shilpa_shilps thumbnail

The big break

30 September 2010

Ashish Sharma speaks on his role in Imagine's Gunahon Ka Devta. By Sudipta Chanda

The project'
I play Avdesh Singh Thakur, a gangster. The story is inspired by the life of Sri Prakash Shukla. He loses his parents at an early age to attacks made by gangsters. Avdesh is blessed with a heart of gold and he respects women.

Perfect start'
It came just after my debut film (Love Sex Aur Dhokha by Dibakar Banerjee). I got a call from the channel and then I went through the script, which is an interesting one.

Previous ventures'
My debut venture was Dibakar Banerjee's Love Sex Aur Dhokha. Prior to that, I got a few lessons in acting as part of Vijay Mathur's theatre group in Jaipur.

Your directors'.
They are very cooperative. Since the show requires me to speak a different dialect of Hindi, I had to attend a workshop.

Lessons learnt'
There is hardly any difference between films and television shows. Ultimately, it's quality that matters. I worked very hard on the language aspect' the Hindi that's popular in eastern Uttar Pradesh.

Matinee idols'
Pankaj Kapoor, Naseeruddin Shah are my inspiration.

Musical notes'
I love to listen to Sufiana music by Abida Parveen. I'm a huge fan of Kishore Kumar and RD Burman. Lata Mangeshkar's Dikhaye Diyen Yun from Bazaar is one of my favourite Bollywood numbers.

Dream role'
If given a chance, I would love to revisit the role of Devdas portrayed by Dilip Kumar.

Pastime'
I watch movies, read books. I recently read Charitraheen by Sarat Chandra Chattopadhyay.

Future projects'

There are two films in the pipeline, including Arup Dutta's Dillogical and Nitish's Youthopia.

link:
http://www.thestatesman.net/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=343272&catid=47

Edited by shilpa_shilps - 14 years ago

chatterbox thumbnail
hey nice i hadnt read this before

thanksss
gimzy thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
Thanks a lot shilpa for this, havent read it earlier!!!!
-sia- thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Networker 2 Thumbnail
thank u shilpa 😊
interesting interview....he's a got a gr8 sense of music....the ones he mentioned are classics..!!! the ppl whom he idolizes are talented fabulous actors!!! n he reads books...dat too typical classical novels!!! he has amazing dancing skills!!! n to top it all he's hard-working n handsome !!! arre bhai...isliye hum sab ladkiyan us par fida hai!!! no wonder he's multi-talented all-rounder!!!
chista thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
thank u shilpa i havent read before!
jaanshen thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
thanks shilpa for the post