His chocolate brown eyes were staring in her beautiful hazels,as both of them forgot to blink in this moment.They were looking in each other's eyes since last three minutes."geet,,"Maan said in husky baritone.
"hmm???" geet answered as her hazels became watery.
"I can't stare more..my eyes are burning geet" he replied breaking their eye lock and covering his exhausted eyes with his palms..
"Oh god..its really tough job maan,I don't know how "shaan" and "reet" do it in the show and that too very often.."Geet said as she wiped her tears with fresh napkin.
"This is completely insane thing to do..no wonder your knucklehead shaan do it very often..." maan said in an annoying tone as his eyes burned more.
"Not a word against my shaan,Mr.maan singh khurana..you are nothing in front of him.." her nostrils flared in anger.
"I don't know,what you see in that "shaan" of yours..In half of the episode,he yells at his poor secretary and in remaining half,he does this "staring-in-her-eyes" exercise.."
"You have watched only one episode of "reet hui sabse parayi"..you have not seen him romancing with reet..ohh..the way he looks at her..so romantic..." Geet said closing her eyes and repeating one of romantic moment from the show in her mind..
"ohh..the way he looks in her eyes.." maan mimicked geet in a girly voice.."Does he do anything other than "looking"..I am sure his eyes has some different capacities..They never burn even after long long eyelocks..no wonder if he is capable of making his secretary pregnant just with his eyes..;'Maan said laughing uncontrollably.
In response,geet threw her notebook on him which he dodged quite efficiently.
"Go to hell maan..I won't help you anymore with your bet..you can never be selected in star one auditions.."Geet said marching outside the classroom.Maan cursed himself for making her angry..He cursed more that moment when he made wager with Arjun regarding his selection in star one audition which was going to held tomorrow in his college.He had no knowledge of "acting"..He had never watched any star one drama..All he was relying on his best friend geet for winning this bet as she was huge fan of such sick lovestories generally aired on star one.Her previous obsession was "Mil gaye dil" and recent obsession is "reet hui sabse parayi.."..
"Geet is gone maan..now you have to make your selection sure all by yourself.."Maan said to himself as he made his way towards boy's hostel.
"Hi adi.." Maan exclaimed as he threw his books on study table after entering in his room.
"Hi.." a meek reply came from his roommate who was laying on his stomach on bed.
"So how is your practice going on for audition???Man,these eye locks sucks..." maan told lost in his mobile phone.He had not seen adi till now.
"yes..they suck very badly..I wish i had not given my name for auditions..I might have saved from this eye infection..."Adi replied coming to sitting position.
Word "eye infection" caught maan's attention thus making him shift his gaze from his cell phone to poor roommate of his.Adi's eyes were blood red.
"How did this happen???" he asked.
"I was practicing eyelock with pinky.." adi took a pause before speaking further.."and she is suffering from conjunctivitis"..
"What???are you crazy???why did you practice with her then???" maan asked in astonishment.
"She said this eyelock thing is quite intimate and she won't allow me do it with another girl" adi explained.
"intimate..my foot!!! its quite creepy..." maan told with an irritated expression.
"Leave all this..tell me how is your practice going on???I am sure geet has prepared you quite well"
Maan sighed deeply before answering.."we had a fight adi..and she is no more helping me..."Adi looked at him incredulously in response.."Stop looking at me like that adi..I can win my bet by my own..Look what i have got???" maan said showing him a piece of paper...
"Whats this???" adi asked.
"I have done a research on subject"Qualities needed for becoming a star one hero" and this is my report.." he said with tinge of pride in his voice.
"and when did you make this research??" adi put another question.
"this afternoon only,after geet denied to help me..you know about my charms on girls very well,They gladly helped me..."He answered raising his collars.."let me tell you my results.."
Maan cleared his throat dramatically before presenting his research report to adi..
1] A star one hero should be perfect in doing eyelocks.
2] He should be an expert in catching falling cum slipping cum colliding in to your chest girls,in short clumsy heroines.
3]He should have perfection in one of sports like kick boxing,martial arts etc.Choice of sport depends on hero himself.
"Why???" Adi asked in confusion.
"Even i was unable to understand this initially but one of girl out there helped me..She told that they show the hero doing that particular activity,whenever he is angry or he is pondering over his "eyelocks" with heroine happened in past or when heroine had hurt his feelings or when he is guilty...In short this sport activity is a special mean of showing his emotional state..
