Muggle_Diaries thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: dilse99

Hey, welcome to the forum! Nice to see more and more fans of YUDKBH!!

I was also a 90's kid/teen, and I just got hooked from the 1st episode. I can relate to Naina a lot, and even Sameer too actually. Two of the cutest characters on TV! 😊

Thank You. 😊

They are really cute. Glad to know another person my generation! 😃

Love
Kshithi
mehraan thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 5
Hey kshiti welcome to our forum dear...
Would luv to read sme good ffs from u if u dnt mind!!🤗

N i feel touched that u share glimpse of ur life with us ...it actually takes guts to narrate here in the public forum which is not that easy ...

N yup i was 9 yrs old in 90s...one yr elder😆 to u!
Muggle_Diaries thumbnail

Originally posted by: mehraan

Hey kshiti welcome to our forum dear...

Would luv to read sme good ffs from u if u dnt mind!!🤗

N i feel touched that u share glimpse of ur life with us ...it actually takes guts to narrate here in the public forum which is not that easy ...

N yup i was 9 yrs old in 90s...one yr elder😆 to u!

Hi Mehraan, 😃

Thank you. Great to know another kid from the 90s. 🤗

I included a glimpse of my life because 'Yeh Un dino ki baat hai!' 😊. Also, I could relate to Sameer. Just wanted to connect both. Thank you for the kind words.

I have written few stories in other forums. Not sure if you have watched those serials or not. 😳

Love
Kshithi
Muggle_Diaries thumbnail
Dear Friends,
This is the second part of my impressions. 😊

Today I want to talk about Naina. As a kid and a teenager from that time, I can understand Naina's struggle. Before that I want talk about few things which comes to my mind.

It was 2000-2001, when I was studying engineering in a collage quite far from my native. My mom was quite progressive for that generation (Please read the first part for more details). Thus what I experienced what not what is typical of my generations girls to some extent. Coming back to my college days, the distance between my native and my college was 10 hours and 3 buses in-between.

It was evening when I reached my hostel after my second semester holidays. Hostel was not fully functional yet, and there were only 2-3 girls from my class who were my company that evening. As usual our evenings are really not complete until you had a cup of hot tea or coffee. So, we friends decided to walk to a bakery near to enjoy the warmth of the tea and fill our stomach with all the bakery goodies. What do you get when you have 3 girls meeting after a long time? Of course gossips and laughter. An old man, probably out for his evening walk, came to us and scolded us for talking and laughing 'loudly'. According to him girls are not supposed to talk or laugh loudly. This was some random old man, never met him before. He had the gall to come and scold us for being us. It left a mark on me. I shudder to think of girls from his family. Now tell me why Naina is afraid of standing up to her own family?

There was a film in the native language. The heroine is considered proud, a snob, and a rude. And the hero decides to teach her a lesson. Her crime? Saying no to date a random male student, whom she does not know at all. She slaps him because he was being a stalker. Now, tell me why Naina wont be blamed for this fiasco? Or why Megha was shunned?

Our lives those days were simple, yes. But we were also those frogs from the well. They never knew there were oceans out there. There was no connect to the outside world. We did not know about other countries, different cultures. There was no cable. No globalization yet. All we know of the world was from our elders, our small society and our news papers, movies, and TV. Our love and relationships also reflected that. That was the time of Kayamat se Kayamat tak, Love, Dil, Maine Pyar kiya where lovers would go to great lengths to prove their love. Naina hurting her hand to understand Sameer's pain was not out of the scope of yesteryear lovers. It was not unthinkable that she would get angry for Sameer trying to kiss her hands.

I thought people who wear short cloths were bad. Good people wear sarees and salwars. We were quick to judge and shun. It took years for me to come out of that mindset, to evolve and to understand that the world is much bigger and diverse place than I thought.

I did not realize the post has become long. I could not talk everything I wanted to about Naina in this. I will make another post for Naina.

