'Films like Dabangg shows woman as an object of lust' Ratna Pathak

1105912 thumbnail

Ratna Pathak Shah lashes out at Sonakshi Sinha; says film like Dabangg shows woman as an object of lust

Ratna Pathak Shah slams Sonakshi Sinha for doing a film like Dabangg.

Written By Pooja Darade Mumbai Updated: December 26, 2017 08:52 pm 123804 reads 13 comments

Ratna Pathak Shah is one of the outspoken actresses in the film industry. In an interview, the actress slammed the patriarchy and Sonakshi Sinha for doing a film like Dabangg.

Shah said, "Everyone who decides to act in a film; every woman; I am sorry to be judgemental... but every woman who decides to act in a film like Dabangg where she is made a complete object of lust and more or less, nothing else, those women should also stand up and say 'no, I don't feel doing a part like this'. Particularly since I have got a mummy or daddy to bankroll this, at least at this time I won't."

She further added, "Silk Smitha didn't get a chance to say that. Her family depended on her doing what she had to do. My family doesn't depend, so why am I not standing up?"

Bhumi Pednekar agreed with Ratna Pathak Shah and said, "We need to become more responsible. I completely agree considering the kind of impact we have on people, on the public, we need to know because every time you are smacking a girl's butt, there are going to be 10 boys in a small little village in India doing the same thing and they think it's okay."

Ratna also added, "Shammi Kapoor did it for years and all a girl said was 'You stupid' and that's the end of the conversation."

Edited by flameofdarkness - 7 years ago

cougarTown thumbnail
Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail 11th Anniversary Thumbnail + 6
Ratna was LOVEEE!
i wish i could sshh everyone else and just listen to this insanely intelligent and wise woman speak and speak

she was spot on!

cougarTown thumbnail
Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail 11th Anniversary Thumbnail + 6
Ratna this is nothing
if you see sonakshi's action jackson where she sees good luck in seeing penis of a guy ..you may just wana kill yourself

i am sorry but now even i cannot help but judge sonakshi..W*F

Terenaina thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4
She said the same thing on lipstick interview promotion, wish she said something new
Justmoi thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
WTH ? This should be directed at Malaika not Sonakshi. The way I remember Dabaang she was lusted after and loved by one man. She did not do any dance or expose anything.

As someone who grew up on Silk Smitha movies, she was always in a glamor role showing boobs, ass, waist and dancing to what is known currently as item songs. She did not have a speaking role in most movies. The legend is they added a Silk song to movies that were sitting on a shelf for years and they made money. Sonakshi in Dabaang is the object of one man's love and lust. She is the wife. It is a very different role.
Lust does not mean just any woman or man dancing showing skin. It exists between husband and wife too in a healthy relationship or did the stork just drop all the babies in a country with the largest population on the planet.🤔 Kuch bhi .

If you want to be taken seriously compare apples to apples. 👎🏼

Edited by Justmoi - 7 years ago
1129726 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Justmoi

WTH ? This should be directed at Malaika not Sonakshi. The way I remember Dabaang she was lusted after and loved by one man. She did not do any dance or expose anything.

As someone who grew up on Silk Smitha movies, she was always in a glamor role showing boobs, ass, waist and dancing to what is known currently as item songs. She did not have a speaking role in most movies. The legend is they added a Silk song to movies that were sitting on a shelf for years and they made money. Sonakshi in Dabaang is the object of one man's love and lust. She is the wife. It is a very different role.
Lust does not mean just any woman or man dancing showing skin. It exists between husband and wife too in a healthy relationship or did the stork just drop all the babies in a country with the largest population on the planet.🤔 Kuch bhi .

If you want to be taken seriously compare apples to apples. 👎🏼

Probably never saw the film

She is pretty old I think she got dementia or alzheimer's 😆😆😆
return_to_hades thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6
In general, I think our society and films have a problem. Women are often stripped of their humanity and minimized to sex objects. We have to change how women are perceived.
However, this subject needs to be approached with nuance. We need to be cognizant of "consent" and "free will agency" of women when we do so. Simply lashing out at women who do not fit our personal standard for womanhood is problematic. It forces our perception onto others and often spirals into s**t shaming.

I personally have no qualms about how women choose to present themselves. If she wants to be an item girl, sex symbol or even a po*n star that is her prerogative.

Rather than lash out at women, we need to educate our society and men in general about respecting women and the humanity in them. Women are diverse individuals who have personalities and choices of their own. We have to respect that. We have to recognize that all women are humans. Whether she is a prostitute, po*n star or calendar pinup girl, she deserves to be treated as a human being rather than an object for personal pleasure. Consent is also key. Even if she is naked in front of you, you need her explicit consent to touch her. And even if she gives you permission to touch or kiss, you need explicit consent to move it further to intercourse.

My problem with Sonakshi and movies like Dabangg are that they promote the flowerpot stereotype. They feed into a patriarchal misogynistic perception of women where women. We are in dire need of more progressive roles to break the mindset.

But then again, the greater need is to educate society and men. A woman still has to seen as a whole human and not a flowerpot. We still need to recognize her hopes, dreams and ambitions. Some women may want to be in the sidelines or be housewives. But some women have greater desires and they should receive all support and encouragement to pursue them.

----------

Also just because Ratna Pathak's views may not be agreeable does not mean we disparage her looks. Focus on the argument, not the person or their appearance.
Rekha_ji thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
Ratna-ji was clearly thinking of the Fevicol Se song when she said this.
Edited by Rekha_ji - 7 years ago
ImagineMe thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: Rekha_ji

Ratna-ji was clearly thinking of the Fevicol Se song when she said this.

I thought the same too... plus Shabana also had issues with its lyrics a few years ago. 😆
1129726 thumbnail

Originally posted by: return_to_hades

Also just because Ratna Pathak's views may not be agreeable does not mean we disparage her looks. Focus on the argument, not the person or their appearance.

Yeah but she didnt even get the memory right ? On top of that its been 5 years. I say whatever I want 😎😎😎