lisa.a thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
Posted: 19 years ago
hi guys
manasi parekh aka chandni of our india calling was on indiatimes chat. here's the complete chat:

Transcript of LIVE INDIATIMES CHAT with TV actress, Manasi Parekh at 12 noon (IST) on Monday, December 26 2005, in Mumbai

Manasi Parekh
TV actress

"I am a classical singer too and I plan to release a music album next year"

Manu > How did you get into acting? What was your first serial? How did you get the role in it?
Manasi Parekh > My first serial was Kitni Mast Hai Zindagi . Balaji Telefilms had organised a talent hunt where I took part and got selected. That's how I got in to acting.

Szx > Which is your next serial coming soon?
Manasi Parekh > I play the character of 'Chandni' in India Calling. And I am busy with it right now. As of now, there are no new projects.

Chotu > Manasi Didi, I am your big fan? Aapko apna kaun sa serial sabse acha lagta hai ? (Which one of your serials do you like the most?)
Manasi Parekh > Thank you. My favourite is India Calling because I have a very cute role in it.

Buddy > Is it true that you are a classical dancer? Which classical dance do you know? Have you done any performances?
Manasi Parekh > I am not a classical dancer. I am a classical singer. I have performed on stage quite a few times. In fact, I just had a stage show in Surat.

Vins > What is your qualification?
Manasi Parekh > I have done my BA from St. Xavier's College (Mumbai) in English Literature and I have also done my BA in Indian classical music.

Ashu > Which role of yours do you feel is closest to your real self?
Manasi Parekh > Chandni in India Calling, as I can completely relate to the character.

Nikhil joshi > I want your email id please?
Manasi Parekh > musicmanasi@hotmail.com .

Swaroop_goodboy > Manasi, are you planning to enter Bollywood?
Manasi Parekh > I would only if I get roles which stimulate me creatively. Like the role Vidya Balan had played in Parineeta .

Swaroop_goodboy > Can I know your date of birth?
Manasi Parekh > 10 July.

Abhi > Hi Manasi, you are very sweet and I like your acting? I am a big fan of yours and want to wish you luck and success!
Manasi Parekh > That is so sweet of you. Thank you so much.

Zak_82 > Has being a classical dancer helped you in the industry in any way?
Manasi Parekh > I am not a classical dancer. I am a classical singer. It has helped, as singing is an expression of ones voice, while acting is an expression of ones face and body. So, it helps a lot as both are creative art forms.

Vani > Are you interested in modelling?
Manasi Parekh > Yes, I am and I have done a commercial for a cold cream. A couple of my advertisements will be coming out soon.

Dude > What according to you is the most important thing a person needs to get into for acting?
Manasi Parekh > One of the most important things is self confidence because to be in front of the camera we need to get rid of our inhibitions.

Dude > Why did you choose acting? If not an actress what would you be?
Manasi Parekh > I chose acting as it is a very interesting and creative field. And if not an actress, I would have been a singer. I also took part in the channel V pop stars (contest) and I was one of the six finalists in India. I plan to release a music album next year.

Man11 > Tell us about the off screen Manasi?
Manasi Parekh > The off screen Manasi is very much in to reading and loves to play the guitar whenever she has the time, she is full of life and very ambitious.

Qwr34 > Does casting cough actually exist? Have you experienced it? Please comment on the present scenario.
Manasi Parekh > Well, according to what a lot of people say..... the casting couch does exist. Personally, I believe it all depends on whether the person involved wants it or not. I have never experienced anything like this.

KK > We do not know much about you. Please tell us a little about yourself, your family etc.
Manasi Parekh > I am from Mumbai. I am the only daughter of my parents. I am a Gujarati. I love to eat though it never shows and I believe in having a good time always.

Gauravji > Well Manasi, I have seen your programmes. I have seen your dance also ( Nach Baliye ). Isn't your schedule so hectic?
Manasi Parekh > I did not take part in Nach Baliye . I think you are mistaken. But thanks for the compliment anyway.

