Kumar Sanu's stupid comment on SRGMP

Vipul15 thumbnail
Posted: 19 years ago

About 2-3 years back, Mr Kumar Sanu appeared with Chitra as judge.

He made one silly comment that if any singers learn classical singing, hi voice is not suitable for play back in cinema. Chitra gave him a strange look and then he said my view is only for male singers.!

Woh kya kahete hain.. "Naach na aaye aangan teda"

rahulll thumbnail
Wanna hear something funny? Mr. Delar MEhndi was on the show as judge, and there was a girl sang a song forgot the name of that contestant, He told her why u r copying Lataji ? laiter on this guy sings a song and he goes no man I couldn't find rafi sab in your voice so now u tell me .. don't u feel like saying Make up your mind dude Idiot
ummm thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Me too.... never really liked Kumar Sanu's voice. He has given playback in some very well composed songs though.

He once said that he'll never sing for Rehman as his music lacks melody!!! Well... he is right.. we'll probably never find him singing for Rehman.... for totally different reasons though!! 😃

Edited by ummm - 19 years ago
soulsoup thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Actually he is the forefather of NASAL SINGING GHARANA - show him some respect.

Originally posted by: adwarakanath

Maaf karna, Sanu is an idiot himself. He once said in an interview - Mujhe naye singers se koi khatra nahin hai. I am in leage of Asha and Lata 🤢 🤢

leoni thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

Originally posted by: soulsoup

Actually he is the forefather of NASAL SINGING GHARANA - show him some respect.

LMAO..😆 😆 😆 😆

SolidSnake thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: rahulll

Wanna hear something funny? Mr. Delar MEhndi was on the show as judge, and there was a girl sang a song forgot the name of that contestant, He told her why u r copying Lataji ? laiter on this guy sings a song and he goes no man I couldn't find rafi sab in your voice so now u tell me .. don't u feel like saying Make up your mind dude Idiot

That girl was Keka, in the same episode Pt.Jasraj ne acchhi jhaad lagai Sanu ki....😆

GodIsGreat thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail

Daler or Diler Mehandi whatever, the person I mean first singer appeared as judge for bringing the wave of 'show'-ing in the standard SRGM format so far was admired for singing competition. Somehow others too have to bring comments garnished with tips like "body language", "performance", "expressions" and what not. The singers got confused, whether to sing or do rock dance or show an attempt of a good belly dance to please the demand of judges/mentors? or somebody else demanding it through them? I don't think innocent public were to demand dance on singing platform! (because they never imagine Rafi, Kishor and othes that way.) It was the norm of marketing at other side with II show. May be Zee's fear of not looking down in the race of popularity! approved the flow. So in the end of our SRGMP left no one to really deliver his/her vocal melody, but beg, beg and beg for votes, votes and votes. What will you say the winners be? and the organizers be? Where is our singing talent? Why JL and ID have to make remark to public for derespecting our heritage value of Indian music? Sorry to wacth these voters busy in their head in headphone listening to pops on their walkmen.

May GOD bless those golden days singers....

uselogic thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
well kumar sanu has a nasal touch and idiot also when it comes to say something about musci.... " i am a romaaantic singer" ..

all being said and done , there are some songs by kumar sanu which were really good... which you cannot ignore...

"sambhala hai maine bahut apne dil ko", "kuch na kaho" , "jab koi baat bigar jai", "mera dil bhi kitna pagal", and many more... well if RDB trusted him then we shouldn't be doubting his talent....you just can't imagine the sweet melodius songs composed by Nadeem shravan and JL without his voice...

my 0.2 cents
uselogic thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
well i would disagree. Ad has given some wonderful insights on music and we are proud to have such members..

regarding kumar sanu , that was his personal opinion... and we should respect people's opinion...
preeti_l thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail

Originally posted by: uselogic

well kumar sanu has a nasal touch and idiot also when it comes to say something about musci.... " i am a romaaantic singer" ..

all being said and done , there are some songs by kumar sanu which were really good... which you cannot ignore...

"sambhala hai maine bahut apne dil ko", "kuch na kaho" , "jab koi baat bigar jai", "mera dil bhi kitna pagal", and many more... well if RDB trusted him then we shouldn't be doubting his talent....you just can't imagine the sweet melodius songs composed by Nadeem shravan and JL without his voice...

my 0.2 cents

Agree!! Some songs of Kumar Sanu especially NS and JL compositions r my favourites!! Those were my "growing up" days, so they r forever etched in my memory.

I also do not like Kumar Sanu as a person or a judge at all. Once in the old Sa Re Ga Ma, when Sonu was the judge, he was called to judge some round (not even the finals) and he had selected both Male n Female singers who were clearly not the best that day....it was'nt even as if it was close and he took that decision. even the girl who won had a surprised look on her face!!