fragrance18 thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail

Originally posted by: lashy

Bearing a child from his chief queen would have been the preference of any king - since that makes the child the indisputable heir to the Empire...plus, Ruqaiyya is his favourite queen...it is all play of politics...being the Queen mother permanently seals her position as powerful and I'm sure Jalal wanted her to enjoy that too...

Yes, as Ruqaiya was his fav Queen, then its usual for him to be happier but again, even Ruqaiya could bear a child later also.An abortion was not an end. And getting a heir to the throne from Ruqaiya, was never in his own hand as it could be a girl child.
I just think that when the wife was already grieving, crying badly, then the husband,Akbar must have shown greater strength and consoled her of not losing hope, besides showing his fury over those responsible for the crime. He must have shown the inner strength of his character handling even a personal matter in court with more calm.

And yes when Bairam was dead, Akbar was not shown to be this dreadfully angry, when he came to know that this was too a planned murder, even though he had spent his whole life till then with him. And in the case of this unborn foetus( not child as that's called only after birth), he is soo much in rage that he doesn't allow anybody to speak even. I think Akbar's character must have shown to have greater depth that an emperor should have. Remember, Bharmal or Jodha, how they acted with patience and wisdom even after seeing the throttled head of their would be son in law.Here, the father has overpowered the emperor. I hope, the upcoming episodes show a more patient Akbar...as like before.
ginco thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Dear Aunty,

After watching today's episode , i was thinking tht about how u would be feeling. When it happened with me the first time ( the prediction gone wrong) , it felt like the being landed straight face on ice floor after being tripped,😉. but here , u seemed to have graciously taken this well, very well n infact made a point to mention it ... n u really call yourself heartless n a cynic ?

i felt tht this episode was more or less reassuring kinds or lets say tht all the suspects were playing passing the buck just to build up the suspense.

Mostly , rajat was the only one displaying his acting skills through out n yes MA too... She does explain herself n tht too curiously , which made me believe tht her BFF Resham actually does not know anything about the fiasco , even if MA has dun it.

For jodha , she , i felt was confused n not shocked .She did not even seem fearful ,atleast for the fate of her brothers while she was eyeing jalal through tht veil of hers in the court. And yes one thing tht i noticed tht when hamida banu was narrating the mirch incident , jodha seemed surprised , as if she had not yet understood tht someone was trying to frame her . I really felt tht hamida banu should hand her a mughal book of treachery n deceits rule/guide book. Is jodha too naive to understand all the saazish tht goes around there ?

Also, i noticed MA got a lil consious when hamida informed everyone in the court about the mirchi incident , shouldn't jalal or for tht matter any of the ministers raise a question tht why does this happen only in her supervision ? . I felt may be she (MA) would have gotten a lil conscious n would now due to fear of investigation look for a scapegoat , for i believe she is the culprit.

Today C.V's took yet another route , though not an interesting one as i firmly agree with your point tht by the end of this track jodha would have a valid reason to hate jalal, all the more . they have managed to take ten step backwards as far as the love story is concerned .But how would the culmination of this track lead to a soft corner for jodha in jalal's heart ( in the sense , watever he had started feeling for jodha , would those feeling start flowing again just like they vanished ) is wat i fail to understand.

Cheers
Kashi

PS:- After today's episode my mantra is :=

Dhoodh ka jala ( many times in my case) ,chaanchh bhi phook phook ke peta hai 😕

Edited by ginco - 12 years ago
elasingh thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2
I had written in ur earlier post that Ruku seems more interested in getting revenge from Jodha...I think she never was pregnant in the first place...She is an insecure wife who became even more insecure when she heard Pir baba's bhavshyavani...Hence the saazish...
My view is this...
But I could be wrong...😆
Edited by elasingh - 12 years ago
SonyaBlade thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 2
Hi Shyamala Aunty,

This has been a busy month so I haven't posted nearly as much as I would have liked to to your wonderfully delicious threads...however I'm here today...

1) Loved everything you wrote about MA. Wow...I was also pleasantly surprised at the depth of emotion that we saw from her for Jalal's unborn child...but what gets me is why was everyone celebrating something that was only a few months past...I mean its not uncommon for a woman to have a miscarriage...at least wait until the danger period is over. I thought the entire business of having a Jushan right away to be just crazy...and that someone needed to mentally shake our grand Shenshah to say...wait wait wait...anything can happen right now. just take a step back for a moment...

2) He sought Jodha out when she gave her gift...he knows that all of the gifts were tested before they were presented to Ruqaiya...he himself sought out the explanation from Jodha which she gave whole heartedly...and honors her in front of everyone. I find it useless for him to be so blinded by this rage to not realize even after his mother had said...that when was it possible for Jodha to have mixed the poison into the Kesar, after it was tested...that's the crux of the issue.

By it being the Kesar should not in and of itself be the sole reason for why he is suspecting Jodha. That doesn't make any sense...and so I find Jalal's anger and justice with Jodha and her family to be completely irrational, stupid and utterly shows that he is an illiterate ________...(ummm I won't fill in the blank) ;

you know when he said in one of the episodes, maybe that is the difference between an educated man and an illiterate one...

