FaultInMyStars thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 4
Sorry folks, couldn't update today.
Next weekend :)
_.Mehak._ thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Hey Preeti are we going to get an update this weekend?
and I wanted to ask will you mind if I send PMs for this story to some of my frnds on IF on your behalf ? I feel this story deserves a bit more
FaultInMyStars thumbnail

Originally posted by: _.Mehak._

Hey Preeti are we going to get an update this weekend?
and I wanted to ask will you mind if I send PMs for this story to some of my frnds on IF on your behalf ? I feel this story deserves a bit more

I am planning on updating...the problem is that internet is working very badly these days out here, I will post the update if it's working! :)
It's totally your choice, I am very much fine with having you lot! ^_^
FaultInMyStars thumbnail
By the way does anyone need a face to the nurse Suku?
For those people, you can imagine this girl as her. A friend told me long back that she wanted Suku and Wahi together in a show 😳

shonajain thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 2
no problem dear...update it when possible :)

suku thing I am fyn with it...:-)

lots of Lov
shona
aseelashah thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 2 Thumbnail
Dear Preeti I read ur story in one go

And it really amazed me

I loved it so.much

I aready send u a buddy request

Pls accept it& pm me for next update
FaultInMyStars thumbnail

Originally posted by: aseelashah

Dear Preeti I read ur story in one go

And it really amazed me

I loved it so.much

I aready send u a buddy request

Pls accept it& pm me for next update

Thank you...I am glad you like it so much! 😳

Umm...actually i am not sending out any PMs these days, I am really busy...but you can check every Sunday as I try updating every Sunday!
Thank you! :)
FaultInMyStars thumbnail

Chapter 15

Zoya: Phuphi, how do you find this place?

Dilshad: It looks beautiful...but you know Bhopal ka alag hi jadu hai.

Asad: Like New York is home for you, Bhopal is home for us. That's where we have grown up and spent almost all our lives.

Zoya: Yes...but Bhopal feels like home to me as well! It's all about memories you know!

Dilshad pats her hair. Asad nods.

Dilshad: But still, I would like to see around this place.

Zoya: There are some really beautiful places. I will take you guys, you will love it!

Dilshad smiles. Asad sits there gazing at them, and thinking.

*Doorbell rings*

Getting up, Zoya says : Sid hoga.

Asad: I will get it.

He goes on to open the door. And it is Sid. He looks tired, but gives him a warm grin and steps in.

Sid: Hello Mr. Khan! All okay?

Asad: Jee.

Sid: Good!

They enter the living room, and Sid greets Dilshad and then flops down beside her. Asad takes another seat, and looks at Zoya, who smiles and takes up the seat beside him. Asad smiles.

Zoya: You wanna eat something?

Sid: Yes man, I am totally famished today!

Zoya: You are always famished!

Dilshad: Beta kheer khaoge?

Sid: Kheer? Allah Miyaan, maine kitne dino se nahi khaya...the last time I had kheer was so many years ago jab Zoe ke 16th birthday pe Appi ne banaya tha!

Dilshad: Okay aaj jee bhar ke khao!

Sid: Zoe where is Jeeju?

Zoya: He has some work. He won't be coming home today.

Zoya gets him kheer which he eats very happily and praises Dilshad for her cooking skills. Dilshad smiles and tells them about how Asad used to steal kheer when he was a kid. Asad vehemently denies it, but of course nobody believes him.

Then they discuss about various things, Bhopal se lekar New York taq.

Time flies by, and it's 11 PM.

Sid: Okay I will take leave now...I will see you guys tomorrow in the centre. We will start tomorrow then. And Phuphi, don't be stressed. He is a fighter, he will be fine in no time.

Dilshad: Inshah Allah!

Sid: Theek hai then, khuda hafeez!

They bid him goodbye. Then when he is gone, Dilshad sees that he left his phone on the table, and she asks Asad to to give it back to him.

Asad takes the phone and the screens flashes with an incoming message. Asad grunts seeing a screensaver of a young Sid embracing Zoya from behind, and they look like a couple. It must have been taken during the time they were dating.

Downstairs Asad catches up with Sid.

Sid: Oh thank you!

