609931 thumbnail
Reserved! :)

edit: oh, Geet :( there doesn't seem to be any way back for the doomed Khuranas, not unless they knock all their self constructed walls down & let the other in...

This sentence really stood out for me: We're Geet and Maan. So what? That's not reason enough for us to be together. That's not love.

This, pretty much, sums up your story in an essence. Living up to the expectations of the 'perfect couple being in love' are simply impossible for them, and there's nothing wrong with that. No matter how well suited they may be, in terms of looks, attitudes, views on life etc - if the heart is empty and void then the heart is empty and void.

I've actually been thinking about chapter 17 (& Gehraiyan as a whole) for most of the day. I know personally, my ideal partner has to share the same goals and attitudes and beliefs as me, but sometimes does that make for a good pairing?
I feel as if society expects us to go for like minded individuals, but love is such a complex thing that sometimes, your like minded perfect individual can be your downfall (in Maan & Geet's case)

Edited by walkintomylifex - 12 years ago
kaamchorni thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: ddgcmgfan

EDITED

It feels like as the light is trying to peek out through the clouds, so is Geet's pain. I am not sure if it is nature or alcohol thats helping, but I an glad for it. She is fortunate that she has a set of listening ears who have the "wisdom of life". Sometimes thats what you need when you are losing direction in life. I get a feeling that (and I maybe completely wrong) Anjuman is a "what maybe" for Geet and that may help her figure out what she wants (if that makes sense).

Was it/ is it love? Hmm...personally, I don't really believe is love at "first sight". I think in a marriage, love and respect for each other should grow overtime and that is what should be used to "build", a block at a time 😊. Guess they are still at a stage of "Maan" and "Geet", marriage is a "HUM". Kuch zyada ho gaya na ? Well Zarin its all your fault!! Lovely update!!

Kuch zyada? I don't think so. There's no such thing on this thread :)

I especially agree with the bolded part. You're definitely right in my opinion and I love the way you've put it. And while I don't believe in love at first sight, I have to say that in Geet and Maan's case, I don't think it was 'love at first sight'. They did work together at some point prior to a relationship (ref. Chapter 6). They didn't seem to know each other too well in the dartboard scene, nor were they in love, which to me indicates a certain level of understanding was built after meeting and after this scene. But this is just my thought and trust me, I'm only as right and wrong as anyone else here.

You know, I felt similarly about Anjuman. There was a vague sense of familiarity and a knowing wisdom, as if she understood Geet perfectly and exactly. Perhaps she too had faced something similar in life.

Thank you Phoram for the lovely and thought provoking comment.
Susegad thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4
Finally got a chance to comment on the rest of Gehraiyan.

Love is a feeling, marriage is a contract, and relationships are work.

I think this quote is the gist of Gehraiyan.

The feeling of love is lost somewhere in all the frustruations, resentments and the blame game.

But, they are pulling on with it as they are bound in a marriage contract,

And they definitely need to communicate, to rebuild what they have lost and that definitely is going to take work.

It started with a beautiful detail oriented introduction, with the tie that lay limp and pathetically just like their marriage perhaps, to the kitchen clock, to the curl in Geet's bun. I could just visuali just visualise the whole scene if i just close my eyes.

The updates with Maan and Geet had the feel of a dull cloudy day with the air heavy and stil. All the what if's and could have beens hanging between them like those dark clouds

The updates where Geet is working were like bright sunny days, full of light and energy.

"A dreamer is one who can only find his way by moonlight, and his punishment is that he sees the dawn before the rest of the world."

Is that how Maan sees Geet? As a dreamer who is lost in her own world and therefore prone to rude awakening?

"Geet tilted her face up to the dim orange glow of the streetlamps and watched as the city blurred past her. She loved it - taking a moment to see the chaos of people living their ordered lives without being a part of the rush herself. It was an addictive madness; so much happened in a second. Blink and you miss a lifetime. It made her wonder about all the things she missed as she slept. If only she could know everything."

And this is where I saw the dreamer and the artist in her.

Waise tumhari Mrs Bulani ne kya sahi baat kahi hai. I concur with her. Godji tussi great ho. Haste mein banayi hui cheez se we are attaining visual O, agar fursat se banate toh I think we would have attained visual nirvana.😆

And finally want to say that I absolutely love Heer. Everybody should have a friend like her. Loyal to the core and a straight talker.

Waiting for more updates eagerly and greedily😆

kaamchorni thumbnail

Originally posted by: Susegad

Finally got a chance to comment on the rest of Gehraiyan.

Love is a feeling, marriage is a contract, and relationships are work.

I think this quote is the gist of Gehraiyan.

The feeling of love is lost somewhere in all the frustruations, resentments and the blame game.

