306969 thumbnail

Originally posted by: areeba_blossom

Something I've concluded about Ishwari is that she likes to have control.

She was helpless after her husband's death and the poverty didn't help her ego but throughout all of that, she had dev who would pamper her and put her on a pedestal of grandiosity because she was sacrificing her life for him.
She found a follower in Dev and this little boy followed every word of his mother's, not just to win her approval but also because he felt indebted to the countless hardships she had to make. Ishwari banked on the guilt that lived in Dev for being a man of the house but not being able to do much in his younger years. That guilt made Dev give Neha the biggest room of the house and run back and forth between work and home at every call of his mother's.

Sonakshi's lifestyle showed Dev that you don't have to be indebted to one event of your life forever.

Ishwari brought back Sonakshi in Dev's life as a goddess in Dev's eyes who ultimately takes the decision. She treated Sona like a toy to get the loyal follower in Dev out. Except that at that point, Dev had to juggle two world with lies to keep there previous sanctioning alive when that wasn't possible. Dev had to be the person to stand up for everyone at this time and he couldn't manage that because Dev hasn't ever been a leader inside his own life. He's been a follower. He followed Sona's friendship int love and he followed Ishwari's helplessness to turn it around into sacrifices of the century.

Since past seven years, Ishwari has had no control over Dev's lifestyle and his happiness. She doesn't get to dictate his moods as she did previously by making good expensive foods that were out of there reach in daily meals or by brining the girl he loved in his life back and show him that his happiness ultimately passes through her.

Control gives us power and every human being relishes power. Throughout time, women and men have found ways to grab onto power isn unique ways. Women have a history of finding power through oppression and Ishwari's power rested in the blind approval of her eight year old son. The son's guilt always refreshing seeing his younger sister being deprived of everything he has because of the handwork his mother put for earning bread.

Right now the person to keep the need for power and validation alive in Ishwari is her brother. The man has been doing the same thing since Ishwari has been widowed.

Ishwari herself needs a grandchild because obviously having a perfect family includes having children and if her Dev would have a child, he would have the picture perfect and paper perfect family for which Ishwari would be responsible for. > thats why he talks about andhikar today.

Ishwari want a medium of control and imposing her power and throughout her life, her dysfunctional relationship with Dev provided her that. When she will find about Soha, she will pride herself for planning the last vacation of Sona and Dev that resulted in this. She would blame Sona because in her mind, Sona should be grateful for what she did by being part of a married couple's bedroom activity and helping them reproduce a child. Ishwari would assert more right over Soha then even Dev because it's not about love, it's a god-complex of making things possible for others by sacrificing herself.

Ishwari made Soha's existence possible by sacrificing her blind follower Dev to get him his partner.

It's such a twisted logic and it's scary to think about control and validation in these terms because people like Ishwari exist. Few of my aunts actually have the same mentality and they are successful in there qualms because eventually the wife of the son gives in if not separates into their lifestyle to not get a divorce.

That's why Ishwari was shocked at Sona leaving. Sona was a pawn in her game and Sona was a toy she had handed to Dev to play with except Sona had to walk away to prove herself to be human and no one in Ishwari's eyes is human besides herself. When she sees herself through a god-complex and playing victim in every victim, other human beings' emotions are irrelevant.

Ishwari is a very realistic and layered character.

👏 wow. Such a lovely analysis.
And yes such women exist and they do create havoc in the lives of young women marrying their sons
rekha.366 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2
Good morning guys 😃. amazing reviews by all of you👏 👏 .
For me Dev soha scene is the Best scene of the episode even whole season 2. when i saw Dev soha scene something tugged in my heart 😭.when soha telling about her father who she never met and Dev hearing her and admiring her lovingly. it was a such a beautiful scene ❤️.and their slow smile aww the screen brighten with their smiles ❤️ ❤️.i find more warmth and connection between soha Dev 2 min scene than soha sona scenes. sona is good Mother no doubt about it.but i don't know why soha is not opening up with her mother, her desire to meet her Father.i would love see more Dev soha scenes.and another scene i loved was Dev holding chota golu. i think golu is God gift for Dev. Dev asked God give child to sona but he never asked for himself so God fulfill Dev wish giving a child to sona but he also give a gift to dev in the name of golu. i can't imagine if golu is not in Dev life what would have happened with dev.

