It's fundamentally wrong

-Gan- thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
I had thought that I'd not rant...but then some things need to be said about today's episode:

1. The grand-son of the house calls the bahu of the house, a neighbor...with the bhallas and Raman present(edit: Autumn pointed out he walked in after the fact.. For me it looked like he heard it) ...looks like something bit their tongue. Raman, who had defended his wife so many times in front of others even when he was NOT in love with her, as 'Biwi ho tum mere" can't object to his son calling his wife an outsider? Parenting is not mollycoddling a kid, but also showing him the right path. So no wonder the child has such a God complex...as he gets WHATEVER he wants...not only from his Mom but also from the otherwise wise family of his father's side.This is fundamentally wrong!

2. We live in this millennium and the story takes place in New Delhi, India where marriage is monogamous...so "Chhoti Ma" is so fundamentally wrong...and NO ONE in the Bhalla house felt the need to rectify that. and mind you Shagun said this..not their GKC. So why did they keep quiet this time? If Ishita was wrong in celebrating anniversary of Adi's divorced parents and Raman told her that it was mistake to give Adi the false hope. So what happened now. Completely defies Logic.

3. A 12 year old hatching plan to lock his Step-mom in a room so that his mother can do Pooja with his dad because " that's how he always did" ..ummm. You MORON your parents have been freaking separated for past 6 years and you called Ashok as your Dad...when did your Mom do that? Is he 12 yr old or a toddler..delusion and conniving tween don't go hand in hand..CVs make up your mind what you want Adi to be. Again completely illogical

4. And Precap? Honestly?! Raman Bhalla can't tell his son that the Puja is done by a couple and he and Shagun are NOT. I get he's majboor baap...but what about your wife's dignity? how can you trample that in front of the whole world and in presence of her family? Again Fundamentally wrong..

What are the CVs trying to achieve? Shagun and Adi's presence in the Bhalla house and Ishita's breakpoint so that Kaali ma avatar emerges. But at what cost? the USP of the story is the love story and not kitchen politics. So is this the only way that could have been achieved by butchering RKB from an iconic character to a mute dikra who just says sorry in his mind...and doesn't have the back bone to stand up to his 12 year old's unrealistic demands?!?

If that's all the YHM creatives can think of ...then let's just say the show is no longer Yeh Hai Mohabbatein as frankly love is much more than the phrase "I love you" ..It's also about, at the least, mutual respect, protecting the dignity of your spouse and standing by them at any cost.

Raman's vision of love is fundamentally wrong. I dont blame him...I blame the creatives for failing their hero.

Sorry I was not planning to rant...but unlike Ishita...As a woman I felt we need to protest this line of thinking at this day and time.

Edited by GanBarunFan - 10 years ago

Eyes-Wide-Shut thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2

So I watched the episode and I am not angry I am just disappointed and saddened. This show had so much potential, it could have been a path breaking show for Indian television but sadly it got reduced to a low class B grade movie.

I get it they need to show friction between the couple because no one wants to see romance 24/7 but is this regressive storyline necessary to bring out friction.

I refuse to rant about this anymore as this is my fault. It is my fault that I got invested in a show and then actually spend time coming online and discussing it because the reality is no one gives crap about what we think. I have been told that the actors, director and the writers visit this forum and I bet they laugh their asses off at our obsession with this show and they probably can't fathom that there are people like me out in the world who spend their precious time discussing a show online and get nothing in return. And they should laugh at this absurdity because while they get rich and make their millions, I come here and give a damn about this show.

In one interview Ms. Ekta Kapoor had said that she kept aside a budget to nurture young writers, she had made this point to highlight how advance the TV industry is compared to the Indian film industry. I frankly fail to see the advancement in TV with such writing, I am a science person far removed from the world of creativity but even I can tell you Ms. Kapoor, that your writers are doing less than stellar job these days.

The moral of the story is, the actors get rich, the producer makes millions, the writers are spread thin working on multiple shows at once and in the middle of this cluster F**k we are the morons giving a crap about a substandard product.

And here is the kicker, can you imagine how much fun all the actors and the makers of the show might be having laughing at us when they find out that the are people out in the world who spent their precious time fighting over Raman vs. Ishita, I mean can you imagine the laugh riot in their offices, make up vans etc when they read our posts and see how much we care and we actually give a shit.

I have learned my lesson, no more ranting! Screw them, gonna watch to enjoy, what I don't like I will forward and when it gets too much I will stop watching. I am not going to be a laughing stock for a bunch of millionaires. Thanks but no thanks.

