Sorry guyz :( Took some time for this part! On one hand, I was tied down, and on the other, I had no idea where this should go. But as we are always advised, keep writing! And I'm happy how it's turning out. It's funny that the tension begins to build up in Part 13, as the number 13 has an international reputation of being an unlucky number! Looks like bad times are coming up for Roli and Sid. Here it is folks! Enjoy :)
THE CELEBRITY - PART 13
An original story by Archana Vinod
A FIVE STAR HOSPITAL BEDROOM - NIGHT
There he is... Mehul Pandey... lying stretched out on a hospital bed with a tight bandage stuck onto his nose. He's is pain. Terrible pain! But... his hatred and anger is even more overwhelming.
He has a visitor - a large guy in a safari suit. "Mehul bhai, just say yes. My boys will take care of that guy. Let's break his bones and dump him in the gutter! Nobody will come to know about it!"
"No need Bharat," says Mehul in a rather funny voice, "I've got a better plan. Let me just get out of here."
"What's on your mind?" asks Bharat curiously.
Mehul smiles painfully. "Be patient, Bharat. Be patient."
ROSID'S BEDROOM - PAST 10.30 PM
Siddhant gulps down his umpteenth glass of water and longingly takes the jug for more only to find it empty. Just then, Roli comes out of the bathroom.
"Roli, can you please get more water?" he asks with intense thirst.
"Again?" she is surprised, "that's your fourth jug Siddhantji! Don't drink too much water. You'll burst!"
"Please yaar. I need more water! I feel so dehydrated!" he begs.
"Ok yaar, don't get too worked up. Coming in a minute." She picks up the jug and disappears.
Siddhant leans back onto the head rest of the bed. God! I feel like I'm dying. I never should have taken all that rum, he regrets. He feels even worse as he remembers bits and pieces of his night at the party. Shit yaar, I can't believe I hit that guy! He is a good friend of the Khans and the Kapoors. I'm done for now!
Just then, his phone starts ringing. It's a call from Sanjana. Why is she calling now? To remind me about last night? He answers the call. "Hey Sanju," he greets in a low voice.
"Well, well. So our hero has finally got up," she quips.
"Yeah, and I feel terrible," he sighs.
"For what? For hitting Mehul?"
"For that... and so many other things," he replies in an exasperated tone.
"Just chill Sid. He deserved it. He's an asshole," she says in an attempt to make him feel better.
"Yeah, but..."
"How's Roli doing?" she asks out of the blue.
"Roli...? She's fine."
"She was mad as heck that night," informs Sanjana.
"She was hopping mad a little while ago, things are quite okay now."
"So how's your first experience of boozing?" she asks in an amused tone.
"It's not my first," he replies carelessly.
"What? I thought you have never boozed before."
"Not really. I had once before. And it was a catastrophe," he replies referring to his frustrating experience with Naina.
"Mind telling me about it?" she inquires.
Just then Roli comes into the room with a glass of buttermilk and a jug of water. She slows down as she notices Sid on the phone at this hour.
"I tore out that chapter from my book long back," says Sid. He still hasn't noticed Roli in the room, "And I seriously don't want to think about such people. They're nothing but a constant pain in the neck."
"Oh okay. It's absolutely fine if you don't want to share with me," she replies sadly.
"It's nothing like that Sanju. How can I tell you something which even my wife doesn't know about?"
Roli's eyes go wide. Sanju? He's talking with Sanjana? And Siddhant has a secret she doesn't know? What's that? She listens carefully.
"Is it something to do with a girl?" asks Sanjana suspiciously.
"Let's talk about something else," says Siddhant sounding really tired.
"So... I am right. It is a girly case," says Sanjana.
Roli moves in closer.
"Sanju, please yaar. I really don't want to talk about all these things. It may be -" Siddhant's voice trails to a halt as he notices Roli in front of him with a glass of buttermilk.
"Hello? Hello Sid? Are you there?"
Siddhant's gapes at Roli in disbelief. Oh shit! Was she listening? Please God! I hope she didn't hear! Please! Please! He breaks into a cold sweat.
Roli watches him intently as if she can read his mind. Sanjana's voice can be heard buzzing from the phone, still close to Siddhant's ear. Roli snatches the phone from him.
"Roli! Just listen""
But she shuts him up instantly with a finger on his lips. She keeps the phone to her ear and listens.
"Hello Sid? What's happening?" asks Sanjana a bit worried now.
Without a word, Roli cuts the line.
"Hey!" Sid almost jumps up from the bed in protest.
"Sit down!" Roli instructs clearly. He obeys like a little toddler. Roli's crossed arms send a chill down Siddhant's spine. Oh God! Here comes the biwi wala' question... the police interrogation! Why didn't Roli join the police academy?
"Is there something you wish to tell me?" she asks quietly.
A long silence.
"Siddhantji?"
"Huh?"
"What have you been hiding from me?"
Oh dear... this is bad. Siddhant had managed to keep Naina's case buried from Roli for so long. But like the famous proverb quotes, "truth will be out." What's going to happen? Watch out for The Celebrity Part 14.