Part 87
The 4AM bell did wake Dev from his restless night. He was not knowing what to do? He remembered the white dress man saying it is for the students. Dev noticed the movement nearby. He turned to see, and found the driver getting up and walking out. Dev didn't feel like doing anything, he just lay there, trying to see the ticking of the time in his mind by counting of his heartbeat. The driver came back later and called Dev, he wake up from his fake sleep.
Driver: it is 5.15, don't you remember , he said as to get ready by 6AM, so get up, I had my bath, I will show you, come.
Dev passively went behind the driver. By 5.55AM one tall kid appeared at the front door and he greeted the guest with his smile and said "subh din"
Driver responded with an ear to ear smile, and said "subhdin"
Kid: I am here to take you to the prayer hall.
Driver went in front and Dev just passively followed them.
They came in front of that big hall that they passed last night. Now it is fully lighted, and the student guided them in and showed to sit on the mat that was spread on the floor. With the coldness of fresh morning and the freshness of body and mind , the driver sat where the kid pointed, along with Dev. The driver looked around with a smile on his face.
The driver saw the students sitting in line and from the height difference he understood they are sitting according to their grade level. He noticed few many white dress adult males and few wearing orange , but their head were nicely shaved.
His attention was caught by a big bang on a bell from the front, he stretch out his back to see and found few of selected kids sitting at the front with few music instruments in their reach, in a group and soon the morning bhajan started which lead by this group. He noticed every student singing following the group including the white and orange color dress adults and old people. He smiled as he saw few of the students heads were making that constant sawying moves to front trying to hit the person's back who is sitting in front, but then the jerk, waking them up and again moving slightly to the front, trying hard to keep that eye open. He looked at the altar and found one swamiji offering flowers on few photos. He looked keenly, it was Sri Ramkrishna Paramahas in the middle and Sri Sarada Devi and Sri Swamiji Vivekananda on both sides. The bhajan continued, the driver's face was beaming with smile and hope.
After the bhajan they were guided to the dining hall, they sat on the floor, later they found the kids who is in their school uniform coming in lines and occupying the dining hall space in line, on the floor, and students serving them the breakfast and tea. Nobody asked for extra, the count was equal for everyone, and a second serve of side dish just went out quickly.
Dev was looking at he watch., still there is time, 15 more minutes. He got up
One person wearing orange color dress came near: The asram gate will open around 8.30AM. Hope you had a nice stay here, and thanks for adjusting with our limited facilities. Dev didn't say anything but just looked at him passively..
Swamiji smiled and said: May God bless you. And gave small sweet ball as Prasad.
Unknowingly Dev bowed his head, and slowly walked towards the gate. Driver stopped for a minute behind and did a quick chat with Swamiji and Swamiji gave the answers with a smile on his face.
Driver turned once to look at that calm face and found one student touching his feet for blessing and walking away.
As the driver was about to open the car door Dev : let's walk, please
The driver listened to his weaker voice and he understood the person next to him is walking with his weaker body, and he lost all that energy from his eyes. Driver followed him, looking around. Soon they reached near that arch gate. The driver read " Sri Sarada Mandir" . The lock was still on. They waited at the curb side looking at the passing buses and other vehicles. The driver looked at dev who was standing silently, he was seeing totally different shade of his customer, from normal passive smiles to his talk to very impatient kid last night, to totally silent matured person now.
The driver saw a white dress lady (sevika) coming and she opened the gate and was about to walk back.
The driver: can we come in
Sevika looked back : ha, you can come inside. Are you here to meet someone?
Driver looked at Dev, who still standing silently, looking at the road listening to driver's voice, as if he wanted the driver to talk for him.
Driver: ha, we are here to meet.......
Sevika interrupted the talk and said: come inside, I can show you the office, Mathaji will be there shortly and she is the one who takes care of it.
Driver looked at Dev and he turned and looking at the Sevika with his emotionless face, he walked along with the driver, he could hear his heart beat, but it was not beating harder, he felt some uneasiness, which he was not able to express.
They walked in between the small wall, and Dev's eyes scanned every inch of that space that they were walking in. They passed the similar big hall , and the sevika guided them into that office space and showed the chair to sit. " Mathaji will be here soon"
Driver: ji
Dev's fingers were rolling onto each other, rubbing to each other, the tips kept on counting numbers. The driver looked thru the window and found kids going in live to somewhere. Finally Mathaji came in
Dev and the driver stood on their feet respecting the Lady in front of them
Mathaji requesting them to sit back, took her place behind that nicely arranged small table: how can I help you?
Dev tried to bring out his voice, but it got stuck, the uneasiness did not let him say it out easily. He readjusted himself in that chair...
