Comparisons and their Consequences

KashafZaroon30 thumbnail
7th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Theodore Roosevelt once said: Comparison is the thief of Joy.
As human beings we don't like comparisons, especially comparisons where we are at the receiving end of it. All of us compare on daily basis. We compare our lives with others, we compare our previous days with current days, we compare the cities we live in and we compare the people we have in our life. As Roosevelt said, it robs us of our happiness. This is true maximum scenarios, but comparison can also be termed as the driving force in our life. The one which compels us to do better, the one which makes us a better version of ourselves. Yeh Un Dino ki baat hai is a show which has always tried their best to show the various human facets at various points. Comparison has always played a very important role in shaping these facets of various characters.

1. Rakesh Agarwal: The lesser known brother among the three, his achievements have always been compared with his elder and younger siblings achievements. Taiji has played a phenomenal role in doing so, and hence the outcome of these comparisons have turned him to be an extremely bitter person. Initially he was just shown to be bitter, but now over the course of the show, he is turning to be greedy and ungrateful. The bit-by-bit comparisons done on him everyday has turned him to be greedy, bitter monster who every now and then does the same thing with people around him. He compares his son with Mahabharata's Arjun, compares his daughter with his son and belittles her and now compares Sameer with servants and insults him in every possible way.

2. Sameer Maheshwari: Sameer was once(and many times in the past may be) compared by his own mother, with his half-brother Rohan. She with the purpose of teaching Sameer the importance of hard-work compared and instigated a fire in him to prepare for the Headboy competition. And that led to the cycle of him not being trusted by his own mother when he was accused of cheating by the Agarwal clan and eventually him leading to play a game with Naina's heart.
But then again when he was positively compared with all the good things and termed as achhe insaan by Naina, he realized his mistake of not able to see that genuine Naina, who actually believes in him and positively compares him with all the good around her...After this realization the rest is history in front of us...A changed mature and positive Sameer Maheshwari who was an outcome of positive comparison.
Also one more comparison plays a role here- He comparing himself with his previous self. The old Sameer was an attitude-driven self-obsessed teenager who some times looked down upon Naina. But now he compared himself with the old version, and changed for the better. He compared himself and changed himself for Naina. He started disliking his old self and wanted to give Naina the best version of himself. The version which deserves Naina's love and care.

3. Arjun: The meek child of Agarwal clan, who requires immense energy to stand up to his Dad and say something of his dislike. He has always been compared with Mahabharat's Arjun who's ultimate purpose in life was to keep his eye on the goal (cricket here) and achieve success in it inorder to satisfy his Dad's ego. Because of this comparison, he was never able to stand up to his Dad and tell him upfront to stop pressurizing him and let him play and enjoy his game. The consequence of this comparison, he turning out be a liar day-by-day and finding reasons to escape from situations rather than facing them.
We all were angered with his backlash on Sameer two days back during the Sangeet ceremony. That was also an outcome of comparison. When his lie was revealed to Naina, she compared him with Sameer saying "Sameer ne bhi paristhitiyon ka saamna kiya hai! Woh yahan aaya, sabke taane sehe, aapka aur Papa ka gussa jhela, apmaan seha. Woh toh peeth dikha ke nahi bhaaga."
The expression on his face indicated the clear dislike he had for his comparison with Sameer. The guy whom he assumes to be a cheater and liar, he was getting compared with him. Sameer had shown him a mirror and nobody likes such people who show them a mirror for their actions and lies. This comparison gave rise to a new angle to the anger he had inside him for Sameer. An altogether different consequence of comparison.

