divya_92 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
Posted: 19 years ago
TakeTen: Shweta Gulati

December 17, 2005

Shweta Gulati
Shweta Gulati plays the role of the bubbly and lovable Tia on Star One's Remix. She will soon be seen on the big screen opposite Amit Verma in a film titled Detective Naani. Here are ten things you would like to know about her.

Your birthday and sign?
I am a Gemini, born on May 29.

Do you believe in astrology and numerology?
I do believe in astrology. I read Midday's astrology section everyday. But, I really haven't come across numerology, so I don't believe in it.

Where were you born and your school?
I was born in Mumbai, and went to Holy Cross Convent, Thane.

What was your first job? And paycheque?
My first job was in Aptech Computer Ltd as a marketing executive, and I was paid Rs 1902 for it.

One thing you are really bad at doing?
I am bad at singing, I can't sing to save my life, and I cant lie.

Your favourite smell?
I love the smell of mud after the first rains.

Where in Mumbai would you rather live?
I would want to live anywhere in Juhu.

What's your cell phone?
I use a Moto razr V3.

What car do you drive?
I drive a black Santro Zing.

Who do you regret losing touch with?
A couple of my school friends. I wuould like to get in touch with them and also a couple of cousins. I have no clue where they are. They are lost.

--
monika.goel thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Remix in Holiday mood!

Pooja Bhatt's latest flick, Holiday will play an importantpart in the forthcoming episodes of the Star One show, Remix.

In an interesting episode, Vrinda, a die-hard fan of Dino Morea bugs Ashi, asking her to arrange for all to watch Holiday through her mother who is an actress herself.

Gloria tells the students that Mr.. Mitra (Manav Gohil) will be taking his rounds earlier than he usually does and Ashi decides to exploit the situation and hatches a plan to run away from the college with all the students for the movie screening. Everybody gets a surprise of their lifetime when Dino and Onjolee land up outside the college with the passes!! Watch what happens next when the students are caught by the principal with the two artistes.

This track will run for two days -- 21 and 22 December.

source-

http://www.tellychakkar.com/y2k5/dec/20dec/news_remix.php

Edited by monika_g - 19 years ago
divya_92 thumbnail
Source : 21st December 2005 Midday Hitlist..

http://ww1.mid-day.com/hitlist/2005/december/126470.htm

--
Pooja Bhatt's Holiday stars in Remix

The Remix gang with Onjolee Nair and Dino Morea

Dino Morea and Onjolee Nair, who star in Pooja Bhatt's yet-to-be-released film, Holiday, are all set to make a special appearance in Shrishti Behl Arya's serial, Remix, on Star One.

Continuing the trend of promoting films by blending the cast into the Remix storyline, Dino and Onjolee are shown hand-delivering passes to a special screening of Holiday, to Maurya High students.

The Remix gang decides to sneak out of campus and attend the screening at any cost, and bumps into Dino and Onjolee. The plan takes a twist when the school principal catches Dino, Onjolee, Ashi, Ranvir, Yuvi and Tia just as they are about to sneak out.

The Hum Paanch couple with host Manoj Bajpai in Kam Ya Zyaada
Remix airs from Monday to Thursday, 8 pm, only on Star One.

Incidentally, Remix began as a one-hour daily and was later made into a half-hour daily.

monika.goel thumbnail

Remix', 'Nach Baliye' rule the music charts

There was a time when specially created music for TV serials was unheard of. A signature tune with just the name of the show was the norm. As the years rolled by this sweet and simple signature tune got transformed into a full fledged song that played over the credit roll. With big production houses and channels mushrooming and competing for the eyeballs of the couch potatoes, TV soaps like films had specially recorded songs. The year 2005 saw reality TV and talent hunts ruling the telly with budding talent and TV celebrities like Abhijjet Sawant and Amit Sana coming up with their own albums. The newest trend to hit the TV scene is special albums of TV shows. Star One has already come up with two albums and both are right now ruling the music charts.

Edited by monika_g - 19 years ago
ashi_mania thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

credit : telly chakkar.com

Faces of 2005

They aren't necessarily strikingly handsome or instantly appealing. But these are the faces that endeared themselves to worth couch potato worth his salt, in the year gone by. Theirs are the visages that come to mind, if one tries a quick mental recap of 2005.

Rex D'souza turned out to be the dark horse in Fame Gurukul. In the beginning, he was touted as someone who was just a good human being but soon he was the most popular contestant in the Gurukul and improved his performance manifold. From the faculty members to the fellow contestants, all wanted him as part of the Fame Jodi.
So popular is he that till date a Fame Gurukul get together is incomplete without this sweet, down to earth guy. Rex could not make it to the Fame Jodi but that has not dampened his spirits and he is raring to go with the two year contract with Sony. For now the stage shows are keeping him busy.