Love
Kshithi

PS: The Mahabhrata sequence was true. On Sundays' between 9-10AM no one was on the streets. Everyone would visit their friends homes where there is a TV to watch. It was our Sunday program as well. This was before my mom separated from my dad. We all used to visit our friends house every sunday morning to watch Mahabharata, till we bought our own TV. On the way back we used to visit a bakery to eat cream buns. That bakery is still there and is older than me.
Edited by Muggle_Diaries - 7 years ago
jhalak7 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail
Great post Dear! And I agree with you as I am also 90s era kid. Although I was just a kid then But I remember what our ancestors used to do that time. The way they used to get in to people's personal matter and keep advising them , bully them and they had such a narrow approach against love marriage, divorce, TV , girl education etc.😡 As I was a rebel like I guess Shefali by born and may be slow/childish like Preeti too...so I used to ask questions. "They love each other and they got married. They are married, right ?so why are you bullying them? Why I can't play with someone from other religion? What is wrong if 2 people don't want to live together anymore. And why do you hate and bully kids from broken family? What is broken? Aap log bhi fight karte ho ...mar pitai bhi...toh they don't and became separate, may be they don't want to fight like you do...so why you are calling them wrong? Why their kids are bad and your kids are angels? ..." but as a a reward kabhi thappad toh kabhi gali joot ti thi. Bewkuf hone ka reward!😆😆 But I am proud now to be like that. Because now I know I was right to ask questions, kuch na kuch to badla. Girls can't study after 10th or 12th grade. Kyun? My parents used to get lots of questions like ...18 ho gaya still ladki is kumari? And those "aah. ish becahri . abhi tak shaadi nehi hua..."😆😆😆sabke sab pagol ancestors tha. 😆 Every time I see tayeejee/taujee/Rakesh Sir I remember those. They used to call me "childish, immature, she doesn't understand..." Really?😆 Thank God we don't live there anymore.
But still those people are alive. They still think girls should not study and they should get married at 18...20 hua toh buddhi, 25 hua toh satyanash!😲😲😲 30 hua toh ghor kaliyug aa gaya. 😆 And divorce, love marriage...raam raam!😆😆😆
I have friends like Shefali( from other religion), I had friends like Sameer...so I still feel sympathy for them. Because I know what really happened. I lived in a boarding school for a very short period and I know how awful life they have. If a parent love their kid they will never send them to those hell or may be majboor parents like mine...but as soon as they will know ( like mine) they will bring back their kids home no matter how hard it is or they will try. Boarding school lives are not at all good. Yes!This is why I don't blame Sameer. Uparse his parents are also cruel. So I feel sympathy for him .😭
Thanks for sharing your feelings. I know how life was back then. Specially people were so negative and cruel. 😡
ezhilmalar.t thumbnail
Hi Kshiti,

I really liked the story of your life and your connection with the 90s. I too am from the same era and was 6 yo in 1990. Saying era and all makes me feel so old as if I have lived that life in another of my births. Its like getting flashes of my past life.

The reason for me to connect with this show is the same as yours. I somewhere got attached to Naina and Sameer and they feel like my own friends. I grew up as a single child in a very strict family and pretty much all the restrictions Naina has , even I had.Thats why apart from the cassette tapes, VCRs, landline phone, flowery oevrsized frocks, A line dresses, movies of those time,etc, I could relate to this show so much.

My story of 1990-91 is that, as I said, I was 6 yo. I had shifted to Nagpur from Bangalore that year owing o my dad's job transfer. So, new place, new neighbors, new language, new school, new culture. everything was new.

I just could say 'tumhara naam kya hai' in Hindi and not much English unlike the kids of these days (my own daughter at 3 years now, speaks correct grammatical English, thanks to youtube 😊). Being a tamilian, I knew tamil, because that was the language spoken at home.

So, I remember, when I came to Nagpur, in 1990-91, Baazigar had released and the title song used to be heard all the time. So much so that it got ratta for me. Then I saw movies like Dil hai ki maanta nahi, Hum hai rahi pyra ke. in that the Dilbarka song was so famous.

Coming here to this forum and meeting people who have lived at the same time as my sweetest memories is so refreshing, all thanks to this show.
Our show needs more promotion, more word of the mouth, so that people dont miss out on this gem of a show.

braveheartdoc thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4
Once again loved to read you kshithi😃
As you said...they are nicely portraying the restrictions on the girls and how all eyes are like hawks chasing the girls... so many aunties used to be like...haww...wo padosi ki beti ko dekho...raat mein itne baje aayi thi... and many such more incidences

But yes...times have changed mainly in the metros and mentality too has become slightly liberal but still there is a lot to be improved and hopefully with time we'll get to see this change as well😃

Short dresses were a no then and now if you wear long dress...you are old fashioned😆
AniSha01 thumbnail
Hi
This is my first post here. I can so relate to this situation here. My parents lived abroad and for a brief spell was in convent school with the nuns. This is the early 80s in middle school. Later my college days were no different as I did my high school abroad. Then it was like back to the dark ages. I had to be home by 5:30 the latest 6:00. My college would finish only at 4:00. The stress of I missed the only bus to my village was unimaginable. Then everyone in the bus knew each other. Oh god you had no privacy. But now almost 25 years later lot have changed but still you have numerous old folks with the same mentality. But one thing I have to say the friends I made in those years still come to see me when I visit my home town. Their parents enquire about my well being. They are also close to my parents and often spend evenings together as I am still abroad and hardly ever visit my home town.
This serial does put lot of things in perspective.
Muggle_Diaries thumbnail

