Shah67 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Jalal: Jalal has made one of his first independent decisions and is in no mood for any inputs from anyone.
He has seen in Amer that Jodha is used to the attention and importance. He has seen how confident she is. What could be more humiliating for such a person than to be treated as one of many? And of course that's what dear Jalal wants. He is mentally rubbing his hands in glee now that he gets to puncture Jodha's pride, confidence and guroor.
Maham Anga:Poor MA, the words of the hindu daasi are probably ringing in her ears.😆
Her face was really funny. It is as if she does not know what to think. She knows that she is not getting the complete story from Jalal but has to accept everything at face value. Her hesitant, confused smile...
Rukaiyya: She is in her happy la la bachpan ka dost land. And what could have she done anyway?
Maina: Aunty, woh bechahri poori tarah se toot chuki hai😭😭
By the by, Mrs Bennett is one of my all time favorite characters! She and Mr. Bennett were a Jodi made in heaven.😆
Bharmal: "square in body and face?"🤣
I think he is just so relieved to get out of this mess unscathed that he does not want anything to rock his boat.😡 Initially I think he genuinely wanted to tell Jodha but as time went by he started having second thoughts and used the excuse of sahi waqt.
Jodha's self delusion: This I think is akin to a wife who is the only one who does not know that her husband is having an affair with her best friend. She sees some signs but turns a deliberate blind eye.
I also think that Jodha is trying her best to reconcile to the fact that this marriage is what is going to protect Amer from calamity. She probably does not want to know too much. What if her prospective groom is old and wobbly or ugly as hell?
She is probably better off not knowing about him is what she thinks. Of course that he is not a Rajput but a Mughal is not something that can occur to her even in her worst nightmare.
Dadisa: She is simply ADORABLE. Wish I could give her a big smacking kiss on that ample cheek. She is too cute.
Thanks for this lovely analysis. Till next time!
Devki
Edited by devkidmd - 9 years ago
Susmita96 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
Frst of all thank u for the pm..i did not expect u to pm me for ur post.i feel glad😊😳😳
Yeah. zee anmol has really surprised us by giving 1 hour epis..we actually thght they would edit the marraige scenes to make it fr 30 mins.😆
coming to the analysis..its one of the best analysis dat i hv ever read..i had been a silent reader in this forum.n so hv read all ur previous threads too..n i think the way to study each n every scene of the epi as well as the actors..no one can do it!!! u go deep into the scenes as well as the actors acting n show us d depth!!
now For RAJAT TOKAS...i m really proud to be his fan...mujhe garv hota hai ki i m his fan...i really have no wrds to describe his talent..the shahi shadi epis were one of the best perfrmnces by jalal!!he just proved to be d best frm d very start of the show..n as the epis aired..he just got better dan d best.
he is an actor of a diffrent level acc to me.
HOPING TO SEE MORE SUCH POSTS OF URS SHYMALA AUNTY...I REALLY LOVE UR ANALYSIS.it makes me go deeper into d epis...
hemakeerti thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: sashashyam

The reasons why: It was not nice of Jalal to make snide remarks, to all and sundry, that Bas ek baat ka malaal rahega, ki humse nikaah ki khabar jaanne ke baad, Rajkumari Jodha ke chehre ke badalte rang nahin dekh payenge. But we are looking at this from our point of view.

>> To me, this outspoken wish seemed more of the creatives ground work for the drama to follow. The same is fulfilled when he saw Jodha's changing colors during Muh Dikhayi.

For him, despite the indefinable attraction and the desire to see her that pulls him into a dangerous venture into Amer, she is, right now, only an impertinent wench who dared to hold a sword to his throat, and put him, the Shahenshah, in a very tight corner for a minute. But for his icy courage and tremendous presence of mind, he would have been killed right there, or arrested, which would have been far worse.

She also repeatedly calls for his head, and produces a whole laundry list of his real and imaginary atrocities.

