Episode 198 Discussion: 18th Feb 2013

0-SD-0 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
Episode 198 Discussion: 18th Feb 2013

Welcome to the Episode discussion thread which we call as Viewer's and Reader's Respite. That's very apt, don't you think ? 😉. And that proves our objective.

Objective behind the thread is
  1. It helps in keeping the forum clean without much litter. People just need to fall in a habit.
  2. We can have it like breathers at first followed by analysis.
  3. It also helps like-minded souls and pals bond and gel together to drop in their thoughts for themselves as breathers and for their friends as a peep into the episode and for others to post their reviews.
  4. And those from different time-zones, who do not get to watch the episode at this time of telecast (Indian 8:30 PM), without any worry to trace or keep track of all their buddy's posts, they can come here, read with leisure and later post their analysis after watching it from their Time zones.

For those who cannot watch can have the Live/Written Updates.
Today's LU from : Armu4eva
  • There are various other threads all over the forum. Please check out those as well. This is just one choice out of so many.
  • Readers are encouraged to post links of other members posts which had been "delightful read" towards analysis of episodic event/s or character analysis. It becomes an easy navigation in the myriad of posts and pages and can easily be overlooked.
  • The link to present day ED thread is always provided in the previous one discussed.Those who participated in previous thread can go to my posts and check the previous thread to get access to new link.
  • The link to Previous Episode thread if anyone wants to trace and post thoughts there. https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/madhubala-ek-ishq-ek-junoon/3440545/episode-197-discussion-16th-feb-2013

Cheers,
SD

0-SD-0 thumbnail
Episode 198 Discussion - EOD Summary

Abnoxious RK, Nervous Madhu at their first meeting, Tormented Rishbala post meeting
Events of the episode
  1. Continuing from Saturday, Madhu keeps her saree and mangalsutra safely away.
  2. New day...and Bittuji calls Madhu to come to Kamal Studio for new job as heroine's hairdresser. Kamal Studio happens to be where RK is shooting for his film. When practicing for a dream sequence, RK and Madhu accidentally meet. Both are consternated at their first meet. Madhu scuttles away quickly but she trips. RK concernedly calls out Madhu. Madhu looks back and RK regrets showing concern. He starts being mocking to her.
  3. Madhu is scared...and when director calls aloud fpr heroine's hair-dresser, Madhu wants to go away but RK jeeringly talks to her. In a huff Madhu leaves the place not wanting to work where RK is shooting. On the way out Madhu meets Bittuji and she is upset with him for finding work for her at a studio where RK is shooting. RK sees the two talking, mocking goes away to his vanity van.
  4. A reporter and photographer is waiting for RK to interview him within vanity van. The mocking face of RK changes to frustrated face in the van and he gives a abnoxious interview with every answer, thought, concern being Madhu over his mind. When you watch you will find it interesting with his unhappy poker face. He sees Madhu leaving the studio telling Bittuji that she will not work where RK will be present.
  5. At RK mansion, before Bittuji is able to tell Radhaji about RK and Madhu's meet, RK fearing that Bittuji will give a hopeful picture to his mother, RK paints an abnoxious narrative to his mother about the meeting himself and her ex-bahu. Radhaji is disgusted about RK's boastful antics.
  6. He goes to his room. Starts relaxing with his evening drink along with music. Baahon ke Darmiyaan starts playing. His face becomes grave. There in Chawl, Madhu too gets disturbed listening to the song. She feels tormented and wants to block out the song by covering her ears. She goes to close the door, but doesn't close the door. Here RK feels tormented minute by minute as he remembers his moments with Madhu. He smashes his glass. Then trashes his stereo system. Episode ends

Episode reviews
Page 1 - Charu, Leela, anastasia21, Angeena, Mayu
Page 2 - Ananya05, MarathiMulgi, SD
Page 3 - Soundarya22
Page 5 - Kt25
Page 6 - sadumaneet, SD, Angeena
Page 7 - dramacrazy12
Page 15 - Opti

Dedication by Savz_Uniqueblis on Page 9

Reconcilation of Studio Track revelations about Rishabh with Rishabh of Revenge Track
Page 1 - Special note by SD
Page 6 - anastasia21
Page 7 - SD

Pictorial Commentary
The nervous and abnoxious first meeting after the un-wedding.

Originally posted by: zorica

wallpaper
http://i50.tinypic.com/mk9p2a.jpg

The abnoxious man giving a possessed interview

Tormented Rishbala while listening to Bahon ki Darmiyaan

Originally posted by: zorica

wallpaper
http://i48.tinypic.com/2yuivzo.jpg

Fun Commentary

Originally posted by: undisclosed

here i go😆...
What happens in my mouth:
@%#$&%(^)(&_)*_((^&$^#@$#!

Edited by 0-SD-0 - 12 years ago
0-SD-0 thumbnail
Hello All,

This is my attempt to reconcile the September Studio Night Track with February Revenge Track.