Bijoy and ishu they are gone cases. waste of time what they think and say doesn't make any sense to me.🥱 🥱

coming to jatin well the guy don't have any screen presence .my eyes uski taraf jaathi nahi hai 😆.so i don't know what his motive is. present he seems harmless but seriously who books whole restaurant to have lunch with your best friend .
last scene Dev getting jealous and breaking laptops my sympathy goes to laptop 😆 .I didn't understand why he is getting jealous .Dev babu sona is sway from since 7 years. who knows maybe she went to dates before. what you expected she will remain single forever. are you forget rithwik. 😆 she is ready to marry after one month when your first break up happened. ab tho 7 years hogaya. one suggestion for you Dev control your emotions.and you will be fine 🤗.

precap : Sona -- Dev -- Ishu In on frame Valentine gift for krpkb viewers after all this show about these three people love story 😆
Edited by rekha.366 - 8 years ago
Samanalyse thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3

@Shaavi: On Sona's inferiority complex, the responses you got from rekha.366 and Latha covered most of what I would have said beautifully; subconsciously, mami's words about Natasha especially did play on Sona's psyche and she did see Dev as this larger than life figure, while she was just boring Sona, who had followed the predictable path of studying and getting "naukri." I would just like to add one more observation to this. I think the seed of inequality, specifically with regards to money, was planted in Sona's head during the first argument about Neha and Ranveer. I have to admit, at that time, I didn't understand Dev as well as I do now, and I was totally with Sona on her assessment of the situation -- that if they loved each other, the discrepancy in economic status didn't matter.

What Sona and I didn't understand then, was that Dev wasn't making a general claim about people with different economic statuses, but rather speaking about Neha specifically, given his knowledge of her needs. But they never really clarified this, and I think at that point Sona began asking herself, what am I bringing to this relationship to compensate for the fact that Dev is "marrying down" economically? It's at this point that she became self-conscious about being his emotional anchor and started being very deliberate about what had already come naturally. This worked great when it was just Dev because he needed that support badly and wasn't too proud to embrace it, but it backfired when she tried to expand her horizons to the Dixit eco-system because they weren't ready to betray that there was anything wrong. I wonder now if that is why she kept Dev and arm's length when it came to her family's financial situation and her business. If he helped them while she was failing to "fix" the Dixits (Ishwari's approval, Neha and Ranveer's marriage), would it upset the balance she was trying to create?

To this day, Sona continues to labour under the misconception that Dev measures success by money and status. That's why I really want a plot point that clears this issue for her. My ideal would be for Dev to take an early retirement eventually (as he was planning to before Sona showed up), and embrace the role of stay-at-home dad, and supportive spouse, showing that he never felt the need to be "superior" to Sona in that respect.

Edited by Samanalyse - 8 years ago
LiveLife321 thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Samanalyse/

To this day, Sona continues to labour under the misconception that Dev measures success by money and status. That's why I really want a plot point that clears this issue for her. My ideal would be for Dev to take an early retirement eventually (as he was planning to before Sona showed up), and embrace the role of stay-at-home dad, and supportive spouse, showing that he never felt the need to be "superior" to Sona in that respect.

If such opportunity exists for him then I think he will choose it with open arms since he is the less egoistic one in their relationship and most importantly he is the one who honestly believes that they're equals.
Mishti_94 thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: Danseuse

I read your posts off and on and you tickle my funnybone! Welcome to this thread.

-Rekha

Thank you for the appreciation and the warm welcome to the thread!😃
Samanalyse thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
Loved everyone's responses to the episode! Just a few points to add:

Dev now knows that Soha wants to meet her father, while Sona doesn't. This is already foreshadowing Soha's struggle in the future, being torn between two parents who are equally blinded to anything but their side of the story. They made it clear in that one beautiful scene that Soha and Dev have an immediate connection; Soha told her side of the story and hesitated when it came time to reveal the father's reaction. Dev's smile and his little gesutre gave her the confidence to finish her story with the father's promise never to leave his baby girl

Sam's reaction: 😭

It was significant how her peers' reaction to Soha changed when she opened up about her true feelings. Golu was promptly shushed by his friend when he tried to make a snide remark about her going back where she came from, because the friend was also drawn in to the honest and heartfelt story. The writers are very clearly stressing the importance of opening up and being vulnerable in order to forge relationships. Golu was insensitive to Soha's vulnerability because of his grudge against her, and that caused him to wall himself off, both from hs friend and from his Bigcha.

In the end though, my heart goes out to poor Golu, because it seems that nobody takes his relationship with Dev seriously other than Dev and him. And now? Even his Bigcha seems to be slipping away. I really disliked Ishwari's thought process for that reason. At face value, it seemed perfectly logical -- Dev loves Golu and clearly wanted to be a father himself (that baby-neck comment 🥺) so the way to bring him back is to make him a father. But that completely undermines both his relationship with Sona and his relationship with Golu.

