ghalibmirza thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: adiana12

Unfortunately the definition of Love today is defined by the tangible physical and hence the polygamous set up becomes a paradox - whereas Love in its purest form is intangible and about souls where gender is irrelevant - one of the most beautiful love story is that of Rumi and Shams and another is that of Nizamuddin Auliya and Amir Khusrau - and to write such a love story that is not confined by societal norms of gender, class, religion, caste requires a deep understanding of Love - even the JA love story defies norms and so do that of Salim Anarkali and Salim Noorjehan - but unfortunately no writer has been able to do justice to any of these except K. Asif in MEA - perhaps becoz Asif really did have that deep understanding of Love.

adi, MEA was a classic love story in true sense and we all were expecting something in similar lines but after watching salim's entry my hopes went down the drain..i thought if he is going to act as salim then no love story nor any kali will work...doesn't matter if she is a dancer or hair dresser jab aankhon se pyaar ki jagah clueless lost expressions honge to kya diya jalega!
myviewprem thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: Charu.S

Well said@myviewprem.

Nothing about the Salim Anarkali story has been properly presented. We all know that a love triangle is fast approaching. Man Bai and Anarkali are friends. One will be married to Salim, and the other one will be his lover. There will be plenty of rona dhona, 21st century style, EK serial types, set in ND Studios, Karjat .I wonder where Jagat Gosain fits in this mess. I'm curious to see what role Akbar and Jodha will have to play in Salim's romantic saga.

I will not be surprised if EK takes another leap soon.

The storyline cannot get any worse than this.

If man bai marries salim and then salim loves anarkali then he shall become a villan as he already has a wife and is still fighting parents and society for a commoner and akbra shall become proved right in stopping salim because Akbar is only saving man bai marriage is it not?
myviewprem thumbnail

Originally posted by: sashashyam

My dear,

What can I say when you have said it all? Except that all your detailed and impeccable logic is hardly relevant in this theatre of the absurd. The whole Salim-Anarkali track is so ludicrous that it defies any critique, for how low can one go in the rating?😡

It is not just this substandard Salim and this dismal Anarkali. It is even Jalal. Not only does he attend this wedding in a kabila, but last night he babbles idiotically to the enraged father of the bride that Salim was part of the raiding party. Now where was the necessity for that? He need not have lied, he could simply have kept quiet. And what did he think the reaction to his revelation would be?

Then he babbles more to Bhagwan Das that his bachcha can never do anything wrong, so there has to be a reason for his shenanigans. Undoubtedly because he is the son of Jodha Begum, who too can do no wrong!😉

Shyamala B.Cowsi

Jalal's character leaves a lot to be desired except for fist 4 months of the serial
Many times he does or acts so confusing in situations that I think majority men in 21st century shall not do like that in same situation
A strong, powerful, benevolent and street smart emperor who evoked respect is totally missing in this jalal. I only consider him as a 21st century guy in 16th century set up because his reactions many time defy logic like the example you gave. Jalal comes up like a spineless man who cannot handle his own wives or get them to listen to him or respect him be it Ruqaiah or Jodha
Another example is emperor saying his son he will help him in his love because his lady love hates him what a joke 21st century majority fathers will not do that atleast first time they hear they shall be shocked and annoyed a bit
Salim is another irritant that word but which prince in 16th century even if drunk tell his dad he loves a girl with peacock mang tikka or which son will fight with his mom in front of soldiers and maids even if he is angry and bitter. He loves his brothers and haider who made fun of him in childhood, who cheated and misguided him and ensured Akbar scolded him etc but cannot forget mom-dad mstakes why? OK may be his expectation from his parents was very high but still holding on to that anger for 7 years is a bit too much. Kids forgive and forget easily not like adults usually who wait and plot revenges.
Edited by myviewprem - 10 years ago
myviewprem thumbnail

Originally posted by: ghalibmirza

prem what can i say?..i just finished watching the show..and here was my reaction..

-first of all such a boring substandard acting by salim who has his eyes wide open and completely expressionless..one cannot make out what he is trying to convey???..i as a viewer am left clueless with his half baked expressions and on top of that he conquers most of the screen space..how much can i ff and ignore him!

-anarkali..the actress is prettier and better actress than salim, but what repetitive dialogues she is getting and why she has zillion friends..right from royals to kabila waasis..i did not know that her hair dressing business is so popular !..now where is the dancer anarkali whom MEA salim fell in love..and what an actor dilip sahib was!

