Mindbender thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail
Posted: 17 years ago

Originally posted by: return_to_hades

I just archived and started fresh this year, so I wont know till a while. In my 1 year + of blogging earned a whopping 2 dollars. Hey every comment is traffic. at this rate i will have 40 dollars when I retire.

😆😆
Chalo RTH ji,
ab mere questions pe bhi comment kar do 😊
(which i asked in 1 st page - 3rd response )
return_to_hades thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6
Well if you consider memory to be a sign of intellect I am the dumbest person in the world. I have adult ADD which means things go whoosh in my brain. I go to grocery store to buy milk and when I get there like Aamir Khan in Ghajini I walk in circles wondering why am I here. I write down to do lists but then cannot read my own writing. At work in the middle I stop and ask "What was I working on?"

But for me I do not think Google has affected my ability to retain random facts. In fact any interesting fact in a textbook, book or google - if it sticks out, it sticks in. Selective memory is an amazing thing.
Mindbender thumbnail

Originally posted by: return_to_hades

Well if you consider memory to be a sign of intellect I am the dumbest person in the world. I have adult ADD which means things go whoosh in my brain. I go to grocery store to buy milk and when I get there like Aamir Khan in Ghajini I walk in circles wondering why am I here. I write down to do lists but then cannot read my own writing. At work in the middle I stop and ask "What was I working on?"

But for me I do not think Google has affected my ability to retain random facts. In fact any interesting fact in a textbook, book or google - if it sticks out, it sticks in. Selective memory is an amazing thing.

nah i don't consider memory to be a sign of intellect,

but i do consider memory as something related to brain (mental habits you see 😆 )

Well , now since you have brought about the topic of selective memory ,
i really don't know much about it ,
will comment later 😃
200467 thumbnail

Originally posted by: ashoka_was_king

nah i don't consider memory to be a sign of intellect,

but i do consider memory as something related to brain (mental habits you see 😆 )

Well , now since you have brought about the topic of selective memory ,
i really don't know much about it ,
will comment later 😃

yep, google chahca sey milney key baad😆

well, RTH, you are still better than me when it comes to grocery shopping. At least you don't come back with tons of ice cream and other desserts while completely forgetting the milk and bread which you were supposed to get in the first place. This is what google does too - every meaningful site one hits has some funky links there as well😆 and then one is left singing - mann kyoon behka rey behka😆
Mindbender thumbnail

Originally posted by: Gauri_3

yep, google chahca sey milney key baad😆

egjactly 😆

I too remember several instances of forgetting things,
but then in most cases,
it is because those things are given to me
when i am doing something which happens involuntarily

For eg,
when i am riding my bike /scooter/activa whatever from one place to another,
and i do that everyday in a simiilar fashion,
then it just happens on its own.

Now if someone tells me to get something during that visit,
i'll most probably forget it.

return_to_hades thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6
LOL! I avoided saying that I bought a boatload of groceries but no milk.

Wikipedia also does the irrelevant link thing. In fact Wikipedia is notorious for click browsing. I once had written a piece on the six degrees of Wikipedia. Let me see if I can dig it up.

200467 thumbnail

Originally posted by: ashoka_was_king

egjactly 😆

I too remember several instances of forgetting things,
but then in most cases,
it is because those things are given to me
when i am doing something which happens involuntarily

For eg,
when i am riding my bike /scooter/activa whatever from one place to another,
and i do that everyday in a simiilar fashion,
then it just happens on its own.

Now if someone tells me to get something during that visit,
i'll most probably forget it.

Forget about forgetting things. how about forgetting to NOT do something that you usually do as part of your routine! I press the remote to close the wrought iron gate on my driveway every morning I pull off to go to work. Now, there are days my hubby reminds mi like gazillion times not to close the gate because the mowers are scheduled to come that day or the pest control person but I am so majboor apni aadat sey that I press the remote w/o even realizing what I did. He literally takes the remote with him so that I can't close the gate!......and google has nothing to do with this lapse in memory😆
*Woh Ajnabee* thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail
you guys are crrraaazzzyyy. 😆

so ... my hit list ...

Real Name --- apparently, I'm share the name of an Egyptian princess ... or belly dancer ... I'm not sure. For the sake of my own well-being, I'll go with the former.

ID --- well the song is the first search ... after that all the debates I've gotten into, and I'd much rather keep those on the down low.

.... I love google as well, it helps me get through a lot of situations, especially because I seem to be behind in all aspects of life that "matter". But, we cannot deny how dependent we've become on that search engine, and the internet in general.
Mindbender thumbnail
@RTH ji ,
🤣
thats just LOL LOL

Originally posted by: Gauri_3

Forget about forgetting things. how about forgetting to NOT do something that you usually do as part of your routine! I press the remote to close the wrought iron gate on my driveway every morning I pull off to go to work. Now, there are days my hubby reminds mi like gazillion times not to close the gate because the mowers are scheduled to come that day or the pest control person but I am so majboor apni aadat sey that I press the remote w/o even realizing what I did. He literally takes the remote with him so that I can't close the gate!......and google has nothing to do with this lapse in memory😆

😆😆
yup

@ WA ji ,
yup in general , the public's dependance on internet has indeed increased to unreasonable heights
For RTH ji,
that dependance is justified

But for me , i guess its certainly not 😆