It was late afternoon when they had reached NK's house. His villa was located in one of the posh areas of Sydney near the beachside, with private access to it.
NK-"Welcome, everyone to my home, especially Khushi and Payal who are coming here for the first time. I hope you have a wonderful stay here." He ordered the servants to take inside all their luggage.
Khushi-" Wow Nanheji, It's a really beautiful house. But do you stay all by yourself in such a big house?" She was curious as she couldn't see anyone else other than the servants.
NK-"Actually my parents are gone on a business trip. They will be back soon. Until then, it's just us at home. We can have loads of unsupervised fun." He winked at Khushi, who was really amused at this idea as she always dreamt of having fun back home without her annoying Buaji disturbing her from time to time.
Well, Arnav seemed quite unhappy with their conversation. He had never trusted NK and his childish antics. Nevertheless, what more could be expected from these juveniles, he thought to himself.
NK took Khushi and went around to show her the house. It was a double floored Mediterranean styled villa with the back doors leading to the beach.
Khushi-" Nanheji, Can I please stay in this room? It has a wonderful view of the beach. I really love it." She went outside the balcony to inhale the fresh breeze blowing on her face. The waves were rolling with full speed towards the shore. She could see few residents sunbathing, kids running around, playing with ball or building sand castles. The scene before her eyes was truly mesmerising.
NK-"Actually Naanav always prefers to stay in this room. He doesn't let anyone take it. You could take the adjacent one. It also has a similar view."
Arnav-" She can stay here if she wants to. I'll go to the next room." He had secretly arrived behind them causing NK to be startled by his voice. NK couldn't believe his ears, that Arnav was willing to give away his favourite room, this room which he has always fought for with Akash and Anjali, to Khushi.
Khushi-"No, I'll stay in the next room." She replied gazing into Arnav's eyes and went to the next room. Arnav himself was startled by the words that came from his mouth. Was he going to give up something that he liked just for her?
All of them settled into the respective rooms and freshened themselves for the evening, after a long and tiresome journey. Later in the evening, they had decided to go for shopping. Arnav had arranged with the fashion designers from Paris to select Akash's outfit for reception. Akash was busy trying out various suits and shirts and the ladies were eagerly waiting outside to approve it.
Anjali-"Chote, NK. I think both of you should also try out these suits. I know Chote won't agree to this but Akash and NK can have a face off on who looks more dashing in these suits. We can have a mini fashion show here." She and the girls giggled at her idea.
Arnav-"Thank you so much Di, for not involving me in this stupid idea. I will go and select my own clothes. I don't need anyone's approval." He had declared and gone into the trial room to try out the suits. While changing inside, he could hear Khushi praising how stunning NK looked in his outfit and everyone going gaga over Akash and NK.
He looked into the mirror to check himself out. He had selected black suit with black shirt and a white tie. He looked perfect according to him. But he suddenly felt the need to be approved. Approved by Khushi. His heart couldn't accept it that outside Khushi was busy approving NK's outfit and not his. What was happening to him? Why did he suddenly feel the need to be approved by Khushi?
He went outside where the others were waiting and silently went and stood behind NK, who was busy flaunting his new look. His eyes involuntarily went to Khushi's and as if they had all this time been waiting for him, she looked at him. He could see her admiring him, lost into his eyes, ignoring what NK was saying to her. He had wanted to ask aloud how he looked but couldn't after openly denying their approval before. Somewhere he sensed that she didn't like it, and so he went to pick another shirt.
Everytime he tried on a shirt, he would come out and search for approval in her eyes. She hadn't failed to notice him every single time. He had tried over five shirts, but still he hadn't seen that 'yes' in her eyes. The sixth time he went out, he noticed she wasn't in her usual place. He tried searching for her in vain. Unsuccessful, he went towards the displayed shirts, only to find her standing, holding a baby blue coloured striped shirt. She slowly handed it over to him, and went back to her place before anyone could notice her absence.
When he wore the shirt and came out, he could clearly see approval in her gleaming eyes. A faint smile appeared on her face and this made his heart leap out with joy. Never had he felt so much happiness by someone's approval. He would definitely buy that shirt, he had decided.
Later that night, when he was lying on the bed, he couldn't stop thinking about Khushi. He remembered the day, Khushi had worn the red Lehenga during Lavanya's engagement shopping. That day, she had looked into his eyes, maybe wanting an approval from him. But all he had managed to do was mock her about her status. He felt really bad.