-now poor akbar..bas yehi kaam reh gaya hai to whitewash the sins of his own people and to attend kabila weddings..now who is taking care of the sultanat in agra???...and yes shyamala i agree why he had to say salim did it..all i can say is that the script and direction at its worst!!!!

Yes salim is not good at love expressions and dialogue delivery though he shows anger better(his voice modulation in anger and commands need immediate improvement) but he is good at fights and horse ridding. But the royal gait and air of superiority is missing in him (like Dilip kumar in MEA)
Add to that anarkali is no great beauty that a crown prince will be ready to give up his inheritance and take on the entire Mughal empire in love.
myviewprem thumbnail

salim loved all his 20 wives, do not know why ekta is showing all his love focussed on the hair dresser anar ki kali

Majority of his 20 wives(except a sahib jamal and nur jahan) were his cousin sisters too
Even if you did not love them as soul mates and lover you will love them as friends,family and cousins as they are related to you, your mom, your dad and you know them from childhood
One of my neighbour was forced to marry a cousin against wishes leaving the lover but as much as the anger is there on forceful marriage its never directed towards the cousin and some sort of bond and friendship always there.
As a matter of fact Salim knows his cousins have no choice in marriage just like him majority times. Every marriage he cannot do an elan e jung on parents can he and girls have it worst. If prince has no say in marriage how can princesses in those times. Its all to develop loyalty and family bonds and political gains that marriages in royals/nobels etc happened who gave a damn if boy and girl liked or did not like etc in those times
Do you assume that like 21st century Jodha will come and say here photo of 4 cousins whom you like best? 🤣 even in many indian households(in big cities forget villages) that does not happen till today they just fix and say this is girl marry her. So for Salim it must have been that his mom must have said your wedding is fixed next month to man bai be ready matter over he cannot say yes or no etc 😆 this is 16th century folks if 21st century majority in india have no say in their marriage how can salim or man bai or jagat Gosain etc
But by reading akbarnama we know salim was crazy after sahib jamal and pesterd Akbar to marry her till he relented unwillingly. Apart from this marriage which other marriage did he pester his parents for almost none. If Salim ever married on his free will it was a sahib jamal and nur jahan none else so these two wives he loved. Apart from these two man bai and jagat Gosain were his first cousins and childhood friends and almost his own age so he bonded with them after marriage.
ghalibmirza thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4
prem even i did not get the photu part😆..what was all that about..i think salim himself wanted to marry maan bai as they had liking towards each other and if akbar said he will then he had to and no asking or showing photu nonsense!
myviewprem thumbnail

prem even i did not get the photu part😆..what was all that about..i think salim himself wanted to marry maan bai as they had liking towards each other and if akbar said he will then he had to and no asking or showing photu nonsense!

no man bai marriage was fixed by Jodha his mom nowhere it says he asked for wedding that is all myth may be in some novel. same for majority marriages fixed by mom or dad for political gains etc it was never that salim liked or could like
that time strict ghunghat and pardah was maintained and boys and girls could not mingle or see faces even if they are cousins. A girls face in life was seen by her father, brother, husband and son no one else they could be killed for showing or seeing faces. I have read books on culture specially Mughal culture at that time. It was very strict like Taliban types men can be killed for seeing face of non related girl even a royal man. Wars would take place if man dared see face of a royal girl bet kingdoms. So salim seeing his cousins face before marriage is a big joke thrown on us by the modern novelists.
Boys and girls could mingle together very rarely even in childhood till age of 8 or 10 years only. Majority girls would be married off by 8-12 years despite Akbar's law of 14 years(in 19th century ghandiji married at 13 years so imagine 16th century and think realistic) and even boys max by 14-15. That is also because life span in those days was average 35-40 years so by 32-35 years a person should be a grandparents(exception there). If a girl was not married by 13 it was a bane to family(like modern times girl marry by 30 years).
So its most probable if Man Bai and jagat met Salim it was when they all were less than 8-10 years old not after that. And forget seeing photo and picture of bride or groom, they will see each other face only after marriage on first night not before that even a crown prince or princess or cousins. That is why mean bazaar was such a hit with boys and men of royal family that was one day they could see girls face 😉 and many love stories started there for royal men.
Imagine a boy after 13 cannot stay with mom and sisters in harem and moves to mens zenana. So how strict is is with non related girls or cousins etc.
cuty1997 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: myviewprem

