I will wait to hear more from the agencies here - if appropriate procedures were followed before, during and after arrest, then unfortunately, tautological as it may sound, that's that.
Bigg Boss 19 - Daily Discussion Topic - 30th Aug 2025 - WKV
Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai - 30 Aug 2025 EDT
MAIRA KNOWS 30.8
Aneet and Ahaan on the cover of THR!!
Monsoon Magic Micro-fiction Contest Felicitation Ceremony
Param Sundari opens well
Throw back! When katrina did not take 'gentle' gently from Shah!
Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai - 31 Aug 2025 EDT
Nazar laga hua anda mein nahi khaata
Queen 2 Tanu Weds Manu 3 Get Rolling
Unseen bollywood pics
Trailer - Do You Wanna Partner - Tamannaah Bhatia Diana Penty
Amaal has a message for his Phansss 😇
Vicky says Katrina hates ‘honest feedbacks’ about her acting but…..
Sidharth Malhotra future prediction!!! From what his future says!!!!
Anupamaa completes FIVE Years !! Fifth Anniversary Celebrations
CID episode 75 - 30th August
Anupamaa 31 Aug 2025 Written Update & Daily Discussions Thread
The Curry-ous Readers 🍛 Book Talk Reading Challenge September 2025
Originally posted by: return_to_hades
This wasn't a bias against India.
Originally posted by: K.Universe.
If someone is alleging that, they need to supply a motive.I don't think anyone has insinuated towards this angle, yes as a nation with a friendly status , considering the severity of the allegations - the treatment meted on a diplomat irrespective of nationality was not appropriate.
If someone is not alleging that, they need to explain why according to them the US is treating this particular officer any differently (than they would treat other officers from other countries).I would sound like a broken record here , but because America doesn't have a universal labour laws for diplomats. It has been equally lenient to many nations for the same allegations in the past including in a case featuring a diplomat from Japan and another from UAE. This is a very common , yet pitiable practice enjoyed by many nations all around and has an unspoken approach to it - "which America has also practiced". It's the double standards with how the big nation practices the standard procedure in it's own land and makes a mockery in many another.Another difference- Vienna Convention - Though the diplomatic immunity doesn't not apply to consular duties, many feel legally the Indian Diplomat would and should have enjoyed this immunity. Her case is being defended on these grounds.
This is a very complicated situation. I agree that Devyani was unable to pay an amount as big as 4500$ to her maid as her own salary is lesser than that,but I also don't agree that she should have broken the US law...Add the cost of food, lodging, to and fro airfare from India to US to whatever salary she was being given.ButI'm assuming someone who was capable of becoming an IFS office was also capable of comprehending the terms of the contract she had signed. Secondly, it seems that Devyani owns two properties in the Adarsh Society in Mumbai which is part of a larger land scam which I am sure is worth crores, so it appears strange to me that our Government bureaucrats can afford and own super expensive apartments but claim they earn a certain amount and therefore cannot pay wages.Let's not mix two issues. First of all we don't know whether she is corrupt. Secondly, even if she is involved in some kind of corruption within India it is India's internal matter, it's none of USA's business. Here it's not about whether she is corrupt or not, it's about an Indian diplomat being mistreated. Who that Indian diplomat is, is not relevant here. If a nation's diplomat is mistreated, it's an insult to the nation not a matter of that individual alone. And India is well within their rights to retaliate.Thirdly my research states that once her domestic staff demanded the rightful amount that was due to her, a series of legal cases were filled against this poor woman and her family by this powerful bureaucrat and her husband and child were taken in police custody.Your research? Since when did you take up investigative journalism?Moreover, if the maid's family was taken into police custody and if it's proved that it was done wrongfully, I once again reiterate, it's India's internal matter, not USA's business.The crime was commited in the USA, an Indian court has no rulling over it, like it or not. Modern slavery, is what it is called !!!😊She didn't mistreat or abuse or physically harm the maid. She didn't confiscate her passport and turn the maid into a bonded labour. She didn't make the maid to work for free. She paid the maid what is affordable for an Indian employee drawing salary by Indian standard, which was much higher than what maids get in India but not as high as maids in US. And US would've done better to keep all that in mind and to handle this more sensitively since it involves a diplomat from another country.
This is a very complicated situation. I agree that Devyani was unable to pay an amount as big as 4500$ to her maid as her own salary is lesser than that,but I also don't agree that she should have broken the US law...how do you suggest she was to comply with the minimum wages law ? Sell all her property in India so that she could pay wages fixed by USA?ButI'm assuming someone who was capable of becoming an IFS office was also capable of comprehending the terms of the contract she had signed. Secondly, it seems that Devyani owns two properties in the Adarsh Society in Mumbai which is part of a larger land scam which I am sure is worth crores, so it appears strange to me that our Government bureaucrats can afford and own super expensive apartments but claim they earn a certain amount and therefore cannot pay wages.How many people in the world sell properties to pay wages 😆 salary earned at Indian rates, Property was bought at Indian rates , wages to be paid at US ratesThirdly my research states that once her domestic staff demanded the rightful amount that was due to her, a series of legal cases were filled against this poor woman and her family by this powerful bureaucrat and her husband and child were taken in police custody.How was that amount rightfully demanded? She had accepted the lesser pay before leaving for US but later slapped the exploitation charge on landing in US 😉The crime was commited in the USA, an Indian court has no rulling over it, like it or not. Modern slavery, is what it is called !!!😊If other countries start implementing their local rulings on US officers on their land imagine their plight. High time they did 😆