Serendipity.. thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
Rape is a heinous crime and i don't think anyone in their right senses would ever use the word to make an analogy or use it so casually. The trauma associated with it is something me or you cannot imagine. Its just not an another word. It is very very sensitive.
N Physical pain can be described in various other ways. N a man like Salman is not expected to be so irresponsible. He has soo many people worshipping him, today their idol is talking about a crime so casually, tomorrow the rest of them will follow. Being a celebrity doesn't give him any liberty to talk crap like this. He deserves every bit of the backlash he's getting.

I'm surprised in a positive way to find some of the hardcore salman fans on IF not supporting him in this regard. So glad sanity prevails.
Deadinside thumbnail
Smooth Talk Showdown Participant Thumbnail 9th Anniversary Thumbnail + 3
Making Rai pahad is when'when you goes on and on passing stupid pathetic statements.
This shouldnt be just making apology to woman. I think One must go and teach him a lesson.
mehak_kapoor thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail + 8

Originally posted by: yamyam

Wah.. there are more serious issues happening in the world so lets not focus on how Salman made a complete mockery of a serious crime, A crime which is gaining rise in all parts of the world, A crime which completely shatters the victim and a crime which inflicts not only physical trauma to the victim.. lets forget it all/. Why? Because Salman did not mean to hurt anyone🥱He used something as serious as rape as a joke he casually refereed to the pain a woman goes through after rape to describe something as menial as workout pain but we are overreacting🤢Had he been man enough to apologize, he would not have been thrashed.. But no.. That is too much to ask from him.. He is bhai afterall.. A disgusting creature is what he is🤢

I guess TM forgot that we are in Bollywood forum and serious issues like this related to Bollywood ppl will be discussed here. Matlab Salman ko defend karne ke liye they will say anything that does not even make sense.
MS-meghasharma thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4
Salman represents the majority mentality of our country . We have politicians sitting in parliament uttering disgusting things about women or rape victims but nobody cares . They win elections come again & ppl forget it after some time & that is exactly what will happen here too. His movie will become another big hit & everyone won't even remember it after 10-15 days . He really should have apologised after such disgusting comments . There is nothing wrong in admitting that you have made a mistake . The way he & media sitting there were laughing ...that was plain sick . Even those media ppl need to apologise & someone should have reprimanded him right there but everyone was too busy sharing bhay's joke which actually made everyone else look like a joke . Totally disgusted by this entire issue .
870349 thumbnail
See forget being Salman fan

I watch many movies and shows with that same joke Salman said . Entourage for example had so many jokes on this topic . I wont lie I found it entertaining . Should I just stop watching all that ????
tanvismile thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: TheBoss

Yes and no. It is all about the context. Here it was used to humiliate what a rape victim goes through. A broken and debilitated woman who had everything taken away from her. When you grasp the sense it is abundantly clear what he implied. There is no misquote about it.

To give you a better understanding I did some community service at a shelter that provided for the homeless and destitute. Sometimes there would be women who were raped or been victims of sexual abuse. Nothing about them was normal anymore. They would panic or jump over a slightest touch. They will be hard to work with because they were completely broken. Their whole being was taken away from them. It isn't just the physical trauma but also the emotional trauma of a rape victim. A part of them is forever gone.

To make it simple. It is as saying "Aisa haal hoga ke ke chalne ke kabil nahi rahogi"

I totally agree with you and rape is not about physical pain only but Salman was describing his physical pain .He was describing the walk and to be more accurate he used that word.If you remember in films ,they show the victim's finding difficulty in walking.When a person describes his own pain how can be he make fun of a raped victim ?..The main thing he was describing his pain and nothing else and still for hurting the sentiments he should apologize but I don't get with the hate comments and nasty comments.We are behaving as if he raped someone. We are behaving as if we never made mistakes in communication.He unintentionally hurted but we are intentionally hurting by using filthy words which I found wrong.
zehreeli.kheer thumbnail
Visit Streak 750 Thumbnail 16th Anniversary Thumbnail + 7

Originally posted by: Maroon5.0

See forget being Salman fan

I watch many movies and shows with that same joke Salman said . Entourage for example had so many jokes on this topic . I wont lie I found it entertaining . Should I just stop watching all that ????

Yes you should
anam10 thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 2
Using word Rape is actually very common . Like " He sang the song so badly that he raped it". Its wrong usage, but it happens IRL.
Coming from a celebrity like Salman, it becomes a crime coz he is idol of millions and his jokes and vocabulary is instantly adopted by entire fandom. That's why its not acceptable that he used this word in press conference.
Novarieaa thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: MS-meghasharma

Salman represents the majority mentality of our country . We have politicians sitting in parliament uttering disgusting things about women or rape victims but nobody cares . They win elections come again & ppl forget it after some time & that is exactly what will happen here too. His movie will become another big hit & everyone won't even remember it after 10-15 days . He really should have apologised after such disgusting comments . There is nothing wrong in admitting that you have made a mistake . The way he & media sitting there were laughing ...that was plain sick . Even those media ppl need to apologise & someone should have reprimanded him right there but everyone was too busy sharing bhay's joke which actually made everyone else look like a joke . Totally disgusted by this entire issue .

This and precisely that's why he should be condemned and shamed for having a cheap mentality. Because a lot of people try to imitate their idols and it would send a wrong message if he's spared for such crass and distasteful words.
I am a woman, still I think twice before uttering the word but Salman , being a guy and a superstar how easlily let the word slip through his mouth in a joking manner. Horrible.🤢🤢🤢
zehreeli.kheer thumbnail
Visit Streak 750 Thumbnail 16th Anniversary Thumbnail + 7

Originally posted by: anam10

Using word Rape is actually very common . Like " He sang the song so badly that he raped it". Its wrong usage, but it happens IRL.

Coming from a celebrity like Salman, it becomes a crime coz he is idol of millions and his jokes and vocabulary is instantly adopted by entire fandom. That's why its not acceptable that he used this word in press conference.

Raped the button and Walking like a raped woman.. these two expressions are not comparable..