Hamlet53 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail

TSMSPJ*ep: 40*18.5.17: My Impressions * making a point !

It's all about making ones views know either in favour or in support of an issue . In life it's not always easy to voice off what one thinks . As one may find stating an significant issue may lead to one's unpopularity more than one's likability . One also comes across either dissension or an agreement depending on how contentious the issue under debate is? Today's episode is a continuation of the lamp making scenario. Uma and Kanak both have defined views on marriage , gender bias, family values, faith belief and practice. In the main, both appear to dig their feet in their own opinions. However the positive side is they do interact with each other. For it is interaction amongst themselves that provides them the platform to learn more about each other. It's significant to note that Kanak has more of an impact regard's Uma's outdated ideas especially on the subject of provisions of equality in the lives of women at par with men.

Uma too makes his point , if Kanak refuses to see making clay lamps as a shared activity. Then he will surely grant her the experience of finishing off the remaining clay modelling on her own.Kanak too is far from being a shrinking violet. Her strength is her fortitude to prove her point! when faced with a challenge. At this point in time it's to set right this Uma Shankar warped thinking that women are porcelain dolls who need assistance from men in undertaking a challenge. Kanak thus lives the challenge of accepting Uma's thrown gauntlet. The truth of the matter is that she is double booked. Meeting Arvind at the temple and getting to the temple with completed lamps both are under time constraints. As far as the task is concerned ,her nerves fray and the clumps of clay do get out of hand. Still she'd rather make a botch of the activity and learn through repeated error, than have Ravan here lecturing the life out of her. Him and his pompous words! She'll show him! While at the potters wheel Kanak learns by trail and error! Back at the magnificent Kerala temple , Uma looks out for her from the huge temple entrance. He assumes , she must be struggling with the punishment challenge he dished out to her ,for her, self willed confrontation with him! He muses it was necessary to curtail her turn of immaturity. Uma obviously expects Kanak to accept his words of wisdom, however primitive and outdated they might be , just like all in Ladnun hangs on to his every word. Kanak does achieve success finally! But what she fails to grasp hold of is the comparison of making a good marriage to lamp making. Two pair of hands gives more control over the form and gives quicker results. Similarly in marriage both husband and wife spin the wheel of marriage and the efforts of both spouses produce positive results. He thinks in terms of partnership playing while she at this point of time only considers her personal hidden agenda!

On sacred ground, an interesting scenario two men, both looking for Kanak collide with each other, oblivious to the significance each has for the other. do the god's make a point? Will Uma make sense of it?

Ceremonious milestone occasions, all revere the auspicious hour in which to authenticate the ceremony. Thus the pandit reminds Uma of his wife being absent yet, and time ticking away. Uma is not hard core, his soft centre sounds off when he mentions with regret that none of Kanak's family can make it from her side. Such irony when he says, would have been nice, even if she too had support her from side! Arvind the friend is about! and what's more he is keenly showing people in the time Kanak's picture asking for her whereabouts?

A near miss when Arvind spots Uma and wants him Kanak's picture! But bole Nath averts this disaster from taking place as Uma was in deep obeisance .. he recalls how this place is close to his heart .. this is where he first sensed kanak's presence..

For Kanak too this place holds a special significance.. not so long ago she came to the temple to celebrate the life of her parents Suraj and Sandhya . Where she first realized the animosity her beloved Bhabo held against her.. sad bitterness which results in her being excluded from being called Suraj and sandhya's daughter.

