CheshireBilli thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 7

Originally posted by: StripePurple

Rudra and ascetic? Ahem, Laila, ahem. Coming to whom, what a tragic waste of character potential. & I DO NOT buy that emotionally-unattached bullshit; they took care to establish a much deeper relationship between the two, and now, as someone famously said, sab washte ho gaya. Though I still hold out hope for her.

Birpur, uh, I'll just take as yet another humongous pothole in desi soapland.

Mooh ki baat chheenli, aapne. Laila's treatment makes me so mad. I sadly, don't have much hope there.

Ascetic bole toh emotional ascetic. You must understand Hegde Bhai's brilliance.
Frigate thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
You have encapsulated everything I have been thinking for the last few weeks, so well! Don't have anything to add; just hope the CVs come across this post and pay heed to it. I know that's a tall order, but one can hope, ya?😛
StripePurple thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Semanti

Mooh ki baat chheenli, aapne. Laila's treatment makes me so mad. I sadly, don't have much hope there.

Ascetic bole toh emotional ascetic. You must understand Hegde Bhai's brilliance.

But he sends her on super-secret spying missions! Goes to her to get stitched up! To ask for clothes! Argh. What an ingrate. Paro and Laila should just sismance and take Aman along for the ride. Let the ascetic do his tapasya in that madhouse.

I have a single-digit IQ in that understanding-GH department, I'm afraid. :(

Also, this conversation is becoming increasingly PPP-ic, no? My heart is soaring.😆

Edited by StripePurple - 11 years ago
AmazingAmy thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 6
SJ, this is why I love you...your post addressed everything I've been feeling for the past week but holding back because I was unsure how to say it in words, which you did so eloquently here. Your critique is wonderful. It also helps that we know it comes from a good place unlike some others who dissed the show from day one without giving it a chance, pretend not to watch it yet stalk the forum like a hawk, and overpraise other shows far inferior to RR...those are the kind of people no one would take seriously because we know their words are fickle and meaningless. You on the other hand always come from a good place and that's why your posts are genuinely appreciated and make people think. This is the kind of feedback that can actually help a show and if they are smart, they should listen because by now they must have realized that something is missing (and your title nailed it)...otherwise a show of RR's caliber, with such an incredibly talented lead cast, would have reached the top by now.

You know how frustrated I felt by the last episode. I was hoping they would salvage the essence of Paro's character but it just reached all heights of ridiculousness. And if I don't feel a connection to her, I don't give a sh-- what Rudra is going through, I'll feel disconnected from the entire show. So even when he is giving a natural reaction to her madness, I'm getting annoyed at everything, even him...why I am not sure. I guess for me these two characters are linked so my changing perception of one affects the other. Rudra can have a hundred breakdowns or shout in her face with full emotion in every scene but none of that will reach its full potential or impact if they don't show Paro's side to neutralize it.

The Paro I know would give Rudra his space, leave him for now and have enough faith to know that he will come back to her in time if it is meant to be. It especially doesn't make sense because she sees how upset she makes him by being present in his house yet she is adamant to stay for the sake of...doing household chores? What is that achieving? How is that going to help her win him over or prove her innocence to him? It is just an excuse for the writers to find a way to get them under the same roof to show romance. I get it, the fans want to see that...Sanaya's sexyback and Ashish's smoldering look, no one can deny they're hot and have chemistry as we saw from the very first meeting but SJ is bang on, currently it feels contrived. None of these scenes will reach their full potential if the characters are tampered with. I will reiterate that I do love the show and the leads, they have given us many delightful episodes and it is better than most of its competitors but I want it to be so much better.
Edited by AyeReKhushi - 11 years ago
savvy05 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Fascinator 1 Thumbnail
This has gotta to be the most balanced and civil discussion on RR with different views co-existing under one thread.👏 Just when I was about to give up on the the forum for having low tolerance levels on differing opinions, kudos SJ for starting this conversation with the right tone.⭐️⭐️
Dazee thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

Originally posted by: segad

i agree with you. there was no reaction shown from Paro to the fact that her parents were killed by Thakur. she heard it, made a face and proceeded to pursue Rudra. What the!!!!