He tries to take the phone, but Asad glares at him. Showing him the screensaver, he silently demands an answer.

Sid: That...that is just a pic we took when we were kids. It's nothing much...friends mein hota hai you know!

Asad: Don't try to fool me Mr. Siddhartha Mukherjee. I am not stupid... I know everything about you, your history with my Zoya. And let me tell you something, I don't care whether you are my doctor or whatever, just one thing. Stay away from MY WIFE. She is mine. She loves you because you were her best friend, that doesn't mean I would let you take advantage of that fact.

Sid: Probably she didn't tell you that I would do anything to see her happy.

Asad: Really? Then you probably know that her happiness lies in me and my family. Tell me Mr. Siddhartha, are you in love with my wife?

Sid: Of course I love her...who doesn't? I love her the most...and there was a time when she loved me the most, but I was stupid and I hurt her. I let her go. Now she is no more mine to have, you are her life. She is the happiest with you. I know that. So be it. My love for her is unconditional...I just want her to be happy, and I want her to be the Sunshine that she is meant to be. And her happiness lies in you. So I am going to do my best in treating you...so that she can be happy. And Mr. Khan you can stop worrying about this, I am not going to come in between you two. I gather that you are very possessive about her, and I like that...but I promise, I have no ill-will. And anyways, the love between you two is so strong that nothing or nobody can come between that, and you know it.

I don't want to have such feelings for her, but I can't help it. It's difficult. Still I am going to do my best to get over her. And I will maintain distance, okay?

Asad: I don't trust you.

Sid: Allah ki kasam!

Asad stares at him for a long time, and nods. A little bit of understanding and relief dawns on him, but he is angry and he feels helpless.

Sid: If you want a different doctor, I will understand.

Asad answers after a long moment of silence.

Asad: Why? You are not sure of your treatment skills?

Sid looks confused and then smiles.

Asad: Okay, see you tomorrow. Khuda hafeez.

Sid: Khuda hafeez.

Asad turns to leave. Sid calls him from behind.

Sid: Hey Mr. Khan!

Asad: Jee?

Sid: You are not that 'sadu' and 'akdu' haan!

Asad: Did Zoya tell you that?

Sid: I don't need to hear from her to know it. Your body language and expressions are enough.

Asad shakes his head and leaves for the house while Sid laughs.

Back in their room:

Zoya: What took you so long?

Asad: Woh actually...he was on his phone, so!

Zoya: But you had his phone na!

Asad: Why do you think that he can't have another phone?

Zoya: Because he is my BFF and I know him very well! He never liked having two phones. It's very cumbersome as per him.

Asad: And when did he say that? Ten years ago? Zoya people change, you better accept that.

Zoya: Why are you talking like that?

Asad: Because you are refusing to accept the truth!

Zoya: When did I refuse to accept the truth Mr. Khan? I have accepted everything and I have not complained, what more do you need me to accept Asad?

Asad: Why can't you see that he is still head over heels in love with you? Why can't you see that I don't like that? I am scared. I don't want to lose you, alright?

Zoya is stunned.

Zoya: Asad how can you even think that I will ever leave you? Is that how much you trust my love for you? Is that why I married you and promised to be by your side forever?

Asad: I...I am sorry. I am just scared. This illness does strange things to my thoughts.

He goes out to the balcony. Zoya hugs him from behind.

Zoya: No matter what Asad, you are never gonna get rid of me. Never!

Asad: (clutching her hands) I know...I am sorry.

Zoya turns hin to face her.

Zoya: And besides that, he doesn't love me. Like I told you, we were kids and we did a mistake. That's all. I am not the girl for him, and he definitely isn't the guy for me.

Asad nods and hugs her close.

Asad: Are you scared about tomorrow?

Zoya: Very much!

Asad: Don't be. He is a good doctor, and I am going to fight this till my last breath, so you needn't worry.

Zoya nods.

Asad: And Zoya, when Ayan, Tamatar and all come...I want all of you to take care of Ammi and each other. Okay?

Zoya: We will be fine Asad. You needn't worry about that. We are all Asad Ahmed Khan's family. We are strong enough to withstand anything, together.

Asad smiles.

