advil thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 3
Posted: 18 years ago

Sarita,

Your MOTW has been exactly what I had envisaged it to be- a total riot !!! Just loved what all i read. 😳Well, if i may be honest then -ahem(😳 ),skipped your movie related replies, did not read them...( i am not at all a movie buff), but I am sure you were rocking there as well !!!

You have a fantastic sense of humour and your punch lines are total riots. Its been a pleasure to know you. You are an amazing person - so full of life and wit.

I am waiting for your detailed description of the land of 500 cows and 100 men.(or was it the other way round) 😆 when you return back from there. Whatever it is, dont just forget to take your camera when you go there..U definitely should.. and lets pray you dont get either Kumar Sanu or HR for company there.😆

I would love to hear your mimicry of Sanuda...Sahana says its worth listening to it...Kab bhejo ge?☺️

Have fun, good luck and God bless you......

Edited by advil - 18 years ago
Ethnos thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
Your knowledge of urdu, of ghazals, sher o shaayari is profound and amazing! And now to answer your questions 😊

Originally posted by: *salil*

Sarita - not sure if your "term" is over yet so let me ask a few questions.

1. What makes Talat Mehmood so special to you? What are the singing qualities in him that you do not find in other singers?

Talat sings with his heart and sings with full devotion and respect to the music that has been set out for him. Often singers do it the other way round. They make the song, raga or music their slave [I'd say this of at least 2 very famous playback singers and one popular female vocalist].

The soothing, rich quality in his voice, combined with his style of singing - the slight shake - is very, very unique. And this I haven't till date found in any singer. What's more? Loads of singers have come and tried to imitate the way Rafi, Kishore, Lata and Asha sing. But, not one has been able to imitate Talat. He is indeed truly inimitable!

2. Who are your favorite music composers and how will you rate Madan Mohan?

Music composers in Hindi music? Then I'd say SD Burman tops my list. But equally dear to me are Anil Biswas, C Ramchandra, Salil Chowdhury, Roshan, Naushad (though not all of Naushad's compositions) and of course Madan Mohan and Jaidev. Some of the master pieces by Ravi, Sajjad Hussain and Sardar Mallik are also my all-time favourites.

Madan Mohan's knowledge of music - the raagas, raginis, technical nuances - showed in all his compositions. But, somehow his gems were those created in the 1950s and early 1960s.

3. Your favorite filmi and non-filmi ghazals.

This is a toughie, coz it's really hard to pick! Besides, if I do choose a composition, you might just shoot it down saying that I am wrong and that technically it's not a ghazal! 😛😆 But, what appealed to my heart, my emotions and my aesthetic sense were: of course Sahir's 'Woh subah kabhi to aayegi' from 'Phir Subah Hogi'. Also Sahir's 'Yeh mahalon yeh takhton...' from Pyaasa; "Na milta gham to barbaadi ke afsaane kahaan jaate" by Shakeel Badayuni from the movie, 'Amar'. There are many more, but these came to my mind for now.

Non-filmi, actually 3 of them. Lata's rendition of Ghalib's 'Har ek baat pe'; 'Ranjish hi sahi' by Nizar Bazmi (if I'm not wrong...) and 'Raat yoon dil mein teri, khoi hui yaad...' (can't recall the composer). Actually, I heard the last one in a Pakistani serial, 'Dhoop Kinare'. That's another passion of mine. Love these 5 gems of Pakistani serial, Ankahi, Tanhaaiyan, Dhoop Kinare, Samundar and Waaris. Perfect masterpieces. Seeing them is also like reading a book each time and reading a poem.

4. If you get a chance to go to the live concert of just one classical musician (singer or intrumentalist), who that musician would be?

Nikhil Banerjee ANYDAY!! If he can move me to tears just by recordings, he would have had to risk a deluge at his concert 😊

5. What is your opinion on the classical artists like Shubha Mudgal who dared to walk on a different road by cutting pop music album?

Her effort is indeed commendable. That she was able to bring pure, Hindustani music to the youth and the present day generation, by mixing it with folk and pop music. I somehow prefer her kind of classical-turned-folk / pop to the endless reams being churned out by the Bangash brothers. Her work appears more mature.