Dev didn't confront god because he wanted to have a child so badly; he confronted god because he wanted Ishwari to accept Sona and a child was the (certainly not undesirable) means to an end. And Golu is not some sneak peak into fatherhood for Dev. Their relationship is very real and very meaningful just as it is. This is one of the rare times I do see the show challenging heteronormative standards (with reference to DQ's post) -- Dev doesn't have to take the place of Golu's father to be the primary force in his life, and Golu does not have to be his biological child for them to have a much more meaningful relationship than Golu has with Vicky or Dev has with Soha (so far).

I loved the comments about Dev managing Golu and Soha like he had to manage Sona and Ishwari. Bechara Dev, he can't seem to catch a break even in the next generation! 😆

As for Jatin, I am beginning to wonder how much of his potential grey-ness may actually come from Bijoy's over-enthusiasm. What if friend-Jatin, who would have read Sona's clearly platonic signals and backed off gracefully, is being transformed into husband-to-be-Jatin by Bijoy's insistence that they are endgame, if only he tries hard enough and waits long enough? What if Bijoy's enthusiasm is giving him a sense of entitlement over Sona? I have to admit, knowing about Jatin's past and the fact that he is not just some suave bachelor, but a man who has been through a tragedy of his own, lent a lot of gravity to his character. And he has clearly done his research on Dev, and is prepared to bring the romance. What's more, unlike all her sensible relatives and Ritwick, he isn't advising that she do the smart thing and move away from Dev. Instead, he is supporting her in doing things her way, and standing against him. These revelations about his character yesterday made me genuinely worried for Devakshi endgame -- which made me want to smash things as well.😡😆 This track may look cliched from the surface... but boy there is a lot to uncover! 😕

EDIT: Forgot to add, on the subject of building relationships, the fact that Dev's employee triggered his investigation into Jatin was really noteworthy. Dev would have probably sat in his office and smirked to eternity were it not for his assistant's well-timed question about who Jatin was. He gave Dev the window to ask for the information casually, although both of them clearly knew what was going on. 😉
Edited by Samanalyse - 8 years ago
cscs thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5
@Sam last few lines of your post are giving me scary feels. Plus there is a new entry set for Dev.
Jatin is giving Sona her space and trying to be her solace. He definitely know how to handle Sonakshi and Dev both. He didn't picked up any fight with Dev and simply ignored him bcz he know as long as Sonakshi listens to him there is nothing to worry. With Bjoy's over enthusiasm and Jatin's own willingness, they will try to hook up Soja couple. His yesterday actions seems to be indicating this only, when he booked a whole restaurant for the lunch. There is nothing wrong in Bijoy thinking of Sona's marriage or Jatin thinking Sona as his life partner. The point is what does Sona and Soha wants. If Sona wants to move on then nobody can stop her but if it is some kind of compromise then the problem arises. Like she tried to move on in Ritwick case. Interestingly all of them, Ritwick, Bijoy and now Jatin do only what Sona says. Sona says she has moved on so everybody believes that and advice her in the same context. I remember Ritwick gave her space to move on and forget Dev, bcz Sona said the same. Bijoy talked about marriage bcz sona said she trusts her parents choice. And now Jatin also is doing the same, bcz Sona is not affected by Dev. If only there is some feelings for Dev inside her its only known to her. So others are behaving the way they should be.

Soha in the picture changes the whole scenario and also with Dev- soha bonding which is amazing, i doubt Soha will ever accept Jatin as a ready made daddy.

And also they are again and again bringing the "investment" thing in their dialogues. I really dunno if its just a pss by to show how Jatin helped Sona or will have some relevance in future.
Edited by cscs - 8 years ago
thedramaqueen thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Excellent points everyone. I didn't want to read and run away. I wanted to make a quick comment on the employee spying on Sona and asking Dev re jatin.
Dev has been their boss for almost a decade. Some of them have seen him transform from a caring bachelor, awesome but stuck up boss into a happy man who wore his heart on his sleeve (recall the golf scene with Tina) and now into a broken stiff divorcee, who still cares for the employees(he gave them a 2 month bonus just to keep the market unaware of his next move). Recall how Tina used to care for dev in season 1. They all know about sonakshi and his current status and thus they are bound to ask him. Over the years you do build that relation with your bosses and peers. No wonder Dev took up the offer to spy on his ex-wife's beau.
306969 thumbnail

Originally posted by: sjain

Hey

Episode again left me with mixed emotions..

