Casting Blame | What Lies Ahead?

QueenofGreen thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 4
As a viewer of the show from day one, I was curious to see how the writers would handle the story of an extra-marital affair as the underlying premise of an entire narrative.

Unfortunately, like most viewers, I have been sorely disappointed. Particularly, with the current approach taken to almost validating Kunal and Nandini's illicit dalliance by Zoya's line of questioning Mauli's apparent failure within her marriage.

Truly, this is disturbing and something that audiences, (largely women) should not have to endure, as it encourages an exceedingly negative and regressive mindset. If your partner cheats on you, that has nothing to do with you and everything to do with your partner. Cheating is never okay. Cheating is never the solution to any problem. It is immoral and downright, disrespectful to say the least.

Over the last week or so, as Kunal and Nandini's illicit relationship has significantly developed, the argument of who is more to blame has escalated drastically amongst viewers. Around me, I have heard my mum, my to-be mother-in-law and their friends arguing vehemently, passionately about who is more at fault:
- "Men can never be trusted, but the friend should have known better!"
- "Mauli is an idiot for letting her husband be in such a close proximity with her friend!"
- "Men always want what they cannot have. It's in their nature."
- "Of course, Nandini seduced him. That's what characterless women, like her, do."

Though it's not my place to argue with them, some of their opinions have nonetheless disturbed me.

If I could tell them, I would say that both Kunal and Nandini are equally to blame for their breach of Mauli's trust.

If Kunal committed to her legally and spiritually as her husband, Nandini has been her best friend for even longer. Mauli loves and trusts both of them unconditionally, and both should be held equally accountable for betraying her.

Kunal clearly has a white knight complex which fosters his infatuation with Nandini, who he perceives as innocent, helpless and pure. This is what is lacking in his relationship with his wife, who is fiercely independent and emotionally and economically stable to boot. Thus, despite what he says, he feels inferior to his wife. In other words, Kunal needs to be needed, and he feels that Mauli does not need him, so he turns to a woman, who he can save - whom he believes to need him.

Nandini, on the other hand, is desperate for love. After years of being emotionally manipulated, physically and psychologically battered, she longs to be loved in the ways that she deserves - the way that she can see her best friend is loved. She yearns for the romantic relationship that Mauli enjoys. While there is no envy or malice in her longing, Nandini's desire to be loved has manifested in a way that is destructive for all three people entangled in this drama. It is statistically proven that individuals who have suffered protracted physical or emotional violence, are more susceptible to being infatuated with people in positions of authority or people who simply behave kindly with them. For this reason, many abuse victims fall in love with their 'rescuer,' or with their therapists, if they are seeing one. A sympathetic smile, a little reassurance or consolation, is sometimes all it takes for people who desperately long for love. This is definitely a tragic and unfortunate situation, that needs to be dealt with carefully, patiently and clinically.

Clearly, there are deep-seated insecurities that have driven Kunal and Nandini to each other. While neither is to blame for how they feel, they are certainly to blame for acting on it, which has effectively led them to betray Mauli's trust. They are guilty of not exercising their better judgment. They are guilty of being carried away on a whim, on the irrationality of sensation without considering how their actions will affect the people, they love.

Furthermore, what is their future? What lies ahead of them? To what extent can two people to gain their heart's desire? At what cost?

As a big believer in the power of karma, I foresee very short-lived happiness for Kunal and Nandini because one cannot build a home on the ruins of another.

incrediblycute thumbnail
Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 5
Zoya believes in victim shaming. She considers ema as paak love so nothing new there but I think the most important point here is that Bappa is leaving no stone unturned to bring the true colors of Nandu and Kunnu in front of his child Mauli.He doesn't want Mauli ti hurt herself more and showing the reality step by step.
kala16 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 3
Iam not a viewer of this show but recent developments in the story disturbed so i visited the forum.

I think kunals attraction towards nandini is physical and out of sympathy.

Nandini was yearning for love all these years and she found solace in kunals arms.

Coming to mouli the only character which I loved in this show who is fiercely independent, full of love and the most lovable in the show.

Aditi is such a natural actor, I loved her comfort level with kunal. They were such a adorable pair.

Iam also eager to see how she reacts.

poiu123 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
I agree with the TM. Mauli is a gem of a person. Mature and Economically independent and strong. In all these 3 aspects Kunal knows she is better than him. He is just an ordinary weak man who likes to have an upper hand and a damsel in distress is someone who would attract him as he can bring out his "manly"? Instincts. The fact is Mauli deserves much more , a strong yet caring individual .
SummerRain7 thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2
You had mentioned in your post that different people react differently to this situation, some blaming the wife squarely, some, the husband and some heaping all blame on that third woman/man. Maybe the makers are also trying to tell us the same by making Zoya question Mauli in this manner? Or it could be Zoya's character speaking from her own experience.
The lack of remorse, as you say is mind-boggling. In yesterday's epi when Mauli was introducing Nandini to Chakor, the moment she spoke about trust, Nandini was shown to be very uncomfortable, which was a welcome change from the previous episodes where I felt that she wasn't even aware of what's happening around her. But Kunal was positively smiling when Mauli was saying how blindly she trusts Nandini. Is this an editing glitch ??? If not then, what on earth are the makers smoking??? ? Do they not understand human behavior?? How is he able to click selfies with the two of them so comfortably and do all that he did through out the course of yesterday's epi, with his wife just a few feet away from them??

