TheBlackJaguar thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: shubhika124

Maybe. See thats quiet ambiguous. Maybe KJo wanna show friendship over love or it was never love for Tina just infatuation.

Btw you guys noticed?

KKHH : Love is friendship. You cant be lovers until you aren't friends.

KANK : Sometimes friendship takes the place of love & no room is left for Love 🤣

Har film ke saath KJO humein confuse karnaa chaahta hai. 😆....Ok, lets stick to JTHJ or else Maddy will issue a note.
shubhika124 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: TheBlackJaguar

@Shubhika.

Nobody will agree with me , but i still feel Rahul was always in love with Tina. He was happy with her memories and the idea of still loving her until Anjali showed up in saris and long hair. What was that?

True. KJO and Adi are not giving me much hope for the future of romance in celluloid.

I DO agree with you. For me what worked was the idea of small kid finding her new mom & I was six then , very very emotional kid. I didn't like the logic though it was the sheer magic what Tina-Rahul had. What they shared , I couldn't see between Rahul-Anjali (not even in rain dance) I just fell for its poignancy but it was so so so beautifully made I didn't care about anything else.

Har film ke saath KJO humein confuse karnaa chaahta hai. 😆....Ok, lets stick to JTHJ or else Maddy will issue a note.

Ooops! Alright 😳
Edited by shubhika124 - 13 years ago
soapie thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Lamhe is an epic romance, in every sense of the word! And without a single element of doubt, Yash Chopra's best film! Lamhe is the textbook definition of how a love story should be presented, packaged and delivered...everything in the film, from the fabulously talented actors to the gripping and emotional storyline to the songs (which are fondly remembered till date) were perfect!
Agreed, Lamhe and JTHJ have no comparsion...even though they are both stories of love lost and found...both have an element of fatality and melancholy in them...but the presentation (and also the performances) is what makes Lamhe in a league of its own!
JTHJ is a much dumbed down version, presumably for the 'current generation' which doesn't understand deeper emotions! The late YC could not have been more wrong! I somehow felt that unlike his previous films, YC was trying too hard to make his swan song to become a great love story and in that endevor he failed!
If not for SRK's scintillating performance and Katrina's beauty, the film would have been a complete washout! SRK truly illuminates the film with the performance of a lifetime and gives some respect and credibility to this mediocre venture.
Also, JTHJ is perhaps the first Yash Chopra film, which tells the story from the hero's point of view rather than from the women's point of view! JTHJ is Samar's love story...with Meera and Akira as mere shadows! Whereas Lamhe, Silsila, Kabhi Kabhi, Chandni were all love stories where the women dominated the proceedings.
Edited by soapie - 13 years ago
TheBlackJaguar thumbnail

Originally posted by: soapie

Lamhe is an epic romance, in every sense of the word! And without a single element of doubt, Yash Chopra's best film! Lamhe is the textbook definition of how a love story should be presented, packaged and delivered...everything in the film, from the fabulously talented actors to the gripping and emotional storyline to the songs (which are fondly remembered till date) were perfect!

Agreed, Lamhe and JTHJ have no comparsion...even though they are both stories of love lost and found...both have an element of fatality and melancholy in them...but the presentation (and also the performances) is what makes Lamhe in a league of its own!
JTHJ is a much dumbed down version, presumably for the 'current generation' which doesn't understand deeper emotions! The late YC could not have been more wrong! I somehow felt that unlike his previous films, YC was trying too hard to make his swan song to become a great love story and in that endevor he failed!
If not for SRK's scintillating performance and Katrina's beauty, the film would have been a complete washout! SRK truly illuminates the film with the performance of a lifetime and gives some respect and credibility to this mediocre venture.
Also, JTHJ is perhaps the first Yash Chopra film, which tells the story from the hero's point of view rather than from the women's point of view! JTHJ is Samar's love story...with Meera and Akira as mere shadows! Whereas Lamhe, Silsila, Kabhi Kabhi, Chandni were all love stories where the women dominated the proceedings.

Lamhe , for me , in one word , is HAUNTING. I don't think I can explain it but i see it as Kunwarji and Pallavi's story with Pooja being the epilogue. Do i make sense or not?

JTHJ has its moments and it has vintage Samar and the idea of soulmates emphasized through Meera and Samar. Flawed screenlay , huge cinematic liberties , yes. But sentiments do have their heart in place , i believe. 😊

AishMinoz thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
i think all srk-yashJi movies r more focused on SRK's character ...veerzaara was all about veer's journey ...and Darr ...Rahul mehra ..srk overshadows every1 else in the movie ...

Edited by aiswaryaaa - 13 years ago
TheRager thumbnail
21st Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 4

@Shubhika.

Nobody will agree with me , but i still feel Rahul was always in love with Tina. He was happy with her memories and the idea of still loving her until Anjali showed up in saris and long hair. What was that?

True. KJO and Adi are not giving me much hope for the future of romance in celluloid.

Jumping in. I remember not liking KKHH when I saw it first. Then I read an interview of SRK's where he explained the concept and it kinda made sense wrt movie. Rahul always loved Anjali ie his best friend. Tina was a crush for him. He realizes that towards the end in the "Pyar ek baar hota hain". Tina's ghost closing his eyes and he seeing Anjali then adds to this theory. But the way it was depicted it was shown that Rahul falls for the feminine and pretty Anjali. Tina though realizes that Rahul is Anjali's true love when Anjali is leaving the college.
AishMinoz thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
i loved Lamhe too ..watched recent ly ...i dont like old movies ..actually cant connect with them ...but i LOVED Lamhe ...it deserved 2 b a blockbuster ...donno why it dint work @BO
TheBlackJaguar thumbnail

Originally posted by: aiswaryaaa

i think all srk-yashJi movies more focused on SRK's character ...veerzaara was all about veer's journey ...and Darr ...Rahul mehra ..srk overshadows every1 else in the movie ...

Now, that you are saying it , i agree. 😆...yes, powerful lovers totally committed and devoted to their true love. Samar is no different , i guess.
TheBlackJaguar thumbnail

Originally posted by: -ksh-

Jumping in. I remember not liking KKHH when I saw it first. Then I read an interview of SRK's where he explained the concept and it kinda made sense wrt movie. Rahul always loved Anjali ie his best friend. Tina was a crush for him. He realizes that towards the end in the "Pyar ek baar hota hain". Tina's ghost closing his eyes and he seeing Anjali then adds to this theory. But the way it was depicted it was shown that Rahul falls for the feminine and pretty Anjali. Tina though realizes that Rahul is Anjali's true love when Anjali is leaving the college.

Please jump in. 😆... You are right and maybe SRK was right as well but it didn't come out like that in the film, na. If Tina was just a crush, how could Rahul go on loving her and living in her memory for almost 10 years? And Rahul who keeps reiterating that love and marraige are just once and it all ended with Tina does a U-turn on seeing pretty Anjali? All these 10 years , why was there no yearning , no thought for her? It was all Tina-Tina-Tina. In short, a very flawed screenplay but SRK sold it to us. 😡😆
TheBlackJaguar thumbnail

So adorable, yaar. Fans can be such cute bunny bunch at times. Love the pic. 😳