chatbuster thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
Posted: 19 years ago

Originally posted by: abhi_music

main sach ke silava kuch nahi bolunga 😆

yes the old format is NEEDED! when sonu used to host, those days.. kya mazaa aatha tha

sorry, based on viewership, seems most people prefer the new format. call it marketing if we want. in any case, without marketing, would hema, debo or vinit have become the kind of household names they did? not to mention nihira and himani. somebody did spend a lot of money to groom them, build stories around them, get MDs to lend credibility to them etc.

if we are talking about "mazaa", then the new format wld win hands down with the public... my opinion

and what i am saying is that the same is true even for the singers on averae. yes, what i will give is that the shooting is more geared towards performance than on singing. some of us like it, some dont. and i think more do like it (as per viewership).

chatbuster thumbnail

Originally posted by: desimam

I am also looking for singing quality not actor. Though new format gave hemu but do not forget we lose sharib too. New format may not give best singer always. while old format sure will give good singer.

I will prefer old format.

but sharib is a winner in the new format, more than he wld have been under the old. he is more recognizable. he has an offer to sing with Lataji...

at the end, the nature of how the new show was formatted strengthened the nature of the competition and our own interest in it. Wld we have noticed if he had gotten out in some first round of the old sgmp?

desimam thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: chatbuster

sorry, based on viewership, seems most people prefer the new format. call it marketing if we want. in any case, without marketing, would hema, debo or vinit have become the kind of household names they did? not to mention nihira and himani. somebody did spend a lot of money to groom them, build stories around them, get MDs to lend credibility to them etc.

if we are talking about "mazaa", then the new format wld win hands down with the public... my opinion

and what i am saying is that the same is true even for the singers on averae. yes, what i will give is that the shooting is more geared towards performance than on singing. some of us like it, some dont. and i think more do like it (as per viewership).

New format become more popular because they give control in public hand. because of public voting all participant become more popular.

As you know old, young, child has voted for their favourite

chatbuster thumbnail

New format become more popular because they give control in public hand. because of public voting all participant become more popular.

As you know old, young, child has voted for their favourite

sure, they got the public involved. had to make money too.

but what is the problem- the new singers are not as good? or what we see on TV with the emphasis on performance?

let's assume we dont care for the nautankis that get shown. how does someone then justify spending so much money to mine for the gold? if the old format does not do as well with the audience anymore, dont we think that soon sgmp will not have the resources to really conduct any serious talent hunt?

=>>>>>

so there is a tradeoff- do we want excellent singers plus nautanki, or the occasional good singer free of nautanki?

teenindia_usa thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: teenindia_usa

My ANSWER HERE AGAIN ANGELA

I wanted to say I agree with some aspects here yet some I woulddiffer I will analyze since U'r post has lots of thought provoking points.

I will analyze veryclosely and pont out my views soon and post here

will say a very intellectual post rahul

MY ANSWER ANGELA

Well after reading U post thoroughly I noticed I have agreed to most all points. I want to add that the newformat also was more intersting than the old.

The new had me glued to the televison set as to who was tobe in and who tobe out. Also the entertainment aspect kept me entertained, the judges arguments and scandles kept me intuned.

What outraged me was teh voting system. I think that is the main aspect of the show which I had a problem with along with the nonsense love story saga at 1st it was amusing than it got ridiclous and lost thefocus of the show.

Than the walkouts, Assam scandel, and so on is what made the show get on my nerves and hence quality goingdown.

When singers like Nihria and Himani were outsed I thought they should havebeen in the top two. Also sa re ga ma pa website said a hero and herioine were tobe selected.

However, than Shaan announced only one was to take it all.

Going into voting again:

When there was a tiebetween Hema and Nihria =I started to question the show and whether it was rigged or not to save these 2 or just to add malasla. If ther was a tie has sad as it would havebeen one should havebeen outsed by a revote.Yetboth saved since popular and good singers.

Than the way they announced the voting sytembybreakingdoen regions rather than just announcing overall. WE public need not know where votes arebeing receivedfrom.

Abroad on reality shows they tell overall voting not that some in Ny got some percentage and in Alaska how much (meanning how much each state/city gave).

