arunima_LUIT thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: XAiShBaBy08X

I am really happy that you read and replied back to my post. I can definitely see your point of view and why you are frustrated. If I was doing this show, I would like to think that I would not take any salary or take it and donate it. If I were to take it and invest it in something such as a charity or supporting a family or something like that...I would not tell anyone about it esp. the media. I'm a private person and ever more than that, I wouldn't want to show off. This is where you and I differ...in that you may not think that it is good to keep your financial affairs private. I would not like to show everyone where my own personal money is going which is why I feel that I cannot and should not point fingers at anyone who is making money especially for doing something good. Chances are that when a person is doing good...he or she continues to do good, whether it be with or without that money and that is all I can hope and expect from a person.

To me, I see that Aamir Khan is doing good by supporting this show and putting forth topics that obviously have not been dealt with correctly. You are correct in that most of us have already heard about these situations that occur in the community; however, you will be shocked to know that elder people have not heard about these horrors. My parents did not know that child abuse was a widespread thing in India nor did they know that female foeticide is committed mostly by people living in the city and not rural villagers. They didn't know that it is in fact increasing year by year and that the laws we have today are not helping those numbers significantly decrease. A lot of people, including myself, thought that all of this was finally dying down in India because of education.

Aamir Khan is taking topics that have been heard of and thought about for centuries...but his team and this show is introducing it again and showing the reality of it by using real world examples unlike movies which make it filmy and unrealistic. The show is providing alternatives and re-educating people. Even though there is a lot of propaganda involved, it is affecting people's attitude for the better. Even if it is only creating a small vibration in this irritating and eerie silence, at least someone is doing something. At least these old issues are being put forward and making people rethink. If it is being done at the expense of people's sorrows...well I think it is worth it. I would like to see their sorrows end, and this is at least pointing in the right direction.

This reminds me of another incident that happened in my life. I was watching and American movie...The Avengers, and there was a scene shown that occurred in India. A girl was running in the streets and it was shown that there was dirt and poor people. A girl in the theater shouted LOUDLY, "This is NOT India!!" I understand that the girl was hurt. She has national pride towards her country. But what she said was absolutely wrong. I can point out thousands of streets like that in India. In my opinion, I would love to see more and more of those streets in movies and pictures. Maybe then, people will think "This is NOT India" and actually wipe out those streets to prove that this is not India.

I think the more you point out the same faults...even if it exposes weaknesses...the better and faster results of correcting these faults is what we will get...even if people make money on the side (I'm talking about money they earned, not money that is unlawful and unjust.)

😊

@aishbaby08X

wow loved wat u wrote.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
@all :

I think the issues are old, many city based adults know these are the issues but in daily life , we hardly give it a thought. Most of us have the thought ---oh come on, its not happening in my family.

It is wrong to say everybody is aware of these issues. some may have heard about it , maybe they have not thought deeply about it. Most middle class indians just brush aside thse issues out of their minds as problems in daily life crop up-- price rise, water scarcity, traffic congestion.

Many people hav the misconception female foeticide, female infanticide only happens in rural Rajasthan . My Aunt argued with me that it does not happen in other parts of India.😕

MAny people think Upper middle class families dont have to go through the dowry problem.

& My friend was puzzled that how can little boys be sexually exploited by men 🤢
So it is not plausible to say everybody in India is aware of these issues.
If the channel is paying Aamir for his presence, at least his presence makes a diffrence

The show gets a larger share of viewership.

If this is a profit oriented show , why STAR has allowed its airing on Doordarshan.

People are analyzing , discussing the show n the issues , somewhere Aamir's presence is attracting more interest, more eyeballs.

The show may not bring a big momentum in the societal reform process, but at least a small ripple would cause a fraction of the people to think , analyze the things happening around them.

Even if a few families benefit directly or indirectly from the show that is supposedly benefitting Aamir's purse, Its worth it.

After all if he is being paid for doing something good, its not a big crime.

What about Aamir recovering the time & resources , money and expertise spent on the research & groundwork for the show ???? I dont expect people he has hired in his production house to work for him free --without pay.

simple mathematics n simple economics ehhh😉
642126 thumbnail

Forget it yaar! Those who say this show was done only for profit are forgetting its impact totally!

- A taboo issue like CSA is now being discussed at schools, homes and in media in a big way. Schools planning workshops for kids after SMJ episode.

- Sarpanch in Rajasthan village takes action after SMJ.

- Jaipur administration is now tracking ultrasound machines and has deployed anganwadi workers to conduct door to door visits to check on pregnant women and have made provisions so that people can't even take pregnant woman outside state to abort a child in case it is female!

- A 15 year old girl was saved from being trafficked in Indore, after her sister came to know of Childline while watching SMJ!

- Licenses of 64 doctors practising sex selective abortion cancelled by government in Bhopal!

