cezzurockz thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
Posted: 17 years ago
i agree wid prem-diwani yaar i found ridz a reallly confused person i mean at a moment she bashes him say disgusting words to him n thn on the second moment care for him...if she ws so confused abt arman's nature tht he's v non serious or funny or whtever thn she shud hv stop herself b4 she cm close to him or confessed her luv to him

taali dono hathon se bajti hai m nt saying tht arman is an angel bt he's doing all this bc she is takg him for granted
untilwhenever21 thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
CinciGal I totally agree with what you have to say !.. I 'm so happy you wrote what I was thinking cause I didn't know if I'd be able to explain my view of abusive relationships well enough !..
CinciGal thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail
Kakato02, thank you for appreciating my thoughts. I had much more to write, only couldnt put it into words.

funalways thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail
a very nice topic to discuss... infact this should b discussed at a greater and grand level so tht young boys n girls, esp teenagers, r fully aware and they get mentally stronger
but ppl dont just discuss armaan and riddhimas POV coz this is a show and take any of the 100s of shows on tv...they need to behave in a certain way...like the guy for example armaan has to help a girl instead of the girl trying to solve her own probs and later that girl falls for the helper. similarly, the female lead has to be behanji type--ideal, giving bhashan and getting angry on small mistakes.
lets just not make it a discussion on armaan-riddhimas behavior...its a show so this month they wil act mature and the next teenyboppish and the next childish
neeraja swati thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
i quite disagree on the fact u mentioned a-r are having a abusive relationship.
Armaan always trusted ridz. he even changed his attitude ,his way of life for ridz. At every moment he trusted her.
i know one thing he did bad was hiding the truth about the muskaan related issue. But when he told riddhima the reality she was not ready to accept it. And the main part was when she said "she was still not sure about the relation between them" cum on wat kind of a answer was that. how can u justify it. with those words armaan was really hurt and cum who wouldn't feel bad. rite now what armaan is doing is just expressing his anger and he has got the full rites to do it.
LadyMcbeth thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail

Hi Ridhi,

Nice topic... Abusive relationships can be exceedingly damaging, especially if one partner is emotionally weak and cannot break out of it.

Is Armaan abusive - I don't know. Some of the things he does come across as endearing. Here's my analysis of some situations:

1) He feels jealous about Rahul and Ridz bonding, esp, becoz he knows that Rahul is doing it to spite him and Ridz is all innocence.

2) He did comment on Ridz's dressing style. Well, he doesn't control it. He told Ridz that she would look good in either clothes - western or Indian.

3) He grabbing her - maybe a sign of possessiveness/borderline abusive. But again that depends on the level of their relationship and Ridz's perspective.

4) He inflicting self-harm - that is the only thing I strongly oppose - I think it is highly abusive. He is scaring Ridz off with his self-harm behaviour patterns - standing in rain all night, having accidents, getting hit during a fight on purpose, slashing wrists or punching a mirror etc. It was downright scary. I would stay away from such a guy! It is outright emotional blackmail. What if something happens and love biz doesn't work out? I am a type of person who would move on. I wouldn't want to responsible for what the guy does to himself.

If a girl is ever in an abusive relationship. The first thing she should do is confide in someone - not only in someone she trusts but also someone who is truly capable of helping her out. Sometimes girls in confide in wrong people who give wrong advise to "hang-on" to a relationship inspite of the physical and mental torture. So it is important to confide to a right person. If no one is available, call the help lines. They are anonymous.

Above all, a girl should never be weak. She should be street smart and be able to get out of such an abusive relationship. That doesn't go to say that the guys are always wrong. Sometimes, the girls falsely implicate their man just to seek revenge. Some girls too are insecure, highly suspicious and can frustrate a guy to no end or drive him nuts.

The best thing to do is to handle it maturely and ethically - leaving aside all emotions. Get out of it if a relationship is not fulfilling you emotionally. Ask your conscience and do the right thing.

Edited by LadyMcbeth - 17 years ago
hdalal thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: qazplm

Also, I want to point out this:-

Abuse does not have to be physical.

Emotional abuse is as damaging as physical abuse, though it is often harder to recognize, and therefore to recover from. Emotional abuse causes long term self esteem issues and profound emotional repercussions for the partners of abusers. Abuse typically alternates with declarations of love and statements that they will change, providing a "hook" to keep the partner in the relationship.

How about if we ponder on this??

@qazplm....Nice post...and well said. Emotional & mental abuse is infact worse then physical abuse. And like you said, Armaan cannot be called abusive. Aggressive yes, when provoked beyond limits. Agreed he has been getting restless and aggressive in the recent epis, he should never have done what he did in the last epi, but that does not make him abusive. Till now he has shows utmost caring for her, has been there for her whenever she has needed him, inspite of all her taunts. Riddhima slaps him, taunts him, makes him feel unworthy of her by her frequent jabs at him about not understanding what is right or wrong, accuses him of being insensitive to others pain, calls him all sorts of things, has questioned his character, just to mention a few things. Agreed she may be having her reasons, right or wrong, is a different question. So does it make her too an abuser? Armaan definitely needs to control his anger and keep a check on his self harming tendencies, but that does not mean he is an abuser
Edited by hdalal - 17 years ago
Ishaqzaadi thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4
Im sorry but I dont think that Armaan is ABUSING Riddhima physically AT ALL and its really unfair to categorise their relationship as abusive he loves her TO DEATH

Hes an aggressive person with a short temper - yes. But I dont think he'd ever beat her up or anything..come on! 😛

I know people got shocked at his twisting her wrists yesterday but I think his point was 'physical pain isnt half as painful as emotional pain'...and the emotional pain both he and Ridz are going through is hundreds time more painful then twisting her wrists...

he just wanted her to tell the truth, that she DOES feel something when he comes close to her..

he wouldnt ever hurt her bad..i can take his guarantee there!!!!! 😛 😛
TwilightLovee. thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: qazplm

Definitely not!!

Definition of Abusive Relation: Abusive relationships are characterized by extreme jealousy, emotional withholding, lack of intimacy, raging, sexual coercion, infidelity, verbal abuse, threats, lies, broken promises, physical violence, power plays and control games.

Abuse is when a man hits frequently and unpurposefully.

Has Armaan ever even gone to the limit of hitting her?? No. Does he do so without a reason? No.

Before we knew the past of Armaan...would we even have ventured to ponder about this thought? No.

From the start of the show...all Armaan has done...is been a caring, understanding, loving...doctor, friend, lover.

I keep on repeating that Armaan is in a state of helplessness right now. He does not understand what he'd doing at the moment. All he cares of is to make Ridhima confess somehow. Anyway. In the process, a little of Ammy has come forward.

But, we can definitely say...that the Armaan we know...is never capable of performing such an act!

He has! When Ridz told him to stay away from snajeevani and he said i will leave for a few days and he goes to Kasauli...in the fire exit place and Ridz makes him mad and he's about to hit her, but punches the wall instead.....i think that can count as hitting!😆😆😆
Ishaqzaadi thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4
OMG please he was NOT about to hit her..he hit the wall and was aiming for the wall..Im pretty confident about that...!