Pawan Shankar the face of the show (Siddhanth) got a role to die for in and as Siddhanth. As the reserved and dignified lawyer, he got critical acclaim for his performance in the show. Pawan, originally from Allahabad, reportedly refused Sujal's role in Kahiin To Hoga, a decision that in the end turned out to be a wise one. Pawan carried the show single handedly on his shoulders. Good acting coupled with a spontaneous personality ensures that Pawan has a long way to go in tellydom.
Gurpreet Singh
The suave and good looking actor who stepped into Rajeev Khandelwal's shoes in Kahiin To Hoga is being liked by one and all and has fit into the character smoothly if a little belatedly. The actor who wanted to become a pilot and became an actor by default is enjoying his current status and even got a nose job done so that he could look like the perfect Sujal (Rajeev Khandelwal). Needless to say Gurpreet is enjoying all the adulation that comes with playing Sujal. It must have taken a lot of thinking to cast Gurpreet as Sujal because Rajeev had become a heartthrob of millions of viewers as the original Sujal.
Iqbal Khan
The latest teen sensation had started his career as a model and got into some forgettable films before he got himself the coveted role of Angad in Kaisa Ye Pyar Hai. The Balaji show got high ratings and Iqbal's voice matches his character in the show perfectly. The power house performer plays an arrogant singer and plays the role of a lover boy perfectly to the T. We are sure rival production houses are eyeing the Balaji discovery with envy.
Priya Wal
She has nothing much to recommend her, if the Balaji babes are considered the standard in Indian classical beauty. But Priya, discovered by Rose Audio Visuals for Star One's Remix, and cast into the mould of Anvesha, the streaked hair brat in Maurya High, turned into a youth icon, that most of India's urban teens could identify with. She may find it a trifle difficult to get out of the mould though, but then, that's another story.
divya_92 thumbnail
Source : http://www.hindu.com/fr/2005/12/09/stories/2005120901630400. htm
The Hindu -- 9th December,2005

A new mix in Remix

"Remix" on Star One will soon have two new characters.

We no longer have personal lives of our own. The traits of our characters have started reflecting in our off-screen personalities. Shweta Gulati

THE GANG The four man characters of the Star One show, "Remix".

The Star One soap "Remix" has something new to talk about. Very soon, the four major characters of the serial will swell to six. No, there won't be a change in the basic storyline but yes, you would obviously see more action with the entry of two more characters into this gang of four spoilsports.

Dished out in the name of today's youth, the serial very much needs something new to beat the monotony of the predictable dialogues and dos. The two new characters would be called Shyla Oberoi and Raghu Deshpande and they are supposed to make life miserable for the foursome - Tia, Avnesha, Yuvi and Ranvir. The four protagonists of "Remix", in New Delhi to take part in a functionon World AIDS Day,seem quite convinced with the content of the soap. Shweta Gulati, playing the role of Tia, even says, "We no longer have personal lives of our own. The traits of our characters have started reflecting in our off-screen personalities. For instance, I never use to do this," moving her fingers through her hair, "but now I am used to this, as I have actually started thinking like Tia." Her role in

Big screen plans

"Remix" is keeping Shweta so busy that the actress, who earlier appeared in tele-serials like "Shagun", "Kyun Hota Hai Pyarr" and "Lipstick", says she is "rejecting all the saas-bahu serials and even film offers."

However, Shweta is making her big screen debut next year in a film "Detective Nanny".

But for her co-actor Raj Singh Arora (who plays Yuvi in "Remix"), Bollywood is the ultimate dream and he is ready to do anything to fulfil it. His father wanted him to become a lawyer, but his heart was set on acting from the very beginning. "Now my family is happy with my choice," he adds with a smile.

Also holding a hope in the heart to make it to Bollywood is Karan Wahi, who plays Ranvir. He says he won't do any more serials after this as he is "a dreamer" and so Tinsel Town is the sole destination for him. "If not an actor, I would have been a cricketer. But then, acting opportunities came to me and so I left the hope of making it big in cricket," he explains.

For the message

Priya Wal describes herself "as a fighter for a cause." Playing the role of Anvesha, she asserts, "The serial is spreading a message not by way of a lecture but in an entertaining way through a medium with which young people can connect."

Well, with the entry of the two new characters, let's hope this 'connectivity' becomes a tad more effective.
divya_92 thumbnail
Source : http://ww1.mid-day.com/hitlist/2005/december/127015.htm
27 December, 2005 - Mid Day's HitList

Ekta Kapoor
Stars who impress Ekta

We have always heard Ekta Kapoor voice her opinion about actors from her own stable.

Some times they impress her, other times they let her down.

However, we wanted to find out if any non-Balaji actors succeeded in drawing Ekta's attention this year.

Hussain

Rajshri Thakur

Raj Singh Arora

When asked which actors she found impressive in 2005, Kapoor replied, "Hussain, Rajshri Thakur of Saath Phere and Raj Singh Arora of Remix."

So don't be surprised if you see any of the above-mentioned guys in a Balai soap in the coming year.
monika.goel thumbnail

Remix
Aelina, IndiaGlitz [Thursday, December 22, 2005]

source-

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/hindi/albumreview/3019.ht ml

With movies getting bigger and bigger with innovative ideas floating around their promotion, how could the small screen be far behind? Now songs from even television serials are being promoted like never before with songs from Star One's popular campus caper 'REMIX' being one of them. REMIX is the story of four different people - Tia, Ashi, Ranveer and Yuvi who have one common mission - MUSIC. And inspite of the serial and the album titled as 'REMIX', it is in fact a compilation of all original songs by AASMA rather than remixes of oldies.