Dev's silence prompted the driver to speak out: we are here to meet Radhika, can you please call her. Dev looked at the dirver's face, and Driver also looked back at him with a sorry face to forgive his action, but Dev conveyed his thankful face.
Mathaji looking at this both mens face: Which Radhika?
Dev looked at Mathaji's face shockingly
Driver looked at Dev helplessly as he doesn't know what to say
Dev , moving his throat, softly said: my Radhika.
Mathaji in a calm voice: your Radhika!!
Dev: Ha, Mrs. Radhika Bhatt
Mathaji looked at him again with her calm face : I think I don't have a direct answer for your request.
Dev getting up fromt he chair : What do you mean!!!
Mathaji: because Radhika is not here.
Dev suddenly tunring and opening his bag, took the letter out and showed them the emblem that stamped on that envelop, moving forward, showing that to her face : but this belong to here
Mathaji: yes it is, and that is why I said I don't have a direct solution to your request, but maybe we can guide you, but still you might have to wait , till evening, but by then, I think you have many questions inside you, which you need answers.
Dev: no I don't have, I just want to see her
Mathaji still with the same calm face: no, you have, and that can be related to the same envelope that you are holding.
Dev: I just want to meet Radhika
Mathaji: I told you, she is not here, suddenly dev got up to leave, and the driver also stood up in confusion , but Mathaji's voice came out: wait let me call somebody, because your running out from here, won't take you any more near to her, the time has its place in everyone's life. You can only ignore it, but the time takes its place.
Dev stopped hearing to her words, and heard her ringing the bell, soon another Sevika showed up her face , Mathaji looking at her : Malathi, they are here to meet Radhika, So I want you to guide them, and you know what I meant, right?
Malathi looking at Mathaji : Ji, Mathaji
Mathaji: um and showed her hand out, for her to guide them out.
Malathi coming near Dev and the driver: please come with me.
Dev and the driver followed her , giving a namasthe gesture thanking Mathaji, and Mathaji : may God help you in your mission.
Dev looked one more time into those calm face, with shaved head for few seconds..... and then followed Malathi..
Walking out from there, the driver looked around, he saw the rose garden, and one path leading to few steps at a distance.
Driver: where that leads to?
Malathi: to the school
Driver: school!
Sevika: ha, school, we have students learning up to 12th grade
Driver with a smile: nice, can I walk around
Malathi: sure, but not into those fenced places inside this campus, they are our resident students rooms and we won't let men walk around here.
Driver: no, I won't , I just want to see the surrounding , and the school
Malathi with a smile: you can
Driver looking at dev, walked away with a smiley face.
Malathi: so how can I help you sir?
Dev looked at that face, he saw that middle aged woman in white saree, who pleated her uneven gray hair tightly behind and has one chanden line on her forehead and she covered her shoulder with that lightly blue color bordered white saree pallu. He felt a respect for this lady, who was looking at him with a small smile and calm face.
"Dev" I mean, my name is Dev, Dev Bhatt, don't address me sir, you are of my mom's age, probably.
Malathi smiled listening to him : ok then, Dev, tell me how can I help you?
Dev: Is Radhika here?
Malathi: No she is not. Here only people related to this asram is living.
Dev: but then how do you know my Radhika
Malathi: because she was here with us for few days
Dev: few days? How come?
Malathi with a smile: may be it was written in her destiny
Dev tightening her forehead: what is meant by that?
Malathi: now you are standing in front of me, maybe that is another destiny and I am answering to your question
Dev: I don't get it
Malathi: because you asked me "few days? How come?" and I am destinated person who can answer that question at present....
Dev: ha
Malathi taking small steps thru that muddy path near the office: Our Pratham Mathaji went to U.S. recently for attending a religious conference . she then with a smile added, yes, just like Swami Vivekandji. On her return , she met this young lady in flight. Usually Mathaji won't note anyone around her much ,especially when she is in travel. Radhika was seated next to her, Mathaji noted her because she found this girl lost in some place, in her thought or don't know. She never seen anyone with such heavy face especially in a travel, .
Once they reached here at the Delhi station, as usual mathaji waited for our Van to pick her up. Her eyes unknowingly followed this girl, and found her checking on something in one of the computers nearby. But then she came and stood next to mathaji looking at the darkness, Mathaji noted no one came to pick her up or thatgirl also was in confusion with her next proceeding. Mathaji asked her name and she said "Radhika"
Mathaji: are you waiting for someone to pick you up.
Radhika: ha
But the wait went on, as our van got stuck in traffic, you know it's a long travel from here to airport and mathaji knows it, because it happened many times, and we won't prefer to travel in any taxi or other vehicle.
This girl walked out to the darkness and then came back and sat on one of the corner , keeping her luggage down. Our van reached and two sevika's went to call Mathaji.