Well looking at Jatin Sonakshi bond as much as I was thinking about it ..it looked more like a honest friendship bond..which developed during these 7 years infact I was happy that Jatin was their with Sonakshi when she needed some genuine support and a true well wisher and today as well he is their for her..he invested in her business helped her fight thoes circumstance like a true friend..but today I could sense he has some hidden purpose behind all this..possibly feelings for Sonakshi..still need to see what this guy is all about..I wont pass any judgement on him but yes he cant be taken just on his face value..their is more to him

Rest coming to Dev well I too had inkling of Dev ki deewangi part 2 looking at his reaction seeing the video..well aparently he never asked his employees to go do far in getting info about jatin but his staff his way ahead Oh freakss..they recorded their private moments..oh stupid people..what was the need of it but then it was like adding petrol to fire damnn..It angered Dev to no extent..
Now while watching repeat I had this thought regarding flashbsck scene as soon as Dev got to know..about booking whole restaurant he remembered when he did the same for Sonakshi..so is it possible that Jatin can have similar intense feelings for Sonakshi like Dev had and Dev did sense that because of this move of Jatin..Its just my guess..(I too am infected by the deep thinkers present here Lol) ..I might be wrong but instead of Dev ki deewangi 2 can it be jatin ko deewangi 1

Also coming to Ishwari I everytime try to understand her..I make some real efforts in understanding her but I fail misrabely even today when she said how Dev wanted to be fathr wanted to have kids even if it was few days he could enjoy that feeling..ok..I accepted it but when she said now only a baby can help he needs tp be fathr ASAP..he should get married that was huge facepalm-moment for me..seriously..Dev doesnt even acknowledge her words presense anymore..He is so disturbed emotionally and she is taking decisions on his behalf oh lord..how does she conclude everything so conviniently is beyond oh sighh..ok fare enough he can get married again but more then life partner according to me he needs a friend who can understand his state and to whom Dev can talk to patiently..offcourse he will not reveal everything but atleast it will help him in being more stable emotionally amd he can handle Sonakshi's presense around him a bit calmly..This new girl is still a mystry and how she will be..is yet to be seen but I would like to see some freshness with her character

Soha Dev scn was sweet nice and emotional..their connection is deep..its such a pure bond..god made it and Dev's smile showed he could sense something..and specially when she said "agar main waisee wali beti hoti toh"..he was taken aback momentrily remembering Sonakshi..sigh
The only thing I feel here is that this child actor is lil weak in terms of acting snd the kind of innocence, acting I see in Golu and Dev scenes..I wonder if I will get similar feel with Dev Soha scenes or not
Oh Golu getting jealous was too adorable and legit Dev Golu moments are my absolute favs and today's fb scene damn ..made me teary how excited Dev was to hold new born Golu..Oh that was so cute..his hapiness as well as unfulfilled wish was visible in his eyes..but at the same time I could also see it got partially fulfilled by golu's arrival..also it broke my heart thinking how he missed holding Soha like this..Sonakshi you took away his biggest happiness and made such a huge blunder..sighh

Well track is getting interesting yet quite complicated..what role these new entries will be playing is something to look out for

Liked your views.

except yaar, the child actor Soha was really good in that scene with Dev. Golu is cute but I felt he overacts just a tiny bit. Soha's natural smile was a killer for me yesterday. Is it just me or Shaheer looked kinda 'edible' smiling broadly at Suhana.

Golu will not like the new hit the heart and win sign language between Dev and Sohana. I hope bachchon ke jealousy bachchon type hi rakhein yeh CVs.

I also felt friendship vibes from Jatin. It seems like he was used more as Sona's inner voice.
astrix90 thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
@Sam- I just stumbled upon your analysis and now it kinda scared me 😆 Though I firmly believe they have really messed up with the love story in a lot of ways, I watch the show for entertainment and given how we have wasted almost a year on a couple, the least we deserve is a happy ending. And am not even looking for logic or character consistency here. Like I said, its entertainment and I'd genuinely like to see a positive ending. And some maturity in the way they deal with Soha. I really don't care for the third angles or the love story as much as I do about the kids right now. And its incredibly annoying and sad to see Dev go into a psychotic fit even now after seeing Sona with Jatin. Plese, give the poor guy some respite CVs. If this was real, he'd have probably committed suicide by now 😆 I'd honestly love to see Dev and Soha bond and enrich each other.. Dev becoming mature and learning to let go and Soha having more fun in life. And when the big reveal happens, the best thing they can do make Dev sacrifice. Not because he understands Sona or her decision to hide the kid but because he recognises the little kid doesn't deserve to go through a nasty custody battle and he'd rather back off to make sure she has a normal childhood. That would be such a huge eye opener for all the characters to reevaluate all the mistakes and life decisions.Oh well, am again dreaming cos the writers seem to have a terrible penchant for drama..

Edited by astrix90 - 8 years ago