Well that line came to mind for me in today's episode...I was just thinking...Jalal you are showing your side that is unsophisticated, uneducated and completely blinded by your emotions...and yet this is the same man who preaches over and over again that he has no heart...(except for a child)...

So when it comes to Jodha...your last line 'wake up and smell the coffee'...I think you are being harsh on the wrong person.

The one who needs to wake up is not Jodha...it is Jalal. The way he treated her in her bedroom,...just rushing in without weighing the evidence, without thinking of the situation...is this the same man who said 'that he investigates matters, especially when they involve a WOMAN'' I just can't believe how he is behaving with his own WIFE...

What can Jodha do right now...he has put her in a situation which she has almost no way of getting out of...(of course hte writers will invent something good for us) but really...its just as Jodha said...people are punished in this realm without being able to prove their innocence...and its ALL CIRCUMSTANTIAL evidence...this evidence that he says proves without any doubt for him that Jodha and her brothers are guilty is just plain irrational.. I'm appalled that his sense of Justice...which is apparently second to none...and remember him saying 'I would rather 1000 people walk away free, rather than one innocent be punished...' Where is all of this now...

I'm appalled and Jalal IMO is the one that needs to be reminded of his own policies and his own standards and wake up and smell the coffee...

Until next time Aunty...

Sonya

redeye2012 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
sashashyam:

Extremely nice write-up!

The wooden statues did take that Oscar Statue of Best Acting in the end! 😊

Edited by redeye2012 - 12 years ago
sashashyam thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
So, Ela dear, could we all, all be wrong, starting with yours truly, as was resoundingly demonstrated yesterday!😉

Shyamala

Originally posted by: elasingh

I had written in ur earlier post that Ruku seems more interested in getting revenge from Jodha...I think she never was pregnant in the first place...She is an insecure wife who became even more insecure when she heard Pir baba's bhavshyavani...Hence the saazish...

My view is this...
But I could be wrong...😆

sashashyam thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
Dear Kesha,

I am rather tired, sitting up last night to do this was a mistake wrt my eyes, so no more late nights for me.

As for your comments, @blue is very true as regards Jodha's lack of savvy and imagination, but do not underestimate Rajput abilities in the plotting, scheming and treachery department. See Maharana Pratap, where the third queen is plotting to kill the heir to the throne so as to pave the way for her now baby son to ascend to the gaddi in due course. Then there is of course the classic example of Raja Jaichand, who invited Mohammed Ghori back to India to defeat his own son in law Prithviraj Chauhan.

This sort of plotting and scheming is also part of every saas bahu serial and is nothing special to the Mughals. And look at the loyalty that Mahaam Anga, otherwise a heartless witch, has for Jalal. The queen in Maharana Pratap is plotting to kill the very boy who idolises his Chotimaasa.

The Central Asian invaders like Ghori and Ghazni were definitely far more brutal thant the Rajputs, but the latter were no slouches when it came to plotting and treachery, often against their own kind.

As forJodha-Jalal, the real change is not in her hating Jalal more for this latest crisis or not - though in a Rajput court too she would have been the accused and would have been similarly condemned on the very strong evidence - but of his hating her with a blind ferocity now, That is new.

Shyamala Aunty

PS: Why on earth should one get so upset if one's guess proved wrong? It is all part of the fun!

Originally posted by: ginco

Dear Aunty,

After watching today's episode , i was thinking tht about how u would be feeling. When it happened with me the first time ( the prediction gone wrong) , it felt like the being landed straight face on ice floor after being tripped,😉. but here , u seemed to have graciously taken this well, very well n infact made a point to mention it ... n u really call yourself heartless n a cynic ?

i felt tht this episode was more or less reassuring kinds or lets say tht all the suspects were playing passing the buck just to build up the suspense.

Mostly , rajat was the only one displaying his acting skills through out n yes MA too... She does explain herself n tht too curiously , which made me believe tht her BFF Resham actually does not know anything about the fiasco , even if MA has dun it.

For jodha , she , i felt was confused n not shocked .She did not even seem fearful ,atleast for the fate of her brothers while she was eyeing jalal through tht veil of hers in the court. And yes one thing tht i noticed tht when hamida banu was narrating the mirch incident , jodha seemed surprised , as if she had not yet understood tht someone was trying to frame her . I really felt tht hamida banu should hand her a mughal book of treachery n deceits rule/guide book. Is jodha too naive to understand all the saazish tht goes around there ?

Also, i noticed MA got a lil consious when hamida informed everyone in the court about the mirchi incident , shouldn't jalal or for tht matter any of the ministers raise a question tht why does this happen only in her supervision ? . I felt may be she (MA) would have gotten a lil conscious n would now due to fear of investigation look for a scapegoat , for i believe she is the culprit.