As she was coming with Sevikas, her mind stop over and she went near to Radhika and asked
Mathaji: looks like your wait won't bring anyone here, you want to come with me.
Radhika looked at her surprisingly and Mathaji said: I don't know where you want to go? if you tell me, I can drop you, but otherwise you are welcome to rest in our place and you can go tomorrow to your destination.
Without saying anything, Radhika carrying her luggage, followed mathaji and she reached here. Maybe Mathaji did not feel comfortable to leave somebody like that behind and come back rest well here, maybe that person's image may disturb her meditation. Or maybe Radhika at that time needed that help.
After coming here, it was almost towards morning, Pratham Mathaji called me and told me the situation and asked me to take her to our guest room. As I was about to leave Mathaji told me: Malathi, she doesn't look normal, she didn't touch the food , nor did she close her eyes once or during this long road ride. Something is haunting her, let her rest, she doesn't' t need to be at the prayer hall at 6AM, which is must for anyone living here.
I agreed and went and guided her to our guest room, and allowed her to rest. Then slowly slowly she got into our routine. She used to talk to Pratham Mathaji, which is very rare, as she is too busy mostly with Math work and administrative things, but she found time to talk to Rahdika, I don't know what they were talking, but I saw the changes on that face day by day.
Dev: but hen where is she now?
Malathi: She went along with kids, our students are performing for a charity organization. She taught them a dance and they will be back by late evening
Dev: but, where is it? I can go there...
Malathi: you waited this long, wait for the evening, she will be here
Dev: but then will she be here before 6.30 right?
Malathi: no they maybe late
Dev: but then I won't be able to meet her.
Malathi: mathaji told you, she doesn't live here.
Dev: I don't get it?
Malathi: she cannot live here as she is married, this premises is not meant for a suhagan and Radhika is a suhagan and her world is out there, not inside these campus. But she do come and help in our school, but mostly she will be around here only, come here around 6 in the mornig and attend the prayer, and then she help at the kitchen, she just give her hand with everything and she go back by 6.30 and now a day's mostly with our computer stuff, getting things organized here, and teaching few of us how to manage it.
Dev: but then how she get in at 6 AM, you open the gate at 8.30 only, right?
Malathi: thru our school gate, she knows it now and we know her too.
Dev's lip corner stretched slightly seeing her doing that.
Malathi: Mr. Dev, do you have any other questions for me
Dev with a smile: nahi, but then 'ha'
Malathi looked at him curiously
Dev: are you the one who came to tell us that you won't open the gate till 8.30AM
Malathi with a smile: ha
Dev: you people are very strict
Malathi: we need to
Dev smiled: so Radhika will be here around by this evening
Malathi: yes
Dev; they went by asram bus?
Malthi: no, by school bus, it is the students from school performing. We have few students residing in this asram, but we do have large number of localits, we need to survive too.
Dev: I understand that ; but then why they had to leave this early
Malathi: it is little far away place
Dev looked at the watch and said: almost noon
Malathi: ha, and I need to look for the lunch preparation. You can go back to Ramakrishna Asram and have lunch there, if you like
Dev : ha but then looking around: where is the driver
They saw him coming running towards them.
Driver in his excited voice: so let's go
Dev looked at him surprisingly: what?
Driver: I can't wait anymore, I need to go
Dev: but you agreed before starting...
Driver: yes I did, but now , now I don't have much time, I need to go, I need to go in his restless voice...
Dev looked at malathi: ok then, I will come back in the evening
Malathi: ji and left the two people to talk
Dev and driver walking out towards the gate: what happened?
Driver: I said, I need to go, I can't wait anymore.
Dev: I thought you are with me
Driver calming down self: ha, I also thought that way only, do you know I never took any long journeys as I cannot leave my family alone, especially at night time. I have a sick wife, my daughter-in-law and my two grand kids, twins, two girls around 10 years now. They are growing up too and I need to secure their future, so I need to go..
Dev: what are you saying? I don't get it, secure their future, your son is in gulf , right? then why you have to worry about their future, he is making so much money , right?
The driver looked at Dev's eyes, and instantly it filled with tears, and it just started rolling down, near that big arched gate, that old man, hugged Dev as a refelex, and cried his heart out , and then wiping his tears , he tried to smile and he said in his broken words
'ha, my son is there in gulf, he went with a dream , to make so much money, to buy big house, and to buy a new hondaza car for me to travel, and he said he will appoint a driver, to take me every where that I wished to go, he had dreams , so much, and he made me to dream too. But one day I got the message that he fell from the top of a tall building. He worked as a supervisor to a construction company there and I don't know how and what happened? I didn't ask. The weaker body just sat back on that curb side, Dev tried to hold him while listening to him shockingly
"ha, he left without saying anything, it was hard for me to believe, and I looked at my DIL's and that tiny ones face, and I don't had any words to tell them, his body came and we cremated it. But whenenver I see that place I think of his dreams, which I feel like, giving me a hope for him to come back one day, with that smile on hi face.... to me, come back to this little world of mine. Before he was leaving to Gulf, I told him, beta, you know driving, and we have our own taxi, think one more time, but for him, his dreams were higher than my old taxi and , and , now, now, his dreams are just living in me and forever it will be alive in me.
