Neetav thumbnail
Hi Pathaka

SearchIndia.com blasts 99% of Hindi movies.

To me it seems their only mission is to find faults. 😲

I can remember only Jab Tak Hai Jaan and Kahaani getting a positive review from SearchIndia in recent years.
Edited by Neetav - 12 years ago
pathaka thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 6
okay i saw it...read the review at ur own risk..may contain SPOILERS

and im so so so glad i liked it...lol...tht was my main concern b4 going into the film...tht i would get the mausam/SLB kinda vibe where everything is beautiful but also spectacularly empty and hollow...thankfully tht is NOT the case...

i have a pechant for vintagy films...like the ones set in 50s and 60s because i believe there was something amazing abt those eras...70s is more kitschy and a lot of fun..but 50s and 60s were just so...i dunno...pretty and nice...i wasnt born in tht era but from the movies i saw from these eras(,mainly rajesh khanna, shammi kapoor, waheeda rahman and guru dutt movies) i really love it...there is something other worldly abt this era...which is why i simply loved parineeta as well (Despite its flaws) because it captured this era wonderfully...

same with lootera...usually im the first one to trash slow paced indulgent crap (like the kind SLB makes...or the kind mausam or fanaa was)...coz im the kind of person who usually says "i dunt care abt the stupid curtains or the lights...wht the shit is the scene actually abt?"...and i hate...absolutely HATE pointless silences...like say in raincoat where throughout the film i was just like "ugggh...talk already b4 i fall asleep"...

BUT BUT...lootera kept me engaged throughout...

the screenplay was gr8...all the scenes (in the first half, where there is some humor in it...and in the grim second half) just grip u...i dunt know how motwane did it with such a slow paced film...but it gripped me...kinda like swades did when i saw it...i cant explain why it gripped me, it just did...i find such movies maha boring usually but i actually didnt find this boring at any point...i dunt even know why...coz it has all the ingridients for it...slow paced story, lots of silent moments, wafer thin story, grim setting...but it was pretty engaging for me thoughout...

my fav scenes were the ones involving sonakshi and her father where he tells her the parrot story...and the ones with ranveer in the second half...where they hug towards the end and he tells her her like shouldnt depend on the leaf ("he says yeh tumhara tota nahin hai"...tht was just so poignant...)...a lot of ppl had massive problems with the last leaf incorportation but i thought it was really well done...thts wht gave the film this "sad yet positive" vibe to it...

music was awsome sauce...onscreen, i loved zinda and manmarziyaan the best although ankaheen is my fav ofscreen...anywayz...bgm is stunning aswell...

the camerawork is gorgeous...nothing else needs to be said there...
it speaks for itself...
anywayz...coming to the performances...

the guy who played sonakshi's dad was superb...i loved him soo much...

then the guy who played like the dev anadish friend of ranveer was good too...

ranveer was fab...he has this amazing intensity in the second half especially which is awsome...like therz angst, therz grief,therz redemption, love...everything wrapped under this big blanket of intensity...it was gr8 to watch him play it subtle...hes a wonderful actor and not just a flash in the pan...

sonakshi...omigosh i love u so much!!! shes my newest girl crush...she looked so so so beautiful in the movie...and her dialogue delivery is THE best amongst all the debutants who debuted abt 6-7 years ago...its pitch perfect...voice, modulation, emphasis of certain words...everything is spot on...im seriously in love with her dialogue delivery...

and her expressions were lovely too...i loved the way she portrayed anger and depression in the second half...just brilliant...

overall...liked it a lot...3.5/5...i just connected to it...i dunt even know why...i just did...and i didnt get bored...hurrah...
923901 thumbnail
Glad you liked it Pathaka!!! 😃
poppy2009 thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
This movie, if it doesn't do well commercially (god forbid...such films should do well!), will become the "Lamhe" of this generation! A film that was not appreciated by the audience at the time of its released, but went onto become a timeless classic later on!
A good film is a good film...whether it generates revenues or not! I don't think anyone can take this away from Lootera, irrespective of whether it makes 100 crores or barely breaks even!
Kudos to Vikramaditya Motwani and Balaji Telefilms (unbelievable!) for having the courage and conviction to make such a beautiful film!
Edited by poppy2009 - 12 years ago
923901 thumbnail
Sorry guys but a bitter truth about Indian audiences (mass)

"Mass Indian Audience is still not mature enough to appreciate the well made movies, they mostly go for the movie if it has big names and action/comedy. Well made slow movies cant be hit in masses. Same applies to politics most of the people vote on the name of cast/religion/secularism etc etc, but not for the development."

briahna thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: starstruckk

(apologies if this is tooo long)

I just watched Lootera a few hours ago, and let me just say I absolutely loved it. I loved everything about it, whether it was the cinematography, direction, music, background score, editing, performances, plot - I fell in love with it all.

I don't know where to begin..I wish I could just say I loved everything and leave it at that but I can't because I feel that wouldn't be fair to the sincere effort/hard work put into such a film. I'll begin with the direction. Wow, wow, wow! Motwane is nothing less than brilliance. The best thing about this movie is the way everything is captured/directed/depicted. The slightest of details are captured with such beauty and it could not have been possible without the director's vision. It's so refreshing to see someone who's merely two films hold do such a fantastic job. I can only imagine how far this guy will go and I sincerely hope he goes very, very far and continues entertaining us with such beautiful, heartfelt films.

Coming to the stars of the film, I'm in love with both Sonakshi and Ranveer!!! Let me just begin with my honest confession. When I first saw the trailer, I felt a bit disappointed. I didn't see any chemistry between the leads..Sonakshi and Ranveer together seemed like a misfit, however I thought they individually seemed promising. With that said, I've personally always liked Sonakshi and have always adored Ranveer..that pulled me to watch this film and though I was a bit skeptical about their performances, they completely proved me wrong. They both were brilliant to say the very least.