Because, post Studio night and Ganesha track may viewers left unable to understand the sweet person Rishabh Kundra was turning into. Lot of shippers like me watched Ganesha Track in daze unable to understand the need for it and finally understanding as the visarjan of old Rishabh Kundra and emerging of new Rishabh Kundra, which may help RK the stronger person evolve and the person open up to love and affection.
Then those who could not make sense of new RK, left the show or became less active.

Then other people joined the show and now they have the dilemma to understand the WHY of Revenge when RK found his love in Madhu. Old time Shippers like me was heart-broken and I couldn't believe that the man faked for so long since that Studio night and I felt personally cheated thinking why did I trust he was turning into new leaf.

But after watching last week's episodes, now I no longer feel cheated. Infact when I got the hint of new DNA of RIshbala romance out of Saturday Episode, I could trace the entire Ishq and Junoon story of September 2012, which for a while I had to bury down post Hum Hai Deewane Tere Deewane Phase, Now to me everything makes sense and story now goes back to September equation...but now RK and Madhu knowing each other better now and junoons becoming more vehement at ending each other and all for better for their love. Ofcourse, that can never totally happen, otherwise show will end. So one or the other way, the junoons will always be there to end each other for continuation of the story. But thing is story will vacillate between Ishq Phase and Hate Phase with lot of junooni elements.

So what I am trying to explain...I will go from present state and taking it back to reconcile with past. And all of this will be a compilation of posts made over last two days and few from September.

Answers that you will find are:
What is New DNA of Rishbala Romance ?
Who took the revenge ? Rishabh or RK
Who is Rishabh and RK actually ?
How much is Rishabh healed ?
How much more to be healed ?

Excerpt from my review of Episode 197 on 16th February 2013

The Equation that Madhu and RK have now

In today's episode, they have yet again showed to the world that it is very private between the two. When Madhu answered the media that "pyaar alag ho gaya tha"...when we look at RK's visage, he is like, "yeah, I know" And Dips became a vehicle again for RK to tell us viewers that, he still considers Madhu as his...that haque(right) of insulting, hating and avenging is all his and no one else has it. He has made that clear.

And there in Chawl, Madhu looking at the same news...is very clearly thinking what is it their equation about now. She still cares for his well being and his mother. She wants Bittuji to take care of him. But she wants to steel herself so much that when he comes back to tell her that he loves her, she wants to be indifferent to his love, as if that is what will quench her hurt at not being reciprocated in love, in being told that he never loved her. Cheating...being led to believe that he loved her hurts her but more that that, being told that he does not love her is hurting her more.

Now, Madhu has brought in complexitiies to the relationship they have now. They both are calling each other Ex Husband and Ex Wife. So not sure what is the divorce status now...seems I have to assume that divorce already happened. They are painting it like Filmy couple seperation.

But complexities if RK had weaved into their relationship, Madhu added a new dimension to it. She wants to tell RK, I want to be immune to your love inspite of me wanting and actually taking care of you in best possible way. And RK was all this before...not sure where he is going now...but one thing is clear...he is possessing Madhu more than ever, holding on to her more than ever. He preserved her memories on the swing, will not want Madhu to see him acting the same scene with any other actress and making it a public memory. As told to Dipali, he will not have his Ex-Wife belittled by anyone. She is still his sherni, who is dignified, courageous and soft-hearted. Once again both of them made it very clear to the rest of the world...we are not separated, our love is separated. And this is very much OUR relationship.

So this is the NEW DNA of Rishbala romance. Trying to be immune to each other's love inspite of being caring to each other. They still have that haque on each other...indirect hi sahee.

My Musings on 18th February after seeing Soundarya's Note in Media thread

Originally posted by Soundarya22

Think last week was the worst in terms of emotional manipulation by the MB team. Now we know something is coming up. good, bad, this track, that track, all that is a state secret

Am going to enjoy the upcoming episodes...they love each other, that much is clear. They also know each other, through and through ..little habits, each others idiosyncrasies...though RK may not be ready for Madhu's reactions,she now knows him inside out. And if they're going to be thrown together perforce, it will be fun to watch...their changed DNA of romance..

Originally posted by 0-SD-0

New DNA of romance - as I see it...