no man bai marriage was fixed by Jodha his mom nowhere it says he asked for wedding that is all myth may be in some novel. same for majority marriages fixed by mom or dad for political gains etc it was never that salim liked or could like
that time strict ghunghat and pardah was maintained and boys and girls could not mingle or see faces even if they are cousins. A girls face in life was seen by her father, brother, husband and son no one else they could be killed for showing or seeing faces. I have read books on culture specially Mughal culture at that time. It was very strict like Taliban types men can be killed for seeing face of non related girl even a royal man. Wars would take place if man dared see face of a royal girl bet kingdoms. So salim seeing his cousins face before marriage is a big joke thrown on us by the modern novelists.
Boys and girls could mingle together very rarely even in childhood till age of 8 or 10 years only. Majority girls would be married off by 8-12 years despite Akbar's law of 14 years(in 19th century ghandiji married at 13 years so imagine 16th century and think realistic) and even boys max by 14-15. That is also because life span in those days was average 35-40 years so by 32-35 years a person should be a grandparents(exception there). If a girl was not married by 13 it was a bane to family(like modern times girl marry by 30 years).
So its most probable if Man Bai and jagat met Salim it was when they all were less than 8-10 years old not after that. And forget seeing photo and picture of bride or groom, they will see each other face only after marriage on first night not before that even a crown prince or princess or cousins. That is why mean bazaar was such a hit with boys and men of royal family that was one day they could see girls face 😉 and many love stories started there for royal men.
Imagine a boy after 13 cannot stay with mom and sisters in harem and moves to mens zenana. So how strict is is with non related girls or cousins etc.

actually prem sailm is lover boy types. when i learnt literature in school time my professor told salim love jagat for some time. after so many girls are coming in his life. his last love is noor.
history_geek thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: myviewprem

Majority of his 20 wives(except a sahib jamal and nur jahan) were his cousin sisters too
Even if you did not love them as soul mates and lover you will love them as friends,family and cousins as they are related to you, your mom, your dad and you know them from childhood
One of my neighbour was forced to marry a cousin against wishes leaving the lover but as much as the anger is there on forceful marriage its never directed towards the cousin and some sort of bond and friendship always there.
As a matter of fact Salim knows his cousins have no choice in marriage just like him majority times. Every marriage he cannot do an elan e jung on parents can he and girls have it worst. If prince has no say in marriage how can princesses in those times. Its all to develop loyalty and family bonds and political gains that marriages in royals/nobels etc happened who gave a damn if boy and girl liked or did not like etc in those times
Do you assume that like 21st century Jodha will come and say here photo of 4 cousins whom you like best? 🤣 even in many indian households(in big cities forget villages) that does not happen till today they just fix and say this is girl marry her. So for Salim it must have been that his mom must have said your wedding is fixed next month to man bai be ready matter over he cannot say yes or no etc 😆 this is 16th century folks if 21st century majority in india have no say in their marriage how can salim or man bai or jagat Gosain etc
But by reading akbarnama we know salim was crazy after sahib jamal and pesterd Akbar to marry her till he relented unwillingly. Apart from this marriage which other marriage did he pester his parents for almost none. If Salim ever married on his free will it was a sahib jamal and nur jahan none else so these two wives he loved. Apart from these two man bai and jagat Gosain were his first cousins and childhood friends and almost his own age so he bonded with them after marriage.

Hi Prem,

@bold...
Where can i find this & read it .?.

I requested / asked a similar question on your last thread also, waited for a reply.
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/post/117884863

Same here.^^^
It is not given in the said book^^^ , that Salim pestered Akbar to marry Sahib Jamal.
I hope i did not miss any thing there.

myviewprem thumbnail

Originally posted by: history_geek

Hi Prem,

@bold...
Where can i find this & read it .?.

I requested / asked a similar question on your last thread also, waited for a reply.
https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/post/117884863

Same here.^^^
It is not given in the said book^^^ , that Salim pestered Akbar to marry Sahib Jamal.
I hope i did not miss any thing there.

Which other thread did you post msg I did not come across actually?
I am sure it was akbarnama it said salim was violently enamoured by Zain koka's neice and HH gave his permission you can search for that in the book
In another historical book that I read in library it said that salim waited almost an year before getting approval. It said Akbar was not in favour of salim marrying any non royal girl neither he wanted marriages of close relations like man bai's neice. I cannot remember authors as I read it a couple of years back you can check library for an indian author