YHCstan thumbnail
5th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

Originally posted by: NoraSM

Online popularity can do wonders if our Television industry, music industry and film industry starts producing good content

Korean shows and artists have seen unimaginable success because of online audience, at a point it was limited to USA

Sad part is that Indian content is bad everywhere

TRP is limited to a set of audience, BARC or any other agency should tie up with service providers like Tata Sky to get the data from every household instead of making us watch what roughly 50000 people are watching, we are over a billion people

There are hardly any shows to attract teenagers

Well BARC has a team of statisticians who decide on what is a good number. TRP is like prediction based on sample set of 30k houses. They have some set confidence intervals and several other parameters. I am sure the statisticians know their work, unlike you and me, and I am sure the prediction should be reasonably accurate. You’d be surprised to know that for certain distributions, even a sample set that might look small is enough to predict with a great accuracy.

About online TRP, India has a very huge population. Can’t be compared with both the US and Korea which are tiny nations in front of India as far as population is concerned. And again, Internet penetration in India is bad compared to developed countries like the US. Even though data rates are one of the lowest in India, the amount of data quota and the speed are major bottlenecks. And again, it is mostly the urban areas which are tech savvy. The rural folk still love their TV sets. So no, Hotstar isn’t overtaking TV by any means. It’s creating an own space for itself, sure! But it is still way behind TV as far as reach is concerned. (I took Hotstar for an example since it is one of the most popular OTT platform in India)

naq5 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Originally posted by: LoveInAutumn26

But majority of web show most likely will have at least a liplock scene. These are not really bold scene tbh. Like you said, even Baarish season 2 had few liplock scenes and those weren’t bold. So if he’s comfortable doing liplocks then he shouldn’t really have issues with web shows. Of course I have heard some ALTBalaji shows are like really bold (no idea what that means unless it’s nudity šŸ˜†)... but I haven’t watched those shows so no idea.

And if they try to make it look like ā€œliplockā€ but not actually do it, they will look cringe AF like that chicken masala show of DT’s šŸ˜†

well why is any lip lock scene needed i never understood. they can just shoot it in a way to imply liplock is happening instead of showing actual liplock. i always find liplock scenes shot aesthetically also cringey. in real life we dont want to see people lip locking rt as its their private life. to phir characters ka also i dont like watching. šŸ˜†

i havent watched baarish 2 yet. but special ops was good i dont think main characters got into bold scenes there. even hostages n family man they had liplocks but not by the leads or main characters. but then thats the issue i have with these web shows some or the other explicit intimate scene does come up out of the blue sometimes.

naq5 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Originally posted by: YHCstan

Well BARC has a team of statisticians who decide on what is a good number. TRP is like prediction based on sample set of 30k houses. They have some set confidence intervals and several other parameters. I am sure the statisticians know their work, unlike you and me, and I am sure the prediction should be reasonably accurate. You’d be surprised to know that for certain distributions, even a sample set that might look small is enough to predict with a great accuracy.

About online TRP, India has a very huge population. Can’t be compared with both the US and Korea which are tiny nations in front of India as far as population is concerned. And again, Internet penetration in India is bad compared to developed countries like the US. Even though data rates are one of the lowest in India, the amount of data quota and the speed are major bottlenecks. And again, it is mostly the urban areas which are tech savvy. The rural folk still love their TV sets. So no, Hotstar isn’t overtaking TV by any means. It’s creating an own space for itself, sure! But it is still way behind TV as far as reach is concerned. (I took Hotstar for an example since it is one of the most popular OTT platform in India)

well the other truth also is that most urban people have stopped watching ITV shows and are shifting to ott platforms.
NoraSM thumbnail
Sparkler Thumbnail 6th Anniversary Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: YHCstan

Every platform needs a reform, I don’t think 30000 household sample is enough to analyze what people in approximately 200M television households are watching.

The sample size is 0.015%

How’s Sample size of 0.015% reasonably accurate?

Online Market is not limited to India but television is limited to India that’s how Korean Industry is now part of each and every nation but we would rather watch And support outdated content and oppose every talk of change

Money Heist and Game of thrones didn’t earn in less populated nations like Spain, USA etc They found audience in every nation

Edited by NoraSM - 4 years ago
yoyogagirl thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: naq5

well why is any lip lock scene needed i never understood. they can just shoot it in a way to imply liplock is happening instead of showing actual liplock. i always find liplock scenes shot aesthetically also cringey. in real life we dont want to see people lip locking rt as its their private life. to phir characters ka also i dont like watching. šŸ˜†

i havent watched baarish 2 yet. but special ops was good i dont think main characters got into bold scenes there. even hostages n family man they had liplocks but not by the leads or main characters. but then thats the issue i have with these web shows some or the other explicit intimate scene does come up out of the blue sometimes.

Because this is normal and reality of life. Couples do kiss in real life lmao šŸ˜†. It depends on the scene, but sometime kissing or Intimate scene could be required by the story. Imo there is nothing wrong with a liplock scene, it’s really not that bold lol šŸ˜†. Just as an audience of indian shows, we have been used to no intimate scenes, thus maybe some might find kissing scene as ā€œboldā€ etc., but that’s not the case with other industry, like Korean, Hollywood or other western shows. Baarish 2 had few liplocks and and it was nicely shot and looked intimate which was required by the story.

Now if they have ā€œboldā€ scenes for no rhyme or reason then yeah that’s stupid but I haven’t watched those shows.

TwinkleStar12 thumbnail
Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4

RS how can you do this injustice to the amazing cast yaar. I can't even imagine what they have been going through 😭

Shaheeraā¤ļø

Edited by Rashi23 - 4 years ago
abhilashasharma thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: suryavni

Yeah..that too..

But this news is kind of a slap on yrhpk viewers right..

And an open insult to the cast.. mainly RheSha.....

Itne valued ML ke saath aisa karoge toh...baakiyon ka haal Kya hoga..

this is entertainment industry! Yahaan pe sirf paisa bolta hai!
Vickat_4evr thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 5

Guys let's show sitara n rs how popular r our rehasha aka mishbir so let's vote for them in each category,

https://twitter.com/iwmbuzz/status/1308384504826990593?s=19

yoyogagirl thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 5

Maybe they can bring YRHPK season 2 for finite episode focused on mishbir like KRPKAB šŸ¤·šŸ»ā€ā™€ļø

Sarcastic_me thumbnail
5th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Mii5

Sorry to deviate from the topic here.

Did anyone hear Rhea's interview with Raj? Plz upload the link šŸ™

He was not able to connect to her may be network issue