Time ticks away. She is not here.uma's disciplinarian grip weakens under the callings of his heart. Maybe he should fly to her assistance, muses anxious Uma. But then sees she turn's up holding a basket full to the brim of her completed challenge. Is the mighty Uma setter of her task pleased with the outcome? Or does he worry he lost at the hands of a woman? Uma posts himself on the step above her and looks down upon her coldly..He sees a dishevelled wild filly, from face to apparel he observes impropriety of the dress code! This is formal ceremony she comes to. The ground too is sacred ground! How can she dishonour him with her devil may care out look! No shame he detects in her eyes..only haughty defiance of beating him at his challenge! Uma turns foul! One thing is confirmed the man never minces his words! He denounces her negligence towards her up keep and appearance! The way she conducts herself reflects directly upon his respectability! His image! His honour! As she is now linked to him by being his wife! He grumbles sternly, women at tasks, forget to fix themselves afterwards to uphold their decency and virtue in appearance. It is the presence and keen eye of an honourable man ,the husband who reminds the wife to guard her image within the parameters of respectability. Kanak just glares at him spell bound. In the next moment Uma changes his tack andtells her condescendingly that he forgive her lax attitude. Kanak suddenly confronts him! gives him as good as she gets! Who is he too forgive her? Not after how he forcibly married her! Is that how an honourable man treat's a woman! She gives a toss about him! what he thinks about her ! See, she a woman managed to complete the lamps without his help! It matters not to her in the least as she will leave him and his marriage very soon!! Uma stares down into Kanak's face and calmly ask her, a penny for your thoughts? Kanak snaps out of her reverie!!! Fixes her pallu on her head and proceeds to the ceremony inside the temple..

During the rituals , without any inkling what goes under his very nose.. Both Kanak and Arvind make it a point to meet furtively. The stealth game of passing over information between the two friends happens. Arvind leaves the temple and behind him, still remains with Uma shankar is Kanak a bit more hopeful and tranquil at heart. The temple is decorated by Uma and Kanak, she places the lamps and Uma lights them. He smiles tenderly at her, not at all what he was, the man who growled at her earlier..They are an inseparable pair, incomplete, one without the other.. The lamp and the wick. But this point that Uma makes .Totally unaware of the point that Kanak makes in her inner being, she has had enough of his bullying! Now she alone is the lamp and the wick.. all in all!

Overall a progression In the track, Arvind and Kanak meet, and the ball is rolling regard Bhabo's papers. The purification ritual is completed..one final last stamp of approval for Kanak is on the cards.. the outdoor shoot was breath taking was the soul of the episode.. hamlet53 19.5.17

dear readers.. many pardons for late post.. almost gave it a miss, love hammie

will annotate previous post today.. thanks for putting up with me

Edited by Hamlet53 - 8 years ago

swansong thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
Hammie hammie hammie hammie,
Superb again.the lamp and wick, the woman is now all in all.cz the light is within her which is alive by the grace of Bholenath

It is interesting to see the difference between suraj and uma, their concept about lamp n wick.both about the bond between a husband n wife.but how different.suraj was not educated but still he had the enlightenment that he wanted his lamp side by side.uma considers his lamp to be weaker than his wick.when one considers himself superior than the other, can never b in an ideal bond.educated but illiterate.lets enjoy the journey of an orthodox Uma, not shirtless uma.waise the cvs planned to gain trp keeping their lead shirtless, but little do they know is, zyada khole rehnese cheese bigarte bhi hain.gets infected and rotten.I m glad u didnt mention the scene which I felt to b completely disgusting.but uma's way of using it as an example is really smart.this guy has got brain. Bas he needs to unload things and upload again to see things from a newer perspective.

Keep writing hammie.love to analyse things through ur eyes.
Edited by swansong - 8 years ago
Anjali33 thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4

Thank u hammie..N I'm sorry I posted such a tiny comment..Actually wasn't interested in d nonsense they show..Not at all😲
Hamlet53 thumbnail