Unable to sleep, he went outside to the balcony, shared with the adjacent Khushi's room. Stepping out into the cold night, he was surprised to see Khushi quietly standing outside, gazing into the starry night. She must have been talking to her parents, he thought.
Khushi-"Amma, he's a good hearted person, but he doesn't believe in it. Devi Maiyya, I'm sorry for thinking so many bad things about him." That was all, Arnav had managed to hear from her conversation with her mother. The wind was colder now, and he could see Khushi rubbing her arms for warmth. He stealthily went and stood behind her, removed his hoodie that he was wearing to reveal only a white vest covering his body and wrapped it around Khushi's shoulders.
She was surprised to find herself suddenly warm and turned around to find a vest clad Arnav gazing her. She felt the ground beneath her slipping as she was awestruck at his physique. He had the perfect biceps and perfectly chiselled chest and abs whose outline was visible in the tightly clung vest. His eyes were only adding fuel to the already ignited fire in her heart. She was lost in his beauty when she suddenly came back to her senses before he could notice it.
Khushi-"What are you doing here? Didn't you fall asleep?" She had asked him with a puzzled look on her face.
Arnav-" I must be asking the same question to you. Don't you remember we have a long day ahead tomorrow. Now if you are done talking with your parents, go back to bed." He had pushed her back into her room despite her protests. She suddenly turned around to face him and gently cupped his right cheek with her hand.
Khushi-" I know something is disturbing you. Don't worry. Everything will be fine. Now you too go and sleep." She had turned around and shut the glass doors and went and lay down on her bed. She felt warm and nice in his hoodie and decided to wear it while sleeping. She could smell his cologne, but most of all she could smell him, his bodily fragrance and this made her body go wild. Hey Devi Maiyya, what was happening to her? She couldn't comprehend these new feelings. She closed her eyes and fell asleep remembering her Laad Governor's face all the while.
Arnav lay on his bed thinking of what Khushi had told him. Maybe things were going to be alright after all. Maybe she would eventually forgive him for all his misdeeds towards her. He closed his eyes with the image of Khushi in his mind. This was one memorable day he would never forget.
In the morning, when he went for breakfast downstairs, he met Khushi outside her door, still wearing his hoodie. When she saw him, she quickly unzipped it and handed it over to him with a smile on her face and went downstairs. He quickly wore it and he could still feel the warmth of her body on it. He could smell Khushi's bodily scent emanating from his hoodie and couldn't help himself from flashing a mischievous grin to himself thinking about it. It wasn't gonna go into the laundry for a really long time. He wanted to hold on to that fragrance as long as possible.
After the breakfast, they had decided to go to NK's farmhouse in the outskirts of the city. The landscape was really magnificent covered with pastures and farmlands. His farmhouse contained Emus, Sheep, Cows, Horses and loads of other animals. Khushi was so much excited to see so many animals. She had really loved animals.
Khushi-"In RM, there was only Lakshmi but here her whole family is here." She had replied giggling looking at the goats in front of her.
NK-" Maybe you could take a Lakshman for our Lakshmi from here." He replied sending everyone into fits of laughter.
Arnav never liked animals, he was a plant person. He considered animals to be wild and unpredictable. He had only come here on the request of Khushi. He looked at Khushi who was going wild and crazy seeing the animals. She is just like them, he thought laughing in his mind. NK was no less, he added to it.
Khushi went into wild frenzy seeing Emus for the first time in her life. They had looked really cute and she wanted to go and touch them. While everyone was busy looking away, she climbed over the fence and went near them. Arnav saw this, but he was too late to stop her. When she went nearby, the Emus panicked thinking of her as a predator and started to run towards her, to attack her. Realising her mistake, Khushi ran back towards the fence seeing the wild army, screaming aloud 'Devi Maiyya' for help.
All of them turned around to find a frantically running Khushi, and before anyone could react, Arnav ran towards the fence and climbed on to pull out Khushi from inside. She ran towards him and grabbed his hand and he pulled her with so much force that they both landed on the haystack beside it, Khushi lying on top of Arnav. She was still screaming when suddenly, Arnav put his finger on top of Khushi's lips.
Arnav-"Sshhh..." She felt her vocal chords go mute. She could only stare into his eyes. She couldn't imagine what would have happened to her had the Emus attacked her. She was really stupid for sure. Tears flowed down her eyes. Arnav couldn't stop his hand from wiping away her tears. She laid on his chest relieved that she was safe. After what seemed to be like eternity, he decided to talk.
