Dear friends..
I thought of taking a new take for season two for Bidaaii, This is completely a new story .. I just thought of starting a new Short story from scratch... Here we have the main characters who are defiantly played by Apurva and Parul..
Apurva always wanted to become either an actor or be flying an aircraft.. Now I can always picture him being a pilot and more so I have seen him as a pilot in Say Shava Shava on Imagine TV
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[Character Sketch]
So here goes the main lead of my story '
Ragini Sharma : Beautiful dusky , elegant , intelligent-- aspiring to be a pediatric specialist, completing her internship at a prestigious hospital. Quite a studious girl and brilliant in academics..
Vijay Sareen : Anmol's father --Aeronautical Engineer , stayed in US for about 10 years working at NASA , but got a great offer as a professor and head of the department of Aerospace engineering in IIT Delhi since the opened the department that very year and so he flow back with his family and since then is settled in Delhi. This was his last year as head and would be retiring pretty soon.
Radhika Sareen : Anmol's mother-- A tuition teacher teaching English Literature . She teaches kids, takes after school program. Has a small studio at home where she conducts classes.
Raj Sharma : Ragini's father-- An Officer in the Army Corps of Engineers . He is presently deputed in Jamshedpur. They have their own house in Delhi.
Kalpana Sharma : Ragini's mother-- A home maker and a loveable person.
Jai Sharma : Ragini's brother ' He is doing his High school /collage(12th grade) at the Army public School in Jamshedpur. Ragini loves and adores her little brother.. . He was her baby brother, he main reason of her taking up pediatric was due to the reason she has seen some worst times in his health , but god willing everything is Ok with him now...He is also a brilliant boy and wants to peruse Engineering and become an architect.
Binni Dadi ji : Anmol's grand ma, she lives with the Sareens
Ramesh Dada ji Sharada Dadi ji : Ragini's grand parents..Presently Ragini lives with her grandparents . They live in Delhi in their son's house.
Divya Sareen/Gupta : Anmol's sister who lives in California, she is a gynecologist. Married to Sameer Gupta. Has a 3 year old son Aditya.
Sameer Gupta : Anmol's brother in law, software engineer working for NASA, in the aeronautical department. Well settled in California.
Vikram Rathod : Anmol's friend who was with him in him drill for airforce training and also his college friend.
Rashmi Singh :Ragini's friend from internship.
Naina Rastogi : Anmol's friend from the air force academy She is an ophthalmologist
I will add new characters as and when the story takes its turn...
Anmol's family and Ragini's family are living in the same neighborhood, and they are good friends.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Walking down the corridor in a white lab coat ,a stethoscope around her neck and setting her glasses right, she was waiting for her break and have a cup of coffee with Rashmi when her pager beeped she turned left to push open the door into the neonatal intensive care units (NICUs) on a premature baby . She looked at the chart and made sure that the required . She told the nurse that Dr. Gill would do the final check and she signed the chart since she had come and done her rounds.
Finally she got the much needed break and she rushed to her desk which was more like a 4 feet by 4 feet cubical and took her slim SONY VAIO laptop and her dabba which her Dadi makes her for daliy and leaving her lab coat and stereoscope , but making sure she has her pager with her all the time.., thats the rule no 1 of a would be doctor, which she promised herself when she decided that she would take it up as her profession.
The cafeteria was around the corner and she caught her favorite seat which was always a rift between her and Rashmi...Rashmi her close friend from med school who she lived in the hostel but come regularly to meet her grandparents and no sooner became a part of their family and also the the neighbors.
Settling down she quickly opened her dabba which her dadi very sweetly packs for her and she tells her that her mom has instructed she eats only Ghar ka Khana...Each bite she takes she remembers her dadi and her sweet sugary words for her ladli naathi...(grad daughter). Finishing off the last bite of the aloo paratha, she takes a napkin and cleans of the fine crumbs around her beautiful lips and drinks up half the bottle of water. "haa.. water is the best thirst quencher " a sign of relief she gasped.
Finally the moment she was waiting for ..dusting of any remaining dust from her hands, she opened her laptop and booted the machine..She opened the browser and clicked on Yahoo mail icon she had bookmarked...
The checking mail icon was processing any new messages, and there it was a mail from Anmol Sareen . Without wasting any time on other emails she opened this mail and started to read..
Missing me.... Chalo let me tell you whats happening...
I am sure I will never forget my day today - I undertook my first real casualty evacuation mission.
The day started as just another day. I got up at 6:00 a.m. and after finishing early morning chores, I was well in time for the morning briefing at 7:30 a.m. By the time we had covered the meteorological forecasts and current weather with the ATC and signals state, I was really hungry and relished every bite of the excellent Breakfast at the Squadron Cafeteria.
Within an hour we were done with the Mission briefing, checking the aircraft as well as the Administrative and Operational requirements of the Mission. At 10:00 a.m. we took off as per the planned mission...