Edited by Ethnos - 18 years ago
Ethnos thumbnail
Thanks Cham! I am indeed honoured and of course the pleasure was all mine! I got to know you so much better through this, too. And, I'm glad you didn't take offense to anything I wrote back there. Sometimes I do let my humour run away with me 😕. But, you have a brilliant funny bone!!! Thanks again 😊

Originally posted by: ChameliKaYaar

My parting note from this thread:

Perusing through the 28 pages and counting was a pure joy Saritaji. The first thing that comes to my mind is that you took pains in writing some very thoughtful and creative answers. They were not just run-of-the-mill answers. Your humor AND satires are more than just wisecracks. They are very well thought of pieces of your mind. I loved reading them and learnt from them.

The imperssion I have at the end of these 28 pages of treasure is that of a very mature, thoughtful and yet a jocose person who knows the balancing act between private and public life very well.

Nice knowing you Saritaji and I look forward to continue to hear your voice through the SRGMP contest. All the best for coming rounds.

The words that come to my mind to describe your personality would be

PROLIFIC WRITER AND Ms CONGENIALITY

Ethnos thumbnail
Hi there, this is truly heart warming indeed! Thank you so much! Yes indeed we should meet! 😊 And when we do that, may be I could get MP3 back-ups of some of the songs that I have lost, or are damaged 😛

Hi Sarita. I am sorry I have not been able to come to post questions but I have been reading some of your answers. I am really very impressed with the music, songs, and singers you have put down as your favs. Its a small world kya? Talat Mahmood, Geeta Dutt, John Denver, Edlewise from Sound of Music, Simon and Garfunkel....... these are all my favs.!!😳😳 The Zulmi sang aankh ladi from Madhumati..... I could listen to it forever. We will have to catch up one of these days.

All the answers are great.👏👏

Edited by Ethnos - 18 years ago
Ethnos thumbnail
Thanks Chattie! It was great knowing you again on this thread! 😉😊

Originally posted by: chatbuster

hey Sarita, done good kid. am impressed impressed. ok, throw in another impressed for good measure. good now?😃

Ethnos thumbnail
Thank you Adi! And thanks also to Anu, Barnali, Bhaskar and others in the dev team for giving me this opportunity 😊

I thought you wouldn't be reading most of the stuff on this thread - movie related or Sanu-related 😉

Yeah I certainly will be taking my cam, as soon as I'm done downloading the 1284 pics from there to my laptop (taken during the other trip that I did to Bush-land few weeks back 😛). Hope this land is as nice too!

Thank you again!!

Originally posted by: advil

Sarita,

Your MOTW has been exactly what I had envisaged it to be- a total riot !!! Just loved what all i read. 😳Well, if i may be honest then -ahem(😳 ),skipped your movie related replies, did not read them...( i am not at all a movie buff), but I am sure you were rocking there as well !!!

You have a fantastic sense of humour and your punch lines are total riots. Its been a pleasure to know you. You are an amazing person - so full of life and wit.

I am waiting for your detailed description of the land of 500 cows and 100 men.(or was it the other way round) 😆 when you return back from there. Whatever it is, dont just forget to take your camera when you go there..U definitely should.. and lets pray you dont get either Kumar Sanu or HR for company there.😆

I would love to hear your mimicry of Sanuda...Sahana says its worth listening to it...Kab bhejo ge?☺️

Have fun, good luck and God bless you......

a_b thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
Sarita ji I will write my partying note only when u answer the question you promised me you will answer at the end of this week.Itna toh aap karoge na mere liye. Remember. 😛
Edited by a_b - 18 years ago
*dolly* thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
thanks sarita for answering questions..wish i had more time to grill you 😆 .. ahhh i mean to know u better 😉 ..
take care and best of luck !
Sur_Sangam thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Sarita ji, read some of your answers especially Kumar Sanu ones 😃 they are hillarious..Just one question, why you have such a strong opinion about him 😆 ..Thanks for all the entertainment this whole week and best of luck to you in all your endeavors.
Edited by Sur_Sangam - 18 years ago
manjujain thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail

Arre yeh kya ho raha hai. aaj hee sabne thank notes likhne shuru kar diye, abhi to kal bhi hai na? In general it's whole Sunday of USA right? but anyway I am not taking chances so I will write mine too.

Sarita

I never interacted with you before but now I know you better. Thanks for answering so many questions. I think I am the one who asked you most of the questions. Sorry as some of them turned out harder to you than I thought. I really enjoyed the way you answered questions with humor. You wrote the answers really the way you felt liked it. You did a very good job. 👏👏👏

I wish you success & happiness throughout your life. May god bless you. 🤗🤗🤗

Manju