jhsurti thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail
Posted: 19 years ago
Some of my views on the matter. But first let me clarify that I am also one of you here who like 'old' music. I would like to re-coin the term as 'evergreen' - at least from our perspective.
What is 'culture'? It's a learnt behaviour(?). If the process of learning is an essential characteristic of culture, then teaching also is a crucial characteristic. The way culture is taught and reproduced is itself an important component of culture. So the fault lies at each level. If you don't expose the youth today(again, today is to maen at any point in the history of time. In our days also we were youth of 'today') to the tunes you loved, how are they going to appreciate? And it's not mere lsitening, they have to be shown the nuances of the compositions in a manner that might interest them. No one likes advice. It has to be coated in a form that is acceptable. I remember a friend who introduced the evergreen music to a youngster. And how? Knowing the interest of the youngster in rhythms, he picked up a Geeta Dutt song "Hum ne dekha pyar mein do naino ki maar mein" from "Guest House" The song had a rhythm, a certain naughtiness to it, and was fast. The person in question liked it so much and became a Geeta Dutt fan. She is still a fan. The point I wish to make is that some things have to be brought out. It's in there.

Another aspect is that not everyone will have the same choice. If every-one started loving the music of the golden era only, what will happen to today's composers? they are surviving and hitting the charts because they too have a following. It takes all kinds to make the world.

And if there was no such divide in choices, we wouldn't get a topic to discuss and mull over the 'golden' songs, will we!!!

Just a few thoughts after forcing myself to take a neutral ground. "One has to get out of the picture in order to see the perspective."
soulsoup thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: jhsurti

Some of my views on the matter. But first let me clarify that I am also one of you here who like 'old' music. I would like to re-coin the term as 'evergreen' - at least from our perspective.
What is 'culture'? It's a learnt behaviour(?). If the process of learning is an essential characteristic of culture, then teaching also is a crucial characteristic. The way culture is taught and reproduced is itself an important component of culture. So the fault lies at each level. If you don't expose the youth today(again, today is to maen at any point in the history of time. In our days also we were youth of 'today') to the tunes you loved, how are they going to appreciate? And it's not mere lsitening, they have to be shown the nuances of the compositions in a manner that might interest them. No one likes advice. It has to be coated in a form that is acceptable. I remember a friend who introduced the evergreen music to a youngster. And how? Knowing the interest of the youngster in rhythms, he picked up a Geeta Dutt song "Hum ne dekha pyar mein do naino ki maar mein" from "Guest House" The song had a rhythm, a certain naughtiness to it, and was fast. The person in question liked it so much and became a Geeta Dutt fan. She is still a fan. The point I wish to make is that some things have to be brought out. It's in there.

Another aspect is that not everyone will have the same choice. If every-one started loving the music of the golden era only, what will happen to today's composers? they are surviving and hitting the charts because they too have a following. It takes all kinds to make the world.

And if there was no such divide in choices, we wouldn't get a topic to discuss and mull over the 'golden' songs, will we!!!

Just a few thoughts after forcing myself to take a neutral ground. "One has to get out of the picture in order to see the perspective."

👏 Great post!
Swar_Raj thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
jhsruti..yes that is the point that the majority of youth is picking up what is called western. They are not introduced good hindustani music. It is more like status symbol for them to follow western. But it is not western, We donot see so much vulgarity in songs here. (or they are rated accordingly) Remix has done the most damage. But kids call them selves more advance by following those foot steps. Yes there is always a generation gap but the respect to elders was there..even when arrogant heros like Mithun da, Jitender period was there. media will promote what they want to listen. Directore want to sell so will show what they want to see. It is a total responsibility of all of us.
Zee is just giving more flames too. There was no need to show chemistry of kids in partnerring them. It could have been paired differently every time by judges or random drawing or something if it was necessary.
THis is all becoming a joke and now showing that part is another big slap on us. It will not harm the boy more as to girl. Why do they want to insult her by showing that crap?????? Things are really out of hand and hope this phase passes away soon 😕
Edited by Swar_Raj - 19 years ago
SolidSnake thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Iron

Yes..western has its value and eastern has its own. Just to copy what is shown in media is wrong, surprinsly we value our culture more when we move away from home.