Chotu1> Mansi didi, who is your favourite actress in Bollywood?
Manasi Parekh > Rani Mukherjee and Sridevi. Both are very spontaneous when it comes to their acting.

Somu > What is most important to you in your life?
Manasi Parekh > For me, the most important thing in my personal life would be my family and professionally, it would be a very satisfying career in acting and singing.

Sign Off Message > Thank you so much for logging in and please do watch India Calling and give me your feedback. Love, Manasi.

ronitfan thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 3
'Chandni is funky with loads of attitude'
Sudipto Chattopadhyay
Tuesday, January 03, 2006 17:50 IST

Mansi Parekh feels that playing Chandni in 'India Calling' is a lot about breaking stereotypes

You're a Gujarati and you play a typical 'Punjab di kudi' - what is it like?

It's great fun! I come from a totally different background and I watched a lot of Sridevi's films like 'Chandni' and 'Lamhe' where she has played a North Indian girl despite being a Tamilian. I also watched the hosts of 'Alpha Punjabi' and tried to adopt their body language, accent and style of speaking.

How different is Chandni from Mansi?

Chandni is from Punjab whereas I am from Mumbai. I am not as overtly patriotic or a stickler for traditional Indian values as she is. But I guess I'm as chirpy, gutsy and as intelligent as her.

Chandni gasps every time she faces a sticky situation and it's always the same look. Why?
That's just the way Chandni reacts. I didn't build that trait deliberately. It has got to do with the fact that this character is emotionally expressive - that is why she stares that way.

What is the strength of 'India Calling'?

I don't want to sound clichd by saying that this is a 'zara hat ke' show. But yes, there is no heavy background music in our show, no melodramatic outbursts. The emotions are treated very delicately. Usually a plain Jane is shown as being morally upright. But Chandni is funky and has tons of attitude. Shristi Arya, the producer, treats her dailies differently. She has this feel for contemporary, urban stories that the young can relate to.

Is it to be a Mills & Boons take-off on call centres?

I don't think so. We are not presenting a 'wow' picture about call-centres by showing what a cool work place it is and how much you can earn there. We are tackling issues like stress factors and odd working hours. The love story is yet to develop. It's again not one of those 'pehle inkaar phir ikraar' formulaic love-plots.

Has life's been a bed of roses since the show?

Everything has its pros and cons. You have got to live with the positive and negative. I am thankful I am working with a wonderfully professional unit and have never faced a single awkward moment. Everyone is friendly but it depends on you how to keep that safe distance. So far it's really been nice working with Rose Movies.
ronitfan thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 3

Small screen devotion

In spite of biggest film producers luring her, actor Himani Shivpuri doesn't want to give up TV for anything