Asad: Let's sleep now. Tomorrow is a big day.

Zoya: I will just go see if Phuphi has slept okay.

Asad: I am coming with you.

They go to Dilshad's room to find her sleeping peacefully. Asad puts the blanket over her and Zoya turns on the room heater to keep the room warm. Then they sit down beside Dilshad's sleeping form.

Zoya: She is very strong. Don't worry, main hoon na.

Asad: She is strong for us...because of us. A mother can do anything for her child.

Zoya: Exactly she will withstand anything to keep you safe and sound.

Asad: And that scares me. She is older now, this much amount of stress isn't good for her health. She won't be okay.

Zoya: I promise I will take care of her, okay? She will be fine. And if she comes to know that you are doubting her strength and you just called her 'old', she is gonna spank you so hard Mr. AAK ki aapko apni nani yaad aa jaegi!

Asad smiles.

Asad: Let's go.

Zoya nods and they leave the room. Dilshad smiles in her sleep.

xxx

"Hello?"

"Sid...Asad...Mr. Khan just collapsed. He is not talking..not responding...Sid please do something! What should I do? I--"

"Hey...hey Zoe...hey, calm down! Calm down. Don't panic. I am sending an ambulance and I will be right over there. Okay? Alright?"

He cuts the call.

In five minutes, there is an ambulance outside and Asad is transferred to the hospital where Sid is arranging things. The report has already come and Sid starts the treatment procedure as soon as they arrive. Asad is awake now, but he has been given anaesthesia and Sid slowly explains the procedure to him.

"You have actue myeloid leukemia(AML). In this case the cancer cells grow very rapidly. I am giving you chemo...but chemo takes a few days to lower the leukemia cells count, so we are gonna start with leukapheresis first. Your blood will pass through this machine that would remove your white blood cells that include your leukemia cells, and the rest of the blood is returned to your body. You will need two IVs on your arms for this, or we can go on with one catherer under your neck. Which one do you wanna go on with?

Asad: Whichever one looks better to people...take that.

Sid: Well...I am gonna go on with the catherer. It lasts longer. Alright, so this procedure will reduce the leukemia cells in your blood right away. It's gonna work for a short time, but by then chemo will show its effects. All set, Priya let's begin. And yeah, get the chemo ready.

xxx

Asad: What are you gonna do for chemotherapy?

Sid: There are two phases of chemotherapy. First we are gonna start with induction. It basically kills as many leukemia cells as it can. I will treat you with two drugs, cytarabine & idarubicin.

Asad: How much time would this take?

Sid: It's gonna go on for about a week and a half.

Asad: I have to stay here?

Sid: Yes.

Asad: Side effects?

Sid: Umm...yes. That's why we are going to keep you in the hospital. Your bone marrow cells will also die along with the leukemia cells. And your blood cells count will be really low. So you will be prone to bacteria and others. We will give you all the required antidotes.

Asad: Side effects?

Sid: You will be very ill. Because there won't be enough blood cells, you will have headache. Nausea, vomiting. And chemo slows down the reproduction and growth of cells...your hair cells grow really fast, so your hair will fall off.

Asad: What happens after a week?

Priya: After a week, we do a bone marrow biopsy to check if there are still any leukemia cells left in your bone marrow. If there are still some left, which is usually the case, we will give you chemo again. And we might go on with stem cell transplant also. There is time for that...let's start with this first.

Mr. Khan, there are many people who have undergone this, and many of them have overcome this successfully, so you needn't worry much. Just think about your family waiting for you to get well, and stay strong. Don't think about giving up. That's the key to it. So please, relax. I know it's hard, but a man gotta do his best!

She smiles at him. And the treatment starts...

xxx

A/N: Hey peeps? Everyone doing well and good?

How's the update? So Sid loves Zoya, and Asad knows that...and well, you saw! Not all one-sided lovers are bad and evil haan! Don't hate poor Sid for it. 😳

Have a great week everyone! See ya'next weekend!

And yes, all the information provided here have been copied from different places...and not everything is true or verified. It's just a fiction. 😛

Lots of love,

Preeti! <3

shonajain thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 2
Res

yet to read
thank u for looonggg update
love u
Shubh007 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3