149722 thumbnail
I'm very much against people trying to convince you to join a certain religion. [There are always people from certain faith groups campaigning for that where I live; many just get brainwashed, if they are naive and weak]...

In Madhu's case though, there is much more to consider than just that. Because she is Rk's wife, I don't find it wrong for her to try to bring back his faith in God (specially since he already was an ardent devotee earlier.)

Is it right of her to try to bring the God into RK's house without his permission ??
She is just breaking Rk's rules and I like that. 😆 Rk's house is her house too, and if she feels like bringing Ganpati in her home, she can do so for herself too. [yesterday Rk acknowledged that Mb was part of his family, his home.] Rk made Madhu his adhi adhuri biwi and even if she is a servant, she has rights too... Jo haq se na mile, aur woh hamara ho, woh cheen ke hasil karne mei harz hi kya hai.. I hope Madhu doesn't bow down time and again.

Marriage requires many compromises and I think, people tend to test each other's limits when they are settled in a relationship to see where the other can give... Some people even change their religion to get married, others can respect each other's faith and have a very successful marriage. I think it depends on each person individually -and his choice- and there is no right or wrong.
Edited by ..Cassie.. - 12 years ago
AshRun thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Foucaults-qalam

I'm not even going to broach the treatment of religious sentiment as a normative condition. Why can't RK not believe in Bappa? This kind of wholesale Thakeray agenda is very worrying. Am I making sense here? The personal beliefs of a person are their own, no one has the right to try and change them,especially as a 'righteous battle' as is being shown here. It makes me deeply uneasy.

Had the fight been to enforce Madhu or RK's family to continue to practise their beliefs without intervention from RK, I would have been much happier.

This is what I said yesterday...

Yes, you are making sense. That's how I feel, I mean be it ANY religion, it is not an easy job to change someone's religious beliefs overnight.This is about someone's faith, and not a school subject that can be taught. The words of yours which I've highlighted in red are the ones with which I agree even more. Everyone has their reasons for believing or not believeing and as a believer in God, I can say that if you have complaints with God, then he understands, and then he himself will do what he needs to do to bring your attention back to him. You're right, they're treating it like a righteous battle, without understanding that not everyone has to believe in what the majority believes in. I felt kinda uneasy too, it dampened my enthusiasm for next weeks episodes because she's just gonna force things on him and he's going to get upset with it. It's an annoying thing that a lead of the show has to do. I hate it when such tasks are given to the LEADS. To me, forcefully bringing something into someone's house is the work of a villain, god knows why Drashti is being given such scenes.
Edited by AshRun - 12 years ago
ChelseaForEver thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Madhu is not doing it to change RK's religious views.. Radhaji told her that RK once believed in Bappa and considered Bappa to be very close to him.. So Madhu just wants to get that faith in RK back which he had in his childhood which he lost due to some reasons 😃
iqbalslover thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
maybe its not right but as many have mentioned he has not always been a non-believer, so she might be thinking she can help him bringing the faith back...
there is just one question for u, was it right from Rks side to stop madhubaal from going to that religious festival?
if he might have not stopped her, she would have not thought about changing his belief.
I also feel she isnt trying to force him but doing it for his mom and herself because these both DO believe in god and want to celebrate the festival. as per promo madhu does say, if he doesnt want to be there he can be in his room for some days
Edited by iqbalslover - 12 years ago
leverne thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 5
she is trying to make him the old rishu...
i dont see anything wrong with that...afterall last decision toh RK ka hi hoga..whether he wants to believe in god or no
bhoomi.s thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
I think Madhu (the character, not DD) is a very black-and-white sort of a person right now. She's only now getting aware that the colour grey exists, forget knowing about the subtler shades. It's going to take her some time to realize that you can't go around 'reforming' people. You have to accept them for who they are and help them work through their issues, if they are so inclined. Forcing RK to confront his past is going to backfire, methinks.

@ religious agenda - Staple of every show. Atheism or even agnosticism don't really register. It's always the dominant Hindu paradigm, with maybe a supporting role for a minority religion. Disgusting!

Agree that the fight should've been for the family's rights. And there is no denying that the rest of the family seem to be devotees - look how happy Kukkuji is!

The one good thing is that she isn't forcing him to participate, acc to the precap; she's asked him to stay away if that's what he wants. I hope she leaves it at that...

@ breaking RK's rules - Go Madhu!!
Edited by bhoomi.s - 12 years ago
Nabakov_Musings thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
well to be honest what is religion anyway? A belief in something..or a belief in something illusive for the sake of fighting the unkown..or the fear of the unknown? :)
559432 thumbnail
I don't think Madhu is wrong here... because she knows that once RK was a religious belief and now he is way too much hurt to believe in God... So she is trying to make him believe again in God... So nothing wrong in it... But yeah if he never had believed in God from his birth to now toh baat kuch aur tha... because that would be forced... 😃
tulip132 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Commentator Level 2 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: .Priya2000.

Hi 😊

as per story RK is not a born atheist , he did celebrate Ganesh Puja with his father until the unfortunate demise of his dad . He has brooded over this pain in years together ; on top of it his mother's remarriage too did not go down well with him as a child . So who does he complain ? to God but he realized that God did not give him respite of any sorts from all that pain he endured !

thereby he's angry & you might say in way complaining to Him ! why this unfairness to him when he always partook in Celebrating His Puja , Visarjan etc ...

So Madhu trying to surface that facet of Rishabh which he had concealed in folds since his dad's death . She knows he was a believer & thereby trying to re-instill that faith !

now whether she succeeds or not is for us to find out , but no harm in trying ❤️

hope I'm able to put some light .

I agreed with Priya's statement.
Foucaults-qalam thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 2
Nobody is born of any conviction. These are made as we live and learn. I an deeply ambivalent about a story track that resets your beliefs to a so-called original version. Who is to say that belief has more valiidity than your current one?

Perhaps this is a meta discussion, and has little to do, per se, with the RK /MB dynamic.