Originally posted by: swansong

Hammie hammie hammie hammie, hello taz😃 good to see you unreserved..
Superb again.the lamp and wick, the woman is now all in all.cz the light is within her which is alive by the grace of Bholenath
wah... this is a great line
It is interesting to see the difference between suraj and uma, their concept about lamp n wick.both about the bond between a husband n wife.but how different.suraj was not educated but still he had the enlightenment that he wanted his lamp side by side.uma considers his lamp to be weaker than his wick.when one considers himself superior than the other, can never b in an ideal bond.educated but illiterate.lets enjoy the journey of an orthodox Uma, not shirtless uma.
hummm ..shirtless for hammie only SK will do!😛 waise... there are lots of men and women who have a low esteem about themselves and thus screw their noses about gender bias issues
waise the cvs planned to gain trp keeping their lead shirtless, but little do they know is, zyada khole rehnese cheese bigarte bhi hain.gets infected and rotten.I m glad u didnt mention the scene which I felt to b completely disgusting.but uma's way of using it as an example is really smart.this guy has got brain. Bas he needs to unload things and upload again to see things from a newer perspective. the scene was left open ended...I saw it through kanak's eyes.. based on uma's previous comments humm me not into lovey dovey scenes... how can there be.. the girl is enraged by the method he used to marry her..

another fantastic comment,
Keep writing hammie.love to analyse things through ur eyes. thanks so much for sharing your valuable views... have to see today's epiode yet... much love hammie

Hamlet53 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Anjali33

Thank u hammie..N I'm sorry I posted such a tiny comment..Actually wasn't interested in d nonsense they show..Not at all😲

I know Anjali, mera meter bhi ghuma hoya tha.. tried to give the best of how I saw it... today's is yet to be seen... love hammie
daydreamers thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 6

Great post Hammie 😊
Few pointers again 😉

1. Very honest confession here. Wasn't much a fan of DABH. But I loved the fact that unlike the latest trend of angry young men and hot show off male protagonists a simple male character won so many hearts. Suraj was indeed a treat!!!!! Simple, open book and a clean slate.

2. If DABH had a complicated Sandhya DABH has 2 complicated characters. DABH was more of Sandhya's realization and her journey initially from rejection to acceptance. DABH 2 seemingly needs this realization from both the parties.

3. I ssly want to know kis yede ne Uma ko dharma ka gyaan diya hai? It's high time now and his views suffocate!!!

4. It is generally observed that it is the women who carry forward the legacy of traditions and hence the old term thinking. Reason? Patriarchy! The very infection that shaped up their thoughts in this manner. And yeah the very thing which is passed on to Uma. Till the time you get a man who resonates the modern thinking, development of a family is impossible. A suraj is always needed for a Sandhya to bring in a change. It's important that a suraj exists to let a Sandhya know that she's doing right.

5. There's surely something terrible in uma's past which am looking forward to. Cvs better come up with a back story for Uma. As we have already heard about his conclusions and verdicts. I need a valid story which shaped up these thoughts.

6. Arvind is the slight ray of hope that has seeped in the darkness of Kanak's life. Whatta beautiful closure was that!! Shraadh and the shop. Wonderful connectivity.

7. Once again I say this, cvs have played well with perceptions. A glimpse at them, we are fooled who has depth and who is superficial. With the amount of knowledge Uma has it seems that he is a man of depth. But DD gets fooled as she herself dives deep in the scene... Ha!!! Dives!!! To understand the depth one has to dive in deep metaphorically and literally which Kanak with her limited knowledge does but Uma fails miserably...

8. I actually laughed off the scene when he told her about how the diya lighting scene was of significance in married life.. I was like bhai tu usse Na sikha vo tujhse 10 kadam aage hai 😆 in this department. What a modern, liberal and free girl understood at a tender age of 20, an educated, mature and disciplined man of 30 couldn't understand. You can't become diya baati by simply lighting lamps. You have to work in that direction. So the line "ab se diya bhi main aur baati bhi main" is so apt. Gives a feeling that Kanak thinks "iss bande se kuch nahi hone wala".

