'Censoring smoking in films is communist attitude'

desigal90 thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 5

"It's easy to file a complaint and write a letter. Why don't they write to the government to ban cigarettes and tobacco and make the law so stringent that no one can dare commit a crime! IT's easy to burn effigies which has no meaning." - Saif Ali Khan

Actor Saif Ali Khan is excited about his forth-coming release Go Goa Gone and Bullett Raja that he is currently shooting in Lucknow. "As an actor I am very excited about the role, screenplay and content. Both are very different films. For me, it's the process of doing the film that is most important," says the actor in a free-wheeling chat.

"I am fine with making less money but the process has to be enjoyable and satisfying. If it makes lot of money then it's all the more good but first it has to be exciting for me. For a new concept like zombie film, as an actor, you must have the guts to take a call. And it's more rewarding when that decision ' right or wrong ' combined with external factors yields results and is liked by the audiences," he says.

ZomCom
On Go Goa Gone, Saif says, "I have personally never been a zombie fan, I like vampire movies. I was given a hand-book to read that excited me. Zombie concept is a different genre of horror unlike Dracula, mummy or Frankenstein. Zombies don't fly and don't have superpower. Go Goa Gone is a combination of zombie and lot of comedy and has come out well," he says.

The film has been shot with foreign technicians and advanced technology. "There is something very funny in the script. This character (Boris) is asked "Are you really Russian? You look a little desi" and he answers "Delhi ka hoon b#@#!" I find it very funny! It instantly makes you laugh." But what about the abusive language? "It's not there just for the sake of it. That's an instant reaction as one does in day-to-day life." The film, releasing on May 10, is set to have an adult certification. The promos have created a buzz on the net. "I am happy with that. Though I am not a social networking person nor I am on Twitter. I can't make my private life public. I can't interact with those I don't know."

Raja on Bullett!
Saif is very satisfied with his character in Bullett Raja. "Raja Mishra (called Missara) has a very distinct look and wears garish clothes ' kurtas, nylon shirt, black trouswers, boots. He is well dressed and you can call him a smart gangster. I believe it will make a style statement to be followed in the fashion circuit.

Tigmanshu (Dhulia, director) has a very distinct way of telling things and I am fully satisfied the way it has shaped up. Though besides Lucknow, it has also been shot in Kolkata and Mumbai, it's a purely UP story."

Lucknow leg
"It's been a good home-stay away from home. Beside some really good work, I am following a good exercise regime and balanced food in the lush green surrounding at the hotel. After the shoot, I am reading a lot and watching TV. Awadhi food is very rich so I have to be careful. The staff here has been kind to serve some low-fat Awadhi food." He is happy the way the city and its people have treated him. He has made some good friends.

Kareena was also here? "Yes we find time to catch up whenever it's possible as both are busy in work. She is shooting in Bhopal so we found time for a few days."

Keen on love story
Under his production house, he is keen to make a live story. "There is nothing concrete at present.

Detective, thriller, ghost and love story are few concepts we are contemplating. A lot of scripts have come and we are reading them but it's too early. I am keen on a good love story."

He refers to Jeffery Archer's statement in which he says adult (sensible) films are no longer being made. "What he means is that very kiddish films are being made. It will be a great idea to make a film for adult audience," he says on the signing off note.

No Smoke Sans Fire
Saif is furious about the public letter written to him and the complaint on smoking a cigar in Go Goa Gone. "It's a very communist attitude! It's very easy for someone to stand up and say fans imitate stars and will follow them. Actors do much good on screen. Does everyone start doing good? This way, use of guns should be banned! Films are creative medium and if you remove all, where is the scope of drama?" He is amazed how the lot of good things that celebrities do is not followed. "If an actress does an item song, does it give right to someone to rape?" he asks. "It's ridiculour. It's easy to file a complaint and write a letter. Why don't they write to the government to ban cigarettes and tobacco and make the law so stringent that no one can dare commit a crime! IT's easy to burn effigies which has no meaning."

Edited by desigal90 - 12 years ago

sunflower52 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4
The thing is Saif jee, there are people who follow movie stars and imitate them.

So that is why smoking should be censored in the movies.

Item songs give boosters to eve teasers.
KkkkkingKhan thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: sunflower52

The thing is Saif jee, there are people who follow movie stars and imitate them.

So that is why smoking should be censored in the movies.

Item songs give boosters to eve teasers.

Ban those cigarettes billboards all over the cities and take off the ads off the tvs.

The people who are idiotic enough to imitate the bad things movie stars are themselves dumb.
Vedika211 thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
Er... do you really think that is what communism means? Marx help you!
desigal90 thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: dkdc

Er... do you really think that is what communism means? Marx help you!

I'm pretty sure he knows the meaning, just saying. Politics are his interest.
I think he termed it the communist attitude.
Hello_kitta thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
Actors do much good on screen. Does everyone start doing good?

100% agree.

Vedika211 thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: desigal90

I'm pretty sure he knows the meaning, just saying. Politics are his interest.
I think he termed it the communist attitude.

Yes, but this is a very superficial, almost stereotypical understanding of a communist attitude. I'm disappointed. I thought of Saif as very intelligent, but this is either bad journalism or pseudo-intellectualism.
415868 thumbnail
It is easier to copy or get influenced by bad stuff than good stuff. Specially when the educated population is soo less. You cannot argue these things with logic like "Why don't people follow good, why follow bad?" kinda stupidity. Dude!!! That's the WHOLE point! We wouldn't be like this if our logical faculties were so strong.Who are you throwing this logic at?

Every Indian has a very warped sense of their 'Fundamental Rights'. It's ok to be communist in certain aspects for the greater good, specially in something like this. Khaahe ka Nawab hai re tu! :-/
BIackSwan thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 3
Why don't they write to the government to ban cigarettes and tobacco and make the law so stringent that no one can dare commit a crime! IT's easy to burn effigies which has no meaning."

I agree with Saif on this!
TheRager thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 4
Lo! Shuru ho gaya nawabzaada.