chronic thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

Originally posted by: nureat01

Well said! I totally agree! Bidaai is definitely a cut above most soaps....The only thing K-shows had going for them were that Kekta usually picks very good actors for her leads....but that can only take a show so far once the storyline turns complete crap....which happens usually within a couple months of her shows starting😆😆
Although, frankly out of her recent shows, even the quality of actors she's picking has been going down....Harshad Chopra is the only new guy in her camp who I've found impressive....the rest are not really that good.....and the especially pale in comparison to the original great BT actors from the original three soaps like Kyunki, Kahaani and KZK....

Yeah, for once I'd like to see Ekta focus on her storyline rather than the lead jodi. Though, I guess she realised a long time ago that the USP of her shows lies in the chemistry of the main lead pair, so she uses that to toy with the emotions of the fans of those jodis, knowing that a portion of the viewers will continue to watch as long as the show is still on, the chemistry still strong and there is some hope of the jodi reuniting (despite how ever many years it takes them). I have got to hand it to Ekta, her stories might be crap, but she sure knows how to pull in some viewers and keep 'em on her side.
As for the quality of actors, she definately seems to be going more for pretty faces than actual acting talent in her recent shows. Harshad, as far as I've seen, is a relatively capable actor, but I still want to see him in a non-lover-boy role just to see if he can pull it off.
Edited by chronic - 16 years ago
noha450 thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: *Eva*

I agree! You know that KSBKBT TB article today, it mentioned that Bidaai had an awesome TRP, LOADSS of people were bashing it saying its a copy of Vivah etc. I hate it how people jump to conclusions! Bidaai is inspired, but it's not a copy!😳

YAAR U JUSST TOOK THE WORD OUT FROM MY MOUTH!!!!ur soo right😳
Eva JQ thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: bibbo

truee. but it's so irritating! =(

keep posting ok n dont give a toss with those people😉
Eva JQ thumbnail

Well said!👏👏
I've read some of those comments as well and frankly I think it's just laughable if they seriously consider current KSBKBT better than Bidaai😕😆😆.....Kyunki has it's place in history....maybe when it first started, it was something different and was well portrayed but after the billionth generation leap and the thousandth resurrection from death of yet another character, WHAT standing does Kyunki or frankly any other K-show have left anymore??😕😕
I think ppl are just frustrated and want to lash out at something.....Times are changing...Ppl are sick of the constant recycled Kekta crap and Bidaai is a complete breath of fresh air with its simple and realistic treatment of storylines.....Overall, there is a sincerity that just shines thru in the teameffort that is behind Bidaai and that I think is one of the biggest reasons for its success.....K-shows including Kyunki have long lost their charm......the numbers are there for everyone to see....the slide of K-shows continues and it doesn't take a genius to figure why that's happening....only Kekta the 'genius' refuses to acknowledge ground reality and keeps on showing the same nonsense......Kyunki should have ended a long time ago....it has been dragged on for way too long.

bibs..
the only good thing you can see from KSBKBT is that all of the younger generation ( bhoomi, manthan, laksh, eklavya n all Tulsi's poti) are able to live n talk n even in some parties can dance with their great great grandmother / Ba😆 ...She is 100 odd years old but still kicking butt😆😆😆
scribbles thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 3
lol i thought baa was more than 400 years! =//
Eva JQ thumbnail

Originally posted by: bibbo

lol i thought baa was more than 400 years! =//

hahaha.. she is such a nice person.. you could place her in a museum 😆
chronic thumbnail
AreYaar thumbnail
Thanks for the link to the article, yaar!
Interesting read....but it amused me in some ways as well.....While there is no doubt that K-soaps have transformed the face of Indian TV and has achieved massive recognition worldwide, the way Kekta is talking of all her big ideas in this article.....I get the sense that while she is a sharp woman, she has basically lost sight of some basic grassroots things that go into telling a good story in a good manner....Her shows are now low on creativity and high on making quick cash....and that is where things ultimately get derailed as we can all see now.
chronic thumbnail

Thanks for the link to the article, yaar!

Interesting read....but it amused me in some ways as well.....While there is no doubt that K-soaps have transformed the face of Indian TV and has achieved massive recognition worldwide, the way Kekta is talking of all her big ideas in this article.....I get the sense that while she is a sharp woman, she has basically lost sight of some basic grassroots things that go into telling a good story in a good manner....Her shows are now low on creativity and high on making quick cash....and that is where things ultimately get derailed as we can all see now.

Hey, you're welcome😊
What I found interesting about the article is when she said, "One difference in the scenario here and abroad is that content in India is restricted. Fiction here has to stay within the periphery of families and homes. Niche is now breaking out, but even though you can try out new things it?s still in a nascent stage" - which indicated to me that she really wants to do something different entirely, genre-wise. Who knows? Maybe one day we'll get to see a Lost or a Heroes (the American sci-fi tv show not the Bollywood film) type of show in indian television which has been produced by none other than the K-Queen..... *yeah right, dreams on*.....
AreYaar thumbnail

Originally posted by: chronic

Hey, you're welcome😊
What I found interesting about the article is when she said, "One difference in the scenario here and abroad is that content in India is restricted. Fiction here has to stay within the periphery of families and homes. Niche is now breaking out, but even though you can try out new things it?s still in a nascent stage" - which indicated to me that she really wants to do something different entirely, genre-wise. Who knows? Maybe one day we'll get to see a Lost or a Heroes (the American sci-fi tv show not the Bollywood film) type of show in indian television which has been produced by none other than the K-Queen..... *yeah right, dreams on*.....

LOL....I think she is all talk when it comes to this stuff but is unwilling to really act out on the big words that she may use.....for e.g., she tried to branch out into the reality genre with two shows....and those were the most pathetic excuses for reality shows I've ever seen......zero in terms of talent and dancing and high on the kind of typical manufactured drama that her soaps excel in👎🏼
What I find really ironic is that she is the most powerful soap producer in the country and she truly COULD bring about a change if she sincerely wanted to.....but she'd rather stick to her 'tried and tested' formula....which is not working anymore.....and I wonder when she'll realize that😕.....it is that SINCERITY that Ekta has lost sight of.
That aside, I too am waiting for the day we get something of the calibre of a Lost or Heroes.....or sitcoms of the calibre of Friends, Scrubs.......I think a desi version of Charlie's Angels would be so awesome! If well made, that is.....that level of quality seems a ways away for Indian tv currently.