9. Another play of perceptions. I loved the line "jo aadmi sab ke saamne dharma ke naam par jabardasti shaadi kar Sakta hai vo dukaan bhi hadap hi Sakta hai" from the letter. And this is what Kanak has deduced about Uma. Fair enough! Cz he has been unfair to her!!! Cut copy paste to Uma. Both sail in the same boat unknowingly! Uma has his own conclusions, Kanak has her own. And conclusions, beliefs, thoughts are all illusions. Cz there are 3 sides to a story- their side, our side and the TRUTH!!!! So we have got 2 sides as of now- Uma, Kanak. Then what and who is the truth? Is it Bhabho? Is it Santosh Rawat? Both the lamp and wick fail to realize when you are clouded by conclusions, life has this exceptional ability of giving "Reality Checks". Their scores will be settled. They'll themselves do it. Uma's perfect perception of lamp and wick will break when Kanak will run away. Kanak's perception will change when Uma's innocence in shop matter is revealed. The pprs aren't forged. I still count on this Uma can't do anything like a fraud. He can get a girl married to him by force, he can preach 10-15 newly Wed couples on essence of marriage, he can get a girl married to a photo but he can't do this fraud.. He's too phattu to do that... 😆. For once Kanak can steal the papers, she can run away with them too but Uma can't do any fraud. I guess the very reason that Maasi is scared 🤣.

"Bindnisai sab Na darne wali cheezon se darein ho". Exactly!!!! She is scared of every little thing but she's the same girl who is bold and daring in things which others can never think of.

"Gaumata se toh daabra bhi Na darein hai. Pata nahi kis graha se aayi hai ye". Maasi sa the girl is from a planet which u r alien to. I am glad cvs have brought this concept. It is not necessary that women can always be right in bringing up their children. Classic example is Uma. Surrounded by women only and see what disaster he has become. He respects ladies but they is not enough. Amidst the play of respect, omens and beliefs he ruined s girl's life. It was essential for Kanak to be surrounded by men all her life: Ved, Vansh, Golu, Babasa and now Arvind.

10. I feel Arvind's character is somewhat for a good run as they have got a good side actor and not just for the sake of it. So am pretty much counting on his words that he's with Kanak. But how long and till where? The road is too bumpy!! Ouch!!! The scooter bumps on speed breaker and falls in the pothole. DD just had a great fall... Ouch again!!!!

11. The previous promo hasn't yet materialized. Kanak didn't run yet and we have a new promo... Are the cvs planning to churn out trps by some forced romance as forced marriage? One thing they need to know Uma Kanak can bring trps only if their journey is taken ahead logically. I don't want Suraj to simply preach to Kanak "go with Uma. He's your ardhangana". In that case am sure to become adhmari

12. More than their romance and more than Uma's incessant preaching am interested in the mystery behind the body builder Uma Shankar. It's high time something is revealed about him.

Edited by daydreamers - 8 years ago
daydreamers thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 6
Another point I forgot to mention.. previous post was too long. So putting it here...
Rahu kaal...

Rahu is considered as a malefic planet in astrology. Unlike other planets it has no physical shape.. Mostly pertains to illusions. Rahu kaal is the time when there are hurdles, confusions, indecisiveness, emotional imbalances. Unexpected monetary gains and political success are also a part of it. Rahu kaal is usually relatable to imaginations and also indicates foreign travel.

As per my assumption their ritual was done in time. But as Rahu kaal was mentioned.

Will Kanak escape?
Or are hurdles waiting for her?
Can Uma again emerge being politically right?
Who will gain the shop? Khandelwal? Toshniwal? Rathi? Rawat?
Who'll face an emotional imbalance? Uma or Kanak?
Hamlet53 thumbnail