'hmm" adi gave an understanding nod.
"ok let me continue further.."
4] He should have "well built" body.
5]Heroine's duppattas should not irritate him..This is a must and last quality in my list.
"You have done a great research.."Adi exclaimed.He wiped his eyes before continuing further,"I think i should back off from this audition.They are not even providing the scripts..We have to make our own dialogues at the spot.."
"Common adi,writing dialogues for such romantic stories is not a rocket science..As per all the girls out there,They talk about three things mostly,"heart","flowers" and "moon"...maan retorted.
"hmmm..but still maan..I can't give auditions with these blood shot eyes.."
"Why don't you choose such a situation where these red eyes can help you???"maan suggested.
"In what situation a starone hero would need red eyes???" adi asked in confusion.
"When he used to vent his anger through his special sports activity..I think,red eyes can increase the effect ten folds in such scene.."
"yes..thats a great idea maan.." adi exclaimed with much happiness.."But what sport i should choose???"he asked further.
"Choose any activity of your choice which you can do with much perfection" maan gave his expert advice.."You just have to add a little drama in it by your facial expressions"..
"Yes yes..I remember such a scene from reet hui sabse parayi.!!! wow..maan..You have become an expert in this area in such a short time span.."Adi praised his genius friend.."I think i can help you too.."he suggested.
"How???" maan asked.
"Pinky had given me these CDs of reet..You can watch them and practice yourself.."
"oh puhhleasse..aadi..Maan singh Khurana don't have to learn from that stupid nutcase "Shaan".." maan replied in venomous tone as he remembered dreamy look on geet's face whenever she used to praise that shaan from the show...
"As your wish,maan!!"Aadi shrugged his shoulders.
Maan banged his fist slightly on the table as he tried to control his frustration.He was searching "headphones" since last one hour but could not find them.After contemplating a lot,he had decided to watch those CDs which pinky had given aadi. But he did not want aadi to know about this,that was why he was behaving like a thief in his own room. Maan checked the time on his cell phone.It was showing 2 pm.He could not waste more time in searching those stupid headphones.Hence he decided to watch on mute.He had finished first CD but found not a single scene of his interest.He was tired of watching repeating eyelocks and fall-catch sequences when one scene grabbed his attention.
Shaan was wearing a white shirt with all the buttons wide open thus flaunting his waxed chest plus abs and reet was in pink anarkali. They were standing in front of big window,watching moon through it. Shaan was pointing towards moon with his index finger while other hand was embraced quite intimately around reet's waist.He was telling her something while girl was looking at him and moon alternatively.
"I will do this scene tomorrow" He decided before shutting down his laptop for a good sleep ahead.
Whole auditorium was filled with enthusiastic students who had gathered there for auditions.However enthusiasm and hope for all the girls vanished as Starone team announced about selection of female lead for the role.They had already selected a girl from another college.Her name was Pari Singhania.All the girls gave her envious look while boys gave a collective sigh as she made her entry in auditorium clad in short black dress.
"Why they have brought her here??"Geet asked pinky who was busy in munching chips.
"She can help in auditions..you know if some candidate would need a girl for his scene.."pinky answered licking her lips.
Auditions were commenced after some time as boys came and presented their acting skills on the stage but none was able to impress the starone team.
"When will aadi come on stage???I am getting bored.."Pinky whined as she finished third packet of chips.
Before geet could answer her,Aadi's name was called on stage. Pinky abandoned her chips packet and folded her hands in prayer.."oh god..please help my aadi"..
"open your eyes,pinky..look..aadi is there on stage.."Geet told her nervous friend.
All the lights in auditorium were off except one spotlight at the center of stage.Silence prevailed in the auditorium was broken by sound of heavy foot steps after a while. Pinky held geet's hand in nervousness as well as excitement as aadi appeared under the spotlight.He looked towards the audience with much attitude and anger.
"Why he is wearing only vest with jeans??? and why his eyes are so red??"geet asked pinky.
"Shoo..let me watch" pinky did not answer her.
Another light on the stage highlighted the props required for scene.There was a table and chair situated infront of aadi. Very soon the angry version of "maaahiii" was echoing in the auditorium.
" OMG..Will he do Tai-chi like shaan???" Geet asked again in amazement.
"I wish he would"..pinky answered breathing hardly.