Arnav-"I know that you like lying on top of me, but I'm sorry to say that this hay is starting to itch me." He had whispered itching his neck. She quickly got up and straightened herself and helped him get up. Others had slowly arrived at the scene.
Anjali-"Khushiji, are you alright? Hope you didn't get hurt."
Khushi-"I'm alright Anjaliji. Don't worry." She assured her. Her Devi Maiyya had never failed to send her Laad Governor to her during times of distress. Maybe he was her Guardian Angel, she thought to herself.
NK-"If everyone is alright, let's go to the stables for Horse riding." They went to the stables, where Akash and Payal got on a horse. Anjali refused to ride because of her injured leg. Surprisingly Arnav too refused to ride on the horse. Khushi was surprised at his refusal.
Anjali-"Woh actually Khushiji, when Chote was small, he got thrown down on the ground while riding horses. From that day, he is so scared of them that he refuses to even go near them."
Khushi couldn't believe her ears that Arnav Singh Raizada, the man whom everyone feared would fear horses. She had believed that there was nothing in the world that scared him.
She had no choice but to ride along with NK.
He had stood there seeing both of them enjoy the ride. He had wanted to ride along with her, but his fear had stopped him. He caught her looking at him and he turned away his eyes, unable to see them together any longer and went away from there. After the whole tour and ride, they had decided to rest inside the farm cottage for sometime. But Arnav was nowhere to be seen in the vicinity.
Khushi decided to go and search for him. She found him standing all alone beneath a tree. She knew clearly what was worrying him. So she quickly grabbed his hand asked him to come along with him.
Arnav-"Hey where are you pulling me?"
Khushi-" Just Shut up and come with me." She took him to the horse stables and stood beside the horse she rode on earlier and began climbing on top of it and held out her hand towards him.
Arnav-" Are you nuts Khushi? Didn't you hear what Di said earlier?" He had turned around to leave.
Khushi-"Arnav, please." She had grabbed his shoulder before he could leave. Arnav noticed that for the first time, Khushi had dropped 'Ji' from his name. He surprisingly turned around to look at her.
Khushi-" Don't you trust me. Nothing will happen to you. I'm right here beside you." She had said looking into his eyes. She wanted her Laad Governor to remain fearless. She would help him conquer it , just like the many times he had stood beside her during her fears.
He couldn't deny her request. She was determined to get him on top of the horse. He held her hand and slowly climbed the horse sitting behind her. He could feel the fear resurfacing again. He felt his heartbeat rise rapidly. And as if she had sensed it, she took his arms and wrapped it around her waist.
When the horse started strutting ahead, he tightened his grip around her and shut his eyes tightly, lest he falls down again. Soon the horse started galloping. He could feel the breeze on his face, along with Khushi's hair that now completely covered his face. He was lost in the sweet fragrance of her hair and for a minute he forgot all his fears.
He heard Khushi asking him to open his eyes. How did she know he had closed his eyes? He slowly opened his eyes and could immediately feel adrenaline rushing into him with excitement. He felt his fear gradually disappearing as he started enjoying it more and more. He felt really stupid for being scared of horse riding for all these years. Never had he imagined it would be so exhilarating. But he had to admit that Khushi was mostly responsible for it.
After twenty minutes, they decided it was enough and returned back to the stable.
Khushi-" How was it?" she asked him after getting down from the horse. He was so overwhelmed after the ride, that he was at loss of words for explaining his emotions. She sensed it and decided to give him his space and leave.
While she turned, she felt his hand from behind on her shoulder. She placed her palm on top of his and turned around to face him.
Khushi-"I understand." She said looking into his eyes and gave him a wide smile. She patted his shoulder and went away.
He didn't know what made him more happy, the horse ride or the smile she flashed him seconds earlier. He slowly walked back into the cottage, seeing an excited Khushi run back to the cottage ahead of him. He couldn't stop grinning at how Khushi Kumari Gupta had helped the mighty Arnav Singh Raizada overcome his stupid fear of horses. He realized he was liking this trip to Australia and maybe he was liking Khushi too.
I know it was long and boring. This is clearly reflecting what accounts is doing to me😆
Criticize as much as you want. I know I have Pakaoed you ppl.
Part 5 : Already here
Chalo Bhai Australia! Part 5: Memories