Sjow to me not show much the singing and performing it was more how the voting system was set up.

Lastly ekmain aur ek tu well this show is ridiclious and just time pass since we are not talking on that I will leave that to another time.....ok rahul

Edited by teenindia_usa - 19 years ago
chatbuster thumbnail

Angie, i am in agreement with all your points. so the new format took us for a ride in some ways. but it did give us excellent singers now, didn't it? and it did get more of the public back to focus on a musical show than was the case earlier?

as for who specifically won or lost, i think the fact that only one had to eventually win does not take away the fact that in some ways all the 32 gained more name recognition than they wld have otherwise. what's the point winning a competition and be truly adjudged the best if no one cares and not as many folks watch?

the new show made stars out of all these folks, even if they lost in the technical aspects of the voting.
desimam thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: chatbuster

sure, they got the public involved. had to make money too.

but what is the problem- the new singers are not as good? or what we see on TV with the emphasis on performance?

let's assume we dont care for the nautankis that get shown. how does someone then justify spending so much money to mine for the gold? if the old format does not do as well with the audience anymore, dont we think that soon sgmp will not have the resources to really conduct any serious talent hunt?

=>>>>>

so there is a tradeoff- do we want excellent singers plus nautanki, or the occasional good singer free of nautanki?

Sure new format has some advantage like

contestant got expose to MD. so chances of getting opportunity in industry increase.

Public sentimental involve which gave them popularity.

But winner of the show will not be the best one. Winner will be most popular one.

In old format

Winner is always best singer.

But after some time people forget and industry may not take a notice of it.

so overall contestant are more beneficial from new format.

But for music lover who want to listen good singer 😭

Edited by desimam - 19 years ago
chatbuster thumbnail

Originally posted by: desi.babe

yaa masala added an quality down..u havta maintain equilibrium

and who pays for that equilibrium? there is a tradeoff-

1. spend huge money, get the best singers from the land, then do nautankis to recoup some of the costs;

or

2. maintain a low profile and get an occasional good singer.

chatbuster thumbnail

Originally posted by: MrspetloverUS

Marketing and making money they are not viewers problems. THey are Z and SRGMPs problems. They need to do proper research before heading this show down the drain. To make money they need to get big companies to sponser the show. SMS is not the only way to make money it is more like ripping people off the way they are doing it. By having singers to act, wear ungly (Sorry) makeup and hair do does not sell the show. Actually it turns music lovers off. Unless the show is geared to people who does not care about quality of the show. I understand this is 2006 and the crieteria has changed. I accept that but I feel there are other ways to improve the show. This strategy is not helping but it is hurting the show as well as the contestants. MY POV.

but viewership is up. if zee had kept up the old format, it wld have also faded out and died like antakshari. great to feel nostalgic for the old, but there were problems with that format, in terms of quality of singers and profitability for channel.

distinguish the final voting result from the bigger fact that all the 32 contestants gained. most of the criticism seems to be narrowly focused on the voting process. the very things we are criticizing the show for gave them that brand recognition. cant have one's cake and eat it too.

as for mkt research, i am sure they have done it. this is the state of the art today. am sure they will continue to evolve and find more effective ways in the future. they need to for their own survival in a competitive world.

chatbuster thumbnail

Sure new format has some advantage like

contestant got expose to MD. so chances of getting opportunity in industry increase.

Public sentimental involve which gave them popularity.

But winner of the show will not be the best one. Winner will be most popular one.

In old format

Winner is always best singer.

But after some time people forget and industry may not take a notice of it.

so overall contestant are more beneficial from new format.

But for music lover who want to listen good singer 😭

you know what, the old format had probably 20 new winners on average a year (previous winner stayed around for 2 or 3 more episodes till he/ she got knocked out). no name recognition. how were their careers served even if they were truly the best? yes, i know about shreya and others. but just a handful.

the new format has made stars out of 10 to 20 singers. they are all winners. we seem to be stck up on who that one person who shld have won. arre ask the 10 or 20 singers- wld they rather have the recognition and opportunity they have today or have a trophy getting dust in their cupboard wit no further opportunity?