"but why would he need those table chair for that??may be he would break them with tai-chi kicks" Before geet could voice her thoughts to pinky,she was distracted by a loud martial arts kind of shriek from aadi. She gasped as aadi jumped dramatically in the air and threw something on the table.
"What was that???" Geet put another question."Even I don't know" Answer came from "nail-chewing" pinky.
Geet craned her neck to get a clear view and what she saw increased her confusion ten folds. There was a LUDO board on the table.She wanted to ask pinky but thought otherwise.
Aadi inhaled sharply as he settled himself on the chair and looked at the ludo board with fire in his eyes.
"Kyun yeh ladki baar baar mere samne aa jati hai??" aadi mimicked one dialogue from the show before throwing the dice furiously on the table.He yelled again dramatically as he moved his token,four squares ahead on the board.
"Kyun uski ankhen baar baar mujhse sawal karti hain???" Second dialog escaped his mouth as he acted to crush the dice in his fist while gritting his teeth.
"Kyun uski aankhon me aansun mujhse bardasht nahi hote??"With third dialog he threw the dice with such anger that it went straight into pari's eye after colliding with the table.She yelled in pain while one member from the starone team yelled "CUT" in anger..Audience who was controlling their laughs till now did burst with hoots and laughter. Geet clutched her stomach while laughing hysterically.."You suggested him this pinky??"she finally asked pinky amidst fits of laughter.
In response,pinky gave her an annoying look before stomping her feet towards backstage.
"Who told you to play ludo on the stage???" Maan asked aadi at backstage as he wiped his tears due to immense laughter.
"It was your idea,Mr.Khurana..you yourself had said last night that i should choose a sport i am good at..."Aadi retorted.
"But LUDO does not come under the term "sport" technically" maan explained.
"Exactly"Pinky's interrupted as well as supported maan."You disappointed me aadi.." Pinky told aadi as she held his collars.
"I am sorry pinky.." Aadi made a puppy face which melted his girl friend's anger little.
"See you guys later,its my turn now" maan said to duo while rushing towards the stage.
"Come,we will enjoy his performance with geet.."Pinky ordered as he steered aadi with her towards the chairs.
All the girls in big auditorium forgot to breath as maan appeared on stage wearing white shirt and blue jeans.No wonder,buttons of his shirt were wide open to let all the girls treat their eyes with the perfection of his abs.
"omg..omg..omg..He is maan???"pinky said nudging geet with her elbow.
"He is so hawttt..."another girl from the front row yelled making geet grit her teeth..
"Shameless!!!" geet exclaimed as her nostrils flared in anger.
"Just like your shaan.."Aadi said in teasing tone.In response,he got a murderous glare from geet.
Maan was enjoying all the attention and applause from girls as he made his way towards pari who was also looking at him with dreamy eyes. Showing much chivalry,he bowed down in front of her and took her hand in his before speaking.."Will you help me in my scene???"
Pari gave a sexy smile as she replied,"which scene you are going to act???"
Maan explained the entire scene he had watched in mute mode previous night on his laptop."Ohh..that is my favorite scene from the show" Pari exclaimed in glee.
"Then it will be fun with you" maan gave his killing smile.
"Do you remember all the dialogues??"pari asked as she made her way towards the stage holding his hand.
"I have written my own dialogues for this scene.."He said with such attitude which made pari's heart skip a beat.
"Lucky dog.." aadi exclaimed after watching the entire drama on the stage..
"ACTION!!!!"Man who had come for taking audition yelled with much enthusiasm as he hoped that he had got their hero in maan..
One Spotlight fell on pari who was sitting at a corner on the stage.Another spotlight fell on Maan who was coming towards pari with his smoldering gaze fixed all while on her face.His perfect biceps bulged as he picked pari in his strong arms like she weighed less than a feather..
"omg geet,maan is doing better than shaan,," pinky said in an exciting tone as geet snatched her chips packet,only to crush it with her fists.
Both of them reached at the center of the stage as he very carefully let pari down to her feet.
Geet sighed in relief but her relief was short lived as maan very possessively encircled his one arm around pari's waist and pulled her closer.With other hand he pointed towards a chandelier in the big hall as he spoke his first dialogue in his husky voice.."look at that moon,reet.."Pari felt her legs wobbling with the intensity in his gaze as well his voice.She dramatically followed his gaze and looked towards the chandelier which was their moon for the moment.