Today C.V's took yet another route , though not an interesting one as i firmly agree with your point tht by the end of this track jodha would have a valid reason to hate jalal, all the more . they have managed to take ten step backwards as far as the love story is concerned .But how would the culmination of this track lead to a soft corner for jodha in jalal's heart ( in the sense , watever he had started feeling for jodha , would those feeling start flowing again just like they vanished ) is wat i fail to understand.

Cheers
Kashi

PS:- After today's episode my mantra is :=

Dhoodh ka jala ( many times in my case) ,chaanchh bhi phook phook ke peta hai 😕

soapwatcher1 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
Dear Shyamala, a masterpiece as always. 👏
But I was not disappointed by Mann Singh, what could a mere child do? He spoke up bravely in spite of the Emperor's wrath, stated what his own father and kin couldn't, that the Rajputs could never be treacherous AND he walked up to his father and stood beside him assuming guilt and accepting all resultant punishment. Beyond brave especially at that tender an age.

Yes, I was disappointed, disappointed with Jalal. It is a personal battle that rages within him, his inability so far to have an heir. That is why when he was told Ruqayya was pregnant with child, he was jubilant, he had overcome a personal failure, the failure to father a child. What use of queens and a harem if the Emperor, THE Man among men could not have a child? Yes, this is the reason for his unspeakable and inexplainable joy and also the reason for his current rage. But, more than that emotion of personal failure and loss, he is an Emperor, and it is his duty to mete out justice and not lash out punishment in a frenzy. As the Shehenshah, he has to rise above personal loss which he did not today.

Jodha was tongue-tied in the face of his white hot fury and I for one was aghast at the cruelty of this man. How she can fall in love with him is yet to be seen. Ruquaaya looked and acted well today, felt badly for the Empress who had pinned her hopes on this unborn child that she had wanted to gift her shauhar, her cousin, friend, and confidante.
Maham looked appropriately guilty at the mention of the mirchi incident. My bet is on Adham, he is the one responsible for Jodha's plight. Maybe he will be outed and killed soon but that will put an end to Maham Anga (history says she died a few days after her son was thrown twice from the fort and killed) and that just wouldn't happen in this soap. So let us wait to see what transpires.
In the meantime, hope to read more pearls of wisdom from your erstwhile pen.
soapwatcher1 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Originally posted by: elasingh

My view is this...
But I could be wrong...😆

I kinda believe this too. Ruq's pregnancy news came too quickly on the heels of Sishti's baby prediction.

Shyamala, the miscarriage scene could have been rigged but Ruq's genuine grief threw me off.
Edited by soapwatcher1 - 12 years ago
skanda12 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
Shyamala:
What can I say? One more week of this suspense will surely kill me a thousand times?
The thing is "EVERYBODY's" demeanour is casting shadows on them for me, and that includes Maham, Adham, Sharifuddin, that extra lady in the courtyard (who is apparently another Badi Ammi of Jalal who surfaced two days ago and he admitted to her that she had also nursed him with her milk when he was a baby). (By the way who is she and why did she suddenly come into the story two days ago and why was she given prominence in the Tuesday episode as she talks to a fat courtier.)
I suspect also that it could be a random begum from the harem, pissed with Ruqaiya ... maybe in the end it will be none of the usual suspects, and it will be a random disgruntled harem inmate?
And hear this, last night I was tossing and turning also suspecting Ruqaiya ... what if she had in cahoots with the midwife faked this whole pregnancy? Then it would have been nothing bigger if she had also faked the miscarriage and the kesar story and thus implicated Jodha? Would she have taken this big a risk based on her ability to pull off a fake of this dimension? Did she have a motive: Yes, could be especially after Jalal started in her presence saying Jodha was a fine swordswoman and a major "good at everything" girl ... and in her presence Jalal also said "Dil se jeetna hai ya dimaag se" ... and Jodha trounced her at chess ... and to make things worse, the Pirbaba prophesied that Jodha would produce the waaris soon ...
Would Ruq have the motive and the means to do it if she wanted to? Yes, probably yes? Were her tears for the loss of her baby real? Who knows ... was she really after the marium title, or the baby, or was she really rather more against Jodha?
Would Maham, Adham and Sharif have done it? All had two sets of motives - one against Jalal/waaris and another against Jodha ... so why not?
So here I am in knots. If I discount everybody's anger, facial expressions and tears etc. and look purely at means and motives, I am unable to discount anyone, not even Ruqaiyya.
So unless you all wish to see me in Ward 207 of the local mental hospital soon, someone, please tell me WHO DUN IT!
Waise, one forum member has posted a spoiler today that Bharmal and Mainavati will today arrive, pacify Jalal and enter into an agreement whereby eventually there may be a small war and the real culprit found. Could that be the reason for a picture suddenly surfacing two days ago on some FB page where all the Amer Brothers, including Mansingh, were in helmets and armoury?
If this spoiler is true trust Bharmal to come up with such a strategy - could that mean he knows the criminal needs to be "won at war"? Could the reason for the precap showing Jodha's brothers freed but still at the mercy of Jalal's anger be because the war strategy has now been accepted as the way forward?
Oh God, more knots!
Edited by skanda12 - 12 years ago