So what would he, an absolute monarch and a fierce warrior, think about her? Like Petruchio dealing with Kate in Shakespeare's The Taming of the Shrew, that she needs to be taught a good lesson. He would hardly be bothered about the inappropriateness of making that kind of off hand remark to his inner entourage. Remember what he says to Abdul when he has finished burning her portrait?

Still, he does not let even his Badiammi speak disparagingly of Jodha, which means something. That she is his choice, and no one, but no one, can speak contemptuously about his choice.

I think this is, firstly, because he does not want anyone, not even Maham, questioning his decisions or dictating to him. He had got to a stage when he would not take that even from his lifelong mentor Bairam Khan, what to say of a foster mother.

He has not sought her views on this matter, and he does not relish her unwanted advice, and such peremptory advice at that. In that sense, it was not just a reaction to her slighting Jodha, but to her slighting him as well by criticising his decision.

The other reason might be the various faux pas of Maham Anga herself. Her son has just mucked things up so badly in Malwa and she backed him. She has also, Jalal suspects even if he has no proof, been behind the murder of his Khan Baba. Each such incident eats away at Maham Anga's hold on Jalal, though she does not realise that as yet.

Finally, his pledge to Bharmal is that he would marry Jodha, and that, for a princess of this rank, implies the full status of an imperial begum. That is what he wants on his own as well, for though he is very eager to show her where she gets off, he does not want her humiliated by anyone except himself!

>> That's because of the possessiveness Jalal unknowingly formed for Jodha. This happens with us too, right!! We openly criticize our work place or relatives, but when an outsider pokes in, we turn defensive. At least, I do that when it comes to my organization. 😉

Why he does that is something he does not understand himself, at this point of time. We, of course, know better, do we not?

Duty: a commitment: To revert to the second stand out segment in Episode 32, I loved Jodha in the scene with her father. She had such a clear-eyed dutifulness and nobility about her, and this unmarred by any sanctimonious, tyaag ki murti airs and graces. She made it seem the most natural thing in the world for a daughter of Amer to do, and she let Bharmal off the hook very gracefully and without m-aking him feel the least bit ashamed or guilty.

Plus, she looked the best she has done so far.

This said, I think that it was very foolish of Bharmal to have gone along with Jodha's saying that she did not want to know whom she would be marrying. How could he have been sure, given her extreme hostility towards Jalal, that Jodha would not react very adversely in public, and make him lose face vis a vis the Mughals? Plus it was most unfair of them to let her face such a shock with zero advance warning, like throwing someone in at the deep end at a freezingly cold pool and expecting that person to cope.

>> To me, this entire drama of hide and seek seemed unnecessary Aunty. Bharmal should have included Jodha as well in the assembly and just narrated what happened between Jalal and he. Jodha, who had the courage to face Suryabhan's death, who's astute enough to impart sense into Bharmal and send for Sandhi would have definitely understood her father's plight. I wish they showed a brave Jodha battling with herself to accept reality than a dumb Jodha falling blind to all clues coming her way.

I actually had a totally different expectation and setting in mind about this marriage news revelation. Will share with you aunty, if you're interested!!

Anyways as I said above.. all this secrecy of groom seemed to me like fulfilling Jalal's wish of witnessing Jodha's reaction when she comes to know of her fiance.

As for us, let us remember the exact wording of the commitment that Jodha gives her father, for we will have reason to come back to it later. Bharmal asks her Kya tum Amer ki azaadi (not swatantrata? ) ke liye, uski sukh shanti ke liye, apna sukh dukh, apna bhala bura, sab kuch bhool sakti ho?

And Jodha, her whole face alight with the fervour of her words, says: Amer aur hamare bhaiyiyon ki suraksha ke liye aapne kisi ko vachan diya hai to har haal mein hum uska paalan karenge.. Agar Amer ki raksha ki keemat Jodha hai, to yeh samajhiye ki aapne wo keemat chuka di hai, Bapusa!

Now on to Episode 33.

