Zoya: Emotionally Challenged?

Untitled001 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 3
When I saw Zoya today, eyes red with unshed tears as she accused Asad of being a man who will never realize, I finally understood her.

We all view her as this bubbly character who cares about everyone and cracks jokes all the time, but have you ever thought why she is the way she is? She is an orphan. Believe it or not, she is an orphan. Being the daughter of a misinformed father and a mother who couldn't save herself, she is all alone in this big world. She says that her smile is sufficient to melt the hearts of the crudest of men, but have we ever thought why she says this? Because she has no weapon what so ever to protect herself!

The care she has for others is a reaction of what she has been through. Though she grew up with a family, they were never her own. Her jokes are just a mask. She hides her pain behind it. She hides her need to be loved.

When Asad asked her what she wanted, her mood suddenly changed. She was scared! It's not that she hasn't made up her mind, but it is the simple fact that she can't bear the thought of being rejected by the man he loves. She is a runaway bride for God's sake, give her the time. She knows that Asad feels for her, but like each and every one of us, there is this insecure side to her that just doesn't want to believe in his love. That's why she keeps asking him the same question.

All this time we've only spoken of Asad as the emotionally broken one. The recluse, but have we ever thought about her?

We as the viewers can see Asad madly in love with her, but to her... maybe she just doesn't know for sure yet.

Whenever I see her I remember her cries as she found out about her father's death.

"Mr. Khan Kahie na! Kahie na ye jhoot hai! Please Mr. Khan..."
Edited by Sand_Princess - 12 years ago

440733 thumbnail
Beautifully put!

And I agree wholeheartedly! Frankly I always felt there was A LOT more to Zoya than the bubbly and optimistic front she puts on. Compared to Asad, she will end up more emotionally damaged than he ever was when the entire truth comes out. Right now she is emotionally challenged when it comes to admitting her feelings out loud.

She is like any of us girls out here despite her brave and frank approach to Asad. At the end of the day she is a girl who wants the guy to admit first because she is afraid to be rejected. And lets admit it, we as viewers know what goes on in AAK's head but Zoya getting his bipolar reactions will naturallly be confused even if she believe she knows him very well. The way he kept emphasing its a fake engagement which pushed her over the edge as she tried so much to make him see it otherwise. She just wants reassurance from him that he wants and needs her as much as she does him. The girl was abandonded and left to fend for herself when she was young, she never understood why her father never tries to contact her even once. That must have eaten her up on the inside making her feel unwanted.

You gave a wonderful example of the graveyard scene! That dialouge said a lot- "Please Mr.Khan mere abbu se kahiye mujhse baat kare! Please maine mere abbu kabhi baat nahi ki! Please Mr.Khan kahiye ke yeh jhoot hai! Please"

She desperately wants to feel she is a part of some family, that she has a father and mother
She wasn't some orphan dumped somewhere. This has also made her an escapist, she always escapes situations which require her to go deep and serious. She never stays too serious for long and rather focus on silly things because she is afraid to face the truth. Even today when Asad was nearly ready to accept had she said yes but she isn't ready to face the seriousness of the situation and also is afraid of being rejected by him later again.

Asad needs to understand her, see her as she is and accept her. Because she is just as emotionally challenged as him except a lot more better at covering it up than him.

I honestly think they can grow Zoya's character beautifully if they give her some more scenes where she has to face her true feelings without turning it into a comical situation.
Edited by Rin03 - 12 years ago
MAYURFAN001 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Completely agree!!! I just love zoya with all her flaws insecurities and her childish behavior.. She is a rock star!!!
Untitled001 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Rin03

Beautifully put!

And I agree wholeheartedly! Frankly I always felt there was A LOT more to Zoya than the bubbly and optimistic front she puts on. Compared to Asad, she will end up more emotionally damaged than he ever was when the entire truth comes out. Right now she is emotionally challenged when it comes to admitting her feelings out loud.

She is like any of us girls out here despite her brave and frank approach to Asad. At the end of the day she is a girl who wants the guy to admit first because she is afraid to be rejected. And lets admit it, we as viewers know what goes on in AAK's head but Zoya getting his bipolar reactions will naturallly be confused even if she believe she knows him very well. The way he kept emphasing its a fake engagement which pushed her over the edge as she tried so much to make him see it otherwise. She just wants reassurance from him that he wants and needs her as much as she does him. The girl was abandonded and left to fend for herself when she was young, she never understood why her father never tries to contact her even once. That must have eaten her up on the inside making her feel unwanted.

You gave a wonderful example of the graveyard scene! That dialouge said a lot- "Please Mr.Khan mere abbu se kahiye mujhse baat kare! Please maine mere abbu kabhi baat nahi ki! Please Mr.Khan kahiye ke yeh jhoot hai! Please"

She desperately wants to feel she is a part of some family, that she has a father and mother
She wasn't some orphan dumped somewhere. This has also made her an escapist, she always escapes situations which require her to go deep and serious. She never stays too serious for long and rather focus on silly things because she is afraid to face the truth. Even today when Asad was nearly ready to accept had she said yes but she isn't ready to face the seriousness of the situation and also is afraid of being rejected by him later again.