1) Dil Ki Yeh Dhadkan [Music: Gaurav Issar, Lyrics: Amir Rizvi, Singers: Aasma]

There are number of new entrants who have composed for REMIX and Gaurav Issar is one of them. And doesn't he do a good job? A soft number to begin the album 'Dil Ki Yeh Dhadkan' is a typical college teenage love song with mushy lyrics and the kind of tune that suits anyone and everyone who dreams of meeting his/her true love one fine day. The number begins on a slow note but mid-way changes track to turn into a peppy song.

2) Remix [Music: Pritam, Lyrics: Amir Rizvi, Singers: Aasma and Rap by BlaaZe]

Those who have been watching this popular tele-serial would grab the title song of 'Remix' with both hands. Extremely foot tapping, lively and instant energizer, 'Remix' with music by current hot'n'happening Pritam is a winner for the youth brigade. BlaaZe begins the song with a rap to set the tone for this lively youthful campus number that has AASMA coming up with one of their best rendered and most popular tracks. Amir Rizvi's lyrics capture the mood of the campus life quite well and make REMIX one easily identifiable number.

3) Mast Mast (The Vikesh Mehta Mix) [Music: Vikesh Mehta, Lyrics: Amir Rizvi, Singers: Aasma, Rap by MC Sensor]

'Kahin Pe Nigahen Kahin Pe Nishana' - Remember the evergreen yesteryear's oldie? Well, this is what begins 'Mast Mast', yet another youthful number [as per the mood of the entire album], that has music by Vikesh Mehta who has been doing some work for Bollywood flicks since last few years. A hip-hop number, it is a dance floor number that could be one of the good inclusions for your New Years Eve party. One doesn't really have to hear the lyrics closely as the song is heavy on beats and rap that makes it foot tapping.

4) Love Station [Music: Naresh-Paresh, Lyrics: P A Sreekanth, Singers: Aasma, Rap by Bob]

After Amir Rizvi writing for the first three tracks, it is the turn of P A Sreekanth to write for 'Love Station' which is about 'Love Is In The Air...Feel It Everywhere'. A song that is completely devoted to LOVE from beginning to finish, it is young'n'rhythmic treat for Generation X with a lot of additional musical effects thrown in along with some good rap by Bob. Once this song is played, one gets a strong feeling that the album 'REMIX' is more of an amalgamation of peppy party songs. They work in totality when played together as a part of the album, rather than any single song trying to make a big impression!

5) Boom [Music: Deep, Lyrics: Sandeep Shrivastava, Singers: Aasma]

The party continues with 'Boom' that is easily the second best song after the title song of REMIX. This time on, the song is all about MUSIC with composer Deep and lyricist Sandeep Shrivastava truly dedicating the song to the spirit and enthusiasm related to music. A racy song that catches on to full speed from the first note itself, it deserves to have a music video dedicated to it as it has good potential to grow with every hearing. With good musical arrangements to boast of, it makes AASMA's rendition come out even more strongly to make 'Boom' a cool campus/party song!

6) Baad Mein Jahaan [Music: Vikesh Mehta, Lyrics: Sandeep Shrivastava, Singers: Aasma]

Vikesh Mehta comes back to compose 'Baad Mein Jahaan' that has shades of 'Dus Bahane' from 'Dus'. There is a different style of singing by all the singers hence giving 'Baad Mein Jahaan' a different flavor than the rest of the tracks, though the soul of the album still remains intact. One could even call this track a qawalli-western fusion and though the number doesn't exactly click on the first hearing, it becomes immensely enjoyable as you hear it a few times. A good track!

7) Dance Dance (Original and remix) [Music: Bappi Lahiri, Lyrics: Sandeep Shrivastava, Singers: Aasma and Bappi Lahiri]

Bappi Lahiri arrives on the scene with, what else, but 'DANCE DANCE'. The song is composed in an old fashioned manner with some good arrangements thrown in for additional effects. Bappi Lahiri chips in as well for this song about living life to the fullest and enjoying every moment of it by dancing all the while. Next comes a remix version of the same track that is done by Bappa and further enhances the DISCO DANCE mania.

As stated earlier, REMIX comes at the right time when Christmas season and NEW YEAR is just round the corner. Though one shouldn't expect anything out rightly unique or superlative from the album, it is good enough to be played on full throttle to have people jumping on the dance floor.

Edited by monika.goel - 19 years ago
ritz_ashiyuvi thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

divya_92 thumbnail
Source :http://web.mid-day.com/hitlist/2005/december/127325.htm

Remix kids
Were seen in: Remix (Star One).
In the news for: Tia (Shweta Gulati), Ranveer (Karan Wahi), Yuvraj (Raj Singh Arora) and Anvesha (Priya Wal) were mobbed wherever they went. The success of the show sparked off imitators trying to ape the youth culture and target the same audience as Remix. However, they fell flat, while Remix continues to entertain. The music album of the show too proved to be a runaway hit.