I had to get it out because it was bothering me, I know I am a nerd. 😆

Edited by Eyes-Wide-Shut - 10 years ago
Veeann thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 4
Word G.
What regressive crap. Unbelievable. 😡
Mehak_KPian thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Res. Will edit later. :P

*unres*

Gan, seems like you are really angry. Thank God I didnot see today's epi just read the live update. 😛 I do agree at some points of your post. Why doesn't Bhalla family said anything when Adi pointed out Ishita as an outsider? Till when will they keep themselve quiet? Whats so special in Adi? Is he made of Gold? Is he born in a different way? I don't have any expectations from Ishu because cvs totally destroyed her character. She was the one who celebrated ShaRam anniversary and now when Raman is doing the Pooja with Airhead she is shown crying, the problem with me is Raman. Puttar dissapointed me a big time. Why the hell he agreed to do Pooja with Airhead? Just because Adi said? Why is he so blindly in love with Adi? Doesn't he loves Ishu? He was the one who scolded Ishu on new years party that she is giving wrong hopes to Adi . Isn't he doing the same? He has always stood out for Ishu, why can't he stand out now? I use to feel more connected with Puttar because he was real and use to stood by his words but. 😔 His love for Adi really irritates me sometime. Seems like CVS are in a mood to destroy Puttar's character too and about Adi. Yes. I wished Adi was a son of Bala and Vandu. Shravu and Ruhi should have been twin of Raman and Airhead. Puttar's life would have been so easy. 😆 why the hell Adi can't realise that his Parents are no longer? Doesn't a 12 year old kid knows a meaning of Divorced? Raman and Shagun use to celebrate Lohri always? Like really? Where were you my jaan when your Mum use to live with your Ashok Dad? Adi needs a tight slap! That Kid is so irritating! Doesn't he has his own sense to see what is happening around.?
Edited by ..Mehak.. - 10 years ago
madgirl thumbnail
I can understand that today's episode was wrong in many ways from what you've written G Di...didn't get a chance to watch the episode yet...recorded it but now I'm planning to skip this episode... The CVs are making me hate RKB... 😭 😭

Good day G Di! 🤗
Bombaytola thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail
I was waiiiting for u G. Every word u just said is exactly how I felt. Specially that choti maaa bit I wanted to go there and slap every Bhalla standing there who took it. This is incredulous.
Someone needs to bring back the CEO RKB cause killing whole character in name of drama is completely stupid its beyond reasons.
Reallly whats up with Ishita ?! Why is she so worried about the freaking popcorn In India I know u can send even chowkidar to go get it. Wheres Neelu?
Shaguns shennanigans are just getting OTT even for tolerant person like me. I mean seriously Raman cannot see through this farce.🤢
Waiting for SANITY TO RETURN!!!!!

Sandysprings thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
Disgusting stuff in the name of drama ..completely ekta Mata crappy show..
Badtameez_Dil thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 5
AGREE TO EVERY POINT OF URS
ahh Show is reaching to New Lows
That's just beginning to Never ending crap...Low Class drama of EKTA SHOW
akdhalover thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
Adi said aap bhi toh unki wife ho!
Seriously?
He doesn't get the damn meaning of a divorced couple
For god sake he is a 12yr old kid even ruhi gets the meaning of that
Choti maa scene had no sense neither ishita revolting nor Bhallas taking a stand
So what was the need i don't get it
Precap is the worst precap till date left me speechless
all i could see was a MAJBOOR BAAP
How could he? How could? Makes me cry literaly!😭
sorry for ranting here couldn't find a better place than this to share my thoughts :)
-K.13- thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
The CVs are clearly on something.
Truthfully, I don't even get how Raman is a majboor pita - he's just greedy. We don't have a single dialogue/self thought rationalizing why he's giving into his son and being a silent spectator. All we've gotten is his flip flopping thoughts/actions. I truly understand the dilemma (losing the dream of incoporating Adi into his current family) he is facing but because there has been NO real build up or presentation of his dilemma, his current actions seems ludicrous and incredibly contradictory.

Khair, we've all ranted enough about how horribly they've portrayed Puttar, but it still breaks my heart a little. 🥺

Also - Ishita will burst eventually. Great, but what's the point? Even if she stands up for her rights, it will not negate what has been shown to us over the last 1.5 weeks. Raman can do his best to make everything right and even if she strongly resists, it will be hard to really make up for the actions we've seen thus far. Raman has broken a majority of the promises he made to her, and they say that once you lose your credibility, it's near impossible to get it back complete.
Literally in the span of 1.5 weeks this show has taken such an ugly turn. 😡 As I said earlier towards for the CVs, the ends don't always justify the means.

During the Pooja tomorrow - I will be interested to see if anyone reacts including the Iyers. At least we saw Amma expressing her displeasure during the New Year's party, but now what? I hope it's not shown that it is against societal norms for a mother-in-law to call out her son-in-law. If they show them keeping quiet for the sake of what people will think, then what was the point of her taking a stand against the Bhallas during the Param harassment issue.

Whatever. I'm leaving logic behind at this point my the rant.

To show just how many double standards the Bhallas have, the CVs have again taken it to the extreme with that "Choti Ma" dialog. There was absolutely no need to include that. The point still would have been given that the Bhallas are mollycoddling their grandson, but no, they wanted to make us burn. *sadistic CVs*

I thought the USP of the story was 3 broken people mending each other, but now it seems the USP is Ruhi & Ishita healing each other. Raman currently doesn't fit into that equation - he is no longer mending but he's breaking.

I'll probably come back and edit this when I'm in a happier place because deep (very deep) down a small part of me still has hope for this show.

Thank you, Gan, for creating this thread! I love that you call this show out like you see it without looking at the future/past. Respect, sista'. ❤️
Edited by krishy13 - 10 years ago