RESHMA S KULKARNI

"Television is a medium that I'll forever remain grateful to — it gave me my identity of a commercial actor and made me a household name. So, I make it a point to do at least one serial at any point of time, however busy I may be with my films," Himani Shivpuri explains her attachment with TV in spite of all the top rung filmmakers waiting to sign her on.
A very shy and low-profile person who wants her work to speak for her, Himani remembers her arrival into the industry. "I was destined to be here; there's no other reason why an academically inclined girl from a small place like Dehradun should make a career under the arc lights. I was always interested in sports, music, acting, but no one, not even I, dreamt that I'd make a career in the glam world," says Himani, a Master's degree holder in Organic Chemistry, who was all set to leave to the US for higher studies. "But, I'd fallen in love with theatre while in college and began nursing the dream of being a part of a world where I could shed all my shyness and let my ambitions soar. So I applied to the National School of Drama (NSD) without my parents' knowledge. Coincidentally, I gave the US Visa interview and my NSD interview on the same day and cleared both! But I decided to follow my heart's calling and joined NSD. Initially shocked, my parents supported me at a time when getting into performing arts was considered wasting one's life away."
So, off went Himani to NSD, where she not only trained as an actor and spent more than a decade doing plays like Mitro Majaani, Azhar Ka Khwab and Othello, but also met her husband Late Gyan Shivpuri, a talented actor himself. "We were batch mates. It was a typical NSD-campus romance," she says.
After a decade, Himani felt stagnation seeping into her career. So, she accepted the role of Devaki bhoujai in Kunwar Sinha's show Humraahi, which was a stepping stone for into TV. "I took up this role at the behest of Gyan," informs Himani. Humraahi made Himani a household name. Around the same time, Sooraj Barjatya approached her with the role of Chachijaan (that he specially wrote for Himani) in Hum Aapke Hain Kaun...! "Again, Gyan encouraged me to accept the role. I'd never considered films as a career option but Gyan had worked with the Barjatyas in Babul and knew them as very nice people to work with. Also, we had shifted to Mumbai from Delhi and I had to do some work, so I took up the offer. " HAHK created history and Himani, who by then was also doing Subhash Ghai's Trimurti, was flooded with offers from producers like Yash Chopra, Karan Johar, David Dhawan and Satish Kaushik, with whom she did films like Dilwale Dulhania Le Jaayenge, Kuch Kuch Hota Hai, Hero No.1 etc.
"Luck has played a major role in my success. I never had to circulate my portfolio to get work; it just came to me and almost all the films I've done so far, have been huge hits. I was lucky to be at the right place at the right time." Sadly, Himani's husband Gyan, who was her pillar of strength and a source of encouragement, did not live long enough to see her success. He succumbed to a cardiac arrest.
Himani continued working on TV in shows like PA Saahab, Hasratein, Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi, Dollar Bahu, Astitva — Ek Prem Kahaani etc. Currently, she is seen in India Calling, Chamcha Aur Chief and Ek Ladki Anjaani Si.
Even though barely 40 years old, Himani has mostly played older characters. She says, "I entered the industry at the threshold of 30. I had no illusions that I could become a lead heroine. If you're not a lead actor here then you're a character artiste and I was fine with that. I've enjoyed all the maa-bhabhi kind of roles I've done. I've modelled each differently from the other."
Regarding her future plans, Himani reveals that she wants to take it easy. "I've decided to slash down on the quantum of work, as it's taking a toll on my health. I'll be seen in the film Milenge Milenge as a Parsi lady and in Umrao Jaan, where I play Hussaini Begum, a tawaif!" Himani informs, "I'd played the lead role in India's first crossover film When Annie Gives It Those Ones. It was written by Arundhati Roy and I played a Haryanvi bar dancer, complete with slinky clothes and garish make-up That was fun! But that was years back when the multiplex culture had not taken root. So, the film sank without a trace. If I get to do something so radically different today, I'll jump at the offer."
But till that happens, this green fingered Yoga enthusiast and voracious reader plans to devote some quality time to her son Katyayan, who's studying Economics at St Xavier's college and also wants to finish off the novel she's writing. "It's an out and out fantasy story for kids — I have been at it for a long time, only the finishing touches remain to be added!" Himani winds up, surprising one you with yet another facet of her allrounder personality.

lisa.a thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
Well, nothing actually - Vipul

As Dron in K Street Pali Hill, Vipul made a great impact but was soon replaced. That didn't bother him much though. He kept trying and is now back in action as a cool yuppie in India Calling on Star One.

Your stint in K Street... seemed to be a smooth sail initially. What went wrong? Why did you quit abruptly?
Well, nothing actually. Nor did I leave the serial midway. My dates were clashing with a Bollywood project I had signed then, so I had no choice but to leave. You need to concentrate wholeheartedly on a venture that you undertake. A lukewarm approach can hamper your commitment. You have to be clear cut, not in two minds.

Then what prompted you to take up India Calling?
The script was awesome, I couldn't refuse it. Moreover, the film I was doing was almost complete. India Calling is directed by Bhushan Patel, who's also made Guns and Roses, Jeet and a string of hit films. I found the storyline exciting too.