"Its the only natural satellite of earth,reet.."His second line made pari furrow her eyebrows in confusion.He spoke further as he looked in pari's eyes.."and you know its the fifth largest satellite in the solar system"The way he looked in pari's eyes made her tongue tied as she let him continue whatever he was speaking..He caressed her cheek with one hand and his breath fell on pari's lips with next dialogue,"Reet..Moon is the only celestial body other than earth where humans have set foot"
Aadi spat his cold drink as he coughed loudly.."Oh my god!!This is his script??I wish those girls have told him "exactly what shaan and reet talk about "flowers","heart" and "MOON" in the show..You should not have left him alone geet.."Aadi said turning towards his left but there was no geet.
"CUT.." person from the star one team yelled with anger.
"Let him continue yaar,lets see how much portion of WIKIPEDIA article he has mugged..." One of the guy from the audience ranted making whole hall burst into laughter.
Pari came out from her dreamland as she felt his hand leaving her waist.."Give him a one chance more sir,he would speak right dialogue in the ring scene ahead"Pari pleaded.
"Ring???There is no ring around moon..Saturn has ring around it not moon.."Maan explained making pari smack her fore head.
"CUT..!!! leave the stage right now.."Head of the audition team spoke in higher pitch now.
"I think,he has no idea about dialogue delivery sir but he is good with expressions..we can make him do some intimate scene with me.."pari suggested as well as requested.
"Ok..last chance Miss pari.."
"Do it properly this time.."pari threatened him as they heard loud "ACTION.."
Pari touched her back with his chest as she brought his hand around her waist.."Nuzzle my hair.."She instructed him in a whisper. Maan was confused with the flow of events but he decided to do whatever pari was asking him.He brought his nose near her hair and Citrus smell of her shampoo filled his nostrils.Before he could tell her about his allergy to citrus fragrance,he sneezed loudly making the side profile of her face wet with his saliva.
'I..am..soorr..." he could not complete as he sneezed again with much force.This time his saliva went to her eyes as she was looking towards his face while he sneezed.
"Leave my hands please.." maan requested so he could cover his mouth with handkerchief before another sneeze.
"We will do kissing scene now.."Pari said in urgency as she pulled his face closer to hers.
"Wait..they don't do it so fast..I have seen it.." He sneezed once again,but this time his mouth was covered with handkerchief.
"I SAID KISS ME.." pari instructed loudly.
"No,ma'am..you are not understanding...It does not happen so fast in the show..They used to bring their lips close to each other with snail pace in the show..and when there is only a milimeter distance is left between them,someone comes in the room or someone knocks at the door.."Maan tried to make her understand while trying to free his neck from her hold.
There was only one way left for pari to shut his mouth hence with her full force she tried to close the distance between their lips but before she could quench her thirst,she was pushed frantically to the floor.
"Leave him you bi***"..Geet roared like a lioness while maan tried to hid himself behind her.
"Who are you???Can't you see auditions are going on here,we were just performing our scene.." pari said while getting up from the floor.
"He won't give any audition with you.."Geet ordered with her threatening gaze fixed on maan. In response maan nodded his head meekly in yes.
"and who are you to decide this???" pari asked in an angry tone.
Whole auditorium along with starone team were busy in enjoying this "live" drama.
"I am his girl friend.."Geet answered looking everywhere except maan. Pari looked at maan who was standing there with his mouth agape in astonishment.
"Oh really???then proof it..." Pari said in attitude while brushing her hair with fingers.
Mustering all her courage geet looked straight in maan's eyes.Warmth reflecting in his eyes and love reflecting in her eyes did not let both of them blink their lashes.In a trance,geet covered the distance between their bodies as well as lips.In presence of thousand persons,they shared their first kiss making whole auditorium go wild in excitement and applauds.Sudden noise,made the couple come out from their moment as maan saw his best friend blushing for first time.Geet hid her face in his chest with her cheeks turning pink.
"I never knew my romantic dialogues on moon would affect you this way.."Maan said as he hugged her close to him.
Geet said looking upwards in his eyes,"promise me you would never repeat them.."Maan was confused as geet was laughing hysterically now..
"Why are you laughing geet??" he asked.
Geet did not answer him but steered him backstage holding his arm possessively.
To hell with starone team,she had got her hero today!!!!
***********************************************************************************************