1. To be immune to each other's love (to try their level best)
  2. To still care for each other in indirect operative manner
  3. Madhu's goading of Rishabh - the side of him which she hated always (his kiddish/adolescent side gone bad) and now fighting without any fear as she doesn't have anything to lose (juxtapose her dialogue of Jan 16th - I hate you, Main tumhaara andar ka zahar nikaloongi)
  4. Rishabh smarting under Madhu's goad and looking more and more ridiculous with his attitude. Hope he doesn't become a cartoon. Because he becomes, instead of laughing at him, you girls go crazy and start crying like you did on Friday and Saturday. Here we are actually supposed to laugh at his fall.
  5. Madhu hurting from what RK did - the side of him whom she loves (the adult, mature guy capable of being charming to her) and now trying to be indifferent to him, which is her silent complaint to him that he ditched her and she did not expect this of him.
  6. RK resigned of all that he sees - Madhu hurting and her indifference to him, Madhu's anger and her jab at his weaker side (the Rishabh part of his), and him waiting for the fight between Madhu and Rishabh to escalate where he secretly might wish his weaker side to get defeated by Madhu...as that absolves him to choose between his weaker side and Madhu...because without a choice he will have to side with his weaker side...that's the promise he has to keep always....but here in the dynamics will change when RK betrays Rishabh....the last part is what I see as underlying plot surprise as thriller portion, rest of everything will be regular plot development to to have the junoon and Ishq going on as always.

What is their Ishq and Junoon Background ? Who are Rishabh and RK ? And why does Rishabh have to take the revenge ?

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/post/76331903

For me it is the other way round. Rishabh is the weaker, introverted personality. RK is the Super Ego of Rishabh, stronger and extroverted personality. RK's primary job is to take care of Rishabh's demands. Rishabh drives RK to do what he wants.

Madhu has never liked Rishabh. She likes RK, the happy extrovert self, when it forgets to take care of Rishabh. This is where she had bought in RK 's deal in going away to some place. Her negotiation was that she would forever be able to reconcile Rishabh and RK into accepting her whole-heartedly and she will have all RK for herself.

Madhu knows that it was Rishabh which drove RK to do what he did, but she does not like that RK went to such an extent of faking that she did not get to see when RK was real and when faking.

If I am confusing you all...to simplify,

I say that RK is the persona which acts ...as in be the superstar, or be the man sleeping in his trackpants on his bed. He is the one waking up in fear seeing his mother scared and unable to see himself in the mirror. He is the one who broke Madhu's heart by saying revenge and faking, he is the one who is now preserving Madhu's memories. Good or Bad , this person is healthy and flowing.

Rishabh on the other hand is the person whom no one can see, as RK has locked him up at the express command of Rishabh. It is this Rishabh, who is extremely demanding, possessive of RK himself and will not let RK live a wholesome life as he gloats in pain and relives the pain. It is called some kind of psychological behaviour, where the object repeatedly creates hurt for himself. What Madhu did is, she fixed some of Rishabh's hurts because Rishabh in his revenge plan allowed RK to use those insecurities. Now we do not know what more Rishabh has held back. This is where we will get to see how much now RK is going to go against his weaker personality...because it is now time for RK to choose between Rishabh and Madhu...and RK knows that Madhu loves RK though she accepted RIshabh too; but with a plan to cure him.

Originally posted by Angeena

Most of this .. in fact almost all of this went over my head.

You make it sound as if there are two minds with their own thought processes separate of the other in one body. My mind just can't handle such complexities. But I'll have a go ...

So RK is the persona which Rishabh wields to protect himself. RK is what the world sees and Rishabh just lets them see what he wants. Meaning that RK is just a part of the whole that is Rishabh.. Am I at least on the right track?

Angeena,

Yes, you are on right track. Got my pulse.

This is what I had deciphered in September 2012 about MEIEJ and it always works for me to understand the story.

Ishq -

• RK's ishq is caring and being possessive about MB. There's certain level of deewanapan in the way he's after her. Be it to show his smirks or making his peremptory demands, its his expression of admiration for her, attraction for her and the desire to be in her company. Cluelessly enamoured royal tiger...I may as well be shameless and say seems in perpetual heat when around MB.
  • MB's Ishq - Am guessing that it too will be possessive like RK. And her ishq so far has an expression of giving spontaneous response to RK's any kind of act. She just can't stop reacting to him. Cluelessly affected by him. She is angry, child-like, demanding, puppy-faced, looking teased and a royal queen.

Junoon -

• Rishabh's junoon is to hide away under his mask or be a recluse in his cave. His junoon is also to conserve his Super Ego. Those who strike it, they are GONE! That's why MB has been the target. She questioned his thought-process, his way of living.
  • Madhu's junoon is to fight for others cares without any thought for her. She goes to insane limits. Take the case of Mukund, Shamsher Malik... and now it is RK and her standing up to restore his faith in his friend and care-taker Ganesha'.and soon a day is going to come when she will decide to take care of Rishu, when she understands that Rishabh's way of living is not a living but a coping to live through'..her eternal fight with Rishabh.

