Simple and endearingly raw

AreYaar thumbnail
I'm still trying to figure out why exactly this show has managed to engage my attention😆.

On paper, there is nothing really pathbreaking about the story or characters. It's a simple story in many ways. A female IPS character on TV is not new...barring a few exceptions, most are poorly shown. A gunda mawaali character on TV is also not new...many shows have shown mawaalis harassing the FLs and then somehow ending up married to them.

So what exactly is it about Raghu and Dhanak that I'm liking? 😆...Perhaps it is the fact that Dhanak is strong, focused, direct and at the same time very feminine. Perhaps it is the fact that Raghu is a gunda but at the same time is surprisingly not cheap in his antics.

Dhanak is a dutiful, strong daughter without coming across like a caricature. Her equation with her father, the way she handles her siblings...all connected with me. The actress is playing her in an understated natural way too so that definitely adds to it.

Raghu is weirdly sweet...lol like he's not exactly a very larger than life charismatic figure...but the way he's smitten by Dhanak is actually strangely sweet...he dreams about her yet doesn't try to take advantage of proximity to her...one of the moments that stood out to me was after her earring got stuck in his scarf, he actually apologized to her before hurriedly leaving...lol and in today's episode when he sees her at the train station, he's just thinking to himself that every color sparkles on her from pink to yellow😆...there is a surprising simplicity in the treatment of the love at first sight.

Or maybe it's the fact that TV these days is in an utter rut and most shows don't bother with making even token efforts to give fresh interactions to their leads...these days the definition of "freshness" is strange outlandish gimmicks that go for shock value more than human connect.

I was just struck by the first meeting of Raghu-Dhanak for the treatment of it...the simple age old idea of Juliet on the balcony, Romeo standing below all smitten...just with LED balloons added to the mix😆 and her wrapping a string around his finger...so simple yet so enchantingly executed...truly kudos to the team for that scene👏👏.

I also LOVE the theme score so far...the Bhidne Lage Naina song was an instant win for me...and I instantly thought it had a very Ajay-Atul music hangover...when lo and behold, the show even started using Ajay Atul's "Pehli Baar" song from Dhadak in the show...haha that sequence was really lovely in today's epi :)

I like the real locations they've used in the first week to add to the real feel...set design is really good in this show...and I'm liking the direction style as well...it has a natural feel to it.

I don't expect much from the show...if they can sustain this simple, endearing quality to the characters, then it will be a win for me...cuz the story is mostly predictable...but the character interactions may make it stand out.

Last but not the least...I like Raghu-Aslam's tapori bromance too...lol the way Aslam is always trying to keep him in line while Raghu is off running around per his whims...Aslam is like a pseudo nanny for Raghu😆

naadanmasakalli thumbnail
just finished watching and am in aweee of the simplicity of the train station/ pehli baar scene. if i may say so this was far better than the original picturization of the song which looks too made up. i just loved raghu ki innocnece that smile him wondering whether he is imagining or not then that khushi and absorbing that in and going she looks beautiful in every color. wow we really don't get such saadgi aaj kal . Ahh that scene alone won this epi for me.

Btw i laughed so hard at Mumbai wale Hospital ka naam being "sanjeevani" 🤣

Aslam is the head while raghu is the ehart and body i liked him knockign sense in raghu ke bhai kya pyar kya feelings jab Arrest hona padega.a che se samjhaya ke kyon arrest honeka

meh at raghu ki plus one 😳 that is mandatory possessive jealous category and i was right about dhanak'ssister filling the space for a negative family member villain on her side bleh...

but the train station scene Won this epi for me . it had a beautiful old world charm
Edited by naadanmasakalli - 6 years ago
MJ_1009 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 7
damn, the leads definitely have chemistry...i really liked how raghu still thought of helping dhanak's father because strangers in real life don't help out each other that much...
Alpha_Aakash thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 6
@AreYaar Happy to see you here. I remember those NBTNMKK Forum days. Good old days.
GB is actually a predictable show but i am loving the whole chawl set up and all the slang.

Both Newcomers are doing great.

Screenplay and DOP is on point.

Hope above factors help in TRP as well

livelytanu thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 5
Awesome thread.
I am absolutely loving the characterisation of Raghu & Dhanak.
Raghu's love at first sight is so adorable. 😆
The episodes have been so good! I liked the promo of this show but didn't expect such good episodes. Total surprise. Hope they maintain the quality. 😆
Love love Bhidne lage naina song.
Free_Rein thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
Wow Thanks for making the post.Its been long time,i missed your long reviews on the episodes lol.Wonderful review!!

I am generally not a fan of Love at first sight kinda love stories.But what i liked here is the guy is not calling/naming it as love already.Yes he very innocently asked Aslam "yeh pyaar hai kya" but he is not declaring it grandly as love like in all the LAFS stories i have seen before.