You play the male protagonist Aditya in the serial. Do you identify yourself with the character?
Maybe to some extent. It has several shades to it. Aditya is an out-and-out cool brat with a heart of stone as his only grey vice. However, he's a normal, contemporary lad with an element of softness too. I mean, on the whole he's not a bad fellow.

And his nicer side is portrayed through his affair with the female lead...
Exactly! Even a tyrant melts when Cupid strikes. Chandni, (played by Manasi Parekh) the heroine, comes as a perfect foil to Aditya's disposition. They not only hail from different social strata but are brought up in contrasting setups. While the man flaunts his sports car and safari suits, the girl in her desi demeanour talks of her traditional views. In the beginning, there's a conflict but then it gradually takes a backfoot when both fall in love. After all, opposite poles do attract at some point or the other.

Apart from TV, you've done a few stage shows. So you aren't really a newcomer.
Well, I had worked with the ACME (A Common Man's Entertainment) troupe as an amateur artiste. And we did showcase some plays on issue-based, social themes that got rave reviews from all quarters. For instance, we performed Ramlila soon after the Godhra carnage and based the production on Hindu-Muslim riots. Besides, Surya Ke Pehli Se Surya Ke Antim Kiran, adapted from Surendra Sharma's Hindi novel, was also critically acclaimed.

As for films, my debut film Anjaan has just hit the theatres. A Hansal Mehta romantic thriller, the film's been produced by Anil Vohra. Others in the cast are Mehek (of Nayi Padosan fame) and Aamir Ali (of Yeh Kya Ho Raha Hai).
monika.goel thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

"The concept of Buddhism is very practical"

There are times in all our lives, when we desire the need for divine intervention; times, when life refuses to acknowledge the seemingly obvious and decides to take refuge in a world that is far away from ours. A world that gives the body and mind the spiritual healing that it yearns for. We, at Telly Chakkar.com decided to delve deeper into the lives of our favourite stars and know a little about their lives beyond the obvious.

She started off as the hip Jo in Kitni Mast Hai Zindagi, and then Mansi Parekh broke into the hip world of India Calling as Chandni from mofussil India. Chandni can't stop talking about Matarani in her current series, but Chandni is not the real Mansi.

She talks about her belief in spirituality and her discovery of Buddhism to Riya V Anandwala.

My Belief

I have started following Buddhism of late. It is a very practical religion, with no notion of idol worship. I chant every morning without fail. I do believe in God too, certainly there is someone up above, a supernatural power.

No Rituals
I am into the Hindu rituals too. You won't find me praying every morning or night, just whenever I feel like it. But yes, Buddhism chants give me a lot of energy and serve as a de-stresser!

"I never ask for anything"

I have always had in hard work. I have never asked for anything special as such. However, Buddhism demands a lot of meeting with people, which I can't live up to, as I am working.

Changing Perspectives

It is said that Buddhism gives us instant results. It is indeed a very practical way of connecting with God and has changed my perspective completely.

I have read a few books on the subject. But recently, I bought a copy of the Bhagvad Gita from someone on the sets of India Calling. And I have just started on that.

By RIYA V ANANDWALA
Posted on 13 December 2005 1:00 pm

source:-

http://www.tellychakkar.com/y2k6/jan/13jan/soulcurry_mansi.p hp

MysticFlare thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

Kanika Maheshwari will soon be seen matching her histrionics skills with the likes of Rohit Roy, Kiran Kumar and Amarr Upadhay in Ravi Chopra's Viraasat.

Kanika who plays Amy in Star One's India Calling will play Juhi who is the grand-daughter of Raman Lamba (Kiran Kumar) who is the family patriarch. "The character has shades of grey...she reacts to different situations differently," says Kanika, who seems very excited about being part of such a huge show.

The actor has been shooting for the show for three days now and the experience, she says has been great. "They are so cooperative. In the beginning I thought that I was lucky to be on the show, but as I started shooting I realised that I needed to get better and learn more in order to improve my performance," points out Kanika, who was chosen out of more than 60 girls, including known faces in the industry.