Tangled skeins:Episode 33 was like a ball of wool with which a kitten has been having some fun, a mess of tangled skeins. One could not really disentangle any of them, but one learnt a good bit while trying to do so. Let us take them one by one, in no particular order.

It was exactly the same today. When he listens to the banjaras' ballad in praise of Jodha's manifold beauties - of face and figure, of her eyes, her lips, her hair, her gait - he goes back in time and sees her again as he had beheld her on the streets of Amer, and he smiles to himself involuntarily.

Raw possessiveness: But immediately, his raw possessiveness towards this girl who is soon to be his begum, his and his alone, rears its head like an angry, hissing cobra.

No one, but no one, can be permitted to hear this song and then imagine his Jodha as an object of desire. The cold menace in his eyes and voice as he warns the banjaras - after having rewarded them for this performance - against ever repeating it, is truly frightening, and those poor folk must not have stopped shivering for days!

>> Oh.. this came as a new angle to me Aunty. I thought he's only angry listening to the praises of his opponent. The angle of possessiveness didn't strike me here. 😆

There is also an extra layer to it.

In those days, royal women were not seen in public, so the common people would not have had any real idea of what Jodha looked like. If the song had been about her gunas, her qualities - her courage, her compassion for the weak, etc. - it would have been quite acceptable to Jalal. But this song (which would never have been sung that way in the real 16th century milieu) sounds like a description of a ganika, a courtesan, not of a rajkumari.

So, the Mughal courtiers might have been shocked (provided they understood the dialect!) and might have consequently looked down on Jodha. It is like a conservative family girl's photo in a bikini appearing in a magazine. What would their world think of the girl?

Now Jodha is Jalal's choice, and he cannot tolerate it that anyone, Mughal or other, should think contemptuously of his choice. So he does not want that risque song repeated.

Totally agree with you on rest of your take Aunty, be it on Shareefuddin, Mughal security, Bharmal or Mainavati. Most irritating dialog of the episode goes to Bharmal's "Niyati wala" one. How conveniently he justified his stupidity in name of fate!!

karkuzhali thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Dear Shyamala,
As usual an excellent analysis of excellent episodes.
But I think, when he says to MA that this is only another 'nikah', it is not actually he is indifferent towards Jodha, but having sensed (in the previous episode) MA's displeasure in bringing a Rajavanshi princess to the Moghul harem, he puts his words carefully so that he does not hurt his badiammi's feelings.
Again, I very much doubt how can Jodha, being a very shrewd and 'hoshiyar' girl, imagine that the Rajavanshi King she is to marry, will rescue her brothers from the hands of the moghuls. Does she think that he will wage a war against Jalal and win?Even after seeing her brothers' safe return in the later episode, she does not even show her surprise as to how this would have happened.
I searched for the reply also in the earlier posts when the episodes were first telecast but I could not find one.

Saraswathi.

Donjas thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: karkuzhali

Dear Shyamala,
As usual an excellent analysis of excellent episodes.
But I think, when he says to MA that this is only another 'nikah', it is not actually he is indifferent towards Jodha, but having sensed (in the previous episode) MA's displeasure in bringing a Rajavanshi princess to the Moghul harem, he puts his words carefully so that he does not hurt his badiammi's feelings.
Again, I very much doubt how can Jodha, being a very shrewd and 'hoshiyar' girl, imagine that the Rajavanshi King she is to marry, will rescue her brothers from the hands of the moghuls. Does she think that he will wage a war against Jalal and win?Even after seeing her brothers' safe return in the later episode, she does not even show her surprise as to how this would have happened.
I searched for the reply also in the earlier posts when the episodes were first telecast but I could not find one.

Saraswathi.

You have made a very interesting observation, why didn't Jodha suspect anything.

My answer would be, I believe she did but the possibility was too terrible to consider so her mind rejected it. It happens with us, when something is too awful to contemplate, then our mind goes into ostrich mode, we don't want to consider it.

