LizzieBennet thumbnail

Originally posted by: DelusionsOfNeha

Sun sun sun sun zaalima and Jaa Jaa jaa jaa bewafa and that's due to the magic of O.P.N.

Both of these songs are absolute gems!! The playful banter and love ... Uff!! I'd love to do it for realzz!!❤️

Our choice is sooo similar mumma!!! Where have you been?! ⭐️🤗

Another pair of 'twin' songs, the same emotion conveyed in totally different ways.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4omm5U4bvqU

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vTTWTQa3H1E

Edited by LizzieBennet - 3 years ago
Delusional_Minx thumbnail

Mose chhal .. I've danced on this in my room and lemme tell you... It's very difficult!!❤️ saiyaan beimaan

Guide!!! OMG! This movie is beautiful! But the book is wayyyy better!! While reading, I did feel that I shouldn't have watched the movie first but nevertheless it was a beautiful experience!

Kya se kya ho gaya ... I say this unironically all the time to a whole lot of things and people😆 it's my go to song the moment something inconvenient happens. 😆

The faces DA makes while singing 🤣 how dramatic!!

https://youtu.be/haO0ucjvxeo

Wahan kaun hai tera musafir jayega kahan..dum le le ghadi bhar.. ❤️

Kehte hai gyani..duniya hai faani.. pani pe likhi .. kuch tera na mera.. musafir jaayega kahan ..

I simply love this song!!

The range of songs in this movie is crazy and wild! From the most philosophies ones to peppy dance number, to the wanting to live and die in a moment... The yearning, longing and everything! ❤️

Edited by DelusionsOfNeha - 3 years ago
LizzieBennet thumbnail

I have waxed eloquent over this song, it’s lyrics and SDBs singing so much on this thread that I don’t wanna repeat the adoration to sound like a cracked record 😆. Suffice to say this song has my heart and soul ❤️

Please tell me you've read the book!! I really wanna discuss it with someone!!

LizzieBennet thumbnail

Originally posted by: DelusionsOfNeha

Please tell me you've read the book!! I really wanna discuss it with someone!!

I have but it’s been a while. At the time, I remember liking it more than the movie too but I daresay I might feel differently now!

Viswasruti thumbnail

Neha, Raju’s flattery of Rosie despite her status as a married woman points to his dubious morals; clearly, he has no qualms about overstepping the bounds of propriety with Rosie behind Marco’s back. This also points to Raju’s propensity for deceit.

Throughout, the novel depicts the human spirit's weaknesses and its strength when needed.

Somehow, it revolves around the psychoanalysis of a man's lust and inherent culture, both on loggerheads at one stage when he stood at a crossroads in life. Ultimately, the inherent trait of doing good will win over selfishness.

Originally posted by: Viswasruti

Neha, Raju’s flattery of Rosie despite her status as a married woman points to his dubious morals; clearly, he has no qualms about overstepping the bounds of propriety with Rosie behind Marco’s back. This also points to Raju’s propensity for deceit.

Throughout, the novel depicts the human spirit's weaknesses and its strength when needed.

Somehow, it revolves around the psychoanalysis of a man's lust and inherent culture, both on loggerheads at one stage when he stood at a crossroads in life. Ultimately, the inherent trait of doing good will win over selfishness.

Indeed!

The book is very simple in the narrative but when we start looking for deeper meanings, they is so much more to explore! I read it a few years ago but there are certain things that I still remember!

I love the metaphorical title, Guide, journey of Raju being a deceitful tour guide to a spiritual and enlightened human who is full of compassion and selfless!

The movie depicts is nicely but the book captures the essence in a stronger manner❤️

I just noticed! Congratulations on being a VB Madhu!!🤗🥳🥳

LizzieBennet thumbnail

I remember what stood out in the book to me was the ambiguity in the end. It doesn’t end things conclusively like the movie does.

Also, that one person - I forget that villager’s name in the book who he narrates his whole sordid tale to - believing in Raju no matter what. I wonder when that change of heart comes about in Raju. That feeling that he’s destined for this- his karma. It took such a long journey for him to be liberated. He betrays Marco first in his role as the tourist guide. Then he betrays Rosie in his role as her professional guide- the person who plans and manages things for her. It takes him three tries to get it right- his final leg as the spiritual guide that sacrifices himself for the greater good. There is a lot of deep meaning in the book even if it’s written simplistically.

Similarly for Rosie- third time’s the charm. It took her three tries to liberate herself from the shackles of being dependent on a guy! For me, Rosie was the real hero. Raju was always morally ambiguous but Rosie - she has her heart in the right place and she has true talent. All she wanted was to practice her art and be in the company of artists. Of course she wanted to be noticed too but in the end that fame undid her. Or rather Raju’s exploitation of her talent for financial gain did.

I think where the book scores over the movie is that Narayan wasn’t afraid to make his protagonist morally ambiguous, even downright painting him black. The movie, on the other hand I think downplays Raju’s grey character. After all he’s the hero and played by Dev! Still, have to give it to Dev and Goldie! It was a brave move to make a movie like that in those times! Especially given the rather promiscuous nature of Raju and Rosie’s relationship. Makes me wonder if love ever came into it. She looked upon him as a means to escape the mundane and pursue something extraordinary. And he - well, he saw her as something of a commodity - the goose with the golden eggs I suppose.

Where the movie scores above the book is the songs! Goddamit! They’re perfection. I’ve lost some love for Gaata rahe mera dil over the years but the rest? They’re ek se badhkar ek!

Edited by LizzieBennet - 3 years ago