Ask her about her experience on the sets of India Calling and the lady starts talking nineteen to the dozen. "It's a blast working with Shrishti di (producer Shrishti Arya) She is so understanding and caring that it feels like home. India Calling is like a school that we go to and the director is the principal! It's so much fun!" smiles the actor.

Kanika's career so far!

Kanica got her first break with Kabhi Aaye Na Judai on Star Plus Neil in Kahani Ghar Ghar Ki Played Mahan in Piya ka Ghar on Zee Tv Ek Ladki Anjani Si on Sony TV Lipstick, Kaavyanjali, Reth and Hey Yahi To Hai Woh
  • Telefilm, Saanjh Savera with Faizal Khan and Kitu Gidwani for Sahara TV
monika.goel thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
History recalling!

What does Republic Day mean for our TV stars, many of whom portray roles that veritably exude nationalistic fervour? What does it mean to them personally, and hey, do they even know the history behind it? We quizzed some stars with a few questions and here's what they had to tell Riya V Anandwala.

Mansi Parekh

Republic Day's the day when we commemorated our Constitution that was written by Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar. Personally, there are no sentiments attached with it for me. I will be working tomorrow, and anyway I never do anything as such on this day. But yes, I do buy a flag on Independence Day!

Sai Deodhar

Sai Deodar

Well, for me, Republic Day brings back all the childhood memories. My grandfather used to wake me up in the morning and I used to watch the parade. As I was not from Delhi, I didn't get to see the parade personally but I would love to see it one day. Even this time, I will get up early and watch the parade on the TV. Well, I do remember that the constitution was formed by Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar and we got it in 1947!

Smriti Irani

Smriti Z Iraani

This day means a lot to me. It's a day to celebrate and offer our gratitude towards our nation. It's a day to be proud about. It is a day when everyone comes together and memorises the past deeds by which we saw Republic Day. It is a peaceful sunlight hours. I will spend the day with my children and make them aware of what Republic Day exactly is. I want them to get familiar with the meaning of it and also they should know the inside story. As I child I always watched the parade, and now I will sit with my children and they will watch it. I do remember who wrote the constitution and in which year it was formed very well!

Salil Ankola

Naturally, it is a very proud day! An add on is that it is my son's birthday too. So on this day, it is my son's day, nothing special as such. I do remember the day and date when we turned into a Republic, that's 1950. But I don't remember who wrote the Constitution. Ok, let me take a guess, was it Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar?

Rahul Vaidya

It doesn't mean anything different to me! As all Indians, I too feel very proud on this particular day. I make it a point to go to my school on the 26 of January as there is no other way I can show my feelings. I have always noticed one thing that people remember their nationality only on these two days, 15 August and 26 January. And that's the reason I always tell my audience through my show and performances that every day is a patriotic day! I am really bad at remembering things like dates and names, though I was really brilliant in history. But I will still try, was it Dr Ambedkar? And the year we got our constitution formed was definitely after our independence, somewhere in the fifties!

http://www.tellychakkar.com/y2k6/jan/25jan/boletoh_day.php
Malashetty thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

Kirti to play Mini didi in India Calling

Ater months of curiosity and speculations, Star One has finally unveiled the mystery girl in India Calling! She is Chandni's beloved Mini didi and since the launch of the show on 14 November, Manisha's character has taken the story forward without actually being physically present.

Kirti Gaikwad

The producers have finally zeroed in on the actor who's going to essay this all important character. Kirti Gaikwad who can be currently seen in Zee's Sindoor as Niharika and Star's Kahiin Toh Hoga as Kanan, will enter on 2 February.

"Manisha is finally on! And I am excited about it. Kirti will be playing the character. I always wanted to work with her and here I am! She will be someone like Zeenat Aman of Hare Rama Hare Krishna. Mini didi is a big achiever and she has been Ms. Jalandar also, so there certainly has to be something about her. She is not like Chandini who is strong headed, Mini didi proves to be much weaker!" says Shrishti Arya, the producer of the show.