Here, Jodha's mind would not consider the awful possibility that she is to be married off to a Mughal, instead her mind accepts up the less likely possibilty, that some Rajput King has helped in the payment of ransom, and it is this man she has to marry.
Donjas thumbnail

Originally posted by: alffim

Dear Shyamala Di!
I again, and will later on say thank you, that I can read your posts! It gives me great pleasure also because it helps to understand some things, because I - it's a different country, the mentality, history memory.
In the scene Bharmal-Jalal - certainly undoubted superiority Jalal and RT. :) The only thing I really liked the last gesture of the actor playing Bharmala: folded palms in namaste (I apologize if I write incorrectly), crosses his fingers and turns in a gesture of entreaty.
Bharmal reveals itself not only as a weak sovereign, a weak father and a weak man. You are very finely pointed it in the scene where Chugtay Khan talks about the bad intentions Sharifuddin towards Jodha. Sujamal acted as the real traitor (My opinion: The goal - does not justify the means), but the entire chain of misfortunes provoked Bharmal. After all, he could talk in advance with Sujamal about his decision to say that temporarily, that you're still young?
I used to think that such a horror Mainavati concerning Jodha marriage with Jalal, because they have polygamy, but in the book E. N. Uspenskaya "Rajputs Knights of medieval India" says that and of the Rajputs was polygamy.
I want somewhat quicker read your explanations to the scene greeting Meynavati Jalal and his very mocking view at the future mother in law.
I think that Jalal so busy waiting expectation of horror, a genuflection and subordinated condition Jodha, that he could not even think of that she can not obey.
At us speak about marriage: "stamp in the passport still does not solve anything" . 😛
I'll look forward to your next articles.

I look forward to your posts because they always have a unique insight. In this post you have raised an interesting point regarding polygamy.

Very true, polygamy was practiced in the Rajput community too, it was common both among the Hindus and Muslims. For example, Maharana Pratap had atleast 11 wives, his father Rana Amar Singh, had more than 20 wives. Same with Muslim rulers. But if someone makes an argument that a society falls because of polygamy, I will find it hard to believe. The logic simply is not there in this argument.

Regarding Jalal's interaction with Mainawati, I don't think he was mocking her, instead he was observing her carefully, noting her tears and dejected face. It gave an indication of what she thought of the marriage. Jalal has always liked to read people, it has helped him in dealing with them.

In this case with Mainawati, he observed her distraught face, and not once did he do anything to add to the misery. He dutifully followed all rituals.

Donjas thumbnail

Originally posted by: devkidmd

Jalal: Jalal has made one of his first independent decisions and is in no mood for any inputs from anyone.
He has seen in Amer that Jodha is used to the attention and importance. He has seen how confident she is. What could be more humiliating for such a person than to be treated as one of many? And of course that's what dear Jalal wants. He is mentally rubbing his hands in glee now that he gets to puncture Jodha's pride, confidence and guroor.
Maham Anga:Poor MA, the words of the hindu daasi are probably ringing in her ears.😆
Her face was really funny. It is as if she does not know what to think. She knows that she is not getting the complete story from Jalal but has to accept everything at face value. Her hesitant, confused smile...
Rukaiyya: She is in her happy la la bachpan ka dost land. And what could have she done anyway?
Maina: Aunty, woh bechahri poori tarah se toot chuki hai😭😭
By the by, Mrs Bennett is one of my all time favorite characters! She and Mr. Bennett were a Jodi made in heaven.😆
Bharmal: "square in body and face?"🤣
I think he is just so relieved to get out of this mess unscathed that he does not want anything to rock his boat.😡 Initially I think he genuinely wanted to tell Jodha but as time went by he started having second thoughts and used the excuse of sahi waqt.
Jodha's self delusion: This I think is akin to a wife who is the only one who does not know that her husband is having an affair with her best friend. She sees some signs but turns a deliberate blind eye.
I also think that Jodha is trying her best to reconcile to the fact that this marriage is what is going to protect Amer from calamity. She probably does not want to know too much. What if her prospective groom is old and wobbly or ugly as hell?
She is probably better off not knowing about him is what she thinks. Of course that he is not a Rajput but a Mughal is not something that can occur to her even in her worst nightmare.
Dadisa: She is simply ADORABLE. Wish I could give her a big smacking kiss on that ample cheek. She is too cute.
Thanks for this lovely analysis. Till next time!
Devki

