Actually, this started out as a reply to one of Poppy's posts where she mentioned that she was confused by Shravan's behavior in Friday's episode. Over the weekend I realized that I had a few more points to add and decided to make a seperate post. Do read it and let me know your thoughts
Shravan is confused now that is perhaps what is confusing us as well.Very well portrayed by Namik.
Getting to the point. Shravan never speaks his mind, and he didn't today. Let us talk about the ShraMan scene. Why is he there ? If he was worried about Naanu, shouldn't he be with him ? The only reason he was there was because he wanted to see Sumo, anything else is a lie. Second, notice his voice when he says "Mann nahi hai", he is in pain but that pain is because he failed his friend. He is not able to sit there, he can't see her eye to eye.
"Tumne saare rishte khatam hone ke baad bi jo tumne mere liye kiya hai" that brought out regret, that he probably was not there when she most needed him, just like she had not been there when he needed her the most.
Has there ever been a need for Sumo to say "please" to him before ? why now ? I bet that "please" and "thank you" hurt him more than ever today. All he wants to do when she says "thank you" and "ehsaan" is for her to shut up and he almost says that. He wants to say it is her haq and how can she thank him for what was his duty. But it is he who broke off their friendship and not Sumo, he altered their equation, can he expect from her anymore. While he himself is hurt, what is hurting him more is that Sumo actually accepted that their relationship is over. How can she ? Thats not Shravan's Sumo. His Sumo is one who promised to wait till he returns.
That being said, the line that he says "I would have done this even for someone else" which is right in a way, he would have done it even for someone else,and rightly so but would it have made him feel this way ? He is stranded in an island now. He cut off his relationship with Sumo. There is no one else he even remotely connects to.
He says this because he has to counter the word "ehsaan" that she said, I see no other reason. He doesn't want her to think that because he did this for her, she should be indebted to him for life just like she is indebted to her family now. Rememeber the conversation they have during the khosla case, when Sumo asks him not to come to court. He knows how much she already tolerates just because of others ehsaan and so he doesn't want his ehsaan on her too, particularly not now, when she is so broken. He cannot see her like this and the bagoda runs of course !
How charachteristic of Shravan to run, to hide behind his facade ! But his confusion is evident when he says "Apna khayal rakhna", why say that if you don't care ? Why say that if she is not your friend anymore ? Why should she not thank him if they are not friends ? He is caught now within himself. All the versions of Shravan are confusing him.
We will see more conflict in his thoughts, words and actions in the future.
The precap confused us and rightly so, I think it was meant to confuse us. Shravan will not admit in front of anyone else, specially not in front of his father. He hasn't connected the dots yet and he probably will only when the Rubik's cube is in his hand, when he sits alone and reflects. In a way I am glad that they did not show us a scene where Shravan goes and admits to Sumo that he said what he said. It would have been disppointing beacuse they would have painted he "grey" Shravan "white" in a day.There is time for that and it has to come slowly.
Today we saw the "friend" Shravan, the one who promised that he will be there for her always. The spiteful Shravan is going to go away and for good but I think it will be a few episodes before he fully understands the enormity of the situation and I hope and pray Sumo is there for him. And for these few episodes we will have to be content with a confused Shravan.
This is his path
Clarity --> Confusion (thanks to Ramnath)--> indifference -- > contempt --> spite --> vengence --> confusion(now) --> indifference (next)-- regret --> clarity (long road I know)
As usual the ironies, what he says and what he actually means
Main sirf Naanu ke liye rukha tha - main bas tumhe ek baar dekhna chahta tha
Mann nahi hai - jab tum is haal mein ho to main kaise kha sakta hoon
Apna khayal rakha - kaash main yahan ruk sakta tumhare liye
Apart from this, I had this one point to make which I think we should remember when talking about Shravan.
"Sumo ka Shravan aur Shravan ki Sumo", now the "Sumo" is important, simply becuase Suman had witnessed and survived a big tragedy even before she met Shravan, so if there is no Shravan, there is no Sumo, but Suman will still be there. Consider Shravan's case, the greatest tragedy in his life was two pronged, his mother and his love were both lost at the same time and Shravan's who is truly, madly and deeply in love with Sumo disintegrates when his Sumo is no longer with him. It has happened before when he decided to leave India but Sumo came running to him and that one incident of her coming back gave him hope for 10 years without any kind of communication, my heart breaks to see such love, all it will probably take for Shravan is some kind of an assurance from Sumo, he will deny it first but he is too much in love with her to lose her.