An excited and blissful Kirti says, "There has been a lot of curiosity about Mini didi, please don't kill it!" Kirti has never portrayed a role of this kind earlier on television. She adds, "I consider myself very fortunate that I have got to play many types of roles, a prostitute, negative shade, out and out positive etc."

"My character is neither positive nor negative but a very situational character. I am not at all bitchy, and yes the character I am playing, has definitely not been played by any other actress on Indian television as yet," says Kirti.

Working with Rose Audio Visuals is a great experience for Kirti. "Shrishti is really sweet to work with, it's like if I have a problem I can directly call the producer. I have been to her office earlier but this time it finally worked out! It might just sound very clich, but yes I have started shooting and I am enjoying it. Earlier I was a little jittery as it was the first time, but it's all cool now!" says the actor.

Kirti Gaikwad is now doing three shows and with so much on her plate, will the lady bid adieu to one of them???? We can just wait and watch!

MysticFlare thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
India Calling. Are you tuned in?

Kabir disconnects the abusive call angrily and realizes that Vishesh has overheard it. He reprimands Kabir for behaving badly with a client.

Vidya and Beeji help Chandni get ready to go to the club. Amy is appalled that Chandni has decided to wear a salwar kurta to a club. Amy and Chandni are not allowed inside the club as they are not members. Varun, with the others, laughs at the thought of Chandni wanting a membership to the Nomad Club. This upsets Chandni. Amy gets the abusive caller at her terminal. She coolly takes her headphones off and waits patiently for the caller to be done with his catharsis. Aditya notices and tells Amy to just attend the call. Chandni and Amy see the tattoo of The Nomad Club on Aditya's arm...

from http://tellychakkar.com/y2k6/jan/31jan/weekahead_india.php

Edited by _TANIA_ - 19 years ago
Jaslove thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3

Kirti in Hare Rama Hare Krishna mode

Kirti Kelkar
The suspense is finally over. Rose Audio Visual's India Calling has finally found its Manisha.

Playing the role of Chandni's (Mansi Parekh) sister is none other than Sinndoor's Niharika (Kirti Kelkar). Previously heard over phone conversations, and mentioned in the drama, this will be the first time that Mini didi will make an appearance on the show.

A different role

When asked why she chose to play the character, Kirti said, "The only reason I accepted this part, is because it is totally different from what people have seen me as Niharika. The personality and the look are mind-blowing, and radically opposite to h ow the audience has seen me till now."

Describing her look on the show she said, "Manisha an out and out western girl. Her outfits are very hip and modern something on the lines of Zeenat Aman in Hare Rama Hare Krishna. There is a curiosity factor about Manisha. You never know what she might be up to and that reflects in her attire as well."

Even though as the older sister Manisha is confident and independent, deep down inside she is disturbed and running away from herself. "At the bottom of her heart, she's still a small town girl from Jalandar. She's is hiding and running away from her family because she's ashamed of herself, in a way. Her insecurity is taking a toll on her and she struggles to deal with it."

I want a honeymoon

Thanks to her work, Kirti's personal life is on the back-burner, presently. On her wish list is a nice romantic vacation with her husband Sharad (her co-star in Sinndoor Tere Naam Ka and Nahar of Saat Phere).

"If I could have my way, then I would get Sharad on every show I am in. Both of us have been busy shooting and believe it or not we still haven't had a proper honeymoon."

When asked how she felt about Sharad's honeymoon outdoor on Saat Phere she laughed, "You have to deal with it. Actually when we went to Hong Kong for our Sinndoor shoot, the producer gave us leave for some days, since we never got a chance to go on vacation."

Sharad and Kirti Kelkar
Candidate for Nach Baliye

Another project that Kirti has set her eyes on is the second season of Nach Baliye. "Oh, I hope they call us, 'cause I would love to take part on the show. Sharad is a good dancer, but I am a hard worker. So, if all goes well I should hopefully be on board for the competition."