andar thoda sa substance bacha hai.. jab voh bhi khali ho jayega, tab hum
sab ko sarcastic se sadistic hona parega... 😕

kaise maloom? koi sui ghoosa ke dekha hai kya kee andar kitna substance hai? 😉

chatbuster thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
Posted: 19 years ago

Originally posted by: chatbuster

kaise maloom? koi sui ghoosa ke dekha hai kya kee andar kitna substance hai? 😉

aur yeh "ji" se thoda sharam bhee aata hai. ab kisi aur ko nahee sahee, par mujhe toh maloom hai na kee na toh mei respectable hoon na respectable age ka hoon😉

madhavi_r108 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
I really liked your post and I agree with some sections of it but not completely.

SRGM has lost hte initial charm but not completely. I still think this show has produced even during this challenge some of the best and original voices I have heard in reality television in a long time. If it weren't for Gajendra Singh, do you think we would be able to hear singers like Nihira Joshi, Hemachandra, Sharib etc who were simply outstanding?

We might have heard them, but will the effect be the same? I dont think so. That is the beauty of reality television. It brings names and faces to the voices and which is a good thing. To give a simple example, when I heard that song Tu Bin Bataye from RDB, I loved the male voice. When i saw the credits for it, it was a certain Naresh Iyer and immediately I remmebered the short bespectacled boy who sang in [V] Super Singer a few years back. That made me listen to all the songs with a different interest.

Would that same interst be for a certian singer Tanvi who sang Fanaa in Yuva? I dont think so. In that sense, I think SRGMP C05 achieved its goal, it doesn't matter who won or lost, in the end music prevailed and I am sure the good singers in this show have a LONG way to go considering thye are all under 25.

As for the 'rock star' image, isn't that needed? I mean its us,the people who are encouraging this. Else why would Himesh Reshmiyaa get the award for Aashiq Banaya Apne when Sonu's Piyu Bole or Dheere Jalna was realy good and probably more deserving. Its us who are encourging this pop star image, we want performers, we want songs that we can dance to in the club not songs that we can sit back and listen too. We have Instant Karma remixes for that!

Look at SRGMP initial episodes, singers like Gaurav Bangia, Rahul Saxena, Arpita Mukherjee etc, where are they ? Rahul and Arpita had to take refuge of other shows to make a mark for themselves. Unfortunately, its the janta who wants performers. In another popular reality show, a guy who sang pretty averagly but with tremenodus improvement won over singers who I personally thought were better trained and that is because of the audience, voting janta. So don't blame the show for this, the director also has to survive in this mad world of telewars.

If this was a competition with judges like Pt. Jasraj, Alka Yagnik, Kavita Krishnamurthy, Jagjit Singh and the like judging, we would hear more classical songs which test singing style, but how many people would appreciate it? Not many.

Saying this, I still think Challenge 05 produced some fantastic singers and to a certian extent good performers. As for them lip syncing at the final show, that happens in a lot of major concerts now days anyway. Besides, thats like a movie anyway rite, you are going to hear them in a film where they are going to sing for an actress/actor. So its like them singing for a film and lipsyncing to their own songs. I think it is fine. I thought they were really good.

Rajeev and Swananda did a perfect job of this really hard song. Rajeev was very impressive. Now I know why the mentors liked him

Rakhtima and Ujjaini too did a good job on a song which I really didn't like till I heard them.

Hema and Himani stole the show away, they were mind blowing in terms of performance and Hema's singing. He changed his voice so well through out the song. Can't believe its the same guy who sang Nahin Saamne was singing such HipHop songs with such ease

Nihira and Sharib were excellent. Sharib's starting of the song was nothing less than perfect. Nihira was outstanding in Aao Na (which wasnt' live)

Paresh and Twinkle changed hte meaning of performance all together performing to a current hit

Yes, they are a great combination of voice and performance and I dont see anything wrong with that.

SRGMP might have lost its innoncence, but it is because of us, who slapped the innocence away from its face.

Sorry for the LONG post!
madhavi_r108 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Sorry, I mean Nihira's Aao Na was live.
chatbuster thumbnail

Originally posted by: Gumshuda

This show stopped being about music long time back..Why complain now 😕

n if ur fav had won, it wld have been abt music. right?😛

punjini thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Hi Sangeeta
You hit the nail on the head by saying that SRGMP stopped being about music. It became a free-for-all election, and that too not a fair election but one where one individual could cast thousands of votes.

You are so right when you say that instead of musicians and singers, we are being sold personalities and "rock stars".

I vaguely remember ID or someone else saying "pehle ek achcha singer bano, baad mein star banne ka socho" but this bit of sound advice got lost somewhere. Everyone wants to only be a rock star! Everyone wants fame at any cost.