Looking at Dev , he said: but how long I can hold on to those hope, I have a family to take care, and I am getting old, and my DIL is so poor, she has some education and we got a good amount as compensation for his life , his dreams....that also after rooling thru may hands.... and I am also saving every penny for this little ones, but what will happen if something happen to me, I want my kids to continue their studies, a safer place, where they can be guided properly. I am afraid of this outside world now a days, every strangers face bring fear to my mind, my grand kids are growing up and I need a safer place. Then holding onto dev's shoulder he said: this is actually my destination, you are just a visitor here.
and then with a smile he said: I talked to the headmistress and also to one of the mathaji, they are ready to give admission to my kids, and that will help me , that will give me some peace to my mind. I need to go, I need to come back with my kids..
he stood on his feet and Dev helped him too. Driver with a smile: ha beta, in this life, I am thankful to you, for guiding me to my destination. Your parents are so lucky to have you as their son, you are a blessed heart. I am sure you will meet your Radhika today and will fly away with her to your parents. If I come back early I will meet you again otherwise 'alvida'
Dev just watched him as the driver walked away. Suddenly something struck his mind, he ran behind, calling : baba
the word came out unknowingly , but with his concerened voice: baba, I didn't give the taxi fair
Driver holding onto his shoulder: it's ok. I don't need any, you called me Baba, that is enough for me, my son used to call me 'baba' you are just like my son. Let me go...
Dev suddenly opening his bag and taking the bundle out, extended that to him: I don't know how much is in this bundle, but please accept it from me.
Driver: no beta, I can't. You don't know what you gave to me, this bundle has no meaning in this man's mind anymore, so much rolled thru my hands, it is just few paper that took my son away from me. I don't value it anymore, but I value it too, for my DIL, my grand kids, and for my sick wife, but to accept this from you will ruin my peace of mind.
Dev's tear filled eyes begged/pleaded : please
Driver took the bundle and with a smile he took one note from it, he lifted it up on dev's face and said: this is enough for me. Now let me go, placing the bundle back in dev's hand he walked away
Dev's hands stretched out to stop him, but the voice stuck in his throat and he stood in that posture for few minutes till the image of that driver got disappeared from his eyes.......
The kids went back to school after lunch. Malathi came out from that big dining hall. Unknowingly she walked near to that guest room, where Radhika resided during the first few days of her coming.
She stood there remembering guiding Rahdika into that room.
Malathi: Radhika, take rest for now. If you need water to drink, it is in this mudpot. Bathroom outside and if you need anything , I will be available, and will check back with you in one hour , ok.
Radhika just nodded her head
Malathi was about to turn back ,
"do I know you?'
The question from Rahdika startled me, and I looked at her surprisingly
Radhika: have we met before?
Malathi with a smile: what?
Rahdika: have you been to chandenpur?
A current that just passed thru my body, shivered my body slightly, but I was able to smile and say: chandenpur? Where is that?
Radhika: you don't know chandenpur!!!
Malathi: no, I don't and then after a pause : I will be back in one hour, you take rest
After an hour when I went to check her, she was sitting on that floor , but looking at me she said: yes, I know you, but you looked so young in that picture, I saw your picture in an old album which was left behind in a dark room of a haweli. You are right, we never met, but I am sure, it is you whom I saw in that picture.
Malathi: maybe that picture has some resemblance, but that can't be me, I never been to chandenpur.
Radhika: but it looked exactly like you
Malathi with a smile: I told you, that picture may look like me, but it is not me, I don't have anybody in chandenpur. Then with a pause: you need some rest, I will come back later.
Malathi coming back to reality: ha Radhika, I was right , I never been to chandenpur, but I know few who is living in chandenour and his face and his voice resembled one of those faces that I may know.
Thank you friends..
I don't know, I wanted to say more, but no.. don't misunderstand the smile on Dev's face when he heard abt her getting in to the asram early thing, it is two mind set up, he is thinking of his early Radhika, ..... so hope you got an answer for how Radhika reached this place. Now the driver left, and you may see more of Malathi's thought s in part 88... and then it will be radev milan (hopefully).. so hope you will like it. will PM you with next update... so till then take care.....
Thanks for reading my post, have a good day...
part 88
Edited by Devika. - 14 years ago