Bilkul, ghar ki yaad tabhi aati hai jab hum ghar se duur hote hain.

teenindia_usa thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: abhijit shukla

1. IS IT THE PUBLIC?

Do the public truly like to listen to remixes and songs that are sung in the club with revealing bodies with suggestive lyrics or actions? Will they be able to live the whole day if that's what they are listening to? Is the sound of the music or the picturization inspiring them to buy more of this or to listen to all of this?

Hi Kishore, (I am droping the 'ji'; Trust me. I respect you.)

It is everyone. But me and you are the viewers and if we want to break the vicious cycle, we are the ones who need to do it. Others will quit this degradation only when it hurts their bottomline.

Over last decade Hindi filmdom has become technically much better but morally downtrodden. I am not prude but nudity is not an art unless you are MichaelAngelo or Rodin.

People are copying Hollywood shamelessly. Even watching promos you can tell the movie is a copy. 'Malaamal' for example, even by watching 1 minute promo you can tell is a copy of 'Waking Ned Devine'. All the scene in "gangster' promos look like it will be based on Dennis Lahane's 'Praying for Rain'. All we can do is to stop watching it - and it will end, at least for us.

Well said abhjit,

I agree that to an extend we the public play a hugefactor in this matter.

We the public(that is some not all) are influenced and thanfollow it.

I mean the youth today aer into hitting pubs and techs and wearing skimpy outfits those who are traditional in their suits are look as not hip and not with the scene while the western image is makes one popular.

I live abroad yet when visit I see this attitude and its amasing and also the perception they have of westerns I mena those abroad USA , UK and so on.

I think india is more modern than us at times alomst everyone has a mobile as though it is a statement or something here its like oh well nobigdeal.

And yes movies are more along the line of hollywood ripoffs.

Its hard to understand thecraze and why so in awww of the west that their shows and all are also western,along with hairstyles, makeup,etc

so in 22ndcentury indians are going to lose their uniquness?

I think we need to get too that uniqueness/

peace
Edited by teenindia_usa - 19 years ago
chatbuster thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

case of art imitating life and, at times, life imitating art?
soulsoup thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Seriously - how many people here going to watch the show just to find out - what happened - really, or what Vishwanath actually said? 😆😆😆
chatbuster thumbnail

Originally posted by: Dawn05

after this news , I guess who ever read it or hear it would like to watch it too 😆😆😆

yaar, ab log seedhe unglee se "musical shows" nahee dekhenge, toh "tedee" unglee se unko dikhana padega😆

chatbuster thumbnail

yaar, everyone has their pet projects. someone thinks it's in the national interest to save wild life. someone finds an urgent need to start an alcohol prevention program. and so on, someone feels the need to save our culture. in my own opinion, some of our traditional culture in music and other areas are really worth saving. but there are other cultural aspects we can do without (and i can provide a list of these as well).

first question would then be is who gets to decide? if we have folks in a Culture Mininstry doing so, that would likely become another adda for political grafts. also see the example of how the Reich Camber of Music and the Chinese (Falun Gong) Culture Ministry turned out. it's often a dangerous idea to think of having a culturally elite class pass judgment on what is acceptable in society. creates another way to divide society and create hatred. inevitably leads to taliban-type problems.

second question is, who should pay in the process? the common man who already has a hard time making two ends meet? the guy who needs near-free entertainment, however crass some may find it to be, or the culturally elite who are hungering for that old culture? if we impose some culture ministry idea, then we are implicitly having the common man subsidize the saving of the culture. in any case, the supply of money is not infinite. resources are scarce. should these be spent on "culture" or on economic upliftment? personally, i feel the greatest crime is to consign folks to a level of economic existence that most folks can only shudder at. if we were at those crossroads, God forbid, what would we want? culture? or food on the table?

those who feel that our culture should be saved should really expend energy, time and money to do so. else it is expecting others to solve our needs for free.

my POV (maybe a bit off kb's topic but relevant to other posts in this thread)
abhi_music thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
i think its gajendra vs sony... gajendra wants to beat indian idol and so he is doing such stupid acts! what he doesnt realize is that sa re ga ma pa IS better than Indian IDOL!!!