Eksie thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 3
Posted: 18 years ago
Replica of the idol
By: Vickey Lalwani
June 26, 2007

Indian Idol 3 contestant Chatterjee mimics Sonu Niigaam's style

Copycat: Emon Chatterjee
Indian Idol can never be the same without Sonu Niigaam was a common public perception before even a single episode of the new season was aired.

However looks like the show has almost got Sonu Niigaam back in the form of 18-year old Emon Chatterjee, who according to all contestants copies Niigaam's style of singing.

Denial mode

Talking to HiTLIST, Emon who studies in Central School Kolkata, retorts, "I am fed up with all the other contestants nagging me that I am copying Nigaam. I don't imitate Sonu.

There can be only one Sonu Nigaam. I want to have my own identity. They even call me Chhota Sonu. I will stop reacting now that might help to shut them up."

Emon however admits that he is in awe of Nigaam. "Sonu is my role model. I am yearning to meet him. I love him as a singer," he says.

A source from Indian Idol 3 says that the other contestants are justified in calling Emon as a 'Sonu ka copycat'."Emon may not look a exact carbon copy of Sonu but once he gets into the motion of singing, he looks Sonu's duplicate.

He has the same beady eyes, the identical naughty smile and he even mimics Niigaam. And most of the times he sings Sonu's songs," the source says.

https://www.mid-day.com/hitlist/2007/june/159958.htm

*payal* thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
most of his songs were by sonu?? this article is obviously a fabrication cause emon has only sung one song by sonu!
Who-I-Used-2-Be thumbnail
21st Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
Thanks Ekta, good to see you here.

Hope Emon doesn't get stereotyped like Rahul Vaidya in II-1. He is an amazing singer, has his own style of singing and I have never found him copying Sonu's singing. Just because he resembles Sonu physically and mimics him so well doesn't mean he copies his style of singing too. Sad to read that! 😕
harshmm thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: *payal*

most of his songs were by sonu?? this article is obviously a fabrication cause emon has only sung one song by sonu!

True he only sung one song by Sonu and when he sang oh Manjhi re, he didn't imitate Sonu.

harshmm thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: simplyvivacious

Thanks Ekta, good to see you here.

Hope Emon doesn't get stereotyped like Rahul Vaidya in II-1. He is an amazing singer, has his own style of singing and I have never found him copying Sonu's singing. Just because he resembles Sonu physically and mimics him so well doesn't mean he copies his style of singing too. Sad to read that! 😕

Agree with you 100% , I don't think he imitates Sonu at all. Remember Oh Manjhi re and then Piya re, he doesn't look Sonu at all. I mean he has physicall resemblence, but thats about it.

anisha1129 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
err i'm fed up too 😡 !!!! itz like wen dey sed sandeep copied udit ji..but seriously emon haz hiz own style and personality 😳 ..
mango-frost thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2
yeah emon onli sung one song of sonu....well he sang tanhayee as well but that was in 1 of the theatre rounds...all other songs were by other singers..

i think the whole mimicry stuff is linking him towards sonu...cuz sonu also does good mimicry..

singing wise i think emon has his own distinctive style 👏
starsgo thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
Only one song sung by Sonuji(bijuriya) as far as I can remember.

As for style. Sonuji himself started out by singing like Mohd. Rafi's (his initial re-recordings of Rafi Sahab's songs), and later developed his own style. I think Emon already has his own style which is thodi similar with Sonuji's. Im sure it'll become totally distinctive with more stage performances and things 😃
siddh_v thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Arre yaar even if he sings like Sonu whats the big deal. That should be a compliment to him. Also everyone has there own style. Nobody can imitate anybody completly 100%. Also its very natrual to be almost like your Idol.
sensation87 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
arghhhhhhhhhhhh!! Emon DOES NOT sound like Sonu from an angle. I dont know why people keep saying that Emon sounds like Sonu. gosshhhh! Emon has his own unique voice!!