Originally posted by: jhalak7

Great post Dear! And I agree with you as I am also 90s era kid. Although I was just a kid then But I remember what our ancestors used to do that time. The way they used to get in to people's personal matter and keep advising them , bully them and they had such a narrow approach against love marriage, divorce, TV , girl education etc.😡 As I was a rebel like I guess Shefali by born and may be slow/childish like Preeti too...so I used to ask questions. "They love each other and they got married. They are married, right ?so why are you bullying them? Why I can't play with someone from other religion? What is wrong if 2 people don't want to live together anymore. And why do you hate and bully kids from broken family? What is broken? Aap log bhi fight karte ho ...mar pitai bhi...toh they don't and became separate, may be they don't want to fight like you do...so why you are calling them wrong? Why their kids are bad and your kids are angels? ..." but as a a reward kabhi thappad toh kabhi gali joot ti thi. Bewkuf hone ka reward!😆😆 But I am proud now to be like that. Because now I know I was right to ask questions, kuch na kuch to badla. Girls can't study after 10th or 12th grade. Kyun? My parents used to get lots of questions like ...18 ho gaya still ladki is kumari? And those "aah. ish becahri . abhi tak shaadi nehi hua..."😆😆😆sabke sab pagol ancestors tha. 😆 Every time I see tayeejee/taujee/Rakesh Sir I remember those. They used to call me "childish, immature, she doesn't understand..." Really?😆 Thank God we don't live there anymore.
But still those people are alive. They still think girls should not study and they should get married at 18...20 hua toh buddhi, 25 hua toh satyanash!😲😲😲 30 hua toh ghor kaliyug aa gaya. 😆 And divorce, love marriage...raam raam!😆😆😆
I have friends like Shefali( from other religion), I had friends like Sameer...so I still feel sympathy for them. Because I know what really happened. I lived in a boarding school for a very short period and I know how awful life they have. If a parent love their kid they will never send them to those hell or may be majboor parents like mine...but as soon as they will know ( like mine) they will bring back their kids home no matter how hard it is or they will try. Boarding school lives are not at all good. Yes!This is why I don't blame Sameer. Uparse his parents are also cruel. So I feel sympathy for him .😭
Thanks for sharing your feelings. I know how life was back then. Specially people were so negative and cruel. 😡

Hi Jhalak,

Thank you for sharing your past. 😊
You are right. Each era has its beauty and ugliness. While in 90s the life was slow, simple, and laid back, there was also this close mindedness which came with our previous generations.

There are lot of these issues which you have mentioned existing even now. It is better than what it was, but there is still a long way to go.

Glad to read your thoughts. Keep it coming.

Love
Kshithi
Muggle_Diaries thumbnail

Originally posted by: ezhilmalar.t

Hi Kshiti,

I really liked the story of your life and your connection with the 90s. I too am from the same era and was 6 yo in 1990. Saying era and all makes me feel so old as if I have lived that life in another of my births. Its like getting flashes of my past life.

You are right. Saying 'era' does make us feel old! 😃
But it was a different era in the sense that the society and world changed rapidly in the last couple of decades. And we are the last generation to have experienced both worlds.

The reason for me to connect with this show is the same as yours. I somewhere got attached to Naina and Sameer and they feel like my own friends. I grew up as a single child in a very strict family and pretty much all the restrictions Naina has , even I had.Thats why apart from the cassette tapes, VCRs, landline phone, flowery oevrsized frocks, A line dresses, movies of those time,etc, I could relate to this show so much.

The serial has been a trip down the memory lane, isn't it? And Flowery frocks!!! I am so glad to have come out of 90s fashion sense. And remember those puffed up shoulders?

My story of 1990-91 is that, as I said, I was 6 yo. I had shifted to Nagpur from Bangalore that year owing o my dad's job transfer. So, new place, new neighbors, new language, new school, new culture. everything was new.

I just could say 'tumhara naam kya hai' in Hindi and not much English unlike the kids of these days (my own daughter at 3 years now, speaks correct grammatical English, thanks to youtube 😊). Being a tamilian, I knew tamil, because that was the language spoken at home.

So, you still stay in Bangalore? I have been staying in Bangalore since 2003, after my B.E. Even then, coming from small town it was difficult to adjust to a big city. And Kannada is my mother tongue. My English was atrocious too. 😃

So, I remember, when I came to Nagpur, in 1990-91, Baazigar had released and the title song used to be heard all the time. So much so that it got ratta for me. Then I saw movies like Dil hai ki maanta nahi, Hum hai rahi pyra ke. in that the Dilbarka song was so famous.

Even now when we play antakshari, I can sing 80s, 90s songs easily, but cannot remember much of new songs.

Coming here to this forum and meeting people who have lived at the same time as my sweetest memories is so refreshing, all thanks to this show.
Our show needs more promotion, more word of the mouth, so that people dont miss out on this gem of a show.

I know right? I came to the serial just last week by accident. I hardly watch Indian Serials, so finding this was a really great. Watching a cute love story while remembering my old school days and my own crushes has been a treat so far.

Hi,

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences. It was a treat to read. I have replied in-line. Please check.

Love
Kshithi