Sonakshi blows you away with her performance. The best part about Sonakshi is that she instantly clicks with you, onscreen..you tend to fall in love with her right from the word go. She became her character effortlessly and it really shows. In the beginning, more so the first half, Sonakshi completely steals everyone's thunder, even Ranveer's. And, she continues to impress you with every scene and there was such consistency in her performance. I honestly never felt a dull moment from her side. She emoted so well! and she has such a lovely smile! What I absolutely loved was how this was her first leading role and she really nailed it. She puts the likes of Deepika/Sonam etc to shame because those ladies have gotten continuous chances at playing the lead in their respective films and not until NOW, they're proving their worth. However, Sonakshi proves what a talented girl she is with her very first leading performance. I totally expect her to be nominated at every award show next year and would not be surprised if she even walks away with the awards.

(this paragraph contains some spoilers)

AHHH, Ranveer. How I love this guy! I'm a bit confused as to why Ranveer hasn't been receiving the same amount of appreciation as Sonakshi? because the guy was brilliant! I admit in the first half, I felt Ranveer could've done a bit better as I thought Sonakshi overshadowed him..but after the intermission..holy molyyy..Ranveer stole the show. He was beyond awesome! The anger, the guilt, frustration yet affection was so beautifully portrayed by Ranveer. He made the second half of the film so worthwhile. Even in the first half, Ranveer was pretty good..you do see that facade which his character requires and that whole falling in love thing yet trying to feel indifferent because he was a lootera loll was nicely done by him. I sort of felt his dialogue delivery at times fell flat only in the first half, but not to the extent where it bothers you or so. Once again, during the second half.. Ranveer is the star of the show. The guy has so much potential to become the next big thing..I can see him competing with the likes of Ranbir if he continues like this. I now officially declare this guy as one of my favorite Bollywood actors! I expect him too to be nominated for best actor..not sure if he'll walk away with the awards because there's a lot to look forward to for the remaining of this year with some male actors..nonetheless, I wouldn't be surprised if he does.

Moreover, the chemistry between the two was beautiful! During the second half in particular they both make you fall in love and emoted beautifully. The background score was amazing. The music intertwines with the film in such a lovely way. I absolutely loved Manmarziyan! Oh also, every song has some significance in the film. There's no nonsensical song that pops up out of the blue and leaves you stumped. Further, no lip-syncing or silly dances. Another thing, I didn't think the first half was a drag..I've read how some people thought that..I personally didn't. However, yes the second half was far more engaging.

Overall, I loved it..I feel everyone should give this film a shot at least once. It's definitely not a Mausam aka borefest where you want to strangle yourself while sitting in your seat..even if you do feel disappointed during some point in the film, I can guarantee you that you'll walk out loving at least something if not everything. The story too isn't crazy extraordinary but such beautifully written, captured, acted and directed.. so, definitely a must watch at leasttt once. I wouldn't mind watching it again with all honesty.

I'd give it a 4-4.5ish / 5

AND i want to say i have fallen in love with ur review. i hope u continue to write reviews. so detailed.
🤗
5/5
briahna thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: poppy2009

This movie, if it doesn't do well commercially (god forbid...such films should do well!), will become the "Lamhe" of this generation! A film that was not appreciated by the audience at the time of its released, but went onto become a timeless classic later on!

A good film is a good film...whether it generates revenues or not! I don't think anyone can take this away from Lootera, irrespective of whether it makes 100 crores or barely breaks even!
Kudos to Vikramaditya Motwani and Balaji Telefilms (unbelievable!) for having the courage and conviction to make such a beautiful film!

tho we all love see such movies become hits, but for me no worries. even in hollywood, those movies who win big at oscars hardly are big performers at box office windows.
the kind of appreciation this movie is getting is already a reward for the the entire team of lootera.

lets just enjoy this movie.
pathaka thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 6
no yaar...lets not trash the audience just because lootera isnt a resounding commercial success...

some films are meant to have more universal appeal, some dunt...its okay...lootera dosent have universal appeal..its not for everyone like a lot of ppl have mentioned..tht dosent speak for the audience's intelligence, or anyones intelligence really...its not on a comment on anything except the fact tht the director decided to keep his target market to a narrow section of the audience...

its just a movie...there will be ppl who love it, there will be ones who hate it...thts just how cinema is...
Stone-Cold thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Can some give me a quick description on what the plot is about? Non spoiler of course :)
923901 thumbnail

Originally posted by: StevieG786

Can some give me a quick description on what the plot is about? Non spoiler of course :)

The year is 1953. Pakhi,, a Zamindar, in an aristocratic world. In this tranquil existence enters an archaeologist, Varun, seeking help from the Zamindar with a letter from the Archaeological Society of India. With his remarkable knowledge of books and music, and expertise in his own field, Varun impresses the Zamindar, stealing his way into the life and heart of the family; especially Pakhi's. As love blossoms, Pakhi is drawn towards Varun's captivating reserve and easy-going charm. Following a series of inevitable uncertainties and misunderstandings, she comes to terms with her feelings for Varun on the eve of his departure. She shares them with her father and Varun finds himself agreeing to marry Pakhi.But strange are the quirks of fate, queer the vicissitudes of misfortune. A shocking realization about Varun shatters Pakhi's life. She turns reclusive.Pakhi struggles to move on with her life, determined to forget him and their relationship. Until one day, he lands up at her door-step under the most extraordinary circumstances