- Administration in Allahabad cracked down on a hospital openly conducting sex selective abortions.

- There was no legal provision for child sex abuse earlier. Now bill on CSA has been passed 2 weeks after SMJ highlighted this issue, created mass awareness. Even Harish Iyer said this show had played a major role by letting people know there was no law on this issue at all and how serious this issue was considering 53% kids are abused!

- Students in Hyderabad started a campaign against CSA after watching SMJ!

And so much which is highlighted in impact thread.

Certain commenters here can keep saying Aamir was fake or this show is only for profit or to benefit from people's troubles. While majority are in praise of this show and taking something positive from it. Such a show is any day better than routine entertainers. And in 3 weeks it made more impact than any other show ever did! At least this show has done something positive, unlike keyboard punchers online.

Edited by annika20 - 13 years ago
arunima_LUIT thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
@annika :

topic maker may hav a different view . She just put forward her opinion. Though I know most of us here disagree.

plz dont make personal comments. edit those words from your last line. It is a request . Lets not create smthing unpleasant here in SMJ forum.

even I dont want to comment more. We know the pro n cons of the show n we are happy with it.
642126 thumbnail

Yes sure I will edit my comment. But everyone knows what's the best way to seek attention in any forum!😆 I didn't name anyone personally. But we all know what's happening. 😉

BTW, by commenting here, we're only giving what the seeker wants. I edited my comment though, as you said. 😛

582445 thumbnail
OH GOD y u ppl r replying to ds useless thread ... sorry to say but the thread maker may I ask what's ur problem is? AAMIR is getting money or AAMIR is getiing 3crore?? if the 1st one I guess he has given enough effort for earning money 4m this show n if d 2nd then d answer is simple he deservees it.. u r asking for reasonable?? do U know what is reasonable for STAR?? do u think if takes a lesser amount STAR will do a charity with it? or d most important thing how can u say that he is making money on other's sorrow... he is making money by doing a show... n a show which is really meaningful n needed.. he is not selling tears he is showing d fact.. another stars make money doing stupid reality shows u don't have a prob with them? n remember it AAMIR could have those 3 crores doing KBC 4 when he was offered or more than 3crore by endorsing brands what he is not doing for 6months ... he is not NETAJI SUBHAS CHANDRA
BOSE, sacrificing his life for country he is only a star... still trying to produce something which may help his country ... taking up d issue of his wedge is something disgusting... or rather say hilarious n stupid
aditee thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: curious1

My intention to write this post is to not hurt any ones feelings but just voice my opinion.

I love it when shows like this try to raise the awareness of common people about so many things happening around us.

I am against celebrities hosting these shows and making a ton of money with just bringing up people's sorrows. Amir Khan trying to look like a patriot and trying to do something nice for the country is just anothe celeb trying to make money.3 Crores per episode this is insane. The celebs like him who are so blessed with name, fame and fortune should come forward and make these shows for no wage in fact I think they should spend their own money promoting these cause.

As soon as I found that Amir Khan is getting this much money I am done watching this show. Just very against my principles. He is an actor. His tears seem fake. End of it I am sure he is only after his paycheck. I am not contributing my time or money into his show that goes towards his paycheck.

Please do not get me wrong. I am not agaist Celbes making money. Just not for this cause. Imagine how many victims can be helped with this amount of money every week. My heart truly goes out to all the Victims that are part of this show or not and do pray that the justice is done to every single one of them.

I watch Crime Patrol on Sony every week which also brings up such real life cases. It is great for awareness but alas no Amir Khan is hosting is so I am not sure if it is getting that kind of attention.

Power to the voice of commoners and happiness to all.

What do you expect?
He is "known" to wake from self induced coma when ever his movie is about to release. He worried about the Narmada Project before his last movie was about to release.
Havent seen ONE picture of him after that FOR, WITH OR DONATING for the cause.
Unfortunately ALL Indian celebrities have their vision focussed one ONE thing!!
Their bank account!!
Trying to make this venture of his "noble" or pious" would only make us look like fools
Ask him 3 years from now about the kid that was abused or the woman that walked out of her marriage, he would act like he has no understanding of Hindi😃😃😃
642126 thumbnail

Lo ji! Aditee types are ones that Curious needs!😆😉

Which movie does he have for release now that he is doing Satyamev Jayate? SJ will end in August. Whereas his forthcoming movie does not release before November end.

He supported Anna Hazare last year when he had NO movie or show coming out. He supported Gujarat riots victims and donated lakhs for orphaned kids affected by those riots in 2002, when he was on a break from movies. He supported victims of Bombay blasts in 1993, when he had no movie coming up.