Background on Rishabh

You will find the September thoughts here at my blog site. Very strong images are played on viewer's minds and we can never forget them until they are closed. Read the thoughts here.

https://shrideviblog.blogspot.com/2012/11/rk-boy-trapped-in-mans-body-20th-sep.html

Continuing on the same...I have explained Rishabh the adolescent 12 year old kid, bottled up to grow, to mature. He had RK to protect him from the world. But now that RK like his father protects him too much, Rishabh has become the pampered arrogant kid wanting to be a perpetual bully. Madhu has actually fixed Rishabh's hurts from the past, but Madhu is yet to treat the pampered, arrogant, bullying kid. All this will have to happen while the mature RK is again compromised by both Madhu and Rishabh inside him...confusing at times when we see his resigned face of being in love with Madhu and at times seeing him tormenting Madhu.

Rishabh smarting under Madhu's goad and looking more and more ridiculous with his attitude. Hope he doesn't become a cartoon. Because he becomes, instead of laughing at him, you girls go crazy and start crying like you did on Friday and Saturday. Here we are actually supposed to laugh at his fall..

Don't worry. Right now I'll cheer anyone who takes him down a peg or two ... Hmmm .. Maybe not anyone. But if its Madhu most definitely.

From superstar tantrums to superstar whining. The only problem, what is his character reduced to? But if it is Madhu's doing, then this too will not matter. Madhu ka haq banta hai.

@bold

his character was never reduced. It was always there...For ex: just like everyone of us, MAdhu also likes his stronger side. We all never liked his weaker side. But thing is we cannot deny it that it exists and instead of letting it sleep, Madhu has goaded him about that. In that sense, they both are those two school monitors in class, where they fight with each other.

In school...we used to have this revamping of all sections population and redistributed into new sections. So when I was in VI standard, I had my friends separated into other sections and only few left with me...boys and girls, with whom I was not that buddy close. So it was all new. But there was another challenge. Apparently the erstwhile section B crowd which was dominant then in my new class...they had rules of Boys and Girls will not talk to each other. It was strict rule...total prohibition. I was like what I started looking at two of my male friends Bopanna and Chandrasekhar and Gaurav and I blinked my eyes...and I was like ...what you will not talk to me ???? But we are friends...and I said to Gaurav...we used to sit with each other and now you will not even look at me ???? The three boys were silent...they were like...smiling a little but cannot do anything about it. That reminds me of RK's resigned looks now. I never saw these friends of mine vehemently fighting with girls, but always maintained the protocol propagated by Manjunath K...who the girls in anger called him Kunjunath. He was smart, intelligent, suave...but just because his rule forced us to get separated from our male friends...we hated him like anything. I too hated him. Two more years with him...by VIII standard, he too looked at his rule incredulously, how ridiculous it was becoming with all the boys wanting to talk to us and we all just manuvering that through Quiz competitions thrown at each other in Free periods just to show who is mighty...girls or boys...but we all ended up admiring our wits and politely requesting each other for Hardy Boys and Three Investigator series as next in queue for the next Library allotment...

I attribute that behavior to Raging Adolescent Hormones

Well not reduced to exactly, I think its more along the lines of .. The world bowed to him and now that same world watches him bow to someone who he ridiculed soo many times. You can't help but feel, kya din aage hain? Kese jeeta tha, aur ab dekho, bechara. I feel pity for some reason.

I studied in a girls convent. My only conversation with boys was through my brother and cousins. I have no clue what I missed out on.

In Co-Ed Schools, we start knowing how boys change each year. How their voice changes...everything. We become their sisters, friends and interests. It all feels very nice.

Come to think of the behaviour I saw in my class...that was when we were 11 years old. And Manjunath & Co...by 13th year, saw how ridiculous it was turning out to be.

And here Rishabh bottled himself at 12 year after his father's death. He never could complete his adoloescent phase of life. He had an abnormal hormonal understanding of his needs. I always knew this character trait will be a clinical problem for him which will doom his relationship with anyone until it is completely fought with. It will look ugly to respectable people expecting adults. It will not look ugly to his equal ones.

A child forced to grow up too fast, but still clinging on to his childish notions and tantrums. Rishabh is still a child on the verge of adolescence and RK is the adult. He can behave as a person of his age and stature is expected to. But Rishabh keeps poking his head out, to create trouble and constantly remind RK of his existence. And RK sides by him because in the end they are parts of the same person.

Exactly!!!! Thank you for the sum up.

I am gonna take this summation of our conversation to ED thread today. Its needed. Because we discussed this trait last in September. Poco and me believed this would actually happen...but soon post Ganesha track,...we were all confused. Come to think of it...we never should have stopped keeping our thoughts still intact. I was like may be the CVs changed the entire thing...but surprise surprise...they still are on the same path...

That is the reason why I liked RK(not Rishabh) carrying Dipali over 16th Feb episode...as in touching. Because him not touching her and her bullying him with her touch reminded me too much of adolescent shyness (Rishabh) in RK character and for Madhu's sake, I wanted him to get past it...be the unaffected man. RK could dominate Rishabh and be done with Dipali. And on saturday, he achieved that. He cured of that part of him. Now if the childish fights between them go on...more or less a lot of Rishabh childishness will go away. I think what we will see these days is the boy's need to be head-boy and Madhu's fight will purge his need about that.