PS: Wanted to write this since last week, but couldn't get time to do so. Let me know your views on it.
Edited by KashafZaroon30 - 7 years ago

Hearttalks_90s thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 4
wow you hv written it so well... and i agree comparisons though we don't always wish to do, but each one of us to do it all the time and then the right comparisons can make us but the wrong ones can break us... loved your post 👏
smiley_lizi thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 6
Good post.
As you showed here, comparisons are important aspect of life.
Only if one can take it in positive way.
Sameer compared his flaws with good and tried to be better. Rakesh used comparisons to downgrade people.
Comparison led Arjun to depression and being a loser.
It was not their situation but their choices, that how they will allow comparison to take them. That's the lesson we can get from here.
souhasini thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
Nice post. 👏👏. Comparison n competition shd be done within oneself n not with others .
Ranbirrocks thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4
You are right about Rakesh's bitterness . It is due to comparison with his successful brothers. He wants to push Arjun so that he can feel better about himself in front of his successful brothers.
Arjun is even compared to Sachin Tendulkar
Phoenix100 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4
Very beautifully written... Comparison has its owm pros and cons... We all have went through these stages in life where our parents, teachers etc compares us with others... Sometimes we feel bad that v r being compared to others constantly... Especially wen v are compared to our classmates who are better in studies and other activities... In the show naina ws also compared to other girls for looks... Though she ws better in many ways than those so called beautiful girls still she felt bad... Sometimes its good too... Bt mostly it will do more harm than good... Best example for this is arjun.
TereLiyeMINU thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3
Zulu Darling!
Awesome post and bang on analysis.👏👏 Loved the rhetoric in title.😃
''The reason why we struggle with insecurity is because we compare our behind the scenes with everyone else's highlight reel."

We may think everyone is better than we are, but we are only seeing the image they portray to others. Everyone has their own fears and weaknesses after all, we're all human. The real peace lies in stopping and comparing our self to others, because we'll always come up short.

The main point of comparisons and insecurity rises from not noticing the ''potentials''.It is the potential that wards off insecurities and ugly consequences of comparison.

Rakesh does sees the ''potential'' in Arjun but he channelises the potential as a money making enterprise.Hence puts pressure on Arjun.Potential and Pressure are two poles apart.Every potentiality needs to breathe air to grow and bloom.Suffocation always causes death and there is no denying about the fact.

Arjun himself though realises his ''potential'' falls prey to his father's demands and pressures.His potentiality realization comes to him in fragments and that angers him even more.And thus he finds his channels to anger via Shefali or Sameer.

And coming to Sameer, as we have seen he had the best character development graph.He was the one who always compared inside out.He had to be compared with others and self even.

Hence the 'trust' and 'he' were never on the same platform.Hence he was jolted the very time Naina declared of her 'trust' on him.And the rest is history.

I always believe our comparison should always be with us only,with our yesterday only.Comparison should bring out the best in us and help us create a better version of ourselves.

Thanks for writing such a 'food -for-thought' post darling.😃

With love-

Minu.

KashafZaroon30 thumbnail
7th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Dhruvi2608

wow you hv written it so well... and i agree comparisons though we don't always wish to do, but each one of us to do it all the time and then the right comparisons can make us but the wrong ones can break us... loved your post 👏

Thank you Dhruvi...
And yes I agree...Comparisons either make you or break you...

It has made Sameer but it has kind of broken Arjun and Safari suit...Arjun still has time to rectify his life and his approach
braveheartdoc thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4
Brilliant post Zulekha 😃👏
We all have faced the burden of comparison now and then ... but it depends on us how we take it and decide what we want to do... here we see Rakesh and Arjun going in the wrong direction and becoming someone who is hated by everyone...

On the other hand Sameer... he faced his problem with brave heart and now has succeeded... he changed to become a better person 😃

So basically it's an individual attitude which makes a difference... no one can help you unless you yourself want to help yourself 😃
nancyrio90 thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Awesome post and very realistically written...Brilliant analysis!
We all as adults or kids have gone thru these comparison..whether it's with siblings friends or peers..colleagues etc...
some r able to stand up to it but some develop inferiority complex some fight it so they get aggressive...some defensive some go in a shell...repurcussions can be any but cannot be overlooked...mostly not so positive! It affects one psyche... not so positive ly!

Edited by nancyrio90 - 7 years ago