And do not even get me started on the publicly secret Pooja. It was actually a laugh riot, because the people in the hall were not blind, they had just closed their eyes😆 Matlab Kuch Bhiii!!!

I think the makers wanted to show that Kunal is NOT one of those men who cheated on their wives but is always loathe to give any acceptance or even be seen wIth the cheating partner in public. And of course they had to show something for Chakor to see and voice out her suspicions to Mauli later. But in doing so, Kunal is now appearing as a seasoned cheater, who handles situations with wife and his cheating partner with practised ease.

And Nandini may not have have gotten into this relationship with any great expectations, but as is human nature, she is consciously or subconsciously wanting more and more with each passing minute. Kunal being close to Mauli is slowly starting to get to her.

And I am not sure what to make of Mauli's reaction. She was clearly upset , but she still may not believe that they are already in a relationship. With Zoya's line of questioning, she may feel that Kunal is getting attracted to Nandini and hence her dressing up like Nandini as shown in the promos.
QueenofGreen thumbnail

Originally posted by: incrediblycute

Zoya believes in victim shaming. She considers ema as paak love so nothing new there but I think the most important point here is that Bappa is leaving no stone unturned to bring the true colors of Nandu and Kunnu in front of his child Mauli.He doesn't want Mauli ti hurt herself more and showing the reality step by step.

I don't understand who wrote Zoya's dialogues and for what purpose.

It just makes Zoya appear mindless, given her context as a woman whose husband cheated.

No hate at all directed at the actress either, but given Jen's context as well, I don't understand how she could have even said that line.

I know that actors have to say dialogues, irrespective of their opinions as it is their job. However, I strongly believe that actors have the liberty to contest objectionable dialogues and scenes.
QueenofGreen thumbnail

Originally posted by: kala16

Iam not a viewer of this show but recent developments in the story disturbed so i visited the forum.

I think kunals attraction towards nandini is physical and out of sympathy.

Nandini was yearning for love all these years and she found solace in kunals arms.

Coming to mouli the only character which I loved in this show who is fiercely independent, full of love and the most lovable in the show.

Aditi is such a natural actor, I loved her comfort level with kunal. They were such a adorable pair.

Iam also eager to see how she reacts.

All the actors are superb. No complaints there at all.

The anger is directed at the writers. I wish the writers would have shown us the purity of the love between Kunal and Nandini. Let us see their angst. Show us their denial and self-restraint. Show us that these characters are angry at themselves for feeling this way. Show us that they are punishing themselves by staying away from each other.

I wish they did not cheapen the relationship by making it physical. I wish they would have shown these characters as being mature, and loving each other enough to simply exist in a world where they can love someone, but not have to be with them.

I wish that after all this trying and denying, they would be honest and plead for forgiveness from Mauli. That they would never be together, unless and until Mauli, being as wonderful and generous as she is, would bring them together.
goofyCat thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Commentator Level 2 Thumbnail
Wonderful analysis. Actually the story had a lot scope had the writers handled it maturely.. They went wrong in hurrying things and just showing physical attraction between Kunal and Nandini.. The reasons you explained for Kunal and Nandini to get attracted to each other make a lot of sense, but we never got to see anything of those explicitly even a single time in the show.. I don't think both of them have talked a single word apart from telling each other about how they 'love' each other which looks laughable in reality because we have never seen any deep routed feelings for them, neither it was shown why they got attracted to each other. And that is where the problem comes from.
I agree on the short lived happiness part. Kunal and Nanidni's happiness is momentary and they are just turning blind eye to reality because even they are aware that their relation has no future unless they gather the courage to openly tell about their family and society about it (which they will never do ofcourse).
QueenofGreen thumbnail

Originally posted by: poiu123

I agree with the TM. Mauli is a gem of a person. Mature and Economically independent and strong. In all these 3 aspects Kunal knows she is better than him. He is just an ordinary weak man who likes to have an upper hand and a damsel in distress is someone who would attract him as he can bring out his "manly"? Instincts. The fact is Mauli deserves much more , a strong yet caring individual .

I agree with you, absolutely.

Some men have a natural instinct to protect and are drawn towards women, who they perceive as weak or defenceless. Basically, someone, they can save, and in doing so, they feel good about themselves. They want to be the centre of their universe and enjoy every single moment of their attention and affection.

Mauli doesn't need a man, at all. She doesn't need to be saved, because she's the one who's saving them all. In fact, Mauli is saving the entire show, literally and figuratively.

1148967 thumbnail
Zoya is another irritation for me paak rishta brand. How people in other forum bashed her?
I do not agree that due to Zoya or Mauli s fault their spouses move to another person.
My only hope of a nice story line is GK s tweet immortality will not be promoted have patience.
But back the stage politics influence writing. Fact is Nandini is played by a huge fan puller while Mauli is just a simple name. So not sure who will be shown immoral. But this serial has gone down so much in story that simple people are being liked against gorgeous diva. And even if now they try whitewashing with loads of paint I do not think repair is possible. So better show a nice storyline and end with dignity not lie DSDT crap