Yaar I don't want to bore you with my routine, I know you love to hear but.... I need to see you.. and talk to you.. Aa raha hoon ' Kab its a surprise...;)
Acha '. continuing my last part of my daily routine....
As I had an hour before dinner, I rushed to have a quick swim. Followed by a wash and change, I joined the other officers at the Mess.
----('..)Anmol....
Tears stained her eyes , but she was able to cover them up with her slim black rim glasses.
"Uff Ragini u r quick .. I knew I would be on time , but Dr. Gill he catches you just when you want to escape , yaar aab how long will this internship go on ...I want to be a doctor lekin internship is really hectic....",
peeping in from the back Rashmi caught the last word, "Its Anmol's email what has he written bataoo", she started to tease Ragini...there was silence...
Then bending to look at Ragini's face and those eyes she would always read behind those glasses, Removing her glasses, "yeh lo wipe your tears , I hate to see them and let Anmol come back I will take him to task..."
Ragini wiping her tears and stealing glances from people around..
"Rashmi task for what ' , he has gone on training and its 7 months.. , bachpan say he had a dream to be on a plane, and his dream is coming true, I am so happy for him.."
"But Ragini, You ...", Keeping her hand on hers she smiled " lets go now otherwise Dr. Gill will start.." and they laughed...
Ragini picked up her stuff, went to her desk and wore her lab coat back , her stereoscope around her neck and left for her routines...
Later that evening, the phone rings on the side table next to the couch. Still flipping the newspaper and leaving a deaf year to the ring, Vijay sits continues reaing his paper and sipping the remaining coffee which had become quite cold...
"Arrey Vijay beta why can't you take the call, my feet are hurting and you are sitting right next to it..."
Rushing in a lady in her late forties say 50 picks up and in her soft tone speaks " Wow beta that is wonderful.. I am so happy, haha dadi is also very happy, aur you know your papa na... Yes we'll come to the airport.. Beta my eyes are just longing to see you , Miss you sweetheart, love ya"
He used to call at least twice a week, and today was one of the days and as usual Vijay Sareen wouldn't do the needful as that was the time when the phone rang just for Radhika to come and pick up..
"Maa.. your grandson is coming back , yes he is coming back... Tomorrow he will be arriving .. 7 long months ' It seems like forever... Akhey taras gayeethi to see him...Did you hear". shaking Vijay who was still holding on to the newspaper which finally slipped of his hand on to the floor..
"haan haan I know .." he nodded though he was equally happy his eyes had a film of tear , he took a quick breath but there was something which was annoying him related to past... and didn't want to spoil his mood...
"Arrey Sharada suna mera potha , my grandson is coming back tomorrow !!" she quickly speed dialed and informed her dear friend who happened to be ragini's dadi...They exchanged a good laugh and hung up...
"I am soo excited maa... I will make his favorite food.. Pata nahi what all he got to eat there in the mess.. Maa ka khana I am sure my beta must be missing !!" , "tomorrow I will cancel all my tuition and make arrangements..."
"Yes Radhika I will also help you akhir my one and only grand son is coming back...."
Vijay picked up the paper and arranged them properly and informed " Flight ka timming dekh lena, make sure we don't reach the airport late or even too early " he walked out leaving Radhika happy knowing after everything he still loves his son and is as eager as us to see him...
At the Sharma residence excitement was also brewing.. Dada ji and Dadi ji were equally excited that their sweet and smart and handsome young man was coming back .. He would always come and take their blessings as he saw them as much as his own Dadi...
"Dadi whats all this excitement..", Ragini keeping her bag on the crescent console table came up to her Dadi and sat down placing her head on her lap...
"Pata hai who is coming tomorrow" she said while slowly brushing Ragini's hair which was like a soothing massage for her after a long day at the pediatrics department...The soothing massage made her remove her glasses and close her eyes...
"Who's coming Dadi , Koi apko dekney aa raha hai kya ", she teased her...
"Nahi meri naathi , actually ha.. handsome hai , intelligent hai, aur I know him form the time he was a baby"
Ragini opened her eyes wide and lifted her head up she knew who it was , so the surprise was he is coming back" Kab Dadi....?,, when ??" her heart unknowingly started to beat faster..
"Kal , " "kal " , "Chal go get refreshed I will get dinner ready for you " and making room for herself Dadi walked out leaving Ragini sitting on the floor...smiling she was as excited as the rest.. Why was her heart beating so much.. how will she pass through this night, gawd I need to finish up some notes and with him returning ringing in my ear will I be able to do my work.. Ufff.. she grumbled.... and her mind which had a build up of loads of excitement too....
Pre cap : Sitting in his seat as the plane took off into the air, he couldn't help the smile that spread across his face. He'd been away from home for seven months.
Please let me know if you found it interesting. Seeing the responses I will continue !!😊