Viaanrocks thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2
Posted: 1 years ago

Originally posted by: WhimsicalMind

That's not true when it comes to Wahaj

People say Ishq Jalebi was a flop, Mein was disaster, MPHT was flop, and now SMD is flop

During Ishq Jalebi - TRP doesn't matter, Youtube views matter

During SMD - TRP matters, views don't matter

During MPHT - It wasn't as big as Tere Bin

During Mein - Credit goes to others, content matters, views and TRPs don't matter

First tell me the metric by which a product is hit or flop but people find a way to say his projects are flop

Ishq Jalebi of Wahaj doing better in TRPs against A list actors, didn't make it a hit for people so again the last discourse about actors and their popularity is not applicable

You gave a list of dramas with 10M views, there are not many there but when SMD gets it, Geo is buying views and it comes from his supposed "fans" so justification and explanation of hit and flop is given to those who see logic and reason, not to those who want to hate.

wahaj has become like Hrithik Roshan after kaho na pyaar hai.

industry people were so harsh on him it was like they were waiting to criticise his every project .

i won't blame fan here . they can criticise any show they want . that's what forum are for .

it's the demeaning way of the critics which affects me . last episode of kya drama hai on sunn mere dill was too harsh

Originally posted by: Viaanrocks

for me both MJ and nadaan is boring show .

as per trp and views both were not upto the mark.

i do agree on budget point .

The producer herself knew how they were going to fair. These topics make people uncomfortable. She was very much happy with how MJ faired though. She said it in SH’s interview.

If not for Bilal I myself wouldn’t have watched it. I watched the first episode of Nadan & didn’t continue. If I am looking for social drams I will go for a Zard or QeJ over a MJ or Nadan.

Viaanrocks thumbnail

Originally posted by: Orphic

The producer herself knew how they were going to fair. These topics make people uncomfortable. She was very much happy with how MJ faired though. She said it in SH’s interview.

If not for Bilal I myself wouldn’t have watched it. I watched the first episode of Nadan & didn’t continue. If I am looking for social drams I will go for a Zard or QeJ over a MJ or Nadan.

I completely agree with you on this .

i thoroughly enjoyed zard .QEJ I have not watched yet .

how is it?

I completely agree with you on this .

i thoroughly enjoyed zard .QEJ I have not watched yet .

how is it?

I liked the first episode. The plot is intriguing & the direction is also very good.

Viaanrocks thumbnail

Originally posted by: Orphic

I liked the first episode. The plot is intriguing & the direction is also very good.

thanks will give it a try

from the promo , I have liked the lady playing yumna's mother. she is really beautiful as well as expressive

thanks will give it a try

from the promo , I have liked the lady playing yumna's mother. she is really beautiful as well as expressive

I loved her the most. She’s really pretty & has such good dialogue delivery. The words just flow.

1281090 thumbnail

Originally posted by: hypnotoad

Tbh, the moment you have to justify and give explanations that a project is a hit, it is not. This goes for SMD, GM and all those other projects, irrespective of whether it has your fave or not.

I agree that the star value of the cast, the budget, whether it's a mega project, the extent of promotions mean that there are certain expectations attached to the TRP and YT views. Comparing their ratings with that of projects with not much star power, niche subject, low budget, or that were not promoted is a weak comparison, because the expectations are different and the ROI is nowhere the same.

Same if a 12th fail makes a 100 crore, it's a hit. But if a Salman/RanbirSRK/Aamir film makes 100 crores, it's a flop. An A24 film making 100m BO is an achievement but a 100m BO by a MCU film is a disaster. The Rock giving 30m opening BO is a disaster but if a Dev Patel gives it, it's the highlight of his career.

Hit or Flop depends only on budget. SMD is unlikely to flop because an 8PM drama of Geo, ARY, and Hum TV dramas has at least PKR 3 lakhs/min ad rates. A drama can even get ad rates double or triple of that if it gets TRP like Bismil or KMKT. SMD will earn min. PKR 45 lakhs per episode from TV and around 30 lakhs per episode from YT. If SMD, which is earning this much, is flop, then dramas like Dunyapur, GM, and even Iqtidar are super duper flops and disaster for Green TV.

Edited by Hatimoon - 1 years ago
Sparkle232 thumbnail
Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail 2nd Anniversary Thumbnail

wahaj has become like Hrithik Roshan after kaho na pyaar hai.

industry people were so harsh on him it was like they were waiting to criticise his every project .

i won't blame fan here . they can criticise any show they want . that's what forum are for .

it's the demeaning way of the critics which affects me . last episode of kya drama hai on sunn mere dill was too harsh

Same reviewers praised wahaj to the sky during tb.

Watch kya drama hai reviews during tb, they demanded apology from actress/director for MR fiasco but not from ml.

Most of the reviewers gave full credit to him for tb. They are still being decent towards him for his current dramas compared to other actors/actresses who they nitpick for everything.

Aaaaaaa77 thumbnail
Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail 2nd Anniversary Thumbnail

I don't have issues with Wahaj ,he is one of my favs

Tbh I did not even enjoy TB but was happy for Wahaj because his performance was superb and he got his due

But a project like SMD can not do any good to actors and can only be remembered for crappy dialogues and illogical writing.

I do understand Wahaj's intention of not saying no to this kachra writing by KRQ (because there is literally no one who says NO ) it's just that it makes me feel he is wasting his time which could have been utilised on projects of much better writers

There are good performers in a bad drama and bad performance in good dramas but everything is painted with same brush

The thing is if a project is bad no one remembers good performance,the critics and neutral audience associate a bad project with bad performance

We don't see him working with Hum already ,he has lesser opportunities, he needs to do good projects with ARY I feel

Edited by Aaaaaaa77 - 1 years ago
anshvi thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2

As per me SMD is not a bad project. It's not a typical masala love story and the pace is slow but these kind of dramas have an audience. At least I am enjoying it.

And I can get why Wahaj signed it coz Bilal is authorbacked as a character. I am curious to see what will be his next project.

For me, the only show of Wahaj which didn't work for me is Mein. For me, it just did not work! Neither the story nor the character.

When it comes to reviewers, I feel most of them are like general audience and they do not have indepth knowledge of filmmaking and it's nitigrities. So, they give their personal views just like a normal viewer would. At times they do not even understand a basic scene.

So, whether good or bad, one needs to take it with a pinch of salt.

Coming to Wahaj as an actor, there are very few actors out there who can pull off every genre as competently as Wahaj can be it cause based, comedy, horror, romantic, thriller etc. He is a solid actor and in fact I am loving his portrayal of Bilal.. plus his filmography is a testimony of his versatility.

if anyone feels otherwise then also it's good for Wahaj coz he can continue to improve his craft even more.