I think genuine music lovers are all feeling let down by SRGMP. What you say about the end of innocence really rings true. Music used to be a form of worship, something sacred; now it is merely a means to win votes, secure contracts, stay in the limelight.
pams309 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: sangeetaa

There was a time when I used to rush home from work on Mondays and Tuesdays, stay up late on Thursdays and Fridays - just so I could catch SRGMP on Zee. That time seems like a distant memory now.

Last night, without much enthusiasm, I watched the "Grand Finale" of Challenge 2005. I did not expect much. I no longer expect to hear the quality of music that can fill one's heart and satisfy one's soul on this show. And I didn't get it either.

The quality of the songs chosen for the finale was by and large poor - lacking in musicality, in melody and in soul. The performances were all pre-recorded, and everywhere there was that entirely artificial Bollywood sheen on the show starting with the disintersted A-list attendees.

The thing I don't understand is - why don't they just let these guys sing live? I mean some of these kids can really sing.

And then it struck me - what's wrong with the show. See, I don't mind the glitz or the glamor or the dancing. I don't mind those little personal profiles and interest stories on the contestants. I don't even mind the "mentors" and their petty squabbling, as annoying as the entire lot of them has been. None of that would matter if we could hear some good music on this show.

The problem with this show is it stopped being about music.

So, if you like music, this is no longer the show for you.

But what's really scary is what this signals for the future of commercial music in India. From now on, it won't be music they sell to us - it will be personalities - "rock stars", as they are termed, although it is safe to say that Bollywood hasn't the faintest concept of Rock as a musical genre.

In other words, what we'll be sold are personalities - the singing will be secondary. Artistes will have to depend not on their talent but on publicity and media hype. Get ready for more stupid stories of maa and pyaar and topis... God, how I wish these pathetic people would sing out their sob stories instead of actually sobbing!!

Gajji - I feel robbed. This show used to make me happy. And you took that away from me...

sangeeta ji

i absolutely agree with what you said! yes, i too feel that SRGMP lost its usual charm. it has become so commericial. i couldnt enjoy the grand finale. you can compare all this hype to real political elections!!

BPS123 thumbnail
I agree with Sangeeta. I was so closely wathing the show but lost interest later as it turned to be just a publicity show..no music (Even though it might have touched mentors who were just biased and nothing else).

I wasted my time..In all future saregama show..I am not going to see it any more. It's waste of time and making people fool.
pams309 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
i am just wondering about economic factors of the show! SRGMP must have received more than 6/7 crores of votes in last few months. Rs 3/-( or Rs 6/-?) a message! omg! what a SUM! how we made these producers n some corporates so rich! If it is Tsunmi, or other natural disaster do we get to see this kind public response?? just wondering!!
chatbuster thumbnail

Originally posted by: punjini

Hi Sangeeta
You hit the nail on the head by saying that SRGMP stopped being about music. It became a free-for-all election, and that too not a fair election but one where one individual could cast thousands of votes.

You are so right when you say that instead of musicians and singers, we are being sold personalities and "rock stars".

I vaguely remember ID or someone else saying "pehle ek achcha singer bano, baad mein star banne ka socho" but this bit of sound advice got lost somewhere. Everyone wants to only be a rock star! Everyone wants fame at any cost.

I think genuine music lovers are all feeling let down by SRGMP. What you say about the end of innocence really rings true. Music used to be a form of worship, something sacred; now it is merely a means to win votes, secure contracts, stay in the limelight.

Disagree in important ways with such learned folks as yourselves😉

First thing you learn in a Public Speaking course is how delivery is far more important than content. In the case of music competitions which are "seen", not just "heard", the delivery is the visual factors, the content is the actual musical quality.

To somehow think that any show will be free of that bias is very naive. You can put a judge, and it's the same story. They will talk about "body language", "closing eyes", "facial expressions", comments we have already heard by various judges in this competition. Everyone, including judges or a listener in any communication, brings in their own bias. And some of these can be very subtle, where you feel as a judge that someone is good enough to get a green because their mother is such a great classical singer etc. Remember Jagjit praising Abhijeet to the skies, yet handing over the green flag to Hema without so much as a comment. And then later where an impression created the previous day lingered on to the next day.

So thinking you'll someow get "pure" musical talent from any of these shows, even the old sgmp, is stretching it. Sure you got Shreya n a few others out of those shows, but they had a rare combination of both visual and audio factors. Both these factors helped them win. Later, it was of course their professional acumen and actual playback-singing talents which helped them go further.

But like anything, if you give me a 100 winners from any competition, i will show you at least a few who ultimately make it. That result is a basic one from law of large numbers statistics, and has very little to do with the ability of a judge to go beyond visual factors.

To my mind, public voting is bad, but it is still better than the alternatives where a few individuals with strong beliefs and preferences and ego can sway the results.