Women in white
If you are interested in poems by Gagan Gill (part 2 poem on chudiyaan) below is the link, she writes in Hindi so her books must be available in India
http://www.poetrytranslation.soas.ac.uk/poems/
Badasurata Part 3
Absence
I have scarcely left you
When you go in me, crystalline,
Or trembling,
Or uneasy, wounded by me
Or overwhelmed with love, as
when your eyes
Close upon the gift of life
That without cease I give you.
My love,
We have found each other
Thirsty and we have
Drunk up all the water and the
Blood,
We found each other
Hungry
And we bit each other
As fire bites,
Leaving wounds in us.
But wait for me,
Keep for me your sweetness.
I will give you too
A rose. ( by Pablo Neruda)
Adi was bewildered why Jai's reaction. Never the one to complain about going on business meetings or conference, Jai literally flew off the handle when Adi came to tell him there problems at the ongoing project in Delhi and someone needed to go. Since Adi was already committed to going to Chennai and the problems at Delhi needed either him or Jai's attention there wasn't any choice left.
Masi and Jigyasa had already packed the bag for him and he curtly dismissed their requests to eat something before going and left. The late afternoon flight left with to Delhi with Jai aboard, vowing to return back next day.
Bani opened the door cautiously to see a guy with a parcel waiting. He handed her the parcel, got her signature and left. She looked to see who the parcel was for and was surprised to see her name on it.
Taking it to her room, she carefully opened the paper to reveal a beautiful gold colour gift box. With intrepidation she opened the box to see a beautiful pink colour chiffon sari with light embroidery. On top was an envelope with her name and a single red rose. She opened it and pulled out the folded note and read the elegant handwriting.
Dearest Bani,
I have to leave for Delhi on an emergency business meeting but did not want to leave without letting you know I will miss you. I hope you are thinking about what I said yesterday. When I return if you wear this sari for me I will know what the answer will be.
yeh raati katena kate
yeh din beete na beete
bin tere yeh dil ka dard na mite
yeh tanhayee yeh judaii
yeh gahara darda tune diya
yeh dil me abhi ek hi khuwaahish hai
yeh ek dil ki tamanna hai
yehi ke tu ajaa mere dil ke qarib
Yours,
Jai
A drop of tear rolled down and fell on the note. Bani picked up the soft sari and held it in her hand before burying her face in it.
XXXXX
Listen to the Exhortation of the Dawn!
Look to this Day!
For it is Life, the very Life of Life.
In its brief course lie all the
Verities and Realities of your Existence.
The Bliss of Growth,
The Glory of Action,
The Splendor of Beauty;
For Yesterday is but a Dream,
And To-morrow is only a Vision;
But To-day well lived makes
Every Yesterday a Dream of Happiness,
And every Tomorrow a Vision of Hope.
Look well therefore to this Day!
Such is the Salutation of the Dawn!(Kalidasa)
Two days later, Jai was still stuck in Delhi. The dispute was going to take longer than he thought. His frustration did not help as he was short tempered with his staff.
Nishikant, Kiran, Pia and Rano returned back from Mt Abu. Kiran was all hyper, talking about how small the wedding was, the foood, the mandap decorations and clothes were not even anywhere what they will be at Pia's wedding. She will make sure her relatives talked about Pia's wedding for days.
Late at night after everyone had retired to bed, Rano came to Bani's room and gave her a little gift bag. Bani opened it to find a pair of rose quartz handbeaded silver earrings.
"They are pretty. Thank you Rano. When will I wear them?" Bani asked wistfully.
Rano held Bani's hand and said warmly, "Di when I get married, you are going to wear the best sari, the best jewellery, have mehndi put on your hand before I have mine done. We will dance and sing and laugh and best of all Di, I will take you with me. I will only marry a man who will also have respect for you in his heart."
Bani hugged Rano and then said quietly,"I want to show you something."
From her small almari, she took out the gold box and gave it to her. Rano opened it and looked at the note and the sari. "Where did you get this from?"
Bani simply said, "Read the note Rano."
There were tears in Rano's eyes when she finished the note. She barely managed to whisper, "What did he ask you?"
Bani covered her face and said "Shaadi!"
Rano immediately stood in front of Bani and took her hands away. Her face glowed with happiness, "Oh Di I am so happy. He will make you so happy."
Bani's eyes teared up, "Rano maa kabhi nahi yeh manzoor karegi."
Anger flitting in her eyes Rano said, "Maa haa kahe ya na, mei yeh shaadi hogi...zaroor hogi." Rano gave her sister a hug and said before she left. "I will make sure you wear that sari, next time Jai comes here."
Pia moved away swiftly before Rano came out of the door. Standing behind her close door, she murmured with venom, "So Jai Walia has fallen for my abhagi sister."
Next morning while Bani was busy downstairs Pia sneaked into the room, opened up the almari and took out the gold box. She took it immediately to her mothe's room and showed it to her and read the note out to her. Kiran was livid with rage. How dare he insult her like this. She will make sure he never sees Bani's face again. She told Pia to go and put the box back and to act as normal. she had been suspicious about Jai Walia, why he had not said yes he was interested in Pia and marriage. She will not let that man dishonour Pia in this way.
At midnight, a soft knock on the door sounded and Pia opened the door and let the man in quietly. She told him to wait and then went and told Kiran who was waiting in Pia's room. Kiran went into Bani's room and woke her up. Telling her to get up quietly and come with her. Bani followed Kiran downstairs wondering what was up with her. In fact she had been surprised during the day, when Kiran had not once shouted at her but seemed preoccupied with something.