Originally posted by: daydreamers

hellooo DD ..😃 Hada feeing you'll post😃

Great post Hammie 😊
Few pointers again 😉
good... let them come.. we all love them
1. Very honest confession here. Wasn't much a fan of DABH. But I loved the fact that unlike the latest trend of angry young men and hot show off male protagonists a simple male character won so many hearts. Suraj was indeed a treat!!!!! Simple, open book and a clean slate.
yes.. he was a soft spoken young man..
2. If DABH had a complicated Sandhya DABH has 2 complicated characters. DABH was more of Sandhya's realization and her journey initially from rejection to acceptance. DABH 2 seemingly needs this realization from both the parties.
totally agree filhaal its jumpy kanak.. his views make her jump.. waiting to see him rumble
3. I ssly want to know kis yede ne Uma ko dharma ka gyaan diya hai? It's high time now and his views suffocate!!!
dharma.. as in defender of the faith?
4. It is generally observed that it is the women who carry forward the legacy of traditions and hence the old term thinking. Reason? Patriarchy! The very infection that shaped up their thoughts in this manner. And yeah the very thing which is passed on to Uma. Till the time you get a man who resonates the modern thinking, development of a family is impossible. A suraj is always needed for a Sandhya to bring in a change. It's important that a suraj exists to let a Sandhya know that she's doing right.
yes, but he's not good at putting it across..
5. There's surely something terrible in uma's past which am looking forward to. Cvs better come up with a back story for Uma. As we have already heard about his conclusions and verdicts. I need a valid story which shaped up these thoughts.
yes.. hoping that he will unravel his past to kanak..
6. Arvind is the slight ray of hope that has seeped in the darkness of Kanak's life. Whatta beautiful closure was that!! Shraadh and the shop. Wonderful connectivity.
and what revelations will he bring...
7. Once again I say this, cvs have played well with perceptions. A glimpse at them, we are fooled who has depth and who is superficial. With the amount of knowledge Uma has it seems that he is a man of depth. But DD gets fooled as she herself dives deep in the scene... Ha!!! Dives!!! To understand the depth one has to dive in deep metaphorically and literally which Kanak with her limited knowledge does but Uma fails miserably...
yes , I felt this showhas more than just what meets the naked eye..
8. I actually laughed off the scene when he told her about how the diya lighting scene was of significance in married life.. I was like bhai tu usse Na sikha vo tujhse 10 kadam aage hai 😆 in this department. What a modern, liberal and free girl understood at a tender age of 20, an educated, mature and disciplined man of 30 couldn't understand. You can't become diya baati by simply lighting lamps. You have to work in that direction. So the line "ab se diya bhi main aur baati bhi main" is so apt. Gives a feeling that Kanak thinks "iss bande se kuch nahi hone wala".
😆 so she can feel he is all theory... no practical .life experiences..
9. Another play of perceptions. I loved the line "jo aadmi sab ke saamne dharma ke naam par jabardasti shaadi kar Sakta hai vo dukaan bhi hadap hi Sakta hai" from the letter. And this is what Kanak has deduced about Uma. Fair enough! Cz he has been unfair to her!!! Cut copy paste to Uma. Both sail in the same boat unknowingly! Uma has his own conclusions, Kanak has her own. And conclusions, beliefs, thoughts are all illusions. Cz there are 3 sides to a story- their side, our side and the TRUTH!!!! So we have got 2 sides as of now- Uma, Kanak. Then what and who is the truth? Is it Bhabho? Is it Santosh Rawat? Both the lamp and wick fail to realize when you are clouded by conclusions, life has this exceptional ability of giving "Reality Checks". Their scores will be settled. They'll themselves do it. Uma's perfect perception of lamp and wick will break when Kanak will run away. Kanak's perception will change when Uma's innocence in shop matter is revealed. The pprs aren't forged. I still count on this Uma can't do anything like a fraud. He can get a girl married to him by force, he can preach 10-15 newly Wed couples on essence of marriage, he can get a girl married to a photo but he can't do this fraud.. He's too phattu to do that... 😆. For once Kanak can steal the papers, she can run away with them too but Uma can't do any fraud. I guess the very reason that Maasi is scared 🤣.
brilliant sharing of perceptions and conclusive evidence so far.. with expectations of more to come..
"Bindnisai sab Na darne wali cheezon se darein ho". Exactly!!!! She is scared of every little thing but she's the same girl who is bold and daring in things which others can never think of.
here the idea is to show girls scare easily sterotype ofcourse..
"Gaumata se toh daabra bhi Na darein hai. Pata nahi kis graha se aayi hai ye". Maasi sa the girl is from a planet which u r alien to. I am glad cvs have brought this concept. It is not necessary that women can always be right in bringing up their children. Classic example is Uma. Surrounded by women only and see what disaster he has become. He respects ladies but they is not enough. Amidst the play of respect, omens and beliefs he ruined s girl's life. It was essential for Kanak to be surrounded by men all her life: Ved, Vansh, Golu, Babasa and now Arvind.
yes how intersting ..a slight imbalance in both their lives...
10. I feel Arvind's character is somewhat for a good run as they have got a good side actor and not just for the sake of it. So am pretty much counting on his words that he's with Kanak. But how long and till where? The road is too bumpy!! Ouch!!! The scooter bumps on speed breaker and falls in the pothole. DD just had a great fall... Ouch again!!!!
😆 makes me wonder is ARV just a mate ? or he had the hawwts for kanak?
11. The previous promo hasn't yet materialized. Kanak didn't run yet and we have a new promo... Are the cvs planning to churn out trps by some forced romance as forced marriage? One thing they need to know Uma Kanak can bring trps only if their journey is taken ahead logically. I don't want Suraj to simply preach to Kanak "go with Uma. He's your ardhangana". In that case am sure to become adhmari
ohhh noo hope not...
12. More than their romance and more than Uma's incessant preaching am interested in the mystery behind the body builder Uma Shankar. It's high time something is revealed about him.
ohhh me too... as it is I CANNOT cope with the puppy dog love stuff.. was expecting uma to be distant in the area of love.. not into touchy ,feely stuff.. kills romance for me.. totally . thanks for these views... 😃 love hammie... going to next bit...

