing the same. They know the Punjabi audience will watch their movies, and they milk it. I'd like to see genuine Punjabi characters, and Punjabi actors representing Punjabis. I like Akshay, but he found a hit formula with Singh is King, and he keeps going down that path, but i don't think it should be encouraged. They make Punjabis look like idiots with their nonsense acts in movies like Singh is King and Yamla Pagla Deewana, which is unacceptable!
Edited by deepey - 14 years ago
Sultan.Mirza thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 5

Sarcastic Chatterbox

Deepey

Have u Seen Mel Karade Rabba?

Who is ur fav. punjabi actor?
DheeJattanDi thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6
Deepey I don't think the Deols made Punjabis look like idiots in YPD, in fact the movie was really funny and yes being a Punjabi I didn't find anything wrong in that movie ... and SIK, well I love Akki and the movie was funny but I just didn't find the title Singh Is King apt for the movie.. All though I agree nowadays all the Bolly Punjabi actors are taking advantage of their Punjabi origin to make their movie a hit in the western countries 😛

And that reminds me Jihne Mera Dill Lutiya was amazing!! 😆
deepey thumbnail

Deepey

Have u Seen Mel Karade Rabba?

Who is ur fav. punjabi actor?

Yeah, i watched it...it was alright. I'm not a big fan of Neeru Bajwa. As far as favorite actors are concerned, i don't have any favorites. My favorite was Amrish Puri; loved that man!!
Edited by deepey - 14 years ago

Originally posted by: HiphopStahKiran

Deepey I don't think the Deols made Punjabis look like idiots in YPD, in fact the movie was really funny and yes being a Punjabi I didn't find anything wrong in that movie ... and SIK, well I love Akki and the movie was funny but I just didn't find the title Singh Is King apt for the movie.. All though I agree nowadays all the Bolly Punjabi actors are taking advantage of their Punjabi origin to make their movie a hit in the western countries 😛

I agree with Kiran I don't think that deols or Akshay Kumar meant to mock sadars. Plus I think Akshay is really into Punjabi culture, thats why RDB group has been with him at concerts, and he knows gurbani and sings good in Punjabi
He could have maybe asked Jimmy shergil to play a part in the movie , I like him and his Punjabi movies. I agree deepy to at times sadars are joked alot in movies and shows.
@BB and Kiran love that movie
Edited by wat_up - 14 years ago
Sultan.Mirza thumbnail

Sarcastic Chatterbox

Deepey

Je Kar bura na maniyo... Aavda Nau ki aa... actually mere 1 mitar da nau v deepa haiga, we call him deepey only... but i am sure aavda nau kujh hor hona jida nick ih hona, ja phir koi angreji word hona...
deepey thumbnail

Originally posted by: HiphopStahKiran

I watched the first half of YMD and I was like W*F? It was so ridiculous that it was funny. So Sunny gave a speech in English in Punjab, and it was on TV, but no one came forward to say that he was cussing the guys out in English? Come on i can understand that perhaps elders in villages don't understand English, but the youth of Punjab is well educated and well versed in English! That was just ridiculous, and the girls brother or w/e they were, taking their guns out and the whole thing over marrying the girl into a Canadian family, that was just plain ridiculous. I went to India last year, and I know most guys keep guns on themselves, caz its some sort of status symbol to them, BUT THAT WAS JUST PLAIN RIDICULOUS! You can't just kill people like that lol.

SIK - I don't even remember watching that movie, so I'll refrain to comment on it.
deepey thumbnail

Deepey

Je Kar bura na maniyo... Aavda Nau ki aa... actually mere 1 mitar da nau v deepa haiga, we call him deepey only... but i am sure aavda nau kujh hor hona jida nick ih hona, ja phir koi angreji word hona...

I'm a girl lol and u can call me deepey.
Sultan.Mirza thumbnail

Sarcastic Chatterbox

Originally posted by: deepey

I'm a girl lol and u can call me deepey.

o taan main vekh leya si ji profile chk karke... tahin puchh reha si... chalo koi na...

Originally posted by: deepey

I watched the first half of YMD and I was like W*F? It was so ridiculous that it was funny. So Sunny gave a speech in English in Punjab, and it was on TV, but no one came forward to say that he was cussing the guys out in English? Come on i can understand that perhaps elders in villages don't understand English, but the youth of Punjab is well educated and well versed in English! That was just ridiculous, and the girls brother or w/e they were, taking their guns out and the whole thing over marrying the girl into a Canadian family, that was just plain ridiculous. I went to India last year, and I know most guys keep guns on themselves, caz its some sort of status symbol to them, BUT THAT WAS JUST PLAIN RIDICULOUS! You can't just kill people like that lol.

SIK - I don't even remember watching that movie, so I'll refrain to comment on it.

Ya I remember that in scene in YMD
give SIK a try😊 I guess I enjoyed it because Akshay was in it, but I know many punjabis sadars and non sadars loved it, and no one thought it insulting