I'm glad that I have some handle on him.

You are right. RK carrying Dipali, with this perspective in mind, really is a big thing for him. Hopefully there will be a time when Rishabh will become RK too or at the very least his negative effects are toned down. How can this be achieved?

**********************************End*************************************************************
Hoping this helps all of MEIEJ peeps. Those from Sep, those who joined late and all the regular shippers who stuck to all Rishbala phases no matter how both of them have been crazy.
Edited by 0-SD-0 - 12 years ago
Krinya thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail + 8
this if the first time i reserved a post..😆 not bec. i'm very exited to write a review...it all went over my head then i remembered Shri's words that they're slowly turning RK into a cartoon 🤣 ..toh i chose to laugh over it rather than making sense out of his actions..

Madhu reaching the studio, and she doesn't know whoz film is it...a huge poster of RK outside the studio , perhaps she missed that 😆 toh she went inside where these 2 almost sensed each other now that song was totally ridiculous in the background 🤢 "be-inteha" ka apman 😭 both of them staring at each other 🤢 didn't get the point of this scene 🤢 Madhu tripped n there came "Madhu" 🤣 and next minute taunting...was it a taunt or something else, i don't know bec. i didn't uderstand any of his dialogues...his singing "dil lena khel hai" , i almost fell off my bed laughing 🤣 ...he reminded me of that murderer from Murder 2 ..poor Madhu..she got scared n ran away...WOW ! what a valentine gift for us , too cool 😎🤢

Bittuji ka plan was total flop 🤢 no wonder he got caught...RK's interview was one scene which i liked..he scared off the poor interviewer also...poor her !! "maine ek sher paala tha jo gulab kha ke marr gaya" 🤣 paheli boojho..🥱 tumhari shakal pasand nahi..i love this one..

RK -Radha scene...thought he was already 2 pegs down...aur koi nahi mila toh Radha ko darana shuru...Angeena, thanks for the song, i couldn't guess it frm his whistle..coming to think of it, today's episode was musical...as if monday -tuesday were not enuf, we got to watch his insanity ka replay again 🤢...whateva, Radhaji was disgusted 😆

the last segment is what i really really liked...all our good memories of MB , unko nasht karna hai na 🤢😡 that was one bahon ke darmiyan and this new one...i felt bad for Madhu but i couldn't control my laughter looking at RK...i remember someone said 2 days back that he will break all the furniture 🤣 with those murderous looks, he wud have probably murdered Sanjay Leela Bhansali & his music director too 🤣 for making bahon ke darmiyan..

precap is super cool ! he doesn't want her around , but why? as he cud see , he cud not break her toh continue with revenge mission 😆 with short term memory loss, he forgot that she's Shamsher Malik's daughter but she is actually Balraj Chaudhary's blood...🤣 aa dekhen zara kisme kitna hai dum

Edited by _charu_ - 12 years ago
leelaa9 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4
A superb ep.😳⭐️

Today we saw yet again that while Madhu could usually *sense* RK's presence but not always his hurt, RK on the other hand always seemed entirely attuned to sensing Madhu in pain or trouble but not always otherwise.
😕😳

The romantic sequence seemed to owe its pull to the perfectly apt song 'Beintehaa' and the fabulous charisma and chemistry of the leads, with no need of any extraneous ploys or plotdevices other than the gauzy drapes.

Symbolic that the gauzy drape (that finally fell over them both) was not red, the colour which is commonly used for two people in love, or even yellow - both of which colours were present in RK's shirt and Madhu's dupatta respectively.This one was white, like Madhu's kurta. White is a colour of many meanings, and also neutrality which throws all else into relief.😕

As to symbolism, the CVs will probably be on a roll when they do start to unravel things.

From Madhu's side of the phone-conversation, Bittuji had apparently been careful in not *actually* lying outright to Madhu in getting her to RK's set for the reconciliation-attempt.😊

We owed most of today's ep to Madhu tripping after walking away from RK.😳

He had been willing to let her walk away, in the knowledge that he had succeeded in ousting her from his life.

There had been absolutely no mockery from him in word or even in glance.😊

But she tripped, and his reflex of calling her 'Madhu' (rather than 'biwi') in all matters of immediate import came to the fore.😳

Rather worse for Madhu in consequences, that reflex was out loud - loud enough for her to hear the concern in his cry, and when she turned at once to him, his arm was still outstretched toward her.😳

It was a situation so obvious that he could not delude himself on the necessity of covering.

That clear concern she had heard and seen needed to be negated so that it would not remain and posit a doubt in her mind later.

And the act began.

RK ratcheted up the mockery decisively *only* when he realized that she was supposed to become a part of his current project and thus in proximity with him.

Which, considering the outrageous lengths he has gone to just to remove her from his immediate sphere, is comprehensible from any angle.