Tiaraa thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
First of all awesome post.
Now talking about charkha and pottery.
Uma thinking that a woman is incomplete without man made me think where is his father
Had his father left him and he has seen her mother struggling all her life and may be he had faced a life where he didnt get rhe kind of love he deserved because she was busy working.
Hmm...possible.

Waise kanak is very clear with her intentions. Nek dil and smart soch . unique character.
Kanak did the part she worked and got the pot ready just on time.
Does that mean. Her stubbornness makes her forget everything..even her situation.
What if she is stubborn to not accept uma in future. Will uma bellofy lots of papad to get his woman. Is this the base cv are creating for us.an interesting track where in hatred she ruins everything like fire and uma is an oil which will force her to burn.

Shankar bhagwan wanted uma to enter her life. He did. Now i think bhagwan wants her to get out of her life so he is helping her. May be next time god will help him to get kanak and win her heart. And help kanak and sudharofy uma.
Help help helpp!!!! Sab bhagwan ki maya hai..jo itna confusion dimag me aya hai..

Last but not least.

Diya or bati tab banenge jab..
Diye. Ki tarah patience, big heart, base bane ki takat ho
Or bati ki tarah roshni failane ka jazba.

They are not diya or bati..
But oil and fire..
Lot of struggle is req to become diya and bati...

Thanks hammie for this wonderful post
NusiSg thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
Heyyy my sweetheart Hammmiieee. .loook who's back..😛..pehchana..😉
Ohhh as always great great analysis as always... the pottery scene of course reminds me too of ur old take..that take was jst outstanding n so was ths.. wonderful each n every word... I agree it was jst to make a point clear n to prove their point our protagonists both of them as flawed can go to any extent.. kanky with her determination completed the task bt as we all kno uma is a jerk he started searching another point to bring her down..😆.. uma needs a stick therapy fr sure fr that outrageous behaviour. .I knew kanky will won the bet..aakhir woh beti hai kiski..😛 bt in whole ths process ur right she's not getting the core issue.. bt as she's preoccupied with her main issue right now her focus is far far far away frm marriage thing..

Wese I'm waiting fr her to escape now...as I lost all hopes frm uma.. he's too stubborn to accept her modern ways of thinking. ..he's neither ready to accept his stubborn ways of marrying her..accept tou tab karega wen he'll consider his act illegal n outrageous.. yet to watch today's epi.. bt I agree drama is dragging bt now in an interesting situation. .

Want to congratulate u fr ur all ur input on the forum with ur brilliant impressions n that's the reason ths forum is alive no doubt. . Love u fr that