Downstairs Kiran looked at Bani and said, "Bani abh iss ghar me teri liye koi jagaa nahi hai. Chup chap Yeh admi tujhe Vrindawan ashram tak pahunchan dega." Kiran put some money in Bani's hand and some to the man and watched them leave. Upstairs Pia went and left a note on Bani's bed and then went to the almari and took the gold box away.
XXXXX
Science may have found a cure for most evils; but it has found no remedy for the worst of them all -- the apathy of human beings.(Helen Keller)
Next morning, no one missed Bani. Rano who was not in the habit of eating breakfast or tea left the house without noticing Bani was missing. Nishikant was too engrossed in reading his daily paper to notice that Kiran served him tea that morning.
It was Pia who got his attention when she came running down pretending to be crying and rushing to Nishikant, hugged him and cried, "Papa, BaniDi chali gayi..."
Nishikant's newspaper fell out of his hand and onto the floor. Shaking Pia, "What do you mean? Kahaan chai gayi meri Bani...."
Pia handed him the letter and Nishikant read the one line note and broke down.
"Baba mujhe dhoondne ki kosish mat karna, mei ek kone mei meri liye sahara dhoondh lugi."
Kiran pretended to be upset and consoled Nishikant. Inwardly she felt she had won a major victory. Now she will never have to see that badsurata aurat again.
When Rano arrived at night she found an incoherent Nishikant in bed. She couldn't make out what he was upset about until he pointed to the note.
Rano threw the note on the floor and shook Nishikant, "Baba, this not true you know your Bani would never do this. Maa has done something. It is all maa's doing. She hates didi but I never thought she would stoop this low."
Nishikant crying and mumbling, "Kahaan dhoondhe Bani ko? Mujhe samaj nahi aata mei kya karu."
Rano tried to calm him down. "Baba tum shaanth hojayee. Mei hi kuch karungi iska."
Rano took the note and hailed a taxi and went straight to Walia mansion. Ranveer was surprised to see her. She handed him the letter and Ranveer gasped in surprise. "Rano say this is not so. I don't know what mamaji will do when he finds out. He is already in a bad mood stuck up in Delhi."
Masi heard them talk and came to find out what was going on. Ranveer told her about Bani leaving home. He also told her what Jai had said to him the night before he went.
---flashback---
Ranveer was in the study at night when Jai came in. Ranveer looked at the clock and it showed just after ten.
"Mamaji where were you. Masi said you went to see Bani, but you can't have been there all this time."
Jai sitting down, and kicking his shoes off, "I was with Bani and then went for a walk."
Ranveer raised his brow, "A walk! What's the matter mamaji? Business problems?"
"No, woman problem."
Ranveer laughed, "You are having woman problem."
Jai becoming serious and giving him a glare, "It's no laughing matter."
Ranveer becoming sober, "Care to share with me what is bothering you. May be I can help."
"I am in love with Bani." Jai felt relieved now that he confessed to someone.
Ranveer asked puzzled, "And what is wrong with that?"
Jai looked at him helplessly, "I asked her to marry me but she said that she is not worthy of me. She thinks Pia is."
Ranveer trying to boost Jai up said, "Mamaji, I will talk with Rano when she comes back. If anyone can get Bani to change her mind, it's Rano."
---End flashback---
I'm not afraid of storms, for I'm learning how to sail my ship.(Louisa May Alcott)
Ranveer turned to masi, "I will phone dad and find out if he can come back and then we will tell mamaji."
A call to Adi resulted in Adi taking the next flight back to Mumbai. It arrived at two in the morning and Ranveer picked him and brought him home. Masi and Jigyasa were still up. They both looked so worried. He told them to go to bed and said he would talk with Jai and get him to come home. If there was a need for someone to be in Delhi than he would go.
Jai had just about fallen asleep when his cell phone buzzed. He looked to see who the caller was before answering.
"Hi Adi, why are you calling so late at night." Jai asked.
Adi just told him simply, "Could you get the next flight home. Masi is not feeling well and Jigyasa is going crazy. Ranveer is running some tests on her. Just let me know when your flight gets in, I will come and pick you up."
Adi turned the phone off not giving Jai any chance to answer questions.
Jai tried calling Adi back but got no answer and no one at home picked up the phone. He called the reception and asked them to book him on the first available flight back to Mumbai. He packed quickly wondering what could be wrong with masi. She had sounded fine when
At the airport, Jai tried Adi's phone again and left a voicemail to tell him the time his flight would land in Mumbai. Adi picked him up and simply answered his question to how masi was by saying, she is resting at home and Ranveer will be better able to answer his question.
Jai was surprised to see a worried looking masi and Rano sitting on a sofa. He turned to Adi and asked "what's going on."
Rano simply jumped and ran to him hugging him throwing his mind into completely utter confusion, until he heard Rano mention Bani's name. Gripping her shoulders tightly he looked at her calmly and said, "Where is Bani?"
Adi simply handed him the letter and took Rano back to masi.
Jai looked with cold anger and said to Adi, "This is not true. She was forced to do this."
Coming to Rano, he quietly told her, "Let's go home Rano."
Kiran was surprised when she opened the door to see Jai, Rano and Adi. She beamed a fake smile and asked them to come in. Jai simply strode in turned back to her, face flashing anger and asked rather loudly, "Where is Bani?"
Kiran disturbed by his anger stammered, "We don't know...Chitti mei kuch nahi likha."
Taking a step towards her, Jai threatened, "Kiranji either you tell me or I will call police. And just so you know the Walia name alone will have the officers scrambling to do my bidding."
This part has gotten quiet long, I was hopeing to finish it, but I guess one more part.
Thanks to everyone that has taken time to write comments regarding the storyline, the characters etc. I hope you like this part just as much.