And what gains did he get during Narmada Bachao Andolan? His movie was banned in entire state of Gujarat and only suffered losses in terms of box office collections! What benefit did he get then? He donated 25 lakhs to NBA movement then. He's a regular donor to Pratham and CRY. He supports Teach for India, Lead India, Incredible India, ADR, National Sanitation campaign, UNICEF's malnutrition campaign - all on an honorary basis, without charging a penny. And he has done campaigns for them even when he had no movies releasing.

You are making an ill-informed comment thinking he does activism only when his movies are coming.

As for follow up, why don't you ask anchor of Zindagi Live about whereabouts of people featured in her show after 2 years? Let's see if she knows! Barkha Dutt used Kargil War coverage as a matter of pride for her career as she was first woman journo to cover a war. Ask her if she knows whereabouts of Kargil war victims now? Why point fingers only at Aamir Khan?😡

aditee thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: annika20

Lo ji! Aditee types are ones that Curious needs!😆😉

Which movie does he have for release now that he is doing Satyamev Jayate? SJ will end in August. Whereas his forthcoming movie does not release before November end.

He supported Anna Hazare last year when he had NO movie or show coming out. He supported Gujarat riots victims and donated lakhs for orphaned kids affected by those riots in 2002, when he was on a break from movies. He supported victims of Bombay blasts in 1993, when he had no movie coming up.

And what gains did he get during Narmada Bachao Andolan? His movie was banned in entire state of Gujarat and only suffered losses in terms of box office collections! What benefit did he get then? He donated 25 lakhs to NBA movement then. He's a regular donor to Pratham and CRY. He supports Teach for India, Lead India, Incredible India, ADR, National Sanitation campaign, UNICEF's malnutrition campaign - all on an honorary basis, without charging a penny. And he has done campaigns for them even when he had no movies releasing.

You are making an ill-informed comment thinking he does activism only when his movies are coming.

As for follow up, why don't you ask anchor of Zindagi Live about whereabouts of people featured in her show after 2 years? Let's see if she knows! Barkha Dutt used Kargil War coverage as a matter of pride for her career as she was first woman journo to cover a war. Ask her if she knows whereabouts of Kargil war victims now? Why point fingers only at Aamir Khan?😡

Annika feel free to defend them ALL you like but the Indian movie stars and celebrities' selfishness and myopia is well known.
I bet he is planning to donate every dime of the 3 crore per episode in setting up women and children's shelters across India and personally employing a task force to go after such crimes.
I am happy he has supporters in people like you, he can "never" fail.😃
His personal motive and financial gain will never come to light👏👏
Hope you can give us some of his personal income tax statistics while you are at it.
Bollywood is notorious for tax evasion.
Unless you believe the underworld mafia is just a charitable organization part of the UN
Ask him when he reported the entire proceeds of what he made for a movie.
Every rich person SHOULD set an example. IF the government had enough tax revenues they could go after "celebrity" causes like he does.
BTW IF Barkha Dutt made 100 crores per year like Mr Khan does publicizing such causes I would hold her accountable!!😲
Where I pay more, I worry about IF my money is working well for me or not...
Edited by aditee - 13 years ago
642126 thumbnail

I am not blindly defending Aamir Khan here. I specifically responded to your accusation that he takes causes when he has some film releasing! That is totally wrong.

And why are you suddenly bringing whole of Bollywood into it eh? From Aamir Khan, you suddenly shifted to corrupt Bollywood and their tax evasion?😆

Do you know? Some years ago, Aamir Khan was given a special award by I-T department for paying taxes regularly! And he was also taken in I-T department's special film to raise awareness on paying taxes properly! I don't know if they were right or wrong in doing so!😉 I-T department has no problem with him it seems. 😃

Aamir makes 100 crores from social causes?🤣 How come 3 crores per episode for this show of 13 episodes, makes it 100 crores per year? I thought it amounted to Rs. 39 crores!😆 🤪

All other campaigns Aamir does for social causes are on an honorary basis. He never charges for them. Unlike a trying to make comeback actress, who demanded 9 crores to be ambassador of Maharashtra state alone!😃

Barkha Dutt also makes money if not as much as Mr. Khan.She also gets awards for so-called fearless journalism. Why not make her accountable?

His personal motive?👏 What motive have you sensed which no one else could get, Ms. Sherlock Holmes?😉

Why are you asking him to deploy a task force my dear? Is that his job or government's? Inspired by his show, administration at some places has started task forces. A good thing. BTW, why not ask Barkha or Richa and all big bosses at CNN-IBN or NDTV how much of their money goes into starting task force or catching criminals?🤣🤡

Why should I ask him what he made for a movie? Since you are so concerned, ONLY FOR HIM (and not for other stars or even journalists) then why don't you ask?🐷

642126 thumbnail

And this thread goes on. It's more important than the issues. Shows mentality of people.👏

BTW, have genuinely concerned ones donated to any NGO featured on SMJ or not? Help them make more crores than what Aamir made!😉

Edited by annika20 - 13 years ago