..Aarti.. thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
@cute2stay..(pallavi?) read PnP? unlikely! trust me they have only seen BnP and believe that was PnP!! subtlety is a word lost on them!

caro...do they even understand the legal ramifications of doing something like this? why do people think they can mess with classics and get away with it? copyright violations aside, as kavya said to me, i should sue them for trauma! clothes? imagine the actual jane dancing in those clothes to dance pe chance marle!! yiiiiiiiiiikkkkkkkkkkkkkeeeeeeeeeeeeessssssssss!!
Edited by vaarti - 16 years ago
debby thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Well.. apart from the one scene between Mayank and Nupur that we are going to see soon, none of those rehearsals found their way to the stage even in bits. 😆 I guess those scenes were left to the viewer's imagination; they probably unfolded on the stage when we were focusing on what was happening backstage. =))

Nupur and Mayank were perfectly cast as Lizzy and Darcy. But all we got to see in the play were songs - they did nothing to throw light on the characters. I wish we had had even some swift cuts of how Darcy was drawn to her despite her low social standing, how she refused him the first time and eventually realized that he did love her and was gentle underneath all his ego and pride. But since we didn't get to see anything at all, there is so scope for passing judgment either. It seems to me that the play begins from the point Darcy is already in love and Lizzy is wondering if he could still love her after her loud and utter refusal the previous time.

In any case, Varun and Esha are miles away from Darcy and Liz. They begin where the latter end.

The worst part abt the play, like you said, was Sheena. Either the creatives read some completely new P&P or they forgot about it entirely. Jane was angelic, soft and sweet. Neither does Sheena exude that kind of an air and as for her clothes! The less said, the better.

Dia and RV make sense... though again, I wanted a Darcy-Wickham scene at the least. I guess that fight sequence we had in the show was supposed to be it? 😆

pigbelly4myfeet thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Originally posted by: vaarti

remember that jane austen was a feminist and even in that day and age, writing about marriage largely, she never stopped herself from adding her own tongue in cheek two bits about how ridiculous she thought the whole finding a suitable husband was a woman's ultimate goal! her women were all smart but with their flaws...if liz had her pride, emma had her holier than thou interference! there is so much more to liz than just her garrulousness. she is talkative for a reason, because she has the confidence in her intelligence to do so. liz would never doubt her worth.

And to see the liz 'adaptation' of Nupur falling in love with Mayank by catching him shirtless! 🤢🤢 To think what Jane would've thought of one of her heroines falling for a guy in that fashion! 🤢
I honestly think the creatives have stopped working. They're being lazy...takin it easy or something. I think they come to this forrum and people request for 'passionate' scenes, like hugs, songs wagera, and so this is what the creatives think they need to do to impress the fans. So they're work is so much easier, all they need to do is put in faltu songs and random hugs, kabhi kabhi shirt uttarwado, bas chutti. Automatic sky high TRP's, fans blushin and fainting all over the place. No thought process required. 🤢 They don't have to do any work yaar, they know the fans will like it no matter what.
petticoat thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2
as long as titillating scenes and the audience exist I think they might even target shakespeare next...

but I dont care fr shakespeare as much as I do for austen!

I thank God Austen isnt alive to face this trauma!

honestly aarti
it si janes characterization that affected me the msot.. This is NOT our jane! hw can they meddle with the character so much!..they ought to have clearly said it is their own play.. messing with a classic is not so okay...!!!!

@debby
soem of my favourite parts is darcy-lizzie-georgianna..!!! that is one of the brilliant moments and Im glad ki they havent tampered more than they have already killed it...

as usual..
Lizzie darcy bingley are parentless siblingless..this again is OTT not new to the show!

Vamonos thumbnail
u know wat Caro i don't think they have even read PnP that was classic
n this is just some madness in d name of drama !!!!!!!
..Aarti.. thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
@ caro...oh but shakespeare was meant for masala...he himself was an uneducated entertainer as opposed to the university wits like jonson, his contemporary. the beauty of shakespeare lies in the fact that you can take his work at face value and make a complete pot boiler out of it, you can also psychologically analyze it to perfection. typically i think they should've stuck to something inane like midsummer night's dream. in any case, everything here is physical, so may as well use one of shakespeare's baser comedies...why use a book that has been applauded time and again for social commentary?
pigbelly4myfeet thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

@cute2stay..(pallavi?) read PnP? unlikely! trust me they have only seen BnP and believe that was PnP!! subtlety is a word lost on them!Yes it is Pallavi. =). Yaar, chalo even if they only saw BnP it was still laakh guna better than this crap Pnp ke naam pe.

caro...do they even understand the legal ramifications of doing something like this? why do people think they can mess with classics and get away with it? copyright violations aside, as kavya said to me, i should sue them for trauma! clothes? imagine the actual jane dancing in those clothes to dance pe chance marle!! yiiiiiiiiiikkkkkkkkkkkkkeeeeeeeeeeeeessssssssss!! ahahaha 😆😆 Yaarrr tu thand rakh! ahhaaa sue them? Arrey MJHT is already a pretty low budget show, kya kakh chawani bhi nahin milegi tujhe sue karne se! not worth it at all. 😆😆

petticoat thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2

@ caro...oh but shakespeare was meant for masala...he himself was an uneducated entertainer as opposed to the university wits like jonson, his contemporary. the beauty of shakespeare lies in the fact that you can take his work at face value and make a complete pot boiler out of it, you can also psychologically analyze it to perfection. typically i think they should've stuck to something inane like midsummer night's dream. in any case, everything here is physical, so may as well use one of shakespeare's baser comedies...why use a book that has been applauded time and again for social commentary?

lol u just reminded me

shakespeare had generous insinuations of physicality and cuckolding everywhere!!!

Austen was one author I was enamoured with!!for the environment she wrote with..the originality..the content..too bad its going to the dogs

@ REPORTERS:
before u click the report button
english lesson on what is "going to the dogs"
http://www.onestopenglish.com/section.asp?theme=mag&catid=58225&docid=145674
yup I AM HIGHBROW
its not an abuse but a phrase!
debby thumbnail

@bold: exactly! Midsummer night's dream would have been perfect for this kind of a play. It can explain all this physical, love at first sight kind of attraction.. Mayank's shirt bears ample resemblance to the purple flower. We wouldnt then be trying to explain the deeper essence of love - it would be more about lust.

-raboO- thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
indeed caro...dis is probably PRIDE N PRJUDICE kam DIL TO PAGAL HAI..!! exactly wat PD told us wen da play was bout to begin...i gues jus to bring in a "college" flavour to it....dey juss sketched da characters in accordance wid JANE AUSTEN's playy...😲 wich unfotunately dint work for any of dem...buh i got to agree...it did for RV...
its indeed amusing...JANE was supposed to b dis quiet shy person...very soft spoken..n hulllo
sheeena is NOWHERE close to datt........😳...
i can say nothing bout mayur as i dun catch any of dere scenes...as personally it makes no sense to me atall...jus watchd da latest promo dat is outt...n its so a copyy of DTPH scene...😕
i jus cannot see darcy n elizabeth in it...
i thank godd n da creatives...for finally ending dis playy...
Edited by -raboO- - 16 years ago