Asad needs to understand her, see her as she is and accept her. Because she is just as emotionally challenged as him except a lot more better at covering it up than him.

I honestly think they can grow Zoya's character beautifully if they give her some more scenes where she has to face her true feelings without turning it into a comical situation.

Thank you for the wonderful reply. It really made my day. 😊

I also feel that she need more time to face her true feelings and the truth about herself. On another note, I also feel that Asad is attentive when it comes to Zoya. I'm sure he's noticed her behavior, but he is scared to acknowledge that they are two sides of the same scarred coin. 😕

440733 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Sand_Princess

<font color="#FF0000"><font face="Georgia, Times New Roman, Times, serif" size="2">Thank you for the wonderful reply. It really made my day. 😊

I also feel that she need more time to face her true feelings and the truth about herself. On another note, I also feel that Asad is attentive when it comes to Zoya. I'm sure he's noticed her behavior, but he is scared to acknowledge that they are two sides of the same scarred coin. 😕</font>
</font>

Your post made my day too! Not many speak about Zoya's emotionally challenged behavior.

Yes she needs time and support too. She nor Asad are ready for marriage. They need more time to bond and.understand each other.

I think he understood a bit today but he is emotionally challenged himself. *Sighs* yeh dono ko help chahiye. They wont admit easily.
Untitled001 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Rin03

Your post made my day too! Not many speak about Zoya's emotionally challenged behavior.

Yes she needs time and support too. She nor Asad are ready for marriage. They need more time to bond and.understand each other.

I think he understood a bit today but he is emotionally challenged himself. *Sighs* yeh dono ko help chahiye. They wont admit easily.

I'd rather they never directly confess their love. 😳 I'm a bit of a romantic, so I love the angst that comes without speaking the words... Yet, those three words are said too much yet don't mean enough.
Asma- thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
thank you for this beautiful post i agree with you Zoya is so sweet
Untitled001 thumbnail
Thank you to everyone who has commented or liked my post, because frankly? I never expected such positive response from the forum. 😛
forumfanhain thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail
You spoke words out of my mind. I feel she is too, emotionally challenged than Asad. She does not want to answer her own questions. The day Zoya and Asad look beyond their layers at each other: Zoya behind Asad's seriousness, and Asad behind her childishness, they will find two very similar people. Stung by their past, hurt to their core, with a soul pining for love... Not wanting to make the first move, not as ego, but as a wall. Yet, Zoya does come across as a childish egoistic girl (Asad's interpretetaion of her) and by doing what she has done today, she has only augmented his judgement. On the other hand, as an oscilatting fan, a yo-yo, Asad has also, only further augment Zoya's judgement of each other. They need to both step aside, and think for themselves as to what they want. Both, need to!

Imade a hurried post with the same topic, but must admit you beautifully wrote the facts, much more baeutifully than i did!
Edited by forumfanhain - 12 years ago
ameilia thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
Wow i loved of u have put Zoya into words👏.Awesome post.I am glad u wrote this because quite frankly all i have been seeing is that how could Zoya deny in front of Asad,he doesnt need to tell her,she should know by his actions that he loves her etc etc.
I think all Zoya needs is assurance.Every woman needs to be assured that the man she loves,loves her back.Zoya may understand Asad to some extent but that doesnt mean she knows him inside and out.Especially for a bipolar guy like Asad that does something totally out of character then quickly changes his mouth in another instant.
Zoya had said that she will get him to admit his feelings but have we ever heard her saying she loves Mr Khan??Sure we know by her actions and expressions that she is deeply in love with him but have we ever wonder why havent she admit to herself that she loves him?She needs him to say it.U cant just know a man loves you,he needs to show and be proud of being in love with you.Asad's cold behaviour then warm concern then he retorts to the cold shoulder can be very confusing and very irritating. Zoya wants him to tell her he wanted to be engaged to her.She wants him to tell her that he needs her in his life.
You brought up a good point about rejection and that fear of being rejected has made Zoya the way she is.Zoya may seem confident and bold but inside there is a weak woman that yearns for love.Zoya knows the minute she admits to herself about her feelings they automatically becomes real and that is something she would not be able to deny or push away.That is why she constantly pester Asad to tell her about his feelings.She knows but she wants to hear.Its not enough for you to show your love one minute then act like a jerk the next.She needs to know that Asad wont abandon her cause who better to know the pain of abandonment and also the fact that she did feel rejected by her Abbu better than her?
Ps. You writing and posts are really good.You should write more😛.
Edited by ameilia - 12 years ago