And yes the way the guy is smitten by her it is not looking cheap like you already mentioned.It is not creepy.In the balcony/balloon scene the way he was looking at her or lost in her,its like he was looking at the most precious thing if you focus on his eyes.And also idk whether i am biased towards him,his eyes has some kind of innocence when he is looking at her.And also the girl is pretty and attractive so he getting smitten by her i am finding it reasonable too unlike our flirting Dhinku creepily looking at ACP let me know if i should edit this 😆.Here he was just smitten by her and not flirting in the drop of a hat.

Regarding Dhanak's character you already said it everything.Yes she is highly relatable and her thinking/ideas reflects those of any of today's independent woman towards gender inequality.And if am not wrong most of us are against this Dowry system atleast me.So yes its easy to connect with her.And she was confident enough and courageous to fight it (in her sister's case) which is required for her IPS profession,yes she is a strong character i hope they sustain this for atleast few episodes.I am curious to see her in IPS avtar even for one or two episodes, based on promos it looks interesting. Lets see., but at the same time dont want to keep high expectations also lol.And her father represents all our fathers who can go to any extent of sacrifice to make their daughters happy,so the father-daughter bonding is highly relatable too and the director executed it very realistically and the way Dhanak band bajaaoed the ladke waale with demo with coins etc., the whole scene was well written,executed and enacted👏.

Regarding Raghu-Aslam equation,its somewhat reminding me of Mohan-Guru of NBT.I like their equation too.

And regarding that balcony scene again,it is repeatworthy scene,it is on loop for me.The amazing BG song and the way it was shot beautifully elevated the scene and made their first meeting impactful.

Actually the first few scenes i watched in this show were friday episode scenes,the leads impressed me on first sight i mean the expressions/acting.Yes i trust my first impression regarding acting,i was not wrong. After that when i watched the previous episodes the FL done a pretty good job in all the scenes like emotional scenes,powerful scenes like Dowry scene.Like you aptly said she is acting it in understated natural way too.

Regarding yesterday precap,i hope they dont go overboard showing saas-bahu kind of fighting as ML's mom is already throwing tomato at her in the precap by mistake and asking heroine to apologise eventhough it was not her mistake.I think in Voot,they are not uploading precaps.FL family already landed in chawl where ML family stays as heroine's Nani is also staying in the same chawl lol.Lets see what happens today😆

I blabbered random thoughts as you already said it everything nothing to add more.

Edited by ...Nihara... - 6 years ago
AreYaar thumbnail

Originally posted by: naadanmasakalli

j

meh at raghu ki plus one 😳 that is mandatory possessive jealous category and i was right about dhanak'ssister filling the space for a negative family member villain on her side bleh...

but the train station scene Won this epi for me . it had a beautiful old world charm

LOL@ Raghu ki plus one...token third angle toh hona hi hota hai...but main point is that he clearly tells her he's not interested...woh khud hi chep ho rahi hai😆

Train station was lovely indeed :)
AreYaar thumbnail

Originally posted by: meenachem

damn, the leads definitely have chemistry...i really liked how raghu still thought of helping dhanak's father because strangers in real life don't help out each other that much...

True...Raghu does have his own code of honor despite being a thug otherwise...he felt guilty for putting the wrong Mr. Parikh through all this trauma so couldn't bear to leave him in crisis.

The leads have an understated kind of chemistry...it's not in your face as of now...that's what I'm liking.
AreYaar thumbnail

Originally posted by: Alpha_Ka_Gamma

@AreYaar Happy to see you here. I remember those NBTNMKK Forum days. Good old days.

GB is actually a predictable show but i am loving the whole chawl set up and all the slang.

Both Newcomers are doing great.

Screenplay and DOP is on point.

Hope above factors help in TRP as well

Thank you :) Seems like after ages, Colors has made a show with relatively less negativity/regressiveness and without tacky, weird supernatural crap.

It would be good for them if they can return to the caliber of when they aired stuff like NBT than the trash they have been airing since the last few years.

This show has potential for now...the newcomers are doing a good job and direction is good too.
AreYaar thumbnail

Originally posted by: livelytanu

Awesome thread.

I am absolutely loving the characterisation of Raghu & Dhanak.
Raghu's love at first sight is so adorable. 😆
The episodes have been so good! I liked the promo of this show but didn't expect such good episodes. Total surprise. Hope they maintain the quality. 😆
Love love Bhidne lage naina song.

Thank you, Tanu :)

I actually didn't have much thoughts on the promos but the show has deffo surprised me in a good way😆...so word on hoping they can maintain the quality.

The song is a big plus :)