You explained it perfectly. That extramarital logic is the rationale for Jodha's self delusion.
karkuzhali thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Donjas,

Nowhere has Sheriffuddin stated that he would release the Rajput princes for a ransom. He demands the ransom only for keeping them alive.
I am sure that Jodha must also be aware of it. So the question of her imagining some King meeting the demand of Sheriffuddin , according to me, does not fit.

Saraswathi.
Kalgi22 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 3
Again a wonderful analysis Aunty! Like feast after fasting, totally loved it❤️ although the wonderful moments yet to come The domination, Possessiveness and his eagerness in taming the tigress that he has ever met.. What to say?? he's the performer after all😳 and Poor Jodha... didn't gain a single trustworthy confidential person in Amer up to this age instead gained some Banjaras who's singing about her beauty. But still she's our fiery yet intelligent Princess who we cared for😆

This time I'm going Blue Aunty... Some comments below😆

Jalal seeks to dominate everyone around him , be it his Badiammi, or his prospective begum Jodha, and to make it clear to them that his will has to prevail under any and all circumstances. Jodha is above all dutiful, to Amer and to her father, again under any and all circumstances.
You've very well summarized entire episode in beautiful paragraph👏

Then she puts the cap on things by suggesting that he might like to keep Jodha in the harem as adaasi. I loved the level, freezing cold look he gave Maham Anga then for her impertinent suggestion, and the way he held it till well after she had lowered her eyes. If one has such an air of command, one does not need to raise one's voice at all.

Excellent ! Both Rajat performance and Your writing👍🏼

Still, he does not let even his Badiammi speak disparagingly of Jodha, which means something. That she is his choice, and no one, but no one, can speak contemptuously about his choice.

Woah! That's the truth👏

That is what he wants on his own as well, for though he is very eager to show her where she gets off, he does not want her humiliated by anyone except himself!

Why he does that is something he does not understand himself, at this point of time. We, of course, know better, do we not?

Well said!😊 and you've very well described about his raw possessiveness towards Jodha

The Amer Ministers, who seem to competing among themselves for the first prize for stupidity, suggesting that their King palm Jalal off with Motibai instead of Jodha. I was in stitches imagining Jalal's face when he raises the ghunghat !

OMG!🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

It's true that Dadissa is the heroine of the day and a starer with clear view⭐️ But this Rajput queen Mainavathi.. Uff a water-tank 😡 and a King who is square of both face and body🤣

I will not even mention Mynavati, for she is OTT nonstop. 😡
🤣 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Husband and wife look so appallingly guilty that a half blind man could have spotted it from a hundred yards away. But not apni Jodha, of course!😉

Yeah our fiery and intelligent Rajkumari, of course 🤣

So en avant, folks, to the Shahi Shaadi of this incredibly glamorous couple!

Uff.. we're waiting
Edited by Kalgi22 - 9 years ago
Donjas thumbnail

Originally posted by: karkuzhali

Donjas,

Nowhere has Sheriffuddin stated that he would release the Rajput princes for a ransom. He demands the ransom only for keeping them alive.
I am sure that Jodha must also be aware of it. So the question of her imagining some King meeting the demand of Sheriffuddin , according to me, does not fit.

Saraswathi.

Another very intelligent observation. My argument would be, everyone has a price. Jodha knows the price paid for safe return of her brothers is very high. She assumes that price paid to the Mughals by the King she was going to marry was sufficiently high, that they changed their stance regarding prisoners and released them.

Of course this theory has loopholes, but then she was not thinking straight, the ostrich effect.