But, they are pulling on with it as they are bound in a marriage contract,

And they definitely need to communicate, to rebuild what they have lost and that definitely is going to take work.

It started with a beautiful detail oriented introduction, with the tie that lay limp and pathetically just like their marriage perhaps, to the kitchen clock, to the curl in Geet's bun. I could just visuali just visualise the whole scene if i just close my eyes.

The updates with Maan and Geet had the feel of a dull cloudy day with the air heavy and stil. All the what if's and could have beens hanging between them like those dark clouds

The updates where Geet is working were like bright sunny days, full of light and energy.

"A dreamer is one who can only find his way by moonlight, and his punishment is that he sees the dawn before the rest of the world."

Is that how Maan sees Geet? As a dreamer who is lost in her own world and therefore prone to rude awakening?

"Geet tilted her face up to the dim orange glow of the streetlamps and watched as the city blurred past her. She loved it - taking a moment to see the chaos of people living their ordered lives without being a part of the rush herself. It was an addictive madness; so much happened in a second. Blink and you miss a lifetime. It made her wonder about all the things she missed as she slept. If only she could know everything."

And this is where I saw the dreamer and the artist in her.

Waise tumhari Mrs Bulani ne kya sahi baat kahi hai. I concur with her. Godji tussi great ho. Haste mein banayi hui cheez se we are attaining visual O, agar fursat se banate toh I think we would have attained visual nirvana.😆

And finally want to say that I absolutely love Heer. Everybody should have a friend like her. Loyal to the core and a straight talker.

Waiting for more updates eagerly and greedily😆

I love that quote. It's not even an offensive statement and yet, I'm half for it and half shaking my head that 'no, it can't be'. In actual fact, it is absolutely the truth. But we humans have to romanticise everything and so I find myself thinking that there must be something more.

The way you've linked the tie to their marriage, Di 👏 I don't even think I had intentionally put that there.

Visual nirvana 😆 Beautiful and rough around the edges, I much prefer that to the pretty type. Even if he's been moulded with years to spare, I'm hoping the result would still be the same 😛Waise, I am looking for a visual manifestation of this nirvana but nothing yet.

Thank you, thank you, thank you for your words 🤗
516645 thumbnail
[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cc3vLHIPb7g[/YOUTUBE]
Dedicated to someone. Lmao. Ok now am getting lost
Susegad thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: kaamchorni

I love that quote. It's not even an offensive statement and yet, I'm half for it and half shaking my head that 'no, it can't be'. In actual fact, it is absolutely the truth. But we humans have to romanticise everything and so I find myself thinking that there must be something more.

The way you've linked the tie to their marriage, Di 👏 I don't even think I had intentionally put that there.

Visual nirvana 😆 Beautiful and rough around the edges, I much prefer that to the pretty type. Even if he's been moulded with years to spare, I'm hoping the result would still be the same 😛Waise, I am looking for a visual manifestation of this nirvana but nothing yet. Kehte hain intezaar ka phal mitha hota hai. Don't believe that nonsense girl. If you want something you have to go hunt it down yourself. Hunt it down, trap it and nail it. You can romanticize all of it later🤣
Thank you, thank you, thank you for your words 🤗

Edited by Susegad - 12 years ago
kaamchorni thumbnail
I guess you reap what you sow 😆
kaamchorni thumbnail

Originally posted by: Susegad

Kehte hain intezaar ka phal mitha hota hai. Don't believe that nonsense girl. If you want something you have to go hunt it down yourself. Hunt it down, trap it and nail it. You can romanticize all of it later🤣

😆 Sahi kaha aapne. Will be out in my safari outfit later. Let's see what I manage to catch ;)
640638 thumbnail

Originally posted by: kaamchorni

😆 Sahi kaha aapne. Will be out in my safari outfit later. Let's see what I manage to catch ;)

Zarin, had a question about the title of the 1st chapter. I know it is a story by Tagore but why did you put that as the title. Its been weeks but I am still wondering the significance.
kaamchorni thumbnail

Originally posted by: had2bu

Zarin, had a question about the title of the 1st chapter. I know it is a story by Tagore but why did you put that as the title. Its been weeks but I am still wondering the significance

'Noshtonirh' roughly translates to 'broken nest' or 'broken home' in Bengali, which I felt was not terribly far off from Geet and Maan's situation.

It was less because of Tagore's 'Nastanirh' and more because of Satyajit Ray's Charulata (which I'm sure you know is based on the novella) that I named the chapter as I did. I guess I relate a little bit of Geet to the film's Charu. In the final frame of the film, the word 'noshtonirh' appears on screen and the ambience and airlessness of the last scene is how I felt while writing Chapter One and how I sometimes feel when writing this story.
Edited by kaamchorni - 12 years ago