Has she even reflected on what she heard from Thakur about her parents and the current condition of her sister? NO!

To me instead of pursuing Rudra, it would have been more acceptable if she told him that, yes you were right. now help me find my sister who might still be alive. But no, the woman sees herself as a Goddess and can't wait to get married. Did she spare a thought for her mamisa? NO!

I personally think her race to the medal ceremony was entirely unwarranted. What was the rush? Did she not know Rudra even a little by then? Could she not anticipate that he would react like he did? There was no great realization of love, she was just able to place him in her memories. Attaching a divine stamp of approval to it did not, IMHO warrant an immediate and public declaration of love.

Absolutely! I would have loved it if Paro had asked rudra to help find her sister or even col Singh.
That and showing her reflect in the implications of her revelations for mami and birpur would have been interesting... As a segue into her thinking about where her life goes next. (Even if it is to fall for rudra). But then I've alwYs wanted Paro to leave him for a while... Set him free. Precisely because she feels for him so deeply (is it love yet. I don't know. But devotion for sure) Let him find his way back to her. Which he will...
Edited by Dazee - 11 years ago
ujwala444 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Originally posted by: savvy05

<font color="#006600" face="Comic Sans MS, Times, serif" size="2">This has gotta to be the most balanced and civil discussion on RR with different views co-existing under one thread.👏 Just when I was about to give up on the the forum for having low tolerance levels on differing opinions, kudos SJ for starting this conversation with the right tone.⭐️⭐️</font>

i hav to agree its one very ciivil post respecting each others views... i dont really read all the posts of a thread.. but thuis one.. i hav read each and every post

kudos SJ
DN2012 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Fascinator 1 Thumbnail
again i am 15 pages late.
I don't have a way with words like you or some of the creative ladies in the forum.
having said that,here goes.
creatives take into consideration the mindset of the people in India and how most of the other popular serials are.They observe what works and what doesn't.
it is like monkey see monkey do.
whatsoever new concept that comes up gets shot into the air and does not tick as much,like strong powerful girl,kind mother-in law
boisterous father in law
modern family.
so with all these they have to keep the old mantras for any concepts to work.
the most popular concept ,tried and tested and succeeded one is miserable female lead.
the more the female lead cries the more business for the production house
the more the female lead is tortured,the more the TRP.
the more the female lead is a door mat,the more the serial stays on the channel.
whether we like it or whether anyone likes it ,at the end of the day it is business for the PH and its employees.it is earning a livelihood.
the more the serial stays on the channel ,the more money comes the PHs way.
so they do not want to sabotage their baby(as per GH's attitude).
so it is not that the creatives is missing a woman's touch,creatives do not want to utilize a woman's touch.
Have you seen hunger games,catching fire??it is a book written by a woman and the innovative ways all the people are killed, made me cringe worse than any man's imagination.it was worse than an English woman,the violence is mild compared to Hunger games(written by a man).

The other thing that i found in my expertise of 2 Hindi serials is
they make the hero larger than life and meaner than life.
the meaner the hero,the better.
the more the rejection from the hero the better
and in between he removes his shirt and all is forgiven😆.

but we always have the option of dekhna hai to dekho.(Poor GH!!! he said it by mistake once and it is thrown into his face everyday and will do so for the rest of his life..)

SJ,The power of remote is always in or hands,we can always change the channel and watch another serial 1000 times worse than RR.here at least the heroine is not crying,in another serial,i think the heroine is partially blind due to constant glycerin use.you should see the abuse in that serial and it is the HIGHEST TRP garner...

Hope I made the slightest sense.

Edited by DN2012 - 11 years ago
DN2012 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Fascinator 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: savvy05

This has gotta to be the most balanced and civil discussion on RR with different views co-existing under one thread.👏 Just when I was about to give up on the the forum for having low tolerance levels on differing opinions, kudos SJ for starting this conversation with the right tone.⭐️⭐️

It usually depends on who writes it.😃
peachpie thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 2
Perfectly said! The initial storytelling was based on the background of both the charecters past. As it proceeded Paro's charecter something was really missing. A woman's touch is definitely missing!