Here again, he calculated perfectly just how much he needed to say and do in word, expression, nuance and song-lines that she might consider cruelly fitting, in order to have her opt out of the job.

Bittuji rushing after her was RK's first clue that there had been a cupid-attempt in the works to effect a reconciliation between him and Madhu.

His attention during the interview was divided with attending to Madhu's and Bittuji's interaction outside.

And his reaction to the flashbacks during the interview showed no hesitation in his admitting to himself about the worth of private moments with Madhu.😳

Nor did he have any qualms or was in the least bit hesitant in showing that certain things mattered to him, now that he was dealing with people that would *not* immediately connect his odd reactions to specific aspects of romance with his feelings for Madhu.😊

Wearing a rose - or refusing to do so - mattered. Considering "Mr. India" a romantic film mattered.😳😊

Remembering Madhu calling herself his fan, and getting touchy about the appellation in its general usage, was again hardly indicative of being at all unaware that his own heart held her every memory as cherished and valued.😕😳

When he got home, his guessing that Bittuji's cupid-attempt had been in conspiring with his mother Radha was also clear.

And as with Madhu, so with Radha and Bittuji, he said all that *would* be needed to hopefully ensure there would no further such attempts from them, driving harder and harder so that Radha's gift for ignoring what she did not want to acknowledge would not have her promptly bouncing a second reconciliation-attempt at him.

The first attempt had already ensured his third performance for Madhu's viewing.

His brutal words about Madhu seemed to have shaken Radha's enthusiasm for project-reconciliation, but Bittuji seemed at least somewhat less daunted.

RK's every performance in this drama seems to be in the 'only one take possible' mode, with the knowledge that if he falters in even one nuance, everything he has done - for whatever reason - will be for naught.

He stopped performing only once he got to his room, becoming as grim and cheerless as he has been in private since the chain of events set in visible motion the previous night in MEIEJ-verse.

Felt curious again on seeing the colourless liquid RK was having, bringing to mind his comment - while refusing to have drinks with the drunk Kaka in the village - that he couldn't because doctor had forbidden him to have alcohol.

The serial-world is usually kind in ensuring that the only liquid that is colourless is water. Presumably because much of the TRP audience may not have instantaneous comprehension of the colourless varieties of alcohol.

On the other hand, his drinking after return from hospital in the aftermath of Balraj's death (and probably the much more recent gulping of the flask-contents at the wedding-mandap) is indicative that he is quite capable of returning to the tried-and-true crutch of drink when his emotional endurance is stretched to breaking point.

Then the song started, bringing to mind - for both RK and Madhu - the joy and occasion of this song in their marital life.

Had this song been playing purely for RK to hear, his tormented reactions might perhaps have been yet another ambiguous point in this track, with the possibility that he might be suffering from a troubled conscience.

But with Madhu looking as tormented, it was made clear that what was troubled and in anguish was not his conscience but their hearts.

RK's every reaction in the absence of knowing witnesses shows that he values and admits absolutely to the precious worth of every conjugal happy memory he has shared with Madhu.

If *this* is denial, then what the heck is acknowledgement?😳😕 Rhetorical question.

The CVs - having given us a mystery to set our heads spinning (and successfully ruined the most romantic week of the year with fiction-related stress) - appear to finally be taking pity on us, and forking out nice big clues.

The precap for the next ep showed that Madhu was back to her newer look, rather than the brief return to the look resembling her styling during her marriage - perhaps to mark her different reaction RK.

No idea why she will be accepting the job, or whether it is at Bittuji's behest or for some other reason or a means of proving to herself that she is unaffected and undaunted.

Of course, walking away also proves one is so unaffected as to not even care to prove a point, but that wouldn't get us both leads in the same frame.

RK would presumably not want her at a job in his proximity unless it fits into some aspect of his intentions. Which makes this being a part of his ploys improbable but not impossible.😕

The question is how RK will react *beyond* the immediate.

His immediate reaction is shown in the vanity-trailer scene as trying to target her selfrespect like in today's ep - to make her leave the job that would place her in his sphere, thereby ensuring that there would be no need for further performances.

He wanted her away from him. Now, she will yet be with him, though in a professional rather than personal capacity.

His maintaining the behaviour he has so far over a longer period of time should be beneficial in causing her to become even more distanced from her feelings for him.

So the point is whether he doubts his ability to continue pretending in front of Madhu for protracted durations on a regular basis.

A pretence unscripted where he must even guard every reaction of his.

One would think such a doubt on his part to be both prudent and sensible.

Madhu knows him, and whatever her verbal claims of moving on, she is as completely bound to his hurt as he so reflexively today revealed himself to be bound to her hurt.

The question is whether - with Madhu insisting on taking the job - RK may not find it paradoxically both torture and pleasure to have her near.

She would wish to prove herself indifferent or at least hostile, and she is most assuredly not party to his mother's and Bittuji's machinations for reconciliation.

But this means that while he is going to have to continue to pretend at home, he will also have to maintain the pretence at work even in Bittuji's absence - unlike during the interview in today's ep.

And the temptation to have her near - even with the need to keep the bitterness unremitting - may be a draught at once of both sweet poison and bitter nectar.😳

Monday's ep over, and now 4-5 episodes more to the conclusion of the CVs' projected assurance of 'two weeks' timeframe.

Hopefully, they are done with the seesaw's 'down' effect vis-a-vis this track. Having been on the 'down' for a week, would *really* appreciate the seesaw steadily heading for 'up' now. Pretty please?😊

Edited by leelaa9 - 12 years ago
anastasia21 thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
Moral of today's episode: Agar kisi cheez ko dil se chaaho (yaa phir sub-consciously chaho), to puri qayanaat usey tumse milane ki koshish mein lag jaati hai. 😎

ETA:

The confrontation was not up to my expectation. I don't know what I was expecting but hell didn't freeze over. It was mostly because of RK. Like he explains later, hardly anything ever takes him by surprise. And even if he is caught off guard, he quickly compensates verbally by being a complete jerk. I always enjoy his commentary, but sometimes he stretches it too far.

That was a valentine sequence for a movie!! Its gonna be super flop. RK walking forward with a morbid expression through all those - I don't even know how to explain the sequence 😕- looked anything but romantic to me. And I hate it when the director forgets that people have peripheral vision. Usually they use this tactic to make a meet cute happen when the leads meet accidentally. But the way Madhu was walking forward, she was bound to see something out of the corner of her eye. Instead she kept looking to her left side 😵 and didn't stop until she went straight into the frame and stumbled into RK's arms. Enough with the stumbling!! Its like Bella Swan all over again, whose sole mission in life was to trip and get scooped up by Edward (sorry Twilight fans, please don't take offense and bash me).

So the high points for me were :
  • of course, RK reflexively calling out to Madhu when she stumbles (😵). There is this one instance that I can recall, when their car broke down before the village sequence. When the car suddenly comes to a halt and they are thrown forward, RK throws his hands in front of Madhu in a protective manner. That's a reaction you can never ever fake. Dude, you are in love, deal with it and stop torturing US! 😭
  • have to say, almost looked like the reporter was paid to ask those strategic question in an attempt to stir his memory. But since nobody knows about those intimate details, we have to assume that its fate who's playing cupid.
  • RK whistling 'Parde mein rehne do, parda na uthao' 😆😆😆. He knows it all.
  • the way he smashes everything while listening to "Baahon Ke Darmiyaan" and in a stark contrast Madhu braves it and doesn't close the door. I can't say whether she didn't because she couldn't let go or because she chose to get over it.
Precap: For the first time, in a long time, excited with the precap. In words of RK, Ladki apni sher hai, byas pooch lagane ki der hai. 😆

Edited by anastasia21 - 12 years ago
Angeena thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
A good episode (especially the dialogues 👍🏼), capturing the mess that is RK and Madhu's life, mind and love.

The first bit of cliche in MEIEJ. How can RK not have recognized Madhu when she stood with his back to him? The valentine song seemed forced. Absolutely unnecessary. 🤢

Yet RK calls out to Madhu when she slips .. he does care. Wish Bittooji had seen that.
"Nafrat mohabbat ki bigadi hui aawara sauteli behen hai". -- True in their case.
The good part was that while RK still taunted, Madhu still insulted her, and rubbed salt on her wounds, he did not draw the attention of the entire studio to this. Thank RK for little mercies. The bad part was that Madhu just left, after showing a bit of vulnerability. She had not stabilized enough to confront him yet.

"Maine sher pala tha jo gulab kha kar mar gaya."
When RK tries to woo Madhu, he should keep a rose in his shirt pocket full-time. 😉 Or maybe not, shouldn't remind Madhu of his supposed acting.
So RK's all-time romantic movie is Mr. India. How can he say this and be in denial? 😕 His expressions here don't indicate that this thought upset him. And his reply to the journalist just proves that he was not hurt. So how can this be denial?

Madhu and Padmini's conversation just highlights the problems with Madhu's methods to move on. She won't get better if she keeps ignoring the root cause i.e. RK.

Parde mein rehne do
parda na utao
parda jo ut gaya tho

RK knows what Bittooji and Radhaji are up to. 😆 The song he choose to whistle and his expressions proved it. His taunts were just to make them realize that he is on to them and that their actions are futile.

Another painful memory. RK is on a smashing spree, letting out his emotions on everything within reach. And yet he seemed more pained that angry. I'm not going to look too deeply in to it. My head will start spinning. On a lighter note, how much do you think the producers spend on the equipment which RK regularly destroys?

Madhu on the other hand goes to close the doors, but then she stops. Is she finally done attempting to bury the past? She still covered her ears though. But it seemed as if she had got some new found strength.

The precap suggests this. This time around she will give as good as she gets, if not better.
🥳
Edited by Angeena - 12 years ago
-Mayu- thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4
Madhu, the girl who promised herself and Padmini that she will move ahead, I guess hasnt moved on as she claimed. The way she was flinching when RK was spitting out crap, I was like, Madhu needs time for the wounds to heal. And RK's Bhashan, and the whole Reporter thing looked fake to me. It was as if the reporter was paid highly to ask only the chosen questions. Hope its not Bittujee, otherwise he is Dead!

Another thing i didnt understand was the whole VDay setup, were they trying to impress the audience as we wont be getting a mushy, romantic Vday as RK-Madhu are separate? Be inteha, such a beautiful song, why destroy it?

90% of RK's income must be going on Vodka and his furniture and crokecry! Even his Mummyjee is used to throw stuff now!

Overall a Boring Epi. except the Flashbacks of Lovable Rishabala

Love,
Mayu
Edited by -Mayu- - 12 years ago
Ananya05 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
What was the need of the song sequence? It did not make any sense whatsoever to me. 🥱 'Be inteha' in the BG and they keep looking in to each other after two days of break up. 🥱
Their confrontation was 🥱 👎🏼. RK does some more bakwas and insults Madhu by singing, 'dil lena khel hai dildar ka...' The song is supposedly echoing and yet everyone seems busy in their work oblivious to the musings of Superstar and his ex-biwi. 😕 May be to appease audiences and not to show another round of public insult for Madhu. 🤔

Do I need to make any sense of his reflexive call 'Madhu' when she stumbles upon rod? 🤔

RK calls Bittuji bigdail baccha.😆 😆 His first plan , a big flop. 🤢

Some interviewer wants to have an interview with RK. Asks him to wear a read rose on his coat. He refuses thinking of the red rose Madhu had given him and the reason he cites to the reporter, 'Maine ek sher pala tha, jo gulab khake mar gaya' 😲 🤣. Reporter ne sawal bhi poocha to kaunsa, fav romantic movie aur RK ka jawab: Mr. India. 🥱 Can we move on please? Mai khud iske bad kabhi Mr.India nai dekh paungi..😆 How ironical that reporters have to ask such questions to RK at this point in his life ! 😆

Madhu is quite upset that Bittuji gave her work on RKs set and shares her pain with Padmini. 😭 😭 as to why does fate bring them face to face and not allowing her to move on. 😭 RK talks more nonsense to Radhaji about his revenge, breaking Madhu, his encounter with her on the sets. Surprisingly, for the very first time, I was getting bored with his rant. 🥱 He was going on and on and on..🥱 are bhai break mar.😆 RK is way too intelligent for the likes of Radhaji and Bittuji...😆 He obviously figures that this was their plan to bring Madhu and him face to face. By the end of his bak bak, Radhaji was disgusted. 🤢 🤣

Again, I did not understand why does he need to talk so much about his revenge if he does not care for her at all. Why does he need to validate it all the tym? You took revenge, now move on.🤢 Who is he trying so hard to convince to that he is never going to melt? Obviously himself.

Jaise hum bahar se ghar ane ke bad pani peete hai, superstar ji waise hi vodka peete hai. 🤢Radio pe 'Bahon ke darmiyan'. RK-Madhu both relive the studio KC while listening. Both are very upset. Can anybody explain me why was superstar RK playing a radio on such a hi-fi music system? 😲 😆 Koi aur CD/DVD nai thi kya? 🤢 Anyways, he breaks the music system. RKs realization phase is slowly kicking in. So, lets see RK mansion ka saaman ab kitne dino tak sahi salamat rehta hai. 😆

PS: Whole throughout today's episode, RK was indeed coming across as a cartoon character. 🤣 Thank you Shri, for giving us this perspective. 😉 Now RK is our cartoon villain. 😆 😆

Edited by Ananya05 - 12 years ago
pnars thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Engager Level 3 Thumbnail + 6
He is not indifferent, we (the viewers) know it now, even if he shouts it from the rooftop of his skyscraper. She affects him powerfully, he does care about her wellbeing (witness his concerned "Madhu" when she trips over a light stand), he's connecting almost every thought or memory to her.

But he's playing a dangerous game with her and his family, by this terrible pretence. If it is for that ridiculous reason that he wants her to be a heroine, I'd be astonished. I expect better from the makers of this serial.

The supposed romance of the song and the dupatta falling over them was ruined for me because we'd already seen it too many times, looped endlessly in the precaps and tele shows. God, give me the strength to stay away from media shows!!!

The precap was gripping, literally, probably the first time I've seen some out of control passion between them. The supposed nafrat is stoking some fires that the coochy coo love failed to do!!!

Edited by pnars - 12 years ago