Ranbir, walks out of Yash Raj & Shimit Amin's film

386346 thumbnail
Posted: 17 years ago
Sonam snubs her 'Saawariya' Ranbir, walks out of Yash Raj & Shimit Amin's film

Sonam Kapoor does not believe in second chances. The actress, whose first flick 'Saawariya' with the light-eyed hottie of Bollywood Ranbir fizzled out with a trace at the BO, is in no mood to give their onscreen chemistry another go. Then even if it means turning down the hot combo of erstwhile banner Yash Raj and acclaimed director Shimit Amin, Sonam sticks to her 'no Ranbir' stance.

Sonam whose debut flick with Deepika's baby Ranbir sparked countless theories of reported heartache that she suffered at the hands of the dishy actor is taking all steps possible to keep Ranbir at bay.

According to sources, this is the second time that Sonam has turned down a flick that pairs her opposite the actor. The sassy babe had previously walked out of a Vicky Singh's Mera Jahaan co-starring Ranbir. Though, the sultry babe has not stated any reasons for her refusal as yet, it is learnt that Sonam does not want to be involved with any project that has Ranbir.

A news daily even quoted an insider as saying, "Ranbir's name figured in Shimit's film from the beginning. Sonam was pencilled in on later. Both had given their consent but Sonam had second thoughts and excused herself."

Like the say once bitten twice shy, Sonam Kapoor has surely learnt her lessons.

friends_rock thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
change the title..its sonam who walks out of shimit amin film...ranbir is stil IN! thanks
mittijalebi thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
The casting of Ranbir Kapoor and Sonam Kapoor appears jinxed. Any project announced with the Saawariya duo does not seem to get going.

Excuse me, please

Shimit Amin was keen to cast the star kids for his next project for Yash Raj Films. As reported ('Same-aariya'; Hitlist, August 23), the Chak De! India director began work on the film with them. But it is reliably learnt that Sonam has now opted out.

Says a source, "Ranbir's name figured in Shimit's film from the beginning. Sonam was pencilled in on later. Both had given their consent but Sonam had second thoughts and excused herself."

Playing it cautious

Adds the source, "No one wants to comment about Sonam's decision as it is a Yash Raj project and everyone including Shimit is sworn to confidentiality. More-over, in the past there was a buzz about Sonam being part of Aditya Chopra's Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi with Shah Rukh Khan, but ultimately things did not work out in her favour. As a result, both Sonam and her dad Anil Kapoor are being cautious.

Earlier, Sonam had refused debutant Vicky Singh's Mera Jahaan co-starring Ranbir. As reported, ('Deepika is the reason' (Hitlist, August 27), when Sonam realised that the film would also feature the Om Shanti Om actress, she played it safe. She didn't want to share screen space with Ranbir and his ladylove as the audience would look out for the chemistry between them.

According to Vicky, "Sonam opted out of Mera Jahaan saying that she did not want to do a two-heroine project."

All was well between childhood pals Ranbir and Sonam till Deepika walked into Ranbir's life. There was buzz for a while that the two were not on talking terms, however later they had patched up.
lovanika thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Change the title yaar...I was like wow Ranbir walks out of yash raj film.
Well I am happy that Sonam is not giving in so easily to the temptation called Ranbir. HE treated her not so well so she should keep her exclusive too......
bollygossipgirl thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail + 2
Both Sonam and Ranbir have said in interviews that they want to and will work together again, but they will only say yes to project that they feel suits them.
So what if Sonam walked out, i doubt the reason is Ranbir. More like most actors are being cautious about working under the Yashraj banner.
tangina r thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: bollygossipgirl

Both Sonam and Ranbir have said in interviews that they want to and will work together again, but they will only say yes to project that they feel suits them.

So what if Sonam walked out, i doubt the reason is Ranbir. More like most actors are being cautious about working under the Yashraj banner.

i agree!
so wht if she refused its her life let her do the films she likes just coz its Yashraj doesne mean she has to do the movie
193980 thumbnail
One's loss in another's gain. Actors are replaced or walk-out. This happens all the time in the industry. Otherwise we would have seen Salman singing Baazigar O baazigar and Chak De India or Juhi Chawla doing Dil to Pagal Hai.
Rabba-Ve-Delena thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4
I don't understand why Ranbir is being blamed for Sonams walk out of the film..to be honest I don't think its much of a loss but that my opinion.
~ Blaming Ranbir for her walk out is just some petty excuse and I doubt its true, why would she keep away from him? What has he done to her? How has wronly treated her? (I haven't heard any news..)
~ I wonder who they are considering now...

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
187176 thumbnail
Titles very confusing.........and why do they keep creating a non existence feud between them!
TuesdaysChild thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

IF this is true, why on earth would she go and do that? Let's see, 1.Shimit Amin who is behind a critical and commerical success and is surely on a roll, 2. YashRaj who no matter what you think of their kind of cinema are the big daddies of the industry and 3. Ranbir Kapoor is rapidly gathering a huge following and is coming off a decent hit with BAH. And she STILL turns it down?

This is what I mean when I say I don't get Sonam Kapoor and her approach to her career. If this article is to be believed, then it's not the first time she's turned down a film because of "personal" reasons. I mean c'mon, what did the guy really do, (allegedly) leave her for another woman? Big freaking deal, move on and get on with YOUR CAREER!!!

Perhaps this isn't even true. For her sake I hope so because I fear there will come